对话 UNIX: 通过共享内存进行进程间通信

UNIX® 提供多种进程间通信 技术,支持在两个或更多应用程序之间实现协作计算。共享内存是这些技术中最快、最灵活的,而且非常容易实现。

Martin Streicher, 软件开发人员, Pixel, Byte, and Comma

Martin Streicher 是一位 Ruby on Rails 的自由开发人员和 Linux Magazine 的前任主编。Martin 毕业于 Purdue University 并获得计算机科学学位,从 1986 年起他一直从事 UNIX 类系统的编程工作。他喜欢收集艺术品和玩具。



2010 年 12 月 13 日

从表面上看,UNIX® 应用程序单独控制底层主机。它随时可以访问处理器,它的内存是神圣不可侵犯的,连接它的设备只为它服务。但是表面现象会骗人,这样有如君主一般的绝对地位只是幻想而已。UNIX 系统同时运行大量应用程序,有限的物理资源要在它们之间共享。处理器能力被划分为时间片,应用程序映像经常被换入和换出真实内存,设备访问由需求驱动,还受到访问权限的限制。尽管您的 shell 提示符不断闪烁,但是 UNIX 系统并非只是等着您发出命令,在幕后有许多活动正在进行。

常用缩略词

  • API:应用程序编程接口
  • IPv4:Internet 协议第 4 版
  • IPv6:Internet 协议第 6 版
  • POSIX:UNIX 的可移植操作系统接口

尽管涉及一些复杂的机制,但是大多数应用程序不会注意到资源实际上是共享的,它们似乎是独享资源。但是,可以编写相互交互的应用程序。例如,一个应用程序收集或生成数据,而另一个应用程序同时监视进度并分析信息。另一个例子是即时交换消息的聊天系统,其中有两个对等的应用程序相互收发数据。Secure Shell (ssh) 也是这样,它可以在两个完全不同的主机之间进行协作。在这些情况下,代码都要连接另一段独立的代码以交换信息,这常常需要使用某种协议协商和控制交换过程。

UNIX 为实现这样的进程间通信 提供了多种技术。一些技术提供同一主机上的进程间通信,其他技术可以实现主机到主机的信息交换。另外,各种技术的速度不同,所以必须选择最合适自己需求的技术。还必须进行协调(实施时间控制和排他控制)。例如,如果一个应用程序产生数据,另一个应用程序消费数据,那么当读完共享池时消费者必须停下来等待生产者。另一方面,如果消费者无法足够快地读取池,生产者必须慢下来或暂停。

表 1 总结在典型的 UNIX 系统上可用的进程间通信形式。

表 1. UNIX 中的进程间通信
名称说明范围用途
文件在典型的 UNIX 文件中读写数据。任意数量的进程都可以互操作。 本地共享大数据集
管道使用专用的文件描述符在两个进程之间传输数据。通信只在父进程和子进程之间进行。 本地简单的数据共享,比如生产者和消费者
命名管道通过专用的文件描述符在进程之间交换数据。通信可以在同一主机上的任意两个对等进程之间进行。 本地生产者和消费者或命令-控制,比如 MySQL 和它的命令行查询工具
信号通过中断通知应用程序某一情况。本地无法在信号中传输数据,所以信号主要用于进程管理
共享内存通过在同一内存段中读写数据共享信息。本地任何类型的协作,尤其适合需要安全性的情况
套接字完成特殊的设置过程之后,使用一般的输入/输出操作传输数据。本地或远程FTP、ssh 和 Apache Web Server 等网络服务

正如前面提到的,每种技术满足不同的需求。假设多个进程之间的协作的复杂性大体相当,每种方法的优点和缺点如下:

