远离咖啡因、繁重的工作和文本编辑器吧,是时候将 UNIX shell 改装成高速大马力汽车了,同时也是时候进行极限 shell 改造了。

Martin Streicher, 软件开发人员, Pixel, Byte, and Comma

作者照片 - martin streicherMartin Streicher 是一位 Ruby on Rails 的自由开发人员和 Linux Magazine 的前任主编。Martin 毕业于 Purdue University 并获得计算机科学学位,从 1986 年起他一直从事 UNIX 类系统的编程工作。他喜欢收集艺术品和玩具。



2011 年 7 月 18 日

无论您开什么车,您一定会喜欢高速的大马力汽车。没有什么车比配备五轮辐镀镁轮毂、宽轮胎、黑色油漆、大量镀铬部件和强劲的大马力引擎的 1969 年产 Dodge Charger 更给力了。它是一部杰作,就像 Rodin 的思考者一样,是一部经典之作。

UNIX® shell 也是一部经典之作。只要经过一番改造,它也可以像高速的大马力汽车一样强劲有力。您可以将这个改造过程称为 “极限 shell 改造”。我觉得这很酷!

它由活动部件组成

在闪动的提示符背后,您的 shell(比如 Bash、Z shell 或其他 shell)有许多活动部件,您可以增强、改进和调整它们。以下是对这些部件的总结(其中许多已在前面的专栏文章中详细讨论过):

  • 别名(alias)是缩写的命令名和命令行短语。例如,命令 alias ll 'ls -hlt' 将一个常用的命令行缩减为两个字母,从而使要输入和要记住的东西变得更少。别名通常只是单纯的缩写。但是,与 shell 脚本或 shell 函数一样,别名也可以接受参数。命令 alias print 'lpr -h -Pps5 \!*' 可以将 \!* 替换为命令行参数。因此,print manual.ps schematic.ps form.ps 会展开为 lpr -h -Pps5 manual.ps schematic.ps form.ps
  • 环境变量跨命令(甚至是生成新进程的命令)保存设置。根据惯例,一些环境变量有特殊含义:命令和应用程序认为 PRINTER 表示首选输出设备,而 EDITOR 和 PAGER 分别表示用来修改和显示文本的文本编辑器和查看器。其他环境变量与不同的实用程序有关。PS1 就是这样一个例子,它告诉 shell 将显示哪些内容作为最初提示。另一个重要的环境变量是 shell 的 PATH,它列出了搜索可执行文件的目录。(要想了解特定应用程序或命令中可以识别哪些环境变量,请参阅其手册页中的 "Environment variables" 部分。)
  • 函数也可以从命令行调用,它们填补了别名与完全成熟的脚本之间的空缺。例如,如果需要操纵参数或应用逻辑,别名很可能不够用;但是,使用完整的脚本可能太过浪费。因此可以通过组合使用函数来实现累积的效果。创建函数需要一定的编程经验,但是并不不是很麻烦。
  • shell 选项控制了 shell 的行为。shell 选项通常因 shell 而异,功能丰富的 shell(比如 Bash 或 Z shell)可能有数百个可调整参数。(Z shell 有专门对配置选项进行解释的手册页 zshoptions。)例如,如果已经启用了 Z shell 选项 pushd_ignore_dupspushd 就不会将已存在的目录压入目录堆栈。您可以花几小时研究选项,寻找想要的组合,然后执行 set (Bash) 或 setopt 并将输出重定向到某个文件中。可以将捕捉到的部分或所有设置复制到启动文件中,这样就可以在每次打开 shell 时重建自己的工作空间。

除了这些部件之外,还可以改变 shell 的外观。美元符号 ($) 提示符可以显示为不同的颜色,以反映当前工作目录,甚至是天气情况。只要可以用命令捕捉到信息,就可以将它们显示在提示符中。


修改提示符

与 shell 中的其他操作一样,环境变量可以控制每次 shell 显示提示符时应显示的内容。与命令行本身一样,可以在呈现提示符内容时对变量 PS1(或 "prompt string level 1")进行解释。PS1 可以包含其他 shell 和环境变量、置换命令运算(通过反引号)和特殊的字面值。下面是一个简单的示例:

$ export PS1="\u@\h \w >"
strike@nostromo ~ > whoami; hostname; pwd
strike
nostromo
/home/strike
strike@nostromo ~ >

