内容


对话 UNIX

高效管理大量计算机

Comments

系列内容:

此内容是该系列 # 部分中的第 # 部分: 对话 UNIX

敬请期待该系列的后续内容。

此内容是该系列的一部分:对话 UNIX

敬请期待该系列的后续内容。

云在根本上是由硬件和软件组成的,这些组件需要经常细心地维护。出现故障的硬件需要修理或更换;软件需要应用补丁、更新和升级;必须根据需求和潜在的安全威胁提前配置系统。应用程序开发人员可能觉得计算云很方便、很灵活,但是云管理员要应对艰巨的任务。

不只是云的管理有这些问题。LAN(小型服务器群)和计算集群也有同样的系统管理难题。在管理大量计算机时,Secure Shell (ssh)、scpsftp 等常用工具用起来非常麻烦。本期 对话 UNIX 讨论从命令行有效地管理大量计算机的技术,先从少量系统开始,然后扩大规模。

强力方式

在一组计算机上运行命令的简单方法是,把共用的 ssh 命令包装在脚本中。假设您已经把公共密钥分发到希望访问的每个远程系统上(避免每次都需要输入密码),脚本 mssh.sh 在指定的每台计算机上运行一个命令,最后输出收集的结果(见 清单 1)。

清单 1. mssh.sh
#!/bin/bash
# Usage: mssh.sh "machine1 [machine2...]" "command"

OUTPUT_LOG=/tmp/output-$$.log
ERROR_LOG=/tmp/error-$$.log
MACHINES=$1; shift
COMMAND=$2; shift

for machine in $MACHINES
do
    ssh $machine $COMMAND >>$OUTPUT_LOG.$machine 2>>$ERROR_LOG.$machine &
done

wait

cat $OUTPUT_LOG.*
cat $ERROR_LOG.* >&2
rm -f $OUTPUT_LOG.* $ERROR_LOG.*

例如,命令 mssh.sh "example.com joe@sample.com" "uptime -a"> 在两台主机(example.com 和 sample.com)上运行 uptime -a。计算机名列表放在引号中以组成一个参数,由于同样的原因,命令也放在引号中。每个计算机名必须符合 ssh 要求的模式 — 如果远程用户名与本地用户名相同,那么使用 hostname;如果远程用户名与本地用户名不同,那么使用 username@hostname。运行 mssh.sh "example.com joe@sample.com" "uptime -a"> 会产生这样的结果:

$ mssh.sh "example.com joe@sample.com" "uptime"
example.com
08:34:35 up 66 days, 17:29,  0 users,  load average: 0.40, 0.19, 0.07
joe@sample.com
08:34:28 up 104 days, 10:18,  0 users,  load average: 0.15, 0.10, 0.10

这个脚本很原始,但是可以通过扩展它包含其他特性,比如用可调的超时设置防止在主机停机时出现长时间延迟(ssh -o 选项),用指定的目录捕捉输出。实际上,有许多按这种方式构建的软件包,可以简化分布式系统管理。其中之一是 Distributed Shell (dsh)。

更好的工具

dsh 是专为在远程系统上运行 shell 命令设计的,可以简化对大量计算机的操作。可以获取这个 shell 的二进制代码和源代码。对于二进制代码,检查您的 Linux® 或 UNIX® 发行版是否有 libdshconfigdsh 包。例如,Ubuntu 和 Debian 用户可以通过 apt-get 方便地安装 dsh:

$ sudo apt-get install libdshconfig1 libdshconfig1-dev dsh

如果找不到针对您的系统预构建的包,从源代码构建 dsh 也很容易。找到库和实用程序的最新版本,下载并解压两个压缩文件,用通常的 ./configure; make; sudo make install 命令构建和安装它们(见 清单 2)。

清单 2. 从源代码构建 dsh
$ # Build and install the library first
$ wget http://www.netfort.gr.jp/~dancer/software/downloads/libdshconfig-0.20.13.tar.gz
$ tar xzvf libdshconfig-0.20.13.tar.gz
$ cd libshconfig-0.20.13
$ ./configure
$ make
$ sudo make install

$ # Then build and install the utility
$ wget http://www.netfort.gr.jp/~dancer/software/downloads/dsh-0.25.9.tar.gz
$ tar xzvf dsh-0.25.9.tar.gz
$ cd dsh-0.25.9
$ ./configure
$ make
$ sudo make install