  • 通过一般的 UNIX 文件共享数据很简单,因为它使用大家熟悉的文件操作。但是,通过文件系统共享数据很慢,因为磁盘输入和输出操作的效率远远比不上内存。另外,只通过文件读写数据很难协调。最后,在文件中保存敏感数据是不安全的,因为根用户和拥有特权的其他用户可以访问这些信息。对于只读或只写的数据,适合使用文件。
  • 管道和命名管道也很简单。它们在连接的两端使用两个标准的文件描述符 — 一个只执行读操作,另一个只执行写操作。但是,管道只能在父进程和子进程之间使用,不能在任意两个进程之间使用。命名管道克服了这个缺点,是在同一系统上交换数据的好方法。但是,管道和命名管道都不提供随机访问,因为它们都作为先入先出 (FIFO) 设备。
  • 信号无法在进程之间传输数据。一般情况下,信号应该只用于在进程之间通知异常情况。
  • 共享内存适合比较大的数据集,因为它使用内存,支持快速的随机访问。共享内存的实现有点儿复杂,尽管如此,对于多个进程之间的主机 协作,共享内存是不错的方法。
  • 套接字的功能与命名管道很相似,但是可以跨主机。本地套接字 (也称为 UNIX 套接字)只能进行本地(同一主机上的)连接。InetInet6 套接字分别使用 IPv4 和 IPv6 协议,它们接受远程连接(也可以通过本地机器的 Internet 寻址机制接受本地连接)。网络应用程序显然应该选择套接字,比如分布式处理或 web 浏览器。所需的代码比命名管道复杂一点儿,但是模式是固定的,在任何 UNIX 网络编程书中都有介绍。

现在不考虑主机 应用程序通信,看看如何通过共享内存在同一主机上进行进程间通信。

共享内存的工作方式

顾名思义,共享内存让一段内存可供多个进程访问。用特殊的系统调用(即对 UNIX 内核的请求)分配和释放内存并设置权限;通过一般的读写操作读写内存段中的数据。

共享内存并不是从某一进程拥有的内存中划分出来的;进程的内存总是私有的。共享内存是从系统的空闲内存池中分配的,希望访问它的每个进程连接它。这个连接过程称为映射,它给共享内存段分配每个进程的地址空间中的本地地址。图 1图 2图 3图 4 说明此过程:

  1. 假设在同一系统上有两个进程 A 和 B 正在运行(见 图 1),它们可以通过共享内存进行协作和共享信息。在图中 A 和 B 采用不同大小的图形,以此强调应用程序不必相同。
    图 1. 两个进程在同一个主机上运行,执行不同的代码
    两个进程在同一个主机上运行,执行不同的代码
  2. 图 2 中,进程 A 请求一个共享内存段。进程 A 对这个内存段进行初始化,让它准备好接受访问。这个过程还给内存段命名,让其他进程可以找到它。通常,内存段名称并不是动态分配的;而是众所周知的,比如使用头文件中的常量,其他代码可以方便地引用它。
    图 2. 一个进程请求共享内存段
    一个进程请求共享内存段
  3. 进程 A 把共享内存段连接(即映射)到自己的地址空间。进程 B 通过它的命名管道找到这个内存段,也把它映射到自己的地址空间,见 图 3。两个进程扩大了,表示包含共享内存段。
    图 3. 两个进程连接(即映射)共享内存段
    两个进程连接(即映射)共享内存段
  4. 最后,在 图 4 中,进程 A 和 B 可以随意读写共享内存段。按照与本地进程内存相同的方式对待共享内存。read()write() 的作用与一般情况下一样。
    图 4. 两个或更多进程现在可以通过共同的内存共享数据
    两个或更多进程现在可以通过共同的内存共享数据

这些图中所示的许多工作可以通过 UNIX 共享内存 API 执行。实际上,有两套共享内存 API:POSIX API 和比较老(但是仍然有效)的 System V API。因为 POSIX 是 UNIX 和 Linux® 及其衍生系统上的公认标准,所以我们使用此版本。另外,POSIX API 使用简单的文件描述符执行读写,大家应该更熟悉。

POSIX 为创建、映射、同步和取消共享内存段提供五个入口点:

  • shm_open():创建共享内存段或连接到现有的已命名内存段。这个系统调用返回一个文件描述符。
  • shm_unlink():根据(shm_open() 返回的)文件描述符,删除共享内存段。实际上,这个内存段直到访问它的所有进程都退出时才会删除,这与在 UNIX 中删除文件很相似。但是,调用 shm_unlink() (通常由原来创建共享内存段的进程调用)之后,其他进程就无法访问这个内存段了。
  • mmap():把共享内存段映射到进程的内存。这个系统调用需要 shm_open() 返回的文件描述符,它返回指向内存的指针。(在某些情况下,还可以把一般文件或另一个设备的文件描述符映射到内存。对这些操作的讨论超出了本文的范围;具体方法请查阅操作系统的 mmap() 文档。)
  • munmap():作用与 mmap() 相反。
  • msync():用来让共享内存段与文件系统同步 — 当把文件映射到内存时,这种技术有用。

