集成 JMS 与 IBM Business Process Manager 的实用方法

在本文中,您将学习如何使用 IBM Business Process Manager V7.5 实现一个 Java™ Message Service (JMS) 发起的 Undercover Agent (UCA),以支持直接将 JMS 消息发送到 Business Process Manager Event Manager 而无需任何自定义配置。此方法提供了一种简洁方式来实现在 Process Center 中调用业务流程的异步方法。

Sharad Chandra, 高级 WebSphere 顾问, IBM

作者照片Sharad Chandra 是 IBM 印度软件实验室 IBM PartnerWorld for WebSphere 中的一名高级顾问。他在使用 WebSphere Process Server、WebSphere Lombardi 和 SOA 产品套件开发解决方案方面拥有丰富的经验。在当前的职位上,Sharad 从事过多项涉及可伸缩且高度可用的 WebSphere 基础架构、解决方案开发、迁移、性能调优和故障排除的重要活动。



Sateesh Balakrishnan, IT 专家, IBM

Sateesh Balakrishnan 的照片Sateesh Balakrishnan 是 IBM Software Services for WebSphere (ISSW) 的 IT 专家。他拥有 10 多年的从业经验,目前从事 BPM 和 BRMS 研究,专攻 WebSphere Lombardi 和 WebSphere ILOG。在以前的 ISSW 职位上,他从事过应用程序基础架构研究,专攻 WebSphere Application Server、J2EE 应用程序迁移,以及故障排除和 WebSphere Application Server 调优。他在 IBM 从事过各种工作,包括 J2EE 解决方案的设计和开发。他目前的兴趣是 BPM 和 BRMS 系统。



2012 年 7 月 30 日

简介

Java™ Message Service (JMS) 是一个消息系统,用于实现 Java 应用程序的异步编程风格,也可用于集成异构的平台。例如,要将一个第三方应用程序与 IBM Business Process Manager V7.5 相集成,普通的实现方法是在应用服务器中创建一个 JMS 提供程序(服务集成总线、JMS 队列连接工厂和队列等),然后在 Business Process Manager 中创建一个 JMS 集成服务,以连接配置的提供程序来发送或获取消息。本文将介绍一个使用 JMS 与 Business Process Manager V7.5 集成的场景,该场景中利用了现有的消息基础架构和 Process Server 的 Event Manager。尽管这是一种相对简单的实现模式,但它为开发更复杂的解决方案提供了基础。

Process Server 中的 Event Manager 会响应外部事件。Event Manager 对传入的消息进行排队,并触发合适的 UCA。图 1 展示了 Event Manager 如何接收和处理传入的请求。Event Manager 使用 UCA 找到与该事件有关联的服务。所以,如果您希望在收到传入消息事件时调用一个服务,或者如果您希望在出现一个定期发生的事件时调用一个服务,您应该创建一个 UCA。

图 1. Event Manager 执行
Event Manager 执行

UCA 的作用

UCA 在外部系统与业务流程定义 (BPD) 之间建立一座桥梁。您可以使用 UCA 管理与外部系统进行的入站和出站通信。UCA 通过一条消息或按特定的时间表监听来自外部系统的事件。如果您希望向 JMS 监听器发送一条消息,Event Manager 有一个已定义的 XML 消息结构,该结构必须从外部系统接收消息。UCA 负责触发 BPD 中包含的一个 Start Message Event 或 Intermediate Message Event。

以下队列与 UCA 有关联:

  • 异步队列:允许 Event Manager 作业同时运行。
  • SYNC_QUEUE_1:强制一个作业在上一个作业完成后启动。默认情况下,有 3 个同步队列可用。
  • SYNC_QUEUE_2:强制一个作业在上一个作业完成后启动。默认情况下,有 3 个同步队列可用。
  • SYNC_QUEUE_3:强制一个作业在上一个作业完成后启动。

默认情况下,有 3 个同步队列可用。所有这些队列都在服务器启动时初始化。

第 1 步. 创建一个流程

本文中使用的流程应用程序是一个实现为 Coach 的简单的人工服务,如图 2 所示,它显示了通过一个消息事件接收的数据,该事件被配置为与 UCA 进行交互。

图 2. 显示收到的数据的 Coach
显示收到的数据的 Coach

图 3 显示了该流程收到并在 Coach 中发布的输入数据。

图 3. 流程的输入数据
流程的输入数据

第 2 步. 创建一个事件处理程序服务

事件处理程序服务就是一个 General System 服务,它是 UCA 的核心。此服务因外部刺激而接收数据,并通过 UCA 将数据发送到一个 BPD 流程。您需要定义输出数据,并将这些数据显式地映射到此服务的输入数据,否则输出数据将为 null。为此服务定义的数据应与 BPD 流程需要的输入数据相同。要定义该服务,请执行以下步骤:

  1. 选择 General System Service,如图 4 所示,将该服务命名为 ComplexUCAService
    图 4. 创建一个 UCA 服务
    创建一个 UCA 服务
  2. 使用 Variable 选项卡定义 BPD 流程需要的输入和输出数据,如图 5 所示。
    图 5. 创建 UCA 服务的 Input 和 Output 参数
    创建 UCA 服务的 Input 和 Output 参数
  3. 添加一段服务器脚本,并将它连接到输入和输出。将该脚本命名为 Input -OutputMapping,将输入数据显式地映射到组件的 Implementation 属性中的输出变量,如图 6 所示。
    图 6. UCA 服务的 “输入-输出” 映射
    UCA 服务的 “输入-输出” 映射

第 3 步. 创建 UCA

您必须在引用 UCA 之前创建它。要创建一个 UCA 并将它与 General System 服务相关联,请执行以下步骤:

  1. 在 Designer 视图中,选择 Implementation 旁边的加号 (+),然后选择 Undercover Agent,如图 7 所示。
    图 7. 创建一个 UCA
    创建一个 UCA
  2. 在 New Undercover Agent 对话框中,指定以下信息,如图 6 所示,然后单击 Finish
    • Name:为新 UCA 指定一个名称。
    • Schedule Type:从列表中选择 On Event
    • Attached Service:单击 Select 选择要在收到事件时调用的服务。对于本例,请选择 ComplexUCAService
    图 8. 配置 UCA
    配置 UCA
  3. 创建 UCA 后,将会显示一个对话框,您可以在其中配置 UCA 属性,如图 9 所示。在这里,您需要将 UCA 与刚创建的新服务相关联。确保勾选了 Enabled,以便在事件到达时启用服务的执行。如果未勾选该复选框,Event Manager 不会在收到外部消息时运行 UCA。请注意,Event Manager 监视器可能会显示 Event Manager 已执行 UCA,但如果未勾选 Enabled,则不会执行 UCA。

    Parameter Mapping 部分中,勾选 Use Default,以便在附加的服务中使用输入变量的默认值。如果附加的服务的输入变量没有默认值,则禁用此复选框。在大部分情况下,需要的值都包含在传入消息事件中,无需执行任何操作。

    图 9. 将 UCA 服务与 UCA 关联
    将 UCA 服务与 UCA 关联

第 4 步. 向 Event Manager 发送一条消息

要通过 UCA 发送应用程序数据来调用一个 BPD 流程,您需要将数据封装在一个预定义的 XML 结构中,该结构使用 eventmsg 作为 root,如下面的清单所示:

String data="<eventmsg><event processApp="JMSTA" snapshot="JMSTASNAPSHOT" 
ucaname="complexBOUCA">complexBOUCA</event>
<parameters>
   <parameter>
      <key>ucacomplexInput</key>
      <value>
         <customerID>"+customerID+"</customerID>
         <name>"+name+"</name>
         <address>"+address+"</address>
         <surname>"+surname+"</surname>
         <city>"+city+"</city>
         <state>"+state+"</state>
         <country>"+country+"</country>
      </value>
    </parameter>
  </parameters>
</eventmsg>"

请注意,您需要将以下信息包含在 XML 标头中:

  • snapshot:流程快照名称;通过 Process Center 创建。
  • ucaname:UCA 名称,可用于 Process Center 中的 UCA 编辑器中。
  • processApp:流程名称;此缩写词在创建新流程应用程序时提供。
  • event:事件名称;在本例中为 complexBOUCA
  • key:在 UCA 服务中定义的输入对象名称。

在我们的方案中,使用了一个 servlet 客户端来向 Event Manager 发送一条消息。该 servlet 按规定的格式预先格式化消息。消息要启用 UCA 服务,则需要在基础 WebSphere Application Server 查找事件队列。引用这个事件队列的 JNDI 是 jms/eventqueue,如下面的示例中所示:
Queue ucaqueue=(Queue)ctx.lookup("jms/eventqueue");