这个 shell 是相当小的应用程序;dshdsh.conf 手册页提供掌握它所需的所有信息。例如,要想在一组主机上运行 uptime,只需输入:

$ dsh --show-machine-names -m example.com -m joe@sample.com -- uptime
example.com: 11:34:57 up 66 days, 20:29,  0 users,  load average: 0.04, 0.06, 0.01
joe@sample.com: 11:35  up 2 days, 14:59, 8 users, load averages: 0.46 0.35 0.31

-m 指定主机,主机名的规则与 ssh 相同。命令行中的双连字符把 dsh 命令本身的选项与要运行的命令分隔开。按指定主机的次序显示输出。--show-machine-names 选项在远程命令发出的输出前面加上主机名。

如果经常操作同一组计算机,可以定义一个或多个集合并指定要操作的集合。可以创建一个全局集合和任意数量的组。$HOME/.dsh/machines.list 文件是全局集合。如果指定 dsh -a,就会在 machines.list 中列出的所有计算机上运行指定的命令。因此,如果 machines.list 包含:

example.com
joe@sample.com

那么命令:

dsh -a --show-machine-names -- uptime

会产生与前一个命令相同的输出:

$ dsh -a --show-machine-names -- uptime
example.com:  11:57:03 up 66 days, 20:51,  0 users,  load average: 0.29, 0.18, 0.07
joe@sample.com: 11:57  up 2 days, 15:21, 8 users, load averages: 0.52 0.31 0.26

可以在 $HOME/.dsh/group/groupname 文件中创建更小或专门的计算机集合,其中的 groupname 是您指定的有意义的名称。例如,如果创建名为 $HOME/.dsh/group/servers 的文件,那么命令 dsh -g servers -- uptime 会在 servers 文件中列出的所有计算机上运行 uptime

可以结合使用 -m-a-g,分别扩展全局列表和组。另外,可以使用 --file filenamefilename 中列出的所有计算机添加到主机列表中。在默认情况下,dsh 并行地运行命令。但是,如果希望顺序地运行命令,那么指定 --wait-shell

尽管很方便,但是 dsh 有一个重大的缺陷:它无法复制文件。如果希望把数据部署到多台计算机上,就必须编写一个新脚本,利用发行版的基础设施(比如 rsync),或者考虑使用更健壮的工具(比如 Parallel SSH (pssh))。

与 ssh 相似,但采用并行方式

与 dsh 一样,pssh 的目标也是简化大量计算机的管理。除了具备 dsh 的所有功能之外,pssh 还可以把文件从一组系统复制到中心服务器或反向复制,以及杀死一组系统上的进程。这个 shell 和它的底层库是用 Python 编写的,如果系统上已经安装了 Python 解释器和核心库,就很容易安装它(见 清单 3)。

清单 3. 安装 pssh
$ # For systems with apt-get (apt-get installs Python if necessary)
$ sudo apt-get install pssh

$ # For all others, install Python and then continue
$ wget http://peak.telecommunity.com/dist/ez_setup.py
$ sudo python ez_setup.py
$ wget http://parallel-ssh.googlecode.com/files/pssh-2.1.1.tar.gz
$ tar xzvf pssh-2.1.1.tar.gz
$ cd pssh-2.1.1
$ sudo python setup.py install

pssh 包安装 5 个实用程序:parallel-sshparallel-scpparallel-slurpparallel-nukeparallel-rsync。每个实用程序都并行地操作多个主机。

  • parallel-ssh 在多个主机上并行地运行命令。
  • parallel-scp 把文件并行地复制到多个主机上。
  • parallel-rsync 通过 rsync 协议把文件高效地并行复制到多个主机上。
  • parallel-slurp 把文件并行地从多个远程主机复制到中心主机上。
  • parallel-nuke 并行地在多个远程主机上杀死进程。

与 dsh 不同,pssh 总是通过清单 文件指定主机,其中的每行采用 host[:port] [user] 形式。下面的示例用 parallel-ssh 在一组主机上运行 uptime

$ parallel-ssh -h servers.txt uptime
[1] 16:15:14 [SUCCESS] example.com 22
16:15  up 2 days, 19:39, 9 users, load averages: 0.09 0.10 0.12
[2] 16:15:28 [SUCCESS] sample.com 22
16:15:28 up 67 days,  1:09,  0 users,  load average: 0.09, 0.07, 0.01

servers.txt 文件有两行:

example.com
sample.com joe

在默认情况下,每个命令实例的输出出现在 stdout 中。输出划分为每个主机一段。但是,可以指定一个目录来捕捉每个实例的输出。例如,如果运行前面的命令并添加 --outdir /tmp/uptime,那么会把每个主机的命令输出捕捉到 /tmp/uptime 中单独的文件中,见 清单 4