最初,提示符是简单的 $ 符号。如果将环境变量 PS1 设置(使用 export 而不是 set)为 \u@\h \w >,则会显示您的用户名 (\u)、字面值 @、主机名 (\h)、当前工作目录 (\w) 和字面字符串 >

其他特殊的字面值包括 \t(采用 24 小时制的时间格式)、\d(采用周、月、日格式的日期)和 \!(shell 历史记录编号)。如果 shell 窗口打开的时间较长,可以用 !nnn 快速重复前面的命令,其中的 nnn 是命令提示符中显示的编号。

strike@nostromo ~ > export PS1="\! $ "
776 $ find . -name ...
...
999 $ !776
find . -name ...
1000 $

当您的行为类似于超级用户(即 root 用户)时,shell 提示符会变成 #,您可能对此感到惊奇。默认情况下,标准的提示符实际上是特殊操作符 \$。如果您的有效用户 ID 是 0,则会使用 # 作为提示符;否则会使用 $

还有用来改变颜色的缩写。下面是一个示例:

strike@nostromo ~ > export PS1='$ '
$ blue='\e[0;34m'
$ none='\e[m'
$ export PS1="$blue\u@\h$none\w>"
<span style="color: blue;">strike@nostromo </span>~ ><br />

十分笨拙的缩写 \e[0;34m 表示可以启用蓝色。\e[m 可以将显示颜色恢复为 shell 窗口的默认颜色。这两个编码均放在单引号内,以防止 shell 篡改有特殊含义的字符。这个示例还说明可以在提示符中使用变量。在解释命令行时,会展开变量 bluenone,提示符被设置为展开变量而生成的字符串。如果希望在每次显示提示符时都动态展开变量,则必须在设置提示符时对它的解释进行转义。请参见以下示例:

<span style="color: blue;">strike@nostromo 
    </span>~ >export PS1="\$somevar $ "
$ somevar="hello"
hello $

\$somevar 可以对美元符号进行转义,避免在设置提示符的命令中对该变量进行解释,而是在显示提示符时对其进行解释。如果其他命令改变了 somevar 的值,提示符将显示为新的值。

正如前面提到的,还可以在提示符下调用任何命令或函数。只需使用反引号 (``)。例如,在使用 Ruby Version Manager 在不同的 Ruby 语言版本和解释器之间切换时,您可能想知道当前使用了哪种 Ruby 二进制代码。有两种实现此操作的方法:

hello $ export PS1="(`which ruby`) \w $ "
(/Users/strike/.rvm/rubies/ruby-1.9.2-p0/bin/ruby) ~ $

第一种方法使用 which 在当前的 PATH 中寻找第一个 Ruby 可执行文件。后一种方法实现相同的目标,它展示了置换命令运算可以有多么复杂。如果将提示符设置为以下字符串:

"(`rvm info | grep 'ruby:' | grep bin | cut -f2 -d: | tr \\" ' '`)"

会得到相同的结果,尽管没必要采用这么复杂的方式。

顺便说一句,您可能想知道 PS1 为什么是 "prompt string level 1"。是否存在其他提示符级别?是的,存在针对 PS2、PS3 和 PS4 的环境变量,当打开新的块时,会出现这些提示符。下面是一个示例:

$ for i in [A-Z]*
>

输入 for i in [A-Z]* 并按回车之后,shell 会显示 PS2 提示符(默认提示符是 >),这表明您目前位于 for 循环主体中。换句话说,您现在 “嵌套” 在循环中,处于更深的一级。如果用 done 结束循环,第一级提示符会重新出现。

$ for i in [A-Z]*
> do
> echo $i
> done
Gemfile
Gemfile.lock
README
Rakefile
$

实际上,只要在前面的提示符中没有完成命令行,就会出现新提示符。这解释了不匹配的单引号或双引号会导致出现新提示符的原因。shell 会提示您继续输入前面已经开始的命令行。