使用共享内存的过程是,用 shm_open() 创建内存段,用 write()ftruncate() 设置它的大小,用 mmap() 把它映射到进程内存,执行其他参与者需要的操作。当使用完时,原来的进程调用 munmap()shm_unlink(),然后退出。


示例应用程序

清单 1 给出一个简单的共享内存示例。(代码取自 John Fusco 撰写的 The Linux Programmer's Toolbox 一书 [由 Prentice Hall Professional 于 2007 年 3 月出版,ISBN 0132198576],已经得到出版商的使用授权。)代码实现通过共享内存段通信的父进程和子进程。

清单 1. 共享内存示例
#include <stdio.h>
#include <string.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <unistd.h>
#include <sys/file.h>
#include <sys/mman.h>
#include <sys/wait.h>

void error_and_die(const char *msg) {
  perror(msg);
  exit(EXIT_FAILURE);
}

int main(int argc, char *argv[]) {
  int r;

  const char *memname = "sample";
  const size_t region_size = sysconf(_SC_PAGE_SIZE);

  int fd = shm_open(memname, O_CREAT | O_TRUNC | O_RDWR, 0666);
  if (fd == -1)
    error_and_die("shm_open");

  r = ftruncate(fd, region_size);
  if (r != 0)
    error_and_die("ftruncate");

  void *ptr = mmap(0, region_size, PROT_READ | PROT_WRITE, MAP_SHARED, fd, 0);
  if (ptr == MAP_FAILED)
    error_and_die("mmap");
  close(fd);

  pid_t pid = fork();

  if (pid == 0) {
    u_long *d = (u_long *) ptr;
    *d = 0xdbeebee;
    exit(0);
  }
  else {
    int status;
    waitpid(pid, &status, 0);
    printf("child wrote %#lx\n", *(u_long *) ptr);
  }

  r = munmap(ptr, region_size);
  if (r != 0)
    error_and_die("munmap");

  r = shm_unlink(memname);
  if (r != 0)
    error_and_die("shm_unlink");

  return 0;
}

下面是代码中的一些要点:

  • shm_open() 的调用看起来应该很熟悉;它与 open() 函数很相似,包括初始化内存段和设置权限的方式。在这里,内存段是全局可读、全局可写的。如果调用成功,返回下一个未使用的文件描述符;否则,返回 -1 并相应地设置 errno
  • ftruncate() 把文件的大小设置为 region_size 字节,这以前设置为系统的标准页面大小。sysconf() 是 libc 的组成部分。(还可以使用 shell 工具 getconf 检查系统的配置设置。)
  • mmap() 连接共享内存段,返回用于对内存段直接读写字节的指针。PROT_READPROT_WRITE 分别表示可以读和写这个内存段中的页面。MAP_SHARED 表示对这个内存段的任何修改应该向所有参与共享的进程 “公开”。
  • 如果您使用过 fork(),那么应该熟悉代码的计算部分。执行 fork 之后,父进程和子进程获得打开的所有文件描述符和数据值的拷贝,所以指针对于它们都是有效的。但是,pid 不同。子进程获得 0,父进程获得子进程的进程 ID,这个变量的值决定执行哪个 if/then/else 分支。子进程向指针写一些字节,然后退出。父进程等待子进程退出,然后读取它写的数据。
  • 但是,在父进程退出之前,它必须释放共享内存。用 munmap()shm_unlink() 完成这个步骤。

这个示例非常简单。真实的应用程序会使用信号量或其他技术控制对共享内存段的读写。这种控制通常因应用程序而异,如果您的 UNIX 版本不是开放源码的,可以在 Berkeley Software Distribution (BSD) 和 Linux 源代码中找到许多示例。


结束语

因为 UNIX 同时运行许多应用程序,所以它是非常适合监视、数据收集、协作和分布式计算以及客户机-服务器应用程序的平台。共享内存是速度最快的进程间通信技术,而且非常灵活。还可以把文件映射到内存,这是加快数据访问的理想解决方案。