清单 4. 把输出捕捉到单独的文件中
$ parallel-ssh -h servers.txt uptime
[1] 16:15:14 [SUCCESS] example.com 22
[2] 16:15:28 [SUCCESS] sample.com 22

$ ls -1 /tmp/uptime
example.com
sample.com

$ cat /tmp/uptime/*
16:22  up 2 days, 19:46, 9 users, load averages: 0.47 0.28 0.19
16:22:32 up 67 days,  1:17,  0 users,  load average: 0.06, 0.04, 0.00

parallel-ssh 实用程序可以生成最多 32 个进程,并行地连接各个节点。如果远程命令在 60 秒内没有完成,连接会终止。如果命令需要更多处理时间,可以使用 -t 设置更长的到期时间。(parallel-scpparallel-rsync 没有默认的到期时间,但是可以用 -t 指定到期时间。)

可以使用 parallel-scp 并行地把一个或多个文件或目录复制到许多计算机。如果您精通传统的 scp,应该熟悉这个命令。

$ parallel-scp -h servers.txt /etc/hosts /tmp/hosts
[1] 16:49:38 [SUCCESS] example.com 22
[2] 16:49:55 [SUCCESS] sample.com 22

前面的命令把本地文件 /etc/hosts 复制到 servers.txt 中列出的每台计算机上的 /tmp/hosts。parallel-rsync 的工作方式相似,它通过运行 rsync 并行地在本地主机和清单中列出的远程主机之间管理文件。parallel-slurp 的作用与 parallel-scp 相反,但是有一点不同:它从每台远程计算机收集指定的文件,但是并不覆盖文件的本地版本。parallel-slurp 为每台远程计算机创建一个子目录并把指定的文件复制到此位置。

假设希望把 /etc/hosts 文件从每台远程计算机复制到本地计算机。为实现这个目标,执行 parallel-slurp -h servers.txt /etc/hosts,见 清单 5

清单 5. 把 /etc/hosts 文件从远程计算机复制到本地计算机
$ parallel-slurp -h servers.txt -L /tmp/hosts /etc/hosts hosts_file
1] 17:03:32 [SUCCESS] example.com 22
[2] 17:03:50 [SUCCESS] dcauto.gotdns.com 22

$ ls -R /tmp/hosts
/tmp/hosts/example.com:
hosts_file

/tmp/hosts/sample.com:
hosts_file

parallel-slurp 把指定的远程文件复制到本地计算机,把文件的每个拷贝存储在按远程主机命名的子目录中。在这里,远程文件是 /etc/hosts;每个本地拷贝名为 hosts_file-L 选项指定创建子目录的位置。在这里,目标是 /tmp/hosts,这会生成子目录 /tmp/hosts/example.com 和 /tmp/hosts/sample.com。

最后,parallel-nuke 相当于运行 ssh host killallparallel-nuke 的参数是一个模式。在远程计算机上运行的名称符合这个模式的所有进程都被杀死。可以用此命令方便地在一组服务器上停止同一守护进程。

要想使用 pssh 工具,必须在要管理的每台远程服务器上配置公共密钥访问。如果 pssh 实用程序产生 [FAILURE],就用一般的 ssh 建立连接以检查配置。如果系统提示输入密码,那么在远程主机上安装公共密钥并再次尝试连接。(具体步骤见 sshssh-keygen 手册页。)

操作大量计算机的其他工具

对于 5 台、10 台或更多计算机,这里介绍的工具很可能足够了,尤其是对于不经常执行的非重复性管理任务。但是,如果计算机数量很大,或者经常重复执行相同的任务,那么应该谨慎地考虑采用为自动维护大量计算机而设计的其他工具和子系统。另一方面,为大型网络设计的一些软件也可以应用于少量计算机。找到适当的工具以及手工干预与自动化之间的平衡点是一个难题,而且需要经常重新审查和调整。

下面是可以考虑采用的一些工具:

  • rsync:这个出色的工具用于从中心服务器分发文件以及保持分布式文件系统同步。前面的一期对话 UNIX 详细讨论了 rsync
  • Puppet。Puppet 是一个越来越流行的 UNIX 和 Linux® 子系统,它可以自动地维护配置。根据它的网站所说,“[Puppet] 提供一个强大的框架,可以简化 [系统管理员] 需要执行的大多数技术任务。可以用 Puppet 的定制语言编写各种任务,可以像其他代码一样共享这些任务代码。” Puppet 可以描述组件之间的依赖关系、定义文件的正确状态、查询系统的状态等等。如果要多次执行某一任务,最好以 Puppet 任务的形式捕捉它。
  • Capistrano。Capistrano 是另一个流行的远程系统管理工具。它的主页上说:“简单地说,Capistrano 用于在一个或多个远程服务器上自动地执行任务。它在所有目标计算机上并行地执行命令,还提供在多台计算机上回退修改的机制。它非常适合任何人执行任何系统管理任务,包括专业的系统管理员和偶尔执行系统管理的人员。” 与 Puppet 相同,Capistrano 采用脚本编程。脚本基于 Ruby 编程语言和 Capistrano 的域相关语言。下面是一个示例:
    task :search_libs, :hosts => "www.capify.org" do
      run "ls -x1 /usr/lib | grep -i xml"
    end

    此任务名为 search_libs。它连接 www.capify.org 并运行命令 ls -x1 /usr/lib | grep -i xml。Capistrano 通过角色 支持计算机组,还提供许多其他特性。通过 cap 命令启动任务,比如 cap search_libs。Ruby 和 Rails 开发人员广泛采用 Capistrano 把代码部署到服务器,但是对于自动执行大多数分布式系统管理任务,它也是非常好的工具。一些教程解释了如何结合使用 Capistrano 与 Java™ 语言、Perl、Python 和其他编程语言,以及如何结合使用 Capistrano 与 Drupal and Expression Engine 等应用程序引擎。如果与源代码控制系统结合使用,Capistrano 的效果最好,但这不是必需的。可以通过 put 操作分发二进制代码。

  • Nagios。维护很重要,但是监视也很重要。停机和错误会在网络上造成严重破坏,尤其是在许多系统采用相同配置的情况下。Nagios 是一个开放源码监视程序,它可以监视服务器、服务、资源等。它的安装和部署很容易,可以通过任何 web 浏览器使用它。

还可以研究 Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) 的 Cluster Command and Control (C3) 和 pdsh 等计算集群工具。C3 操作 ORNL 的大规模计算集群,它提供大量命令行工具,可以减少操作和管理集群所需的时间和精力,提高系统管理员的生产力。pdsh shell 在许多方面与 pssh 相似,但是还可以管理系统映像。

用很少的时间管理大量计算机

使用 dsh 和 pssh 等工具能够节省时间并减少错误。可以在大量系统上运行相同的命令,几乎马上会看到组合的结果。通过清单把相似的计算机集中在一起可以降低遗漏的风险。Puppet 和 Capistrano 可以把经常重复执行的任务捕捉到脚本中。如果管理的计算机比较多,自动化就是关键。总之,如果采用适当的工具,计算云的管理也不难。


相关主题

  • 对话 UNIX:阅读本系列中的其他部分。
  • rsync 命令家族(Federico Kereki,developerWorks,2009 年 4 月):了解 rsync 和基于 rsync 协议的各种实用程序。
  • AIX and UNIX 专区:developerWorks 的“AIX and UNIX 专区”提供了大量与 AIX 系统管理的所有方面相关的信息,您可以利用它们来扩展自己的 UNIX 技能。
  • AIX and UNIX 专题汇总:AIX and UNIX 专区已经为您推出了很多的技术专题,为您总结了很多热门的知识点。我们在后面还会继续推出很多相关的热门专题给您,为了方便您的访问,我们在这里为您把本专区的所有专题进行汇总,让您更方便的找到您需要的内容。
  • AIX and UNIX 下载中心:在这里你可以下载到可以运行在 AIX 或者是 UNIX 系统上的 IBM 服务器软件以及工具,让您可以提前免费试用他们的强大功能。
  • IBM Systems Magazine for AIX 中文版:本杂志的内容更加关注于趋势和企业级架构应用方面的内容,同时对于新兴的技术、产品、应用方式等也有很深入的探讨。IBM Systems Magazine 的内容都是由十分资深的业内人士撰写的,包括 IBM 的合作伙伴、IBM 的主机工程师以及高级管理人员。所以,从这些内容中,您可以了解到更高层次的应用理念,让您在选择和应用 IBM 系统时有一个更好的认识。
  • dsh:这个 shell 可以并行地在许多计算机上执行 shell 命令。
  • pssh:Parallel ssh 并行地在许多计算机上运行命令、复制文件和管理进程。
  • Puppet:了解关于 Puppet 的更多信息,Puppet 是最流行的分布式系统管理工具之一。
  • Capistrano:访问 Capistrano 网站,了解如何用 Ruby 和 Capistrano 域相关语言编写管理脚本。
  • Nagios:这个开放源码监视平台可以与自动维护工具结合使用,提高任何规模的网络的稳定性。
  • ORNL Cluster Command and Control:C3 工具可以管理数百个计算机节点。
  • pdsh:这个计算机集群管理工具可以并行地在多台计算机上运行命令。