在提示符中嵌入信息是跟踪状态(比如当前主机、工作目录等等)的好方法。创建您喜欢的提示符之后,将 shell 启动文件分发给您的所有帐号。如果您与大多数现代用户一样,那么您的屏幕上会有许多远程 shell 窗口,提示符可以帮助您区分它们。可以创建根据主机改变提示符颜色的函数。


modder 和 rodder

一些用户将定制 shell 当作一种消遣,您可以在网上找到很多这方面的灵感和源代码。有两个软件包非常值得一提:Oh My Z Shell! 和 Bash It!。前者适用于 Z shell,后者适用于 Bash。它们都是 shell 修改的集合,包括一些补充、主题(颜色和提示符)、函数和现成的 "dot" 文件。它们都是开放源码的,可以从 github 获得它们。让我们来试一下 Oh My Z Shell!(或简称为 OMZ!)。要想使用它,您必须安装 Z shell 4.3.9 或更高版本。

可以使用 wget 安装这个包,并自动将您的 shell 改为 Z shell,参见清单 1

清单 1. 安装 shell 并将它改为 Z shell
$ wget http://github.com/robbyrussell/oh-my-zsh/raw/master/tools/install.sh -O - | sh
...
Cloning Oh My Zsh...
Cloning into /Users/strike/.oh-my-zsh...
remote: Counting objects: 1312, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (750/750), done.
remote: Total 1312 (delta 796), reused 944 (delta 520)
Receiving objects: 100% (1312/1312), 153.63 KiB, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (796/796), done.
Looking for an existing zsh config...
Using the Oh My Zsh template file and adding it to ~/.zshrc
Copying your current PATH and adding it to the end of ~/.zshrc for you.
Time to change your default shell to zsh!
Changing shell for strike.
Password for strike:
chsh: /usr/bin/env zsh: non-standard shell
         __                                     __
  ____  / /_     ____ ___  __  __   ____  _____/ /_
 / __ \/ __ \   / __ `__ \/ / / /  /_  / / ___/ __ \
/ /_/ / / / /  / / / / / / /_/ /    / /_(__  ) / / /
\____/_/ /_/  /_/ /_/ /_/\__, /    /___/____/_/ /_/
                        /____/

还可以手工安装这个工具包。如果您在运行另一种 shell,只是想试试 Z shell,那么手工安装可能会更好。请使用 Git 复制这个工具包,然后运行 zsh

$ git clone git://github.com/robbyrussell/oh-my-zsh.git ~/.oh-my-zsh
$ cp ~/.oh-my-zsh/templates/zshrc.zsh-template ~/.zshrc
$ zsh

您应该会看到与图 1 相似的屏幕和提示符。OMZ! 的默认主题称为 "robbyrussell",由 OMZ! 的管理者命名。您可以将它更改为 ~/.oh-my-zsh/themes 中列出的任何主题。更改主题的方法是,打开 ~/.zshrc 文件,将 ZSH_THEME 变量设置为主题文件的基本名称。例如,要想使用 cloud.zsh-theme,则应该设置 ZSH_THEME=cloud

图 1. 更改 shell 的主题
图中显示了 shell 的主题

您可能会注意到,许多主题的输出状态信息显示在提示符中和提示符的最右边。例如,Clean 主题在最右边输出当前时间。与硬件屏幕不同,屏幕模拟器的底部通常没有状态条,但是可以使用提示符右边的区域提供动态反馈。还记得可以在提示符中使用 \e[ 编码设置颜色吗?有一组这样的 “转义” 可以将光标移动到窗口中的不同位置。另外,目前的 UNIX 系统并没有使用神秘的符号和数字,而是使用 tput 按名称或用途查找和产生转义。Z shell 使用这种方法提供 RPS1 和 RPS2,它们分别表示初始行和后续行右边的提示符。

除了通过主题控制颜色和提示符之外,OMZ! 还提供了一些插件,这些插件将同类的函数和特性集中在一起。例如,如果您使用 Git 进行源代码控制,可以启用 Git OMZ! 插件,它会在提示符中增加 Git 状态。请打开 ~/.zshrc 文件,然后编辑插件行,在其中包含 git>。现在,当切换到一个 Git 存储库时,提示符会反映该状态。例如,图 2 显示了 Clean 主题和一个存储库,其中有包含一些尚未提交的修改。

图 2. Clean 主题和存储库
图中显示了 Clean 主题和存储库

提示显示了当前的分支 ("rubricmods") 和一个红色的 X,这表示当前存储库是 “脏的”,即已经修改了本地文件,但还没有提交。提交修改之后,X 会消失。Git 插件还为常用的 Git 命令组合创建别名,为 Git 选项提供上下文敏感的命令补全特性。来试一下:如果输入 git branch,然后按 Tab 键,Git 插件就会列出可用的分支,以及用于 Mac OS X、Ruby on Rails 开发、MySQL 等的其他插件。一些插件很简单,可能只提供一个函数或几个别名;其他插件的功能可能更丰富。

