内容


充分发挥 sudo 的作用

Comments

简介

系统管理员可以通过 sudo 实用程序让用户或组能够作为另一个用户运行命令。换句话说,可以分派命令特权,而不需要另一个用户的密码。root 用户通过在 /etc/sudoers 文件中设置 sudo 条目完成这个过程。使用 visudo 命令编辑此文件。在分派特权时,必须相信得到特权的用户会慎重地使用它。这里要澄清一个误解:sudo 不仅用于让用户作为 root 用户运行某些命令;它主要用于让另一个用户作为应用程序用户/所有者运行应用程序或系统命令。如果系统上当前安装了 sudo,它不会覆盖现有的 sudoers 文件。但是,一定要保留 /etc/sudoers 的备份并阅读升级说明。

安装 sudo

下载 sudo 的最新版本。

对于本文,我使用 sudo version 1.7.2。如果您使用 AIX® 5.3,那么一定要有最新的 gcc 版本 (4.0.0)。

# export LIBPATH=/usr/lib
# ./configure --with-aixauth
# make
# make install

作为 root 用户使用以下命令检查安装的版本,查看构建选项和当前安装的配置:

# sudo -V 
Sudo version 1.7.2
Sudoers path: /etc/sudoers
Authentication methods: 'aixauth'

< rest of output truncated>

在默认情况下:

  • sudo 放在 /usr/local/bin 中。使用它作为另一个用户运行命令。
  • visudo 放在 /usr/local/sbin 中。使用它编辑 sudoers 文件。
  • sudoers 文件(如果还没有的话)放在 /etc 中。这个文件包含 sudo 条目。

sudoers 文件

/etc/sudoers(通常简称为 sudoers)文件控制谁可以使用 sudo 以及使用 sudo 运行什么。 root 用户或具有根特权的用户可以设置这些条目。sudoers 中 sudo 条目最基本的形式如下:

<user> <host> = <user to alias> <password required> < command to run>

作为某一用户运行以下命令,可以看到此用户能够使用 sudo 运行什么命令以及其他限制:

sudo -l

运行 sudo 命令的一般格式为:

sudo -u < user to run as> <command to run>

日志记录

通过在 /etc/syslog.conf 文件中使用以下设置,可以使用 syslog 在 /var/adm/messages 中记录通过 sudo 运行的所有命令:

*.debug   /var/adm/messages

但是,我认为 sudo 命令应该记录在一个单独的文件中,这样便于查看已经运行的 sudo 命令。当然,这也有助于监视失败的 sudo 活动。创建 /var/adm/sudo.log 文件,然后在 /etc/sudoers 文件中添加以下条目:

Defaults logfile=/var/adm/sudo.log
Defaults !syslog

现在,无论执行成功还是失败,所有 sudo 活动都会记录在 /var/adm/sudo.log 中。

管理 sudoers

随着时间的推移,sudoers 文件中的条目会越来越多。这是因为服务器上设置的应用程序环境越来越多,也可能因为进一步分派当前任务以隔离责任。随着条目增加,输入错误会越来越常见。让 root 用户更方便地管理 sudoers 文件是有积极意义的。我们来讨论两种实现这个目标(至少建立良好的标准)的方法。如果有许多静态条目(在有 sudo 的每台机器上都运行相同的命令),那么把这些命令放在一个单独的 sudoers 文件中,这可以使用 include 指令来实现。

如果有许多用户条目,在添加或删除条目时会耗时很长。对于这种情况,好做法是对用户进行分组。可以把用户直接分组在一起,这些组是有效的 AIX 组。

现在详细讨论这两种方法。

包含文件

在大型企业环境中,维护 sudoers 文件是一项重要且必须经常执行的任务。简化这项任务的一个解决方案是重新组织 sudoers 文件。一种做法是提取出静态或可重用的条目,它们在每台机器上都运行相同的命令。与审计/安全或 storix 备份或一般性能报告一样,现在可以对 sudo 使用 include 指令。主 sudoers 文件可以包含本地条目,包含文件包含静态条目,所以很少需要编辑。在调用 visudo 时,它会扫描 sudoers。当看到 include 条目时,它会扫描此文件,然后返回到主 sudoers 文件继续扫描。在从主 sudoers 文件退出 visudo 时,它会进入包含文件进行编辑。退出包含文件之后,返回到 AIX 提示。可以有多个包含文件,但是我不认为有必要这么做。