评论

添加或订阅评论,请先登录注册

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=AIX and UNIX, Linux
ArticleID=594350
ArticleTitle=对话 UNIX: 高效管理大量计算机
publish-date=12062010

Speaking UNIX: Managing multitudes of machines the mild-mannered way

Cloud computing may currently be all the rage, but there is a silicon lining to each calculating cumulus: hardware and software require very real upkeep. Learn how to manage gobs of machines right from the command line.

Martin Streicher, Software Developer, Pixel, Byte, and Comma

author photo - martin streicherMartin Streicher is a freelance Ruby on Rails developer and the former Editor-in-Chief of Linux Magazine. Martin holds a Masters of Science degree in computer science from Purdue University and has programmed UNIX-like systems since 1986. He collects art and toys. You can reach Martin at martin.streicher@gmail.com.



14 September 2010

Also available in

A cloud is ultimately constituted from hardware and software—components that require real and regular upkeep. Hardware failures demand repair or replacement; software requires patching, updates, and upgrades; and systems must be configured to keep ahead of demand and potential security threats. Application developers may find compute clouds soft, fluffy, and convenient, but a cloud administrator faces the grimy truth.

You don't have to manage a cloud to face gritty issues. A LAN, a small server farm, and a compute cluster pose many of the same systems administration challenges. When the number of machines climbs, workaday tools such as Secure Shell (ssh), scp, and sftp become cumbersome. This installment of Speaking UNIX looks at effective techniques to manage gobs of machines from the command line, starting with just a handful of systems and scaling upward.

A brute force approach

A simple and obvious approach to running a command on a collection of machines wraps the common ssh utility in a script. Assuming that you have distributed your public key to each remote system you want to access (to avoid typing a password each time), this script, named mssh.sh, runs a single command on each machine specified and prints the collected results at the end (see Listing 1).

Listing 1. mssh.sh
#!/bin/bash
# Usage: mssh.sh "machine1 [machine2...]" "command"

OUTPUT_LOG=/tmp/output-$$.log
ERROR_LOG=/tmp/error-$$.log
MACHINES=$1; shift
COMMAND=$1; shift

for machine in $MACHINES
do
    ssh $machine $COMMAND >>$OUTPUT_LOG.$machine 2>>$ERROR_LOG.$machine &
done

wait

cat $OUTPUT_LOG.*
cat $ERROR_LOG.* >&2
rm -f $OUTPUT_LOG.* $ERROR_LOG.*

For example, the command mssh.sh "example.com joe@sample.com" "uptime -a"> runs uptime -a on two hosts: example.com and sample.com. The list of machine names is quoted to lump the names together into one argument, and the command is quoted for exactly the same reason. Each machine name must conform to the paradigms for ssh—either hostname if the remote user name is the same as the local user name, or username@hostname if the remote user name differs from the local login. Running mssh.sh "example.com joe@sample.com" "uptime -a"> produces something akin to this:

$ mssh.sh "example.com joe@sample.com" "uptime"
example.com
08:34:35 up 66 days, 17:29,  0 users,  load average: 0.40, 0.19, 0.07
joe@sample.com
08:34:28 up 104 days, 10:18,  0 users,  load average: 0.15, 0.10, 0.10

This script is rudimentary but can be extended to include other features, such as a tunable timeout to prevent interminable delays when a single host is down (look at the ssh -o option) and a named directory to capture output. Indeed, many packages build on the spirit of this script to simplify distributed systems administration. One of those is the Distributed Shell (dsh).