Dirpersist 是说明 OMZ! 插件的用途的好例子。Dirpersist 跨 shell 调用存储并恢复目录堆栈,因此可以保留重要的状态,让您能够回到原来离开的位置继续工作。要使用它,请在 ~/.zshrc 文件中添加这个插件。这个插件的源代码很简单,参见清单 2

清单 2. OMZ! 插件源代码
#!/bin/zsh
#
# Make the dirstack more persistent
#
# Add dirpersist to $plugins in ~/.zshrc to load
#

# $zdirstore is the file used to persist the stack
zdirstore=~/.zdirstore

dirpersistinstall () {
  if grep 'dirpersiststore' ~/.zlogout > /dev/null; then
  else
    if read -q \?"Would you like to set up your .zlogout file for 
        use with dirpersist? (y/n) "; then
      echo "# Store dirs stack\n\
        # See ~/.oh-my-zsh/plugins/dirspersist.plugin.zsh\ndirpersiststore" >> ~/.zlogout
    else
      echo "If you don't want this message to appear, remove dirspersist from \$plugins"
    fi
  fi
}

dirpersiststore () {
  dirs -p | perl -e 'foreach (reverse <STDIN>) {\
    chomp;s/([& ])/\\$1/g ;print "if [ -d $_ ]; then pushd -q $_; fi\n"}' > $zdirstore
}

dirpersistrestore () {
  if [ -f $zdirstore ]; then
    source $zdirstore
  fi
}

DIRSTACKSIZE=10
setopt autopushd pushdminus pushdsilent pushdtohome pushdignoredups

dirpersistinstall
dirpersistrestore

# Make popd changes permanent without having to wait for logout
alias popd="popd;dirpersiststore"

这个插件包含三个函数、几个 shell 选项和 popd 的别名(为每个弹出操作保留目录堆栈)。这个插件还对其环境进行初始化,创建存储目录堆栈的位置,通过修改 Z shell 退出文件 ~/.zlogout,在用户退出时保存目录堆栈。您应该可以看出,创建新的插件很容易,还可以围绕任何 shell 命令集来构建插件。

如果您喜欢 OMZ!,但是您使用的是 Bash shell,那么试一下 Bash It!。它的灵感来源于 OMZ!,具有相似的功能。Bash It! 还为 Subversion 和 nginx 提供了插件。


发动引擎吧!

研究 OMZ! 或 Bash It! 的内部机制,了解定制 shell 的一些技巧。通过在网上搜索 "dot files",还能找到一些充满智慧的、新奇的东西:许多 UNIX 爱好者在网上公开了他们的 shell 配置供他人借鉴。还有一点值得注意:应该对 dot 文件采用某种版本控制机制。有了存储库,您便可以更放心地试验各种修改和其他 shell。如果犯了错误,可以恢复以前的版本,还可以为不同的 shell 或场景保留相应的变体。shell 非常灵活,因为一种配置不一定适合所有场景。当您有了一套很酷的 dot 文件之后,请与别人分享。公开 dot 文件虽然不能使您成为《速度与激情》的下一部影片中的明星,但很可能会提高您在爱好者中的声誉。