参考资料

学习

  • Linux 程序员的工具包:研究这个工具包。
  • 共享内存:阅读关于共享内存的基础教程,进一步了解各种实现。
  • 进程间通信:进一步了解共享内存和其他进程间通信形式是如何实现的。
  • 对话 UNIX:阅读本系列中的其他部分。
  • AIX and UNIX 专区:developerWorks 的“AIX and UNIX 专区”提供了大量与 AIX 系统管理的所有方面相关的信息,您可以利用它们来扩展自己的 UNIX 技能。
  • AIX and UNIX 新手入门:访问“AIX and UNIX 新手入门”页面可了解更多关于 AIX 和 UNIX 的内容。
  • AIX and UNIX 专题汇总:AIX and UNIX 专区已经为您推出了很多的技术专题,为您总结了很多热门的知识点。我们在后面还会继续推出很多相关的热门专题给您,为了方便您的访问,我们在这里为您把本专区的所有专题进行汇总,让您更方便的找到您需要的内容。
  • AIX and UNIX 下载中心:在这里你可以下载到可以运行在 AIX 或者是 UNIX 系统上的 IBM 服务器软件以及工具,让您可以提前免费试用他们的强大功能。
  • IBM Systems Magazine for AIX 中文版:本杂志的内容更加关注于趋势和企业级架构应用方面的内容,同时对于新兴的技术、产品、应用方式等也有很深入的探讨。IBM Systems Magazine 的内容都是由十分资深的业内人士撰写的,包括 IBM 的合作伙伴、IBM 的主机工程师以及高级管理人员。所以,从这些内容中,您可以了解到更高层次的应用理念,让您在选择和应用 IBM 系统时有一个更好的认识。
  • 技术书店:阅读关于这些和其他技术主题的图书。

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=AIX and UNIX, Linux
ArticleID=600363
ArticleTitle=对话 UNIX: 通过共享内存进行进程间通信
publish-date=12132010

Speaking UNIX: Interprocess communication with shared memory

UNIX® provides a number of technologies for interprocess communication, or cooperative computing between two or more applications. Shared memory is the fastest and most flexible of the techniques and is surprisingly easy to implement.

Share:

Martin Streicher, Software Developer, Pixel, Byte, and Comma

Martin StreicherMartin Streicher is a freelance Ruby on Rails developer and the former Editor-in-Chief of Linux Magazine. Martin holds a Masters of Science degree in computer science from Purdue University and has programmed UNIX-like systems since 1986. He collects art and toys. You can reach Martin at martin.streicher@gmail.com.


developerWorks Contributing author
        level

28 September 2010

Also available in Chinese

Based on appearance, a UNIX® application has sole command of the underlying host. It has ready and free access to the processor, its memory is sacrosanct, and attached devices serve the application's every whim. But true to the maxim "Appearances can be deceiving," such sovereignty is a clever illusion. A UNIX system runs any number of applications simultaneously, sharing its finite physical resources judiciously among all. Processor capacity is doled out in slices, application images are constantly shuffled in and out of real memory, and device access is driven by demand and policed by access rights. Although your shell prompt blinks attentively, a UNIX machine teems with activity.

Frequently used acronyms

  • API:Application programming interface
  • IPv4:Internet Protocol version 4
  • IPv6:Internet Protocol version 6
  • POSIX:Portable Operating System Interface for UNIX

Complexity notwithstanding, most applications are happily oblivious to shared tenancy. However, you can write applications to interact with each other. For example, one application could collect or generate data, while another monitors progress and analyzes the information simultaneously. Chat, an instant exchange of messages, is another instance of cooperating code, where the application both transmits and receives data from a peer. Secure Shell (ssh) is another tandem, potentially coordinating between two entirely different hosts. In each instance, code connects to other independent code to swap information, often using a protocol to negotiate and control the interchange.

UNIX provides a number of technologies for such interprocess communication. Some techniques provide for communication on the same host, while others facilitate host-to-host exchanges. Also, speed varies among the techniques, so you must choose the option that best suits your requirements. Coordination—enforcing timing and exclusivity—is invariably required, too. For example, if one application produces data and another consumes it, the consumer must pause and wait for the producer whenever it exhausts the shared pool. Reflexively, the producer may slow or stall if the consumer cannot deplete the pool quickly enough.

Table 1 below summarizes the forms of interprocess communication available on a typical UNIX system.