假设我们的辅助 sudoers 文件名为 sudo_static.<hostname>。在本文的示例中,使用的主机名是 rs6000。在主 sudoers 文件中,设置以下条目:

#include /etc/sudo_static.rs6000

接下来,在 /etc/sudo_static.rs6000 文件中添加一些条目。不必设置所有 sudoers 指令或小节。如果这个文件包含不必要的条目,就不要包含它们。例如,我的包含文件只包含以下文本。

bravo     rs6000 = (root) NOPASSWD: /usr/opt/db2_08_01/adm/db2licd -end
bravo     rs6000 = (root) NOPASSWD: /usr/opt/db2_08_01/adm/db2licd
bravo     rs6000 = (db2inst) NOPASSWD: /home/db2inst/sqllib/adm/db2start
bravo     rs6000 = (db2inst) NOPASSWD: /home/db2inst/sqllib/adm/db2stop force

在运行 visudo、保存并退出文件时,visudo 会让您按 Enter 开始编辑包含 sudoers 文件。与主文件一样,编辑此文件之后,sudo 会指出语法错误(如果有的话)。另外,可以使用

visudo -f /etc/sudo_static.rs6000

直接编辑包含文件。

使用组

属于有效的 AIX 组的用户可以包含在 sudoers 中,这样针对单一用户的条目更少,sudoers 文件更容易管理。在使用组重新组织 sudoers 条目时,可能需要在 AIX 中创建一个新的组,其中只包含允许使用 sudo 运行某些命令的用户。要想使用组,只需在条目前面加上前缀 ‘%’。假设您有 devopsdevuat 组,其中包含以下用户:

# lsgroup -f -a users devops

devops:
        users=joex,delta,charlie,tstgn

 # lsgroup -f -a users devuat
devuat:
        users=zebra,spsys,charlie

允许 devops 组作为 dbdftst 运行 /usr/local/bin/data_ext.sh 命令。

允许 devuat 组作为 dbukuat 运行命令 /usr/local/bin/data_mvup.sh 和 /usr/local/bin/data_rep.sh。

可以设置以下 sudoers 条目:

%devops rs6000 =  (dbdftst) NOPASSWD: /usr/local/bin/data_ext.sh
%devuat rs6000 =  (dbukuat) /usr/local/bin/data_mvup.sh
%devuat rs6000 =  (dbukuat) /usr/local/bin/data_rep.sh

注意,对于前面的条目,devops 组中的用户在执行 /usr/local/bin/data_ext.sh 时不会提示他们输入密码。但是,会提示 devuat 组中的用户输入密码。用户 “charlie” 是这两个组(devopsdevuat)的成员,所以他可以执行以上所有命令。

对 sudo 使用超时

sudo 的一个特性使用时间票据判断自从最后一次运行 sudo 命令以来已经过了多长时间。在指定的时间段内,用户可以重新运行命令而不会提示输入密码(此用户自己的密码)。超过这段时间之后,用户必须再次输入密码才能重新运行命令。如果用户提供了正确的密码,就执行命令,票据复位,计时重新开始。如果在 sudoers 中此用户的条目中有 NOPASSWD,票据特性是无效的。默认的超时是 5 分钟。如果希望修改默认值,只需在 sudoers 中添加一个条目。例如,可以使用以下条目把用户 “bravo” 运行任何命令的超时值设置为 20 分钟:

Defaults:bravo timestamp_timeout=20

作为用户使用以下命令销毁票据:

$ sudo -k

销毁票据之后,在运行 sudo 命令时会再次提示用户输入密码。

请不要设置所有用户的超时值,因为这会造成问题,尤其是在运行花费时间比较长的作业集合时。在 timestamp_timeout 变量中使用 -1 值可以禁用这个特性。时间票据是 /var/run/sudo 中包含用户名的目录条目。

变量

正如前面提到的,sudo 会缩减系统变量,这可能有危险。可以使用 sudo -V 检查哪些变量保持不变,哪些变量会被缩减。输出显示保持不变和缩减的变量列表。缩减 LIBPATH 显然很不方便。有两个解决方法 —— 编写一个包装器脚本或在命令行上指定环境。先看一下包装器脚本解决方案,假设您的一个应用程序会停止或启动 DB2® 实例。可以编写一个脚本来保持变量不变。在 清单 1. rc.db2 中,使用以下代码访问实例配置文件,进而导出各个 LIBPATH 和 DB2 环境变量,这会保持环境变量不变:

 . /home/$inst/sqllib/db2profile

sudoers 中执行此脚本的条目如下,它们不会缩减任何系统环境变量:

bravo     rs6000 = (dbinst4) NOPASSWD: /home/dbinst4/sqllib/adm/db2start
bravo     rs6000 = (dbinst4) NOPASSWD: /home/dbinst4/sqllib/adm/db2stop force
bravo     rs6000 = (dbinst4) NOPASSWD: /usr/local/bin/rc.db2 stop db2inst4
bravo     rs6000 = (dbinst4) NOPASSWD: /usr/local/bin/rc.db2 start db2inst4

在这个示例中,用户 “bravo” 可以作为用户 “dbinst4” 执行以上命令。通常,这个用户会运行:

sudo -u dbinst4 /usr/local/bin/rc.db2 stop db2inst4
sudo -u dbinst4 /usr/local/bin/rc.db2 start db2inst4
清单 1. rc.db2
#!/bin/sh
# rc.db2
# stop/start db2 instances

# check to see if db2 inst is runningdb2_running(){state=`ps -ef |grep db2sysc 
                    |grep -v grep| awk '$1=="'${inst}'" { print $1 }'`
if [ "$state" = "" ] 
then 
    return 1 
else 
    return 0 
fi}

usage ()

{
echo "`basename $0` start | stop <instance>"
}

# stop db2 
stop_db2 ()
{
echo "stopping db2 instance as user $inst" 
    if [ -f /home/$inst/sqllib/db2profile ]; then 
        . /home/$inst/sqllib/db2profile 
else 
    echo "Cannot source DB2..exiting" 
exit 1
fi 
    /home/$inst/sqllib/adm/db2stop force
}

# start db2
start_db2 ()
{
echo "starting db2 instance as user $inst" 
    if [ -f /home/$inst/sqllib/db2profile ]; then 
        . /home/$inst/sqllib/db2profile 
else 
    echo "Cannot source DB2..exiting" 
exit 1
fi
/home/$inst/sqllib/adm/db2start
} 

# check we get 2 params
if [ $# != 2 ]
then 
    usage 
    exit 1
fi

inst=$2 

case "$1" in 
Start|start) 
    if db2_running  
        then  
        echo "db2 instance $inst appears to be already running"
         exit 0 
    else 
        echo " instance not running as user $inst..attempting to start it" 
        start_db2 $inst

        fi
        ;; 
Stop|stop) 
    if db2_running 
        then 
        echo "instance running as $inst..attempting to stop it"
        stop_db2 $inst 
    else 
        echo "db2 instance $inst appears to be not running anyway" 
        exit 0 
    fi 
    ;; 
*) usage  
;;
esac

保留系统环境变量的另一种方法是在 sudoers 中使用 Defaults !env_reset 指令:

Defaults !env_reset

然后,在命令行上指定环境变量名和值:

$ sudo LIBPATH=″/usr/lib:/opt/db2_09_05/lib64″ -u delta /usr/local/bin/datapmp

如果没有设置 !env_reset 条目,那么在试图运行命令时会从 sudo 收到以下错误:

sudo: sorry, you are not allowed to set the following environment variables: LIBPATH

如果发现 sudo 还会缩减其他环境变量,那么可以在 sudoers 中指定变量名(使用 Defaults env_keep += 指令),让 sudo 保持这些变量不变。例如,假设对于我的一个使用 sudo 的脚本,sudo 会缩减应用程序变量 DSTAGE_SUP 和 DSTAGE_META。为了保留这些变量,可以在 sudoers 中设置以下条目:

Defaults env_keep += "DSTAGE_SUP"
Defaults env_keep += "DSTAGE_META"

注意,我指定了变量名,但是没有指定变量值。值已经包含在我的脚本中,比如:

export DSTAGE_SUP=/opt/dstage/dsengine; export DSTAGE_META=/opt/dstage/db2

现在,在执行这个脚本时,这两个环境变量会保持不变。

保护 sudo 路径

可以使用 secure_path 指令修改 sudoers 中默认的 PATH。这个指令指定当用户执行 sudo 命令时在什么地方寻找二进制代码和命令。这个选项的目的显然是要限制用户运行 sudo 命令的范围,这是一种好做法。在 sudoers 中使用以下指令,指定安全 PATH 及其搜索目录:

Defaults secure_path="/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/opt/freeware/bin:/usr/sbin"