参考资料

学习

  • Z shell:可以在 Z shell 的项目页面上找到其源代码以及丰富的文档和教程。
  • Bash 文档:进一步了解 Bash shell、终端光标和呈现选项。
  • Oh My Z Shell!:请参考这个开放源码项目,以便向 Z shell 添加扩展和有帮助的快捷方式。
  • Bash It!:这个社区项目提供了用来扩展和简化 Bash shell 的框架。
  • 许多开发人员和开放源码项目使用 Gitgithub 进行代码版本控制。
  • 对话 UNIX:阅读本系列的其他部分。
  • AIX and UNIX 专区:developerWorks 的“AIX and UNIX 专区”提供了大量与 AIX 系统管理的所有方面相关的信息,您可以利用它们来扩展自己的 UNIX 技能。
  • AIX and UNIX 新手入门:访问“AIX and UNIX 新手入门”页面可了解更多关于 AIX 和 UNIX 的内容。
  • AIX and UNIX 专题汇总:AIX and UNIX 专区已经为您推出了很多的技术专题,为您总结了很多热门的知识点。我们在后面还会继续推出很多相关的热门专题给您,为了方便您的访问,我们在这里为您把本专区的所有专题进行汇总,让您更方便的找到您需要的内容。
  • AIX and UNIX 下载中心:在这里你可以下载到可以运行在 AIX 或者是 UNIX 系统上的 IBM 服务器软件以及工具,让您可以提前免费试用他们的强大功能。
  • IBM Systems Magazine for AIX 中文版:本杂志的内容更加关注于趋势和企业级架构应用方面的内容,同时对于新兴的技术、产品、应用方式等也有很深入的探讨。IBM Systems Magazine 的内容都是由十分资深的业内人士撰写的,包括 IBM 的合作伙伴、IBM 的主机工程师以及高级管理人员。所以,从这些内容中,您可以了解到更高层次的应用理念,让您在选择和应用 IBM 系统时有一个更好的认识。
  • 技术书店:阅读关于这些和其他技术主题的书籍。

获得产品和技术

  • Bash shell:从 GNU Software Foundation 下载 Bash shell 的源代码。

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=733386
ArticleTitle=对话 UNIX: 极限 shell 改造
publish-date=07182011

Speaking UNIX: Extreme shell makeover

Break out the caffeine, elbow grease, and your text editor. It's time to turn your UNIX shell into a hot rod. It's time for an extreme shell makeover.

Share:

Martin Streicher, Software Developer, Pixel, Byte, and Comma

author photo - martin streicherMartin Streicher is a freelance Ruby on Rails developer and the former Editor-in-Chief of Linux Magazine. Martin holds a Masters of Science degree in computer science from Purdue University and has programmed UNIX-like systems since 1986. He collects art and toys. You can reach Martin at martin.streicher@gmail.com.



14 June 2011

Also available in Chinese Spanish

No matter what car you drive, you have to appreciate the hot rod. There's nothing quite like a 1969 Dodge Charger with five-spoke mag wheels, wide tires, a midnight black finish, lots of chrome, and a snarling big block. It's a masterpiece—the car Rodin's The Thinker would drive. A classic.

The UNIX® shell is a classic, too (sans the big fenders). But with a little elbow grease, wrench time, and after-market modifications, it can look and perform like a hot rod, too. You might call this "Top Gear-head" or "Extreme Shell Makeover." I call it cool!

It's got moving parts

Beneath that blinking prompt, your shell—be it Bash, Z shell, or something else—has lots of moving parts that you can augment, tune, and tweak. Here's a summary (as many of these have been discussed in detail on prior columns):

  • An alias can abbreviate command names and command-line phrases. For example, creating alias ll 'ls -hlt' reduces a commonly used command line to just two letters—less to type and less to remember. Most often, an alias abbreviates literals. However, much like a shell script or a shell function, an alias can also accept parameters. The command alias print 'lpr -h -Pps5 \!*' replaces \!* with command-line arguments. Thus, typing print manual.ps schematic.ps form.ps is expanded to lpr -h -Pps5 manual.ps schematic.ps form.ps.
  • Environment variables persist settings across commands, even commands that spawn new processes. Some environment variables have special meaning because of convention: PRINTER is recognized by commands and applications as your preferred output device, while EDITOR and PAGER indicate which text editor and viewer to use for modifying and displaying text, respectively. Other environment variables are germane to individual utilities. One example is PS1. It tells your shell what to render for your initial prompt. Another workhorse environment variable is the shell's PATH, which enumerates directories to search for an executable. (To find which environment variables are recognized in a specific application or command, look for a section called "Environment variables" in its man page.)
  • Functions are callable from the command line, too, and fill the gap between an alias and a full-blown script. For example, if you need to manipulate arguments or apply logic, an alias is likely insufficient; yet, an entire script may be overkill. Functions can also be combined to achieve cumulative effects. You need a modicum of programming savvy to create functions, but nothing onerous.
  • Shell options control the behavior of the shell. Shell options typically vary from shell to shell, and a rich shell, such as Bash or Z shell, can have hundreds of tunable parameters. (The Z shell has a dedicated man page, zshoptions, just to document configurability.) For example, if you enable the Z shell option pushd_ignore_dups, pushd won't push a directory onto the directory stack if it's already there. You can literally spend hours exploring options. Once you find a combination you want to keep, type set (Bash) or setopt and redirect the output to a file. You can copy some or all of the captured settings to a startup file to recreate your workspace each time you open a shell.