有关消息结构的更多信息,请参阅 Business Process Manager 信息中心中的 理解消息结构


第 5 步. 定义消息事件并将它与 UCA 关联

消息事件是与 UCA 协作接收外部刺激因素来调用 BPD 流程的实际组件。您需要执行以下操作将此事件连接到某个流程任务:

  1. 在 Process Designer 中创建一个 BPD 流程。将 Start Message Event 拖放到面板上,使用一个顺序线将它连接到 Submit Request 活动,如图 10 所示。
    图 10. 创建一个消息事件
    创建一个消息事件
  2. 将消息事件与您前面定义的 complexBOUCA UCA 相关联,如图 11 所示。
    图 11. 配置消息事件
    配置消息事件

第 6 步. 测试集成解决方案

在测试解决方案之前,您需要向 AllUsers 组公开该流程,如图 12 中所示。否则,不会调用该流程并在 Process Portal 中显示它。

图 12. 向 AllUsers 公开流程
向 AllUsers 公开流程

为了测试总体解决方案,我们创建了一个基于 JSP 的简单的客户端应用程序,它部署在 WebSphere Application Server 中。使用这个 JSP 客户端(如图 13 所示,已在 本文的下载部分 中提供),您可以创建一个提交到 servlet 的请求。servlet 将消息发送到队列中,在这里供 Event Manager 使用消息。

图 13. 调用一个 JSP 客户端
调用一个 JSP 客户端

通过 JSP 客户端提交消息后,您能够以 admin 的身份登录 Process Portal。在收件箱中,应该可以看到收到消息后创建的新流程实例,如图 14 所示。如果单击流程实例中绿色的 “Run” 图标来运行流程,您会看到从客户端收到的数据,如图 14 所示。

图 14. Process Portal 中的结果
Process Portal 中的结果

第 7 步. 验证 JVM 日志中的结果

成功触发 UCA 后,您可通过 Business Process Manager JVM 日志验证调用是否成功,如图 15 所示。

图 15. systemout.log 中的消息
systemout.log 中的消息

参见图 15 的大图。)


结束语

本文介绍了如何通过将 JMS 消息发送到 IBM Business Process Manager V7.5 的 Event Manager 来启动一个流程。文中还介绍了实现 Event Manager 和 UCA 的步骤,介绍了它们之间的运行时关系。您学习了如何使用一个关联的 BPD 和 Process Cente 的默认消息基础架构将 JMS 与 Business Process Manager 集成。

致谢

感谢 Scott Simmons 和 Harsha Bhushana 对本文的审核。


下载

描述名字大小
样例场景JMSUCATEST.zip9KB

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=WebSphere
ArticleID=828011
ArticleTitle=集成 JMS 与 IBM Business Process Manager 的实用方法
publish-date=07302012

A practical approach to integrating JMS and IBM Business Process Manager

In this article, you'll learn how to implement a Java™ Message Service (JMS) initiated Undercover Agent (UCA) with IBM Business Process Manager V7.5 to enable sending of JMS messages directly to the Business Process Manager Event Manager without any custom configuration. This approach provides an elegant way to implement an asynchronous method of invoking a business process in Process Center.

Sharad Chandra (schandr1@in.ibm.com), Senior WebSphere Consultant, IBM

Author photoSharad Chandra is a Senior Consultant in IBM PartnerWorld for WebSphere at the IBM India Software Lab. He has expertise in the area of solution development with WebSphere Process Server, WebSphere Lombardi and the SOA suite of products. In his current position, Sharad has worked on several critical engagements involving implementation of scalable and highly available WebSphere infrastructure, solution development, migration, performance tuning and troubleshooting.


developerWorks Contributing author
        level

Sateesh Balakrishnan (satebala@in.ibm.com), IT Specialist, IBM

Photo of Sateesh BalakrishnanSateesh Balakrishnan is an IT Specialist with IBM Software Services for WebSphere (ISSW). He has over 10 years of experience and is currently working on BPM and BRMS, specializing in WebSphere Lombardi and WebSphere ILOG. In his previous assignment at ISSW, he worked on application infrastructure, with in-depth focus on WebSphere Application Server, J2EE application migrations, and performance troubleshooting and tuning of WebSphere Application Server. He has worked in various capacities at IBM, including design and development of J2EE solutions. His current interests are in BPM and BRMS systems.