A better tool for the task

Specifically designed to run shell commands on remote systems, dsh provides a handful of conveniences to make working with groups of machines easier. The shell is available in both binary and source form. For binaries, consult your Linux® or UNIX® distribution for the libdshconfig and dsh packages. For example, Ubuntu and Debian users can install dsh in one fell swoop with apt-get:

$ sudo apt-get install libdshconfig1 libdshconfig1-dev dsh

If you cannot find pre-built packages for your system, dsh is readily built from source code. Find the latest version of both the library and the utility, download and unpack both tarballs, then build and install both with the typical technique of ./configure; make; sudo make install (see Listing 2).

Listing 2. Building dsh from source
$ # Build and install the library first
$ wget http://www.netfort.gr.jp/~dancer/software/downloads/libdshconfig-0.20.13.tar.gz
$ tar xzvf libdshconfig-0.20.13.tar.gz
$ cd libshconfig-0.20.13
$ ./configure
$ make
$ sudo make install

$ # Then build and install the utility
$ wget http://www.netfort.gr.jp/~dancer/software/downloads/dsh-0.25.9.tar.gz
$ tar xzvf dsh-0.25.9.tar.gz
$ cd dsh-0.25.9
$ ./configure
$ make
$ sudo make install

The shell is a fairly small application; the dsh and dsh.conf man pages provide all the details required to master the utility. For instance, to run uptime across a set of hosts, as in the first example, you simply type:

$ dsh --show-machine-names -m example.com -m joe@sample.com -- uptime
example.com: 11:34:57 up 66 days, 20:29,  0 users,  load average: 0.04, 0.06, 0.01
joe@sample.com: 11:35  up 2 days, 14:59, 8 users, load averages: 0.46 0.35 0.31

You specify a machine with -m, and host names follow the same rules as ssh. The two dashes in the command line separate options for the dsh command itself from the command to run. Output appears in the order the machines are named. The command --show-machine-names prepends each machine name to whatever is emitted from the remote command.

If you tend to work with the same set or subset of machines, you can define one or more collections and specify a collection to operate on. You can create one global collection and any number of groups. The file $HOME/.dsh/machines.list is the global collection. If you specify dsh -a, the given command runs on all machines listed in machines.list. Hence, if machines.list contained:

example.com
joe@sample.com

the command:

dsh -a --show-machine-names -- uptime

would produce the same output as the previous command:

$ dsh -a --show-machine-names -- uptime
example.com:  11:57:03 up 66 days, 20:51,  0 users,  load average: 0.29, 0.18, 0.07
joe@sample.com: 11:57  up 2 days, 15:21, 8 users, load averages: 0.52 0.31 0.26

You can create smaller or specialized collections of machines in individual files named $HOME/.dsh/group/groupname, where groupname is a meaningful name you assign. For example, if you create a file named $HOME/.dsh/group/servers, the command dsh -g servers -- uptime runs uptime on all machines listed in the servers file.

Feel free to mix and match -m with -a and -g to extend the global list or a group, respectively. Additionally, you can use --file filename to add all machines listed in filename to the list of hosts. By default, dsh runs commands in parallel. Instead, if you would like to run a command sequentially, specify --wait-shell.

While handy, dsh has one substantial detractor: It cannot copy files. If you want to deploy data, say, to more than one machine, you'll have to write a new script, adopt a distribution infrastructure (such as rsync), or consider a more robust tool (such as Parallel SSH (pssh)).


Just like ssh, only in parallel

Like dsh, pssh aims to streamline the administration of lots of machines. In addition to all the capabilities of dsh, pssh is able to copy files to and from a central server and kill processes across a bank of systems. The shell and its underlying library are written in Python, and pssh is easy to install assuming that your system already has the Python interpreter and core libraries (see Listing 3).

Listing 3. Installing pssh
$ # For systems with apt-get (apt-get installs Python if necessary)
$ sudo apt-get install pssh

$ # For all others, install Python and then continue
$ wget http://peak.telecommunity.com/dist/ez_setup.py
$ sudo python ez_setup.py
$ wget http://parallel-ssh.googlecode.com/files/pssh-2.1.1.tar.gz
$ tar xzvf pssh-2.1.1.tar.gz
$ cd pssh-2.1.1
$ sudo python setup.py install

The pssh package installs five utilities: parallel-ssh, parallel-scp, parallel-slurp, parallel-nuke, and parallel-rsync. Each utility operates on multiple hosts in parallel.