In addition to these gears and levers, you can change how your shell looks. The nondescript dollar sign ($) prompt can sport colors, reflect your current working directory, and even show the weather. If you can capture bits of information with a command, you can probably display that data at the prompt.


Like pinstripes

Much like other operations in the shell, an environment variable controls what's drawn each time the shell presents a prompt. The variable PS1, or "prompt string level 1," is interpreted when rendered much like the command line itself. PS1 can contain other shell and environment variables, in-place command evaluation (via backquotes), and specialized literals. Here's an initial example:

$ export PS1="\u@\h \w >"
strike@nostromo ~ > whoami; hostname; pwd
strike
nostromo
/home/strike
strike@nostromo ~ >

Initially, the prompt was the simple $. Setting the environment variable PS1 (hence, export instead of set) to \u@\h \w > renders your user name (the meaning of \u), the literal @, your host name (\h), your present working directory (\w), and the literal string >.

Other special literals include \t for the time (in 24-hour format), \d for the date (in weekday, month, date format), and \! for the shell history number. If you keep your shell window open for extended periods, you can quickly repeat a previous command with !nnn, where nnn is the number shown in the prompt for the command.

strike@nostromo ~ > export PS1="\! $ "
776 $ find . -name ...
...
999 $ !776
find . -name ...
1000 $

Have you ever wondered how the shell prompt changes to the octothorpe (#) whenever you are or behave like the superuser, root? By default, the standard prompt is actually the special operator \$. If your effective user ID is 0, this emits #; otherwise, it emits a $.

Abbreviations also exist to change colors. Here is another sample to demonstrate:

strike@nostromo ~ > export PS1='$ '
$ blue='\e[0;34m'
$ none='\e[m'
$ export PS1="$blue\u@\h$none\w>"
<span style="color: blue;">strike@nostromo </span>~ ><br />

The (rather unwieldy) abbreviation \e[0;34m enables blue. Its complement, \e[m, resets the rendering color to the default for your shell window. Both codes are enclosed in single quotation marks to prevent the shell from interpolating characters that have special meaning. This example also shows that you can use variables in a prompt, too. Here, the variables blue and none are expanded when the command line is interpreted, and the prompt is set to the string that results from the expansion. If you want to expand a variable dynamically each time the prompt is rendered, you must escape its interpretation when set. Let's look at just that:

<span style="color: blue;">strike@nostromo 
    </span>~ >export PS1="\$somevar $ "
$ somevar="hello"
hello $

The phrase \$somevar escapes the dollar sign, avoiding interpretation of the variable in the command where the prompt is set. Instead, the interpretation occurs whenever the prompt is drawn. If somevar changes because of other commands, the prompt displays its new value.

You can also call any command or function in the prompt, as mentioned earlier. Simply use the backquotes (``). For example, if you use the Ruby Version Manager to switch between Ruby language versions and interpreters, you may want to know which Ruby binary is active. There are two approaches:

hello $ export PS1="(`which ruby`) \w $ "
(/Users/strike/.rvm/rubies/ruby-1.9.2-p0/bin/ruby) ~ $

This first technique applies which to find the first Ruby executable in the current PATH. This next technique achieves the same goal but demonstrates how complex an in-place command evaluation can be. If you set the prompt to the string:

"(`rvm info | grep 'ruby:' | grep bin | cut -f2 -d: | tr \\" ' '`)"

you get the same result, albeit through a more circuitous route.

By the way, you may have wondered why PS1 is "prompt string level 1." Are there other prompt levels? The answer is yes. Environment variables exist for PS2, PS3, and PS4, and these prompts appear anytime you open a new block. Here is one occurrence:

$ for i in [A-Z]*
>

After you type for i in [A-Z]* and press Return, the shell presents the PS2 prompt (the default is the >) to highlight that you are now within the body of the for loop. In other words, you are now "nested" in the loop or at the next deeper level. If you finish the loop with done, the first-level prompt reappears.