Table 1. Interprocess communication in UNIX
NameDescriptionScopeUse
FileData is written to and read from a typical UNIX file. Any number of processes can interoperate. LocalSharing large data sets
PipeData is transferred between two processes using dedicated file descriptors. Communication occurs only between a parent and child process. LocalSimple data sharing, such as producer and consumer
Named pipeData is exchanged between processes via dedicated file descriptors. Communication can occur between any two peer processes on the same host. LocalProducer and consumer, or command-and-control, as demonstrated with MySQL server and its command-line query utility
SignalAn interrupt alerts the application to a specific condition.LocalCannot transfer data in a signal, so mostly useful for process management
Shared memoryInformation is shared by reading and writing from a common segment of memory.LocalCooperative work of any kind, especially if security is required.
SocketAfter special setup, data is transferred using common input/output operations.Local or remoteNetwork services such as FTP, ssh, and the Apache Web Server

As mentioned above, each technique suits a particular need. Assuming that coordination between multiple processes is roughly equally intricate, each approach has advantages and disadvantages:

  • Sharing data via a common UNIX file is simple, because it uses familiar file operations. However, sharing data via the file system is inherently slow, because disk input and output operations cannot match the expediency of memory. Further, it is difficult to coordinate reads and writes via a file only. Ultimately, saving sensitive data in a file is not secure, because root and other privileged users can access the information. In a sense, files are best used when viewed as read-only or write-only.
  • The pipe and named pipe are also simple mechanisms. Both use two standard file descriptors on each end of the connection—one exclusive to read and another exclusive to write operations. A pipe, though, can only be used between a parent and child process, not between two arbitrary processes. The named pipe addresses the latter shortcoming and is an excellent choice for data exchange on the same system. However, neither a pipe nor a named pipe provides random access, because each operates as a first-in, first-out (FIFO) device.
  • A signal cannot transfer data from one process to another. In general, signals should only be used to communicate exceptional conditions between one process and another.
  • Shared memory is well suited to larger collections of data and, because it uses memory, grants fast, random access. Shared memory is slightly more complicated to implement but is otherwise an excellent choice for intra host collaboration between multiple processes.
  • A socket functions much like a named pipe but can span hosts. Local sockets (also called UNIX sockets) are restricted to local (same host) connectivity. Inet and Inet6 sockets, which use the IPv4 and IPv6 protocols, respectively, accept remote connections (and local connections via the local machine's Internet addressing). The socket is the obvious choice for any networking application, such as distributed processing or a web browser. Coding is a little more complicated than with named pipes, but the pattern is well established and well documented in any UNIX network programming book.

Ignoring inter host applications, let's look at shared memory for interprocess communication on the same host.

How shared memory works

As its name implies, shared memory makes a segment of memory accessible to more than one process. Special system calls, or requests to the UNIX kernel, allocate and free the memory and set permissions; common read and write operations put and get data from the region.

Shared memory is not drawn from a process's own memory; that memory is always private. Instead, shared memory is allocated from the system's free memory pool and is annexed by each process that wants access. Annexation is called mapping, where the shared segment of memory is assigned local addresses in each process' own address space. Figure 1, Figure 2, Figure 3, and Figure 4 depict the process:

  1. Assume two processes, A and B, are running on the same system, as shown in Figure 1, and have been specifically coded to coordinate and share information via shared memory. A and B have disproportionate sizes in the figure to emphasize that the applications need not be identical.
    Figure 1. Two processes running on a host, executing different code
    Two processes running on a host, executing different code
  2. In Figure 2, process A requests a segment of shared memory. Process A initializes the memory segment, preparing it for use. The process also names the segment so that other processes can find it. Typically, a segment name is not dynamically assigned; instead, it is well known, such as a constant in a header file, and easily referenced from other code.
    Figure 2. One process requests a shared memory segment
    One process requests a shared memory segment
  3. Process A annexes, or maps, the shared memory segment into its own address space. Process B finds the segment via its named pipe and also maps the segment into its address space. This is shown in Figure 3. Both processes are enlarged by the size of the shared memory segment.
    Figure 3. Both processes annex, or map, the shared memory segment
    Both processes annex, or map, the shared memory segment
  4. Finally, in Figure 4, processes A and B can read and write from the shared memory segment freely. The shared memory is treated the same as local process memory. read() and write() operate as normal.
    Figure 4. Two or more processes can now share data via common memory
    Two or more processes can now share data via common memory

Much of the work shown in these figures is captured in the UNIX shared memory API. In fact, there are two variants of the shared memory API: the POSIX API and the older (but no less effective) System V API. Because POSIX is the ratified standard likely found on UNIX and Linux® and derivations of those systems, let's use that version. Additionally, the POSIX API uses simple file descriptors for read and write and so should seem much more familiar.

