对话 UNIX: 使用 shell 脚本创建好的图形应用程序

命令行不适合于每一位用户。事实上,一些用户可能仅在握着鼠标时才感到舒服。要仅使用 shell 来满足这些用户或构建桌面应用程序,可以向您的脚本添加一些 GUI。这里是一些具体做法。

Martin Streicher, 软件开发人员, Pixel, Byte, and Comma

Martin Streicher 是