$ for i in [A-Z]*
> do
> echo $i
> done
Gemfile
Gemfile.lock
README
Rakefile
$

In fact, a new prompt appears anytime you do not complete the command line at the previous prompt. This explains why an unmatched single or double quotation mark causes a new prompt to appear. The shell is prompting you (no pun intended) to continue what you started.

Embedding information in the prompt is a great way to track state, such as your current host, working directory, and more. Once you create a prompt you like, distribute your shell startup files to all your accounts. If, like most modern users, your screen fills with remote shell windows, the prompts can help you discern one from another. You might craft a function to change the prompt to a different color on each host.


Modders and rodders

Customizing the shell is a perennial geek pastime, and you can find a great deal of inspiration and source code online to find your own work. Two sources deserve special mention: Oh My Z Shell! and Bash It!. The former is for Z shell users, and the latter is for Bash aficionados. Both are a collection of shell modifications, including completions, themes (colors and prompts), functions, and ready-made "dot" files. Both are open source and available from github. Here, let's try Oh, My Z Shell! (or OMZ! for short). You must have Z shell version 4.3.9 or later to use the code.

You can install the package and change your shell to Z shell automatically with wget, as Listing 1 shows.

Listing 1. Install and change to the Z shell
$ wget http://github.com/robbyrussell/oh-my-zsh/raw/master/tools/install.sh -O - | sh
...
Cloning Oh My Zsh...
Cloning into /Users/strike/.oh-my-zsh...
remote: Counting objects: 1312, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (750/750), done.
remote: Total 1312 (delta 796), reused 944 (delta 520)
Receiving objects: 100% (1312/1312), 153.63 KiB, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (796/796), done.
Looking for an existing zsh config...
Using the Oh My Zsh template file and adding it to ~/.zshrc
Copying your current PATH and adding it to the end of ~/.zshrc for you.
Time to change your default shell to zsh!
Changing shell for strike.
Password for strike:
chsh: /usr/bin/env zsh: non-standard shell
         __                                     __
  ____  / /_     ____ ___  __  __   ____  _____/ /_
 / __ \/ __ \   / __ `__ \/ / / /  /_  / / ___/ __ \
/ /_/ / / / /  / / / / / / /_/ /    / /_(__  ) / / /
\____/_/ /_/  /_/ /_/ /_/\__, /    /___/____/_/ /_/
                        /____/

Optionally, you can install the kit manually. Doing so is likely preferable if you are running another shell and just want to try the Z shell. Use Git to clone the package, and then run zsh:

$ git clone git://github.com/robbyrussell/oh-my-zsh.git ~/.oh-my-zsh
$ cp ~/.oh-my-zsh/templates/zshrc.zsh-template ~/.zshrc
$ zsh

You should see a screen and prompt that resembles Figure 1. The default then for OMZ! is called "robbyrussell," named eponymously after the steward of OMZ! You can change this to any of the themes listed in ~/.oh-my-zsh/themes. To change a theme, open the ~/.zshrc file and set the ZSH_THEME variable to the base name of the theme file. For example, to use cloud.zsh-theme, set ZSH_THEME=cloud.

Figure 1. Changing your shell's theme
Image showing a shell's theme

You'll likely notice that many of the theme's print status information is in the prompt and to the far right of the prompt. For example, the Clean theme prints the current time at the far right. Screen emulators typically don't include a status line at the bottom (unlike their hardware progenitors) but can use the real estate found to the right of the prompt for dynamic feedback. Recall the funny \e[ codes to set colors in the prompt? There is an extensive set of such "escapes" to move the cursor around a window. Further, rather than use arcane symbols and numbers, modern UNIX systems use tput to look up and emit escapes by name or purpose. Z shell uses all this trickery to provide an RPS1 and RPS2 for right-side prompts on the initial and subsequent lines, respectively.

Beyond thematic treatments of colors and prompts, OMZ! includes plug-ins that group like functions and features. If you use Git for source control, for instance, you can enable the Git OMZ! plug-in to amend your prompt with Git status. Again, open the ~/.zshrc file and edit the plug-ins line to include git>. Now, when you switch to a Git repo, the prompt reflects state. For instance, Figure 2 shows the Clean theme and a repository with modifications that are not yet staged.