实施限制

可以对用户能够运行的命令实施限制。假设有一个名为 dataex 的组,其成员是 “alpha”、“bravo” 和 “charlie”。现在,已经允许这个组运行 sudo 命令 /usr/local/bin/mis_ext *,这里的星号代表传递给脚本的许多参数。但是,如果参数是 import,就不允许用户 “charlie” 执行此脚本。可以使用逻辑否 '!' 操作符设置这种条件。下面是在 sudoers 中的实现方法:

 %dataex rs6000 = (dbmis) NOPASSWD: /usr/local/bin/mis_ext *
 charlie rs6000 = (dbmis) NOPASSWD: !/usr/local/bin/mis_ext import

注意,逻辑否操作符条目出现在无限制的条目后面。可以在同一行上应用多个逻辑否条目;只需以逗号分隔它们,比如:

charlie rs6000 = (dbmis) NOPASSWD: /usr/local/bin/aut_pmp *

charlie rs6000 = (dbmis) NOPASSWD: !/usr/local/bin/aut_pmp create,
!/usr/local/bin/aut_pmp delete, !/usr/local/bin/aut_pmp amend

提交 sudo 命令

在企业环境中,把 sudo 命令提交给远程主机最好是作为 root 用户使用 ssh 脚本来完成,对于无密码登录,还应该在主机之间交换密钥。我们来看一个示例。对于地理上远程的机器,如果遇到某种硬件问题(磁盘或内存),IBM® 工程师会到现场更换发生故障的硬件。在这种情况下,他们需要有 root 密码才能完成工作。一种实现方法是让工程师必须使用 sudo 访问 root 用户。在工程师访问站点之前告诉他们密码是有好处的。清单 2 演示提交这种配置的一种方法。仔细看看 清单 2,这里使用一个 for 循环包含要提交配置的主机列表。(但是,一般情况下,把这些主机名放在一个文本文件中并使用 while 循环读取它们。)使用 ‘here’ 文档方法建立 sudoers 的备份,然后在 sudoers 中添加下面的条目:

# -- ibmeng sudo root
ibmeng host1 = (root) NOPASSWD:ALL

接下来,创建用户 “ibmeng”,使用 chpasswd 设置此用户的密码。在这个示例中,密码是 ibmpw。然后在此用户的配置文件中添加一条消息,告诉用户如何使用 sudo 访问 root 用户。因此,在工程师登录时,他会看到以下消息:

IBM Engineer, to access root account type: sudo -u root su -

当然,在工程师离开之后,应该锁住 ibmeng 账户。

清单 2. dis_ibm
#!/bin/sh
# dis_ibm
dest_hosts='host1 host2 host3 host4'

for host in $dest_hosts
do
echo "doing [$host]"

$ssh -T -t -l root $host<<'mayday'
host=`hostname`
cp /etc/sudoers /etc/sudoers.bak

    if [ $? != 0 ]
    then
    echo "error: unable to cp sudoers file"
    exit 1
    fi
echo "# -- ibmeng sudo root\nibmeng $host = (root) NOPASSWD:ALL">>/etc/sudoers

mkuser su=false ibmeng
if [ $? = 0 ]
    then
    echo "ibmeng:ibmpw" | chpasswd -c
    else
    echo "error: unable to create user ibmeng and or passwd"
    exit 1
fi
    chuser gecos='IBM engineer acc' ibmeng
if [ -f /home/ibmeng/.profile ]
    then
    echo "echo \"IBM Engineer, to access root account type: sudo -u root su -"\"
>>/home/ibmeng/.profile
fi
mayday
done

结束语

sudo 允许您控制谁可以作为谁运行什么命令。但是,必须充分理解 sudoers 的特性,才能完全了解它的影响和责任。


相关主题

  • 进一步了解并下载 sudo
  • 下载 IBM 产品评估版 或者在 IBM SOA Sandbox 中在线试用这些来自 DB2®、Lotus®、Rational®、Tivoli® 和 WebSphere® 的应用程序开发工具和中间件产品。
  • AIX and UNIX 专区:developerWorks 的“AIX and UNIX 专区”提供了大量与 AIX 系统管理的所有方面相关的信息,您可以利用它们来扩展自己的 UNIX 技能。
  • AIX and UNIX 新手入门:访问“AIX and UNIX 新手入门”页面可了解更多关于 AIX 和 UNIX 的内容。
  • AIX and UNIX 专题汇总:AIX and UNIX 专区已经为您推出了很多的技术专题,为您总结了很多热门的知识点。我们在后面还会继续推出很多相关的热门专题给您,为了方便您的访问,我们在这里为您把本专区的所有专题进行汇总,让您更方便的找到您需要的内容。
  • developerWorks 技术活动网络广播:随时关注 developerWorks 技术活动和网络广播。