28 January 2013 (First published 10 July 2012)

Also available in Chinese Russian Portuguese

Introduction

Java™ Message Service (JMS) is a messaging system that provides for asynchronous programming styles for Java applications and can also be used to integrate heterogenous platforms. For example, to integrate a third-party application with IBM Business Process Manager V7.5, the normal implementation methodology would be to create a JMS provider (service integration bus, JMS queue connection factory, queue, and so on) in the application server and then create a JMS integration service in Business Process Manager to connect to the configured provider to send or retrieve the message. This article walks you through an integration scenario with Business Process Manager V7.5 using JMS by exploiting the existing messaging infrastructure and the Event Manager of the process server. Although this is a relatively simple implementation pattern, it provides a foundation for developing more complex solutions.

The Event Manager in the Process Server responds to external events. The Event Manager queues incomming messages and triggers the appropriate UCA. Figure 1 shows how the Event Manager receives and processes incomming requests. The Event Manager uses the UCA o locate the service that is associated with the event. So, if you want to invoke a service when an incoming message event is received or if you want to invoke a service as the result of an event that occurs on a regular schedule, you should create a UCA.

Figure 1. Event Manager execution
Event Manager execution

The download provided with the article contains two code samples, one for IBM BPM V7.5 and one for BPM V8.

The role of the UCA

The UCA creates a bridge between external systems and business process definitions (BPDs). You can manage inbound and outbound communication with external systems using UCAs. The UCA listens for events from external systems through a message or specific schedule. If you want to post a message to the JMS listener, the Event Manager has a defined XML message structure that it must receive from an external system. The UCA is responsible for firing either a Start Message Event or an Intermediate Message Event that is contained within a BPD.

The following queues are associated with a UCA:

  • Async queue: Allows Event Manager jobs to run at the same time.
  • SYNC_QUEUE_1: Forces one job to finish before the next job can start. By default, three synchronous queues are available.
  • SYNC_QUEUE_2: Forces one job to finish before the next job can start. By default, three synchronous queues are available.
  • SYNC_QUEUE_3: Forces one job to finish before the next job can start.

By default, three synchronous queues are available. All of these queues gets initialized at the time of server start up.

Step 1. Create a process

The process application used in this article is a simple human service implemented as Coach, as shown in Figure 2, that displays the data received through a message event that is configured to interact with UCA.

Figure 2. Coach to display received data
Coach to display received data

Figure 3 shows the input data that process receives and publishes in the Coach.

Figure 3. Input data for the process
Input data for the process

Step 2. Create an event handler service

An event handler service is nothing but a General System service, which is the heart of a UCA. This service receives the data from external stimulus and sends it to a BPD process through the UCA. You need to define and map output data to input data explicitly for this service, otherwise the output data would be null. The data defined for this service should be same as the input data required by the BPD process. To define the service, complete the following steps:

  1. Select General System Service, as shown in Figure 4, and name the service ComplexUCAService.
    Figure 4. Create a UCA service
    Create a UCA service
  2. Define the input data and output data required by the BPD process using the Variable tab, as shown in Figure 5.
    Figure 5. Create Input and Output parameters for the UCA service
    Create Input and Output parameters for the UCA service
  3. Add a server script and wire it to the input and output. Call the script Input -OutputMapping, and map the input data explicitly to the output variable in the Implementation property of the component as shown in Figure 6.
    Figure 6. Input-Output mapping for the UCA service
    Input-Output mapping for the UCA service

Step 3. Create the UCA

You must create the UCA before it can be referenced. To create a UCA and associate it with the General System service, complete the following steps:

  1. In the Designer view, select the plus sign (+) next to Implementation, then select Undercover Agent, as shown in Figure 7.
    Figure 7. Create a UCA
    Create a UCA
  2. In the New Undercover Agent dialog, specify the following information, as shown in Figure 6, and then click Finish.
    • Name: Specify a name for the new UCA.
    • Schedule Type: Select On Event from the list.
    • Attached Service: Click Select to select the service to invoke when the event is received. For this case, select ComplexUCAService.
    Figure 8. Configure the UCA
    Configure the UCA
  3. Once the UCA is created, a dialog displays in which you can configure UCA properties, as shown in Figure 9. Here you need to associate the UCA with the new service you just created. Make sure to check Enabled to enable the execution of the service when an event arrives. If the checkbox is not checked, the Event Manager does not run the UCA when an external message is received. Note that the Event Manager monitor may show that the Event Manager has executed the UCA, but if Enabled is not checked, the execution does not occur.