  • parallel-ssh runs a command on multiple hosts in parallel.
  • parallel-scp, as its name implies, copies files to multiple remote hosts in parallel.
  • parallel-rsync, true to its moniker, efficiently copies files to multiple hosts in parallel via the rsync protocol.
  • parallel-slurp copies files from multiple remote hosts to a central host in parallel.
  • parallel-nuke kills processes on multiple remote hosts in parallel.

Unlike dsh, the hosts are always named via a manifest, a file where each line takes the form host[:port] [user]. Here's how to run uptime across a swath of hosts with parallel-ssh:

$ parallel-ssh -h servers.txt uptime
[1] 16:15:14 [SUCCESS] example.com 22
16:15  up 2 days, 19:39, 9 users, load averages: 0.09 0.10 0.12
[2] 16:15:28 [SUCCESS] sample.com 22
16:15:28 up 67 days,  1:09,  0 users,  load average: 0.09, 0.07, 0.01

The file servers.txt has two lines:

example.com
sample.com joe

By default, output from each instance of the command appears in stdout. The output is divided into sections, one section per host. However, you can name a directory to capture the stdout of each instance. For example, if you run the previous command and add --outdir /tmp/uptime, a transcript of the command from each host is captured in a separate file in /tmp/uptime, as Listing 4 shows.

Listing 4. Capturing output in a separate file
$ parallel-ssh -h servers.txt uptime
[1] 16:15:14 [SUCCESS] example.com 22
[2] 16:15:28 [SUCCESS] sample.com 22

$ ls -1 /tmp/uptime
example.com
sample.com

$ cat /tmp/uptime/*
16:22  up 2 days, 19:46, 9 users, load averages: 0.47 0.28 0.19
16:22:32 up 67 days,  1:17,  0 users,  load average: 0.06, 0.04, 0.00

The parallel-ssh utility can spawn a maximum of 32 processes to connect to various nodes in parallel. If a remote command does not complete after 60 seconds, the connection is terminated. If your command requires more processing time, use -t to set a longer expiration time. (parallel-scp and parallel-rsync do not have a default expiration, but you can specify one using -t.)

You can use parallel-scp to copy one or more files or directories to many machines in parallel. It should seem familiar if you've mastered the traditional scp.

$ parallel-scp -h servers.txt /etc/hosts /tmp/hosts
[1] 16:49:38 [SUCCESS] example.com 22
[2] 16:49:55 [SUCCESS] sample.com 22

The previous command copies the local file /etc/hosts to /tmp/hosts on each machine listed in servers.txt. parallel-rsync works similarly, running rsync in parallel to manage files between the local host and the remote hosts listed in the manifest. parallel-slurp works something like parallel-scp in reverse but with one twist: It collects the named file from each remote machine but does not overwrite the local version of the file. Instead, parallel-slurp creates a subdirectory for each remote machine and copies the named file to that location.

As a demonstration, imagine that you want to copy the /etc/hosts file from each remote machine to the local machine. To achieve the goal, you'd execute parallel-slurp -h servers.txt /etc/hosts, as shown in Listing 5.

Listing 5. Copying /etc/hosts from remote machines to the local machine
$ parallel-slurp -h servers.txt -L /tmp/hosts /etc/hosts hosts_file
1] 17:03:32 [SUCCESS] example.com 22
[2] 17:03:50 [SUCCESS] dcauto.gotdns.com 22

$ ls -R /tmp/hosts
/tmp/hosts/example.com:
hosts_file

/tmp/hosts/sample.com:
hosts_file

The parallel-slurp utility copies the named remote file to the local machine and stores each copy in a specific file in an individual subdirectory named after the remote host. Here, the remote file was /etc/hosts; each local copy is named hosts_file. The -L option specifies where to create the subdirectories. Here, the target was /tmp/hosts yielding subdirectories /tmp/hosts/example.com and /tmp/hosts/sample.com.

Finally, parallel-nuke is the equivalent of running ssh host killall. The argument to parallel-nuke is a pattern. Any process running on the remote machine whose name matches the pattern is killed. The command is handy for stopping the same daemon on a collection of servers.

To use the pssh tools, you must configure public key access to each remote server you want to administer. If a pssh utility yields [FAILURE], verify your configuration by connecting with vanilla ssh. If you are prompted for a password, rectify the problem by installing your public key on the remote host and try again. (For instructions, see the ssh and ssh-keygen man pages.)