评论

添加或订阅评论,请先登录注册

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=449088
ArticleTitle=充分发挥 sudo 的作用
publish-date=11232009

The sudo utility allows users to run commands as another, or privileged, user. Sudo has features not often used by administrators. This article demonstrates some of these features, such as include files, timeouts, and logical operations.

Share:

David Tansley (david.tansley@btinternet.com), System Administrator, Ace Europe

David TansleyDavid Tansley is a freelance writer. He has 15 years of experience as a UNIX administrator, using AIX the last eight years. He enjoys playing badminton, then relaxing watching Formula 1, but nothing beats riding and touring on his GSA motorbike with his wife.


developerWorks Contributing author
        level

06 October 2009

Also available in Chinese Russian

Introduction

Sudo is a utility that allows systems administrators to give users or groups the ability to run commands as another user. In other words, command privileges can be delegated, without compromising the other user's password. This process is carried out by the root user making sudo entries in the /etc/sudoers file. The file is edited using the visudo command. When delegating authority, there is an element of trust required that the responsibility you are handing over will be used with respect. Let's put a urban myth to rest here: sudo is not used purely to allow users to run certain commands as root; it is mainly used so another user can be delegated to run an application or system command as the application user/owner. If you currently have sudo installed on your system, it will not overwrite your existing sudoers file. But as always, make a backup copy of /etc/sudoers and read the upgrade instructions.


Installing sudo

Download the latest version of sudo.

This article is not an introduction of sudo. Rather, it looks at different sudo features.

For this demonstration I have used sudo version 1.7.2. If you are running AIX® 5.3 , be sure you have the current gcc version, which is 4.0.0.

# export LIBPATH=/usr/lib
# ./configure --with-aixauth
# make
# make install

To confirm the version installed and to view the build options as well as the current installed configuration, as root, use:

# sudo -V 
Sudo version 1.7.2
Sudoers path: /etc/sudoers
Authentication methods: 'aixauth'

< rest of output truncated>

Since version 1.6.9, some system environment variables, like LIBPATH, are stripped before sudo executes the given script or command. This can cause issues with existing commands that are run under sudo. However, there is a way around this, mostly.

By default:

  • sudo is placed in /usr/local/bin. Use this to run commands as another user.
  • visudo is placed in /usr/local/sbin. Use this to edit the sudoers file.
  • THe sudoers file, if not already present, is placed in /etc. This file holds the sudo entries.

The sudoers file

The /etc/sudoers (commonly known just as sudoers) file governs who and what can be run using sudo. These entries are carried out by the root user or a user who has root privileges. The most basic form of a sudo entry in sudoers is:

<user> <host> = <user to alias> <password required> < command to run>

To view what commands a user can run and what other constraints are assigned under sudo, as the user, run:

sudo -l

To run a sudo command, the general format is:

sudo -u < user to run as> <command to run>

Log it

All commands run as sudo are logged using syslog to /var/adm/messages using the entry in the /etc/syslog.conf file:

*.debug   /var/adm/messages

However, I believe sudo commands should be logged to a separate file, which makes it easier to view and investigate sudo commands that have been run. Of course, this also helps with keeping an eye on failed sudo events. Create the file /var/adm/sudo.log, and then in the /etc/sudoers file, put the following entry:

Defaults logfile=/var/adm/sudo.log
Defaults !syslog

Now all sudo events executed successfully or not go to /var/adm/sudo.log.


Managing sudoers

Over time, your sudoers file will grow with more and more entries, which is to be expected. This could be because more application environments are being placed on the server, or because of splitting the delegation of currents tasks down further to segregate responsibility. With many entries, typos can occur, which is common. Making the sudoers file more manageable by the root user makes good administrative sense. Let's look at two ways this can be achieved, or at least a good standard to build on. If you have many static entries (meaning the same command is run on every machine where sudo is), put these into a separate sudoers file, which can be achieved using the include directive.

Having many entries for individual users can also be time consuming when adding or amending entries. With many user entries, it is good practice to put these into groups. Using groups, you can literally group users together, and the groups are valid AIX groups.