POSIX provides five entry points to create, map, synchronize, and undo shared memory segments:

  • shm_open(): Creates a shared memory region or attaches to an existing, named region. This system call returns a file descriptor.
  • shm_unlink(): Deletes a shared memory region given a file descriptor (returned from shm_open()). The region is not actually removed until all processes accessing the region exit, much like any file in UNIX. However, once shm_unlink() is called (typically by the originating process), no other processes can access the region.
  • mmap(): Maps a shared memory region into the process's memory. This system call requires the file descriptor from shm_open() and returns a pointer to memory. (In some cases, you can also map a file descriptor to a plain file or another device into memory. A discussion of those options is beyond the scope of this introduction; consult the mmap() documentation for your operating system for specifics.)
  • munmap(): The inverse of mmap().
  • msync(): Used to synchronize a shared memory segment with the file system—a technique useful when mapping a file into memory.

The pattern for shared memory is to create a segment with shm_open(), size it with write() or ftruncate(), map it into process memory with mmap(), and do the work required with one or more additional participants. To finish, the originating process calls munmap() and shm_unlink(), and then exits.


A sample application

Listing 1 below shows a small shared memory example. (The code is derived from John Fusco's book, The Linux Programmer's Toolbox, ISBN 0132198576, published by Prentice Hall Professional, March 2007, and used with the permission of the publisher.) The code implements a parent and child process that communicates via a shared memory segment.

Listing 1. Shared memory example
#include <stdio.h>
#include <string.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <unistd.h>
#include <sys/file.h>
#include <sys/mman.h>
#include <sys/wait.h>

void error_and_die(const char *msg) {
  perror(msg);
  exit(EXIT_FAILURE);
}

int main(int argc, char *argv[]) {
  int r;

  const char *memname = "sample";
  const size_t region_size = sysconf(_SC_PAGE_SIZE);

  int fd = shm_open(memname, O_CREAT | O_TRUNC | O_RDWR, 0666);
  if (fd == -1)
    error_and_die("shm_open");

  r = ftruncate(fd, region_size);
  if (r != 0)
    error_and_die("ftruncate");

  void *ptr = mmap(0, region_size, PROT_READ | PROT_WRITE, MAP_SHARED, fd, 0);
  if (ptr == MAP_FAILED)
    error_and_die("mmap");
  close(fd);

  pid_t pid = fork();

  if (pid == 0) {
    u_long *d = (u_long *) ptr;
    *d = 0xdbeebee;
    exit(0);
  }
  else {
    int status;
    waitpid(pid, &status, 0);
    printf("child wrote %#lx\n", *(u_long *) ptr);
  }

  r = munmap(ptr, region_size);
  if (r != 0)
    error_and_die("munmap");

  r = shm_unlink(memname);
  if (r != 0)
    error_and_die("shm_unlink");

  return 0;
}

Here are some highlights from the code:

  • The call to shm_open() should look familiar; it is much like the open() function, including how to initialize the segment and permissions. Here, the segment is world-readable and world-writable. The next unused file descriptor is returned if the call is successful; otherwise, -1 is returned and errno is set accordingly.
  • ftruncate() sizes the file to region_size bytes, which was previously set to the system's standard page size. sysconf() is provided as part of libc. (You can use the shell utility getconf to explore your system's configuration settings, too.)
  • mmap() annexes the shared memory segment and returns a pointer suitable for reading and writing bytes directly from the segment. PROT_READ and PROT_WRITE indicate that the pages in the segment can be read from and written to, respectively. MAP_SHARED specifies that any changes to the memory segment should be "public" to all cooperating processes.
  • The computation part of the code should seem familiar if you've worked at all with fork(). After the fork, the parent and child have copies of all open file descriptors and data values, so the pointer works for both. pid, however, differs. The child gets 0, the parent gets the process ID of the child, and the value of the variable determines which of the if/then/else branches to take. The child writes some bytes to the pointer and then exits. The parent waits for the child to exit and then reads what was written.
  • Before the parent can exit, however, it must free the shared memory. munmap() and shm_unlink() do the trick.

This example is very elementary. A real application would use semaphores or other techniques to control reading and writing to the shared segment. Such control is typically application specific, and you can find many examples in the Berkeley Software Distribution (BSD) and Linux source, if your UNIX flavor is not open source.


All for one

Because UNIX runs many applications seemingly at the same time, it's an ideal platform for monitoring, data collection, cooperative and distributed computing, and client-server applications. Shared memory is the fastest of the interprocess communications options available and is quite flexible. You can map files into memory, as well—an ideal solution for accelerating data access.

Resources

Learn

Discuss

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into AIX and Unix on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=548245
ArticleTitle=Speaking UNIX: Interprocess communication with shared memory
publish-date=09282010