Machinery en masse

For 5, 10, or more machines, the tools described here likely suffice, especially for infrequent and ad hoc administration tasks. However, when the number of machines climbs higher or you repeat the same chores often, it may be prudent to consider other tools and subsystems designed to automate the maintenance of many machines. Reflexively, some software intended for large networks can be applied to a handful of machines, too. Finding the right tools and a balance between manual intervention and automation is a perennial challenge.

Here are some tools to consider:

  • rsync. This is an excellent tool for distributing files from a central server and keeping distributed file systems in sync. A prior installment of Speaking UNIX covered rsync in detail.
  • Puppet. Puppet is an increasingly popular subsystem for UNIX and Linux® that automates configuration maintenance. According to its web site, "[Puppet] provides a powerful framework to simplify the majority of technical tasks that [systems administrators] need to perform. [A chore] is written as code in Puppet’s custom language, which is shareable just like any other code." Puppet can describe dependencies between components, define the proper state of a file, query the state of the system, and more. If you ever perform a chore more than once, chances are it's best to capture it as a Puppet task.
  • Capistrano. Capistrano is another popular tool for remote systems administration. Its home page describes the tool well: "Simply put, Capistrano is a tool for automating tasks on one or more remote servers. It executes commands in parallel on all targeted machines and provides a mechanism for rolling back changes across multiple machines. It is ideal for anyone doing any kind of system administration, either professionally or incidentally." Like Puppet, Capistrano is scripted. Scripts are based on the Ruby programming language and the Capistrano domain-specific extensions. Here's an example:
    task :search_libs, :hosts => "www.capify.org" do
      run "ls -x1 /usr/lib | grep -i xml"
    end

    This task is named search_libs. It connects to www.capify.org and runs the command ls -x1 /usr/lib | grep -i xml. Capistrano supports groups of machines via roles, among hundreds of other features. Tasks are launched via the cap command, as in cap search_libs. Capistrano is used widely among Ruby and Rails developers to deploy code to servers, but it's an excellent choice for automating most distributed systems administration tasks. Tutorials explain how to mix Capistrano with the Java™ language, Perl, Python, and other programming languages and how to use Capistrano with application engines, such as Drupal and Expression Engine. Capistrano works best when paired with a source control system, but it's not required. You can distribute binaries with the put operation.

  • Nagios. Maintenance is important, but so too is monitoring. Outages and errors can wreak havoc on a network, especially when many systems are running identical configurations. Nagios is an open source monitor that watches servers, services, resources, and more. It's easy to install and deploy and can be used via any web browser.

You may also want to look at compute cluster tools such as Oak Ridge National Laboratories' (ORNL) Cluster Command and Control (C3) and pdsh. C3 operates a massive compute cluster at ORNL and offers a number of command-line tools that increase systems manager productivity by reducing the time and effort required to operate and manage a cluster. The pdsh shell is similar in many ways to pssh but can also manage system images.


So many machines, so little time

Using tools such as dsh and pssh save time and reduce errors. You can run the same command on a large number of systems and see the combined results almost instantly. Manifests lump like machines together, too, reducing the risk of omissions. Puppet and Capistrano can capture oft-repeated tasks in scripts. If you manage more then a handful of machines, automation is key. See, even compute clouds can have a silver lining.

Resources

Learn

  • Speaking UNIX: Check out other parts in this series.
  • The rsync family (Federico Kereki, developerWorks, April 2009): Get to know rsync and a variety of utilities based on the rsync protocols.
  • AIX and UNIX developerWorks zone: The AIX and UNIX zone provides a wealth of information relating to all aspects of AIX systems administration and expanding your UNIX skills.
  • New to AIX and UNIX? Visit the New to AIX and UNIX page to learn more.
  • Technology bookstore: Browse the technology bookstore for books on this and other technical topics.

Get products and technologies

  • dsh: This shell can run a shell command on many machines in parallel.
  • pssh. Parallel ssh runs commands, copies files, and manages processes on many machines in parallel.
  • Puppet. Learn more about Puppet, one of the most popular distributed systems administration tools.
  • Capistrano. Visit the Capistrano site to learn more about scripting administration with Ruby and the Capistrano domain-specific language.
  • Nagios. This open source monitoring platform can be combined with automated maintenance tools to improve the overall stability of any size network.
  • ORNL Cluster Command and Control. The C3 tools manage hundreds of compute nodes.
  • pdsh: This compute cluster management tool can run a command on multiple machines in parallel.

Discuss

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into AIX and Unix on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=521294
ArticleTitle=Speaking UNIX: Managing multitudes of machines the mild-mannered way
publish-date=09142010