Now look at these two methods more closely.

Include file

Within large-enterprise environments, keeping the sudoers file maintained is an important and regularly required task. A solution to make this chore easier is to reorganize the sudoers file. One way to do this is to extract entries that are static or reusable, where the same commands are run on every box. Like audit/security or storix backups or general performance reports, with sudo you can now use the include directive. The main sudoers file can then contain the local entries, and the include file would barely need editing as those entries are static. When visudo is invoked, it will scan sudoers when it sees the include entry. It will scan that file, then come back to the main sudoers and carry on scanning. In reality, it works like this. When you exit out of visudo from the main sudoers file, it will take you to the include file for editing. Once you quit the include, you are back to the AIX prompt. You can have more than one include file, but I cannot think of a reason why you would want more than one.

Let's call our secondary sudoers file sudo_static.<hostname>. In the examples in this demonstration the hostname I am using is rs6000. In the main sudoers file, make the entry as follows:

#include /etc/sudo_static.rs6000

Next, add some entries to the /etc/sudo_static.rs6000 file. You do not have to put in all the sudoers directives or stanzas. If this file contains entries where they are not required, don't include them. For example, my include file contains only the following text, and nothing more.

You can use the %h, instead of typing the actual hostname:

#include /etc/sudo_static.%h.

I personally do not use this method because I have experienced returning extra characters on the hostname. This issue is fixed in sudo 1.7.2 p1.

bravo     rs6000 = (root) NOPASSWD: /usr/opt/db2_08_01/adm/db2licd -end
bravo     rs6000 = (root) NOPASSWD: /usr/opt/db2_08_01/adm/db2licd
bravo     rs6000 = (db2inst) NOPASSWD: /home/db2inst/sqllib/adm/db2start
bravo     rs6000 = (db2inst) NOPASSWD: /home/db2inst/sqllib/adm/db2stop force

When you run visudo, and you save and quit the file, visudo will inform you to click Enter to edit the include sudoers file. Once you have edited the file, sudo will pick up on syntax errors if any, as with the main file. Alternatively, to edit the include file directly, use:

visudo -f /etc/sudo_static.rs6000

.

Using groups

Users belonging to a valid AIX group can be included in sudoers, making the sudoers file more manageable with fewer entries per user. When reorganizing the sudoers entries to include groups, you may have to create a new groups under AIX to include users that are only allowed to use sudo for certain commands. To use groups, simply prefix the entries with a '%'. Assume you have groups called devops and devuat, and with those groups you have the following users:

# lsgroup -f -a users devops

devops:
        users=joex,delta,charlie,tstgn

 # lsgroup -f -a users devuat
devuat:
        users=zebra,spsys,charlie

For the group devops to be allowed to run the /usr/local/bin/data_ext.sh command as dbdftst.

For the group devuat to be allowed to run the commands :/usr/local/bin/data_mvup.sh, /usr/local/bin/data_rep.sh as dbukuat.

We could have the following sudoers entries:

%devops rs6000 =  (dbdftst) NOPASSWD: /usr/local/bin/data_ext.sh
%devuat rs6000 =  (dbukuat) /usr/local/bin/data_mvup.sh
%devuat rs6000 =  (dbukuat) /usr/local/bin/data_rep.sh

Notice in the previous entries, the group devops users will not be prompted for their password when executing /usr/local/bin/data_ext.sh; however, the group devuat users will be prompted for their password. User "charlie" is a member of both groups (devops and devuat), so he can execute all the above commands.


Timeout with sudo

Sudo has a feature that uses time tickets to determine how long since the last sudo command was run. During this time period, the user can re-run the command without being prompted for the password (that's the user's own password). Once this time allotment has ended, the user is prompted for the password again to re-run the command. If the user gives the correct password, the command is executed, the ticket is then re-set, and the time clock starts all over again. The ticket feature will not work if you have NOPASSWD in the user's entry in sudoers. The default timeout is five minutes. If you wish to change the default value, simply put an entry in sudoers. For example, to set the timeout value for user "bravo" on any commands he runs to 20 minutes, you could use:

Defaults:bravo timestamp_timeout=20

To destroy the ticket, as the user, use:

$ sudo -k

When the ticket is destroyed, the user will be prompted for his password again, when running a sudo command.