Figure 2. The Clean theme and repository
Image showing the Clean theme and respository

Smartly, the prompt shows the current branch ("rubricmods") and a red X, indicating that the current repository is dirty or that local files have been modified but not committed. Once the revisions are committed, the X is elided. The Git plug-in also adds helpful aliases for common Git command combinations and context-sensitive completions for Git options. Try one: If you type git branch followed by the Tab key, the Git plug-in lists the available branches. Other plug-ins exist for Mac OS X, Ruby on Rails development, MySQL, and more. Some of the plug-ins are slight, perhaps nothing more than a function or two or some aliases; other plug-ins are more extensive.

Dirpersist is a good showcase of the intent of OMZ! plug-ins. Dirpersist saves and restores your directory stack across shell invocations, thus preserving important state so that you can resume work where you left off. To use it, add the plug-in to your ~/.zshrc. The source of the plug-in is brief and shown in Listing 2.

Listing 2. OMZ! plug-in source
#!/bin/zsh
#
# Make the dirstack more persistent
#
# Add dirpersist to $plugins in ~/.zshrc to load
#

# $zdirstore is the file used to persist the stack
zdirstore=~/.zdirstore

dirpersistinstall () {
  if grep 'dirpersiststore' ~/.zlogout > /dev/null; then
  else
    if read -q \?"Would you like to set up your .zlogout file for 
        use with dirpersist? (y/n) "; then
      echo "# Store dirs stack\n\
        # See ~/.oh-my-zsh/plugins/dirspersist.plugin.zsh\ndirpersiststore" >> ~/.zlogout
    else
      echo "If you don't want this message to appear, remove dirspersist from \$plugins"
    fi
  fi
}

dirpersiststore () {
  dirs -p | perl -e 'foreach (reverse <STDIN>) {\
    chomp;s/([& ])/\\$1/g ;print "if [ -d $_ ]; then pushd -q $_; fi\n"}' > $zdirstore
}

dirpersistrestore () {
  if [ -f $zdirstore ]; then
    source $zdirstore
  fi
}

DIRSTACKSIZE=10
setopt autopushd pushdminus pushdsilent pushdtohome pushdignoredups

dirpersistinstall
dirpersistrestore

# Make popd changes permanent without having to wait for logout
alias popd="popd;dirpersiststore"

The plug-in is composed of three functions, a handful of shell options, and an alias for popd that persists the directory stack with each pop operation. The plug-in also initializes its environment, creating a place to store the directory stack and, by modifying the Z shell logout file, ~/.zlogout, to persist the directory stack any time you log out. As you can see, a new plug-in is easy to create, and you can build one around any set of shell commands.

If you like OMZ! but use the Bash shell, try Bash It! It was inspired by OMZ! and has similar and operation. Bash It also offers plug-ins for Subversion and nginx.


Burning virtual rubber

Pop open the hood of OMZ! or Bash It! to see what makes shell customizations tick. You can also find wisdom and novelty by searching the Web for the phrase "dot files": Many UNIX gearheads post personal shell configurations online for others to cull from. Here's a tip, too: Keep your dot files in some form of version control. Given a repository, you're likely to feel more comfortable experimenting with change and with other shells. You can revert to a prior version if you make a mistake or keep variations for particular shells or scenarios. The shell is flexible and dynamic, and one size need not fit all. Once you have a set of cool "dot files," share with others. Showing off your dot files may not land you a starring role in the next "The Fast and the Furious," but it'll likely boost your geek cred.

Resources

Learn

  • Z shell: You can find the source of the Z shell and extensive documentation and tutorials at the shell's project page.
  • Bash documentation: Read more about the Bash shell and terminal cursor and rendering options.
  • Oh My Z Shell!: Check out the open source project to add extensions and helpful shortcuts to the Z shell.
  • Bash It!: This community project provides a framework of extensions and convenience for the Bash shell.
  • Many developers and open source projects keep code under version control with Git and github.
  • Speaking UNIX: Check out other parts in this series.
  • AIX and UNIX developerWorks zone: The AIX and UNIX zone provides a wealth of information relating to all aspects of AIX systems administration and expanding your UNIX skills.
  • New to AIX and UNIX? Visit the New to AIX and UNIX page to learn more.
  • Technology bookstore: Browse the technology bookstore for books on this and other technical topics.

Get products and technologies

  • Bash shell: Download the source of the Bash shell from the GNU Software Foundation.

Discuss

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into AIX and Unix on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=680300
ArticleTitle=Speaking UNIX: Extreme shell makeover
publish-date=06142011