    In the Parameter Mapping section, check Use Default to use the default value of the input variable in the attached service. If the input variable of the attached service does not have a default value, this checkbox is disabled. In most cases, the required values are included in the incoming message event and no action is required here.

    Figure 9. Associate the UCA service with the UCA
    Associate the UCA service with the UCA

Step 4. Send a message to the Event Manager

To invoke a BPD process by sending application data through the UCA, you need to encapsulate data in a predefined XML structure with eventmsg as the root, as shown in the following listing:

String data="<eventmsg><event processApp="JMSTA" snapshot="JMSTASNAPSHOT" 
ucaname="complexBOUCA">complexBOUCA</event>
<parameters>
   <parameter>
      <key>ucacomplexInput</key>
      <value>
         <customerID>"+customerID+"</customerID>
         <name>"+name+"</name>
         <address>"+address+"</address>
         <surname>"+surname+"</surname>
         <city>"+city+"</city>
         <state>"+state+"</state>
         <country>"+country+"</country>
      </value>
    </parameter>
  </parameters>
</eventmsg>"

Notice that you need the following information available to include in the XML header:

  • snapshot: Process snapshot name; created through Process Center.
  • ucaname: UCA name; available in the UCA editor in Process Center.
  • processApp: The process name; this acronym is provided when you create a new process app.
  • event: The event name; in this case, complexBOUCA.
  • key : The input object name defined in the UCA service.

In our scenario a servlet client is used to send a message to the Event Manager. The servlet dynamically formats the message in the prescribed format. For the message to hit the UCA service, you need to look up the event queue in the underlying WebSphere Application Server. The JNDI referring to this event queue is jms/eventqueue, as shown the following example:
Queue ucaqueue=(Queue)ctx.lookup("jms/eventqueue");

For more information on message structure, refer to Understanding message structure in the Business Process Manager Information Center.


Step 5. Define the message event and associate it with the UCA

A message event is the actual component that collaborates with the UCA to receive the external stimulus to invoke the BPD process. You need to wire this event to a process task by doing the following:

  1. Create a BPD process in the Process Designer. Drag and drop the Start Message Event onto the palette and connect it to the Submit Request activity using a sequence line, as shown in Figure 10.
    Figure 10. Create a message event
    Create a message event
  2. Associate the message event with the complexBOUCA UCA you defined previously, as shown in Figure 11.
    Figure 11. Configure the message event
    Configure the message event

Step 6. Test the integration solution

Before you can test the solution, you need to expose the process to the AllUsers group, as shown in Figure 12. Otherwise, the process will not be invoked and visible in Process Portal.

Figure 12. Expose the process to AllUsers
Expose the process to AllUsers

To test the overall solution, we created a simple JSP-based client application which is deployed in WebSphere Application Server. Using this JSP client, provided for download with this articleCDR: Sharad, is this reference still okay?? and shown in Figure 13, you can create a request that is submitted to the servlet. The servlet posts the message to the queue where it is consumed by the Event Manager.

Figure 13. Invoke a JSP client
Invoke a JSP client

Once you have submitted the message via the JSP client, you can log into the Process Portal as admin. In the inbox, you should see the new process instance that was created as a result of the message, as shown in Figure 14. If you click on the green "Run" icon in the process instance and run the process, you will see the data received from the client, also shown in Figure 14.

Figure 14. Results in Process Portal
Results in Process Portal

Step 7. Verify the results in the JVM log

Once the UCA is triggered successfully, you can verify the success of the invocation through Business Process Manager JVM log as shown in Figure 15.

Figure 15. Message in systemout.log
Message in systemout.log

(See a larger version of Figure 15.)


Conclusion

This article described how to initiate a process by sending a JMS message to the Event Manager of IBM Business Process Manager V7.5. It walked you through the steps to implement the Event Manager and the UCA, and described the runtime relationships between them. You learned how to integrate JMS with Business Process Manager using an associated BPD and the default messaging infrastructure of the Process Center.

Acknowledgements

The authors would like to thank Scott Simmons and Harsha Bhushana for their review of this article.


Downloads

DescriptionNameSize
Sample scenarioJMSUCATEST.zip9KB
Sample code for IBM BPM V7.5 and V8SampleCode.zip794B

Resources

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into Business process management on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=Business process management, WebSphere
ArticleID=824744
ArticleTitle=A practical approach to integrating JMS and IBM Business Process Manager
publish-date=01282013