Please do not set the timeout value for all users, as this will cause problems, especially when running jobs in batch and the batch takes longer to run than normal. To disable this feature, use the value -1 in the timestamp_timeout variable. The time tickets are directory entries with the name of the user located in /var/run/sudo.


Those variables

As discussed earlier, sudo will strip out potentially dangerous system variables. To check out what variables are kept and which ones are stripped, use sudo -V. The output will give you a listing of preserved and stripped variables. Stripping out the LIBPATH is clearly an inconvenience. There are a couple of ways around this--either write a wrapper script or specify the environments on the command line. Looking at the wrapper script solution first, suppose you have an application that stops or starts a DB2® instance. You could create a bare-bones script that would keep the variables intact. In Listing 1. rc.db2, notice that you source the instance profile, which in turn exports various LIBPATH and DB2 environment variables, keeping the environment variable intact, by using:

 . /home/$inst/sqllib/db2profile

For completeness, the entries in sudoers to execute this is and not strip out any system environment variables are:

bravo     rs6000 = (dbinst4) NOPASSWD: /home/dbinst4/sqllib/adm/db2start
bravo     rs6000 = (dbinst4) NOPASSWD: /home/dbinst4/sqllib/adm/db2stop force
bravo     rs6000 = (dbinst4) NOPASSWD: /usr/local/bin/rc.db2 stop db2inst4
bravo     rs6000 = (dbinst4) NOPASSWD: /usr/local/bin/rc.db2 start db2inst4

Note in this example, user "bravo" can execute the above commands as user "dbinst4." Typically, the user would run:

sudo -u dbinst4 /usr/local/bin/rc.db2 stop db2inst4
sudo -u dbinst4 /usr/local/bin/rc.db2 start db2inst4
Listing 1. rc.db2
#!/bin/sh
# rc.db2
# stop/start db2 instances

# check to see if db2 inst is runningdb2_running(){state=`ps -ef |grep db2sysc 
                    |grep -v grep| awk '$1=="'${inst}'" { print $1 }'`
if [ "$state" = "" ] 
then 
    return 1 
else 
    return 0 
fi}

usage ()

{
echo "`basename $0` start | stop <instance>"
}

# stop db2 
stop_db2 ()
{
echo "stopping db2 instance as user $inst" 
    if [ -f /home/$inst/sqllib/db2profile ]; then 
        . /home/$inst/sqllib/db2profile 
else 
    echo "Cannot source DB2..exiting" 
exit 1
fi 
    /home/$inst/sqllib/adm/db2stop force
}

# start db2
start_db2 ()
{
echo "starting db2 instance as user $inst" 
    if [ -f /home/$inst/sqllib/db2profile ]; then 
        . /home/$inst/sqllib/db2profile 
else 
    echo "Cannot source DB2..exiting" 
exit 1
fi
/home/$inst/sqllib/adm/db2start
} 

# check we get 2 params
if [ $# != 2 ]
then 
    usage 
    exit 1
fi

inst=$2 

case "$1" in 
Start|start) 
    if db2_running  
        then  
        echo "db2 instance $inst appears to be already running"
         exit 0 
    else 
        echo " instance not running as user $inst..attempting to start it" 
        start_db2 $inst

        fi
        ;; 
Stop|stop) 
    if db2_running 
        then 
        echo "instance running as $inst..attempting to stop it"
        stop_db2 $inst 
    else 
        echo "db2 instance $inst appears to be not running anyway" 
        exit 0 
    fi 
    ;; 
*) usage  
;;
esac

The other way to preserve system environment variables is to use the Defaults !env_reset directive, like in sudoers:

Defaults !env_reset

Then from the command line, specify the environment variable name with its value:

$ sudo LIBPATH=″/usr/lib:/opt/db2_09_05/lib64″ -u delta /usr/local/bin/datapmp

If you do not put the !env_reset entry in, you will get the following error from sudo when you try to run the command:

sudo: sorry, you are not allowed to set the following environment variables: LIBPATH

If you find that sudo is also stripping out other environment variables, you can specify the variable name in sudoers so that sudo keeps those variables intact (with the Defaults env_keep += directive). For instance, suppose sudo was stripping out the application variables DSTAGE_SUP and DSTAGE_META from one of my suodo-ised scripts. To preserve these variables, I could put the following entries in sudoers:

Defaults env_keep += "DSTAGE_SUP"
Defaults env_keep += "DSTAGE_META"

Notice that I give the variable name and not the variable value. The values are already contained in my script like this:

export DSTAGE_SUP=/opt/dstage/dsengine; export DSTAGE_META=/opt/dstage/db2

Now when the sudo script is executed, the above environment variables are preserved.


Securing the sudo path

A default PATH within sudoers can be imposed using the secure_path directive. This directive specifies where to look for binaries and commands when a user executes a sudo command. This option clearly tries to lock down specific areas where a user runs a sudo command, which is good practice. Use the following directive in sudoers, specifying the secure PATH with its search directories:

Defaults secure_path="/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/opt/freeware/bin:/usr/sbin"

Getting restrictive

Restrictions can be put in place to restrict certain commands to users. Assume you have a group called dataex, whose members are "alpha," "bravo," and "charlie." Now, that group has been allowed to run the sudo command /usr/local/bin/mis_ext * , where the asterisk represents the many parameters passed to the script. However, user "charlie" is not allowed to execute that script if the parameter is import. This type of condition can be met by using the logical NOT '!' operator. Here is how that is achieved in sudoers:

 %dataex rs6000 = (dbmis) NOPASSWD: /usr/local/bin/mis_ext *
 charlie rs6000 = (dbmis) NOPASSWD: !/usr/local/bin/mis_ext import

Note that the logical NOT operator entries go after the non-restrictive entry. Many conditional NOT entries can be applied on the same line; just make sure that they are comma separated, like so:

charlie rs6000 = (dbmis) NOPASSWD: /usr/local/bin/aut_pmp *

charlie rs6000 = (dbmis) NOPASSWD: !/usr/local/bin/aut_pmp create,
!/usr/local/bin/aut_pmp delete, !/usr/local/bin/aut_pmp amend

When in visudo, do not think just saving the sudo entry and staying in visudo will make the changes effective; it won't. You must exit visudo for the changes to take effect.


Rolling out sudo commands

Rolling out sudo commands to remote hosts in an enterprise environment is best done using a ssh script as root, and the keys should have been exchanged between the hosts, for password-less logins. Let's look at one example of how to do this. With geographically remote machines, if you get a hardware issue of some sort (disk or memory), the IBM® engineer will be on-site to replace the failing hardware. There will be occasions when they require the root password to carry out their task. One procedure you might want to put in place is for the engineer to gain access to root they must use sudo. Informing the engineer prior to the visit of the password would be advantageous. Listing 2 demonstrates one way you could roll out this configuration. Looking more closely at Listing 2, use a for loop containing a list of hosts you are pushing out to. (Generally, though, you would have these hosts in a text file and read them in using a while loop.) Using the 'here' document method, make a backup copy of sudoers, and an entry is then appended to sudoers, like so:

# -- ibmeng sudo root
ibmeng host1 = (root) NOPASSWD:ALL

Next, the user "ibmeng" is created, and the password is set for the user using chpasswd. In this demonstration, it is ibmpw. A message is then appended to their profile, informing the user how to sudo to root. So when the engineer logs in, he is presented with the message:

IBM Engineer, to access root account type: sudo -u root su -

Of course the account for ibmeng would be locked after the visit.

Listing 2. dis_ibm
#!/bin/sh
# dis_ibm
dest_hosts='host1 host2 host3 host4'

for host in $dest_hosts
do
echo "doing [$host]"

$ssh -T -t -l root $host<<'mayday'
host=`hostname`
cp /etc/sudoers /etc/sudoers.bak

    if [ $? != 0 ]
    then
    echo "error: unable to cp sudoers file"
    exit 1
    fi
echo "# -- ibmeng sudo root\nibmeng $host = (root) NOPASSWD:ALL">>/etc/sudoers

mkuser su=false ibmeng
if [ $? = 0 ]
    then
    echo "ibmeng:ibmpw" | chpasswd -c
    else
    echo "error: unable to create user ibmeng and or passwd"
    exit 1
fi
    chuser gecos='IBM engineer acc' ibmeng
if [ -f /home/ibmeng/.profile ]
    then
    echo "echo \"IBM Engineer, to access root account type: sudo -u root su -"\"
>>/home/ibmeng/.profile
fi
mayday
done

Conclusion

Sudo allows you to control who can run what commands as whom. But you must be able to understand the features of sudoers fully to gain maximum understanding of its implications and responsibility.

Resources

Learn

Get products and technologies

Discuss

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into AIX and Unix on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=433360
ArticleTitle=Make sudo work harder
publish-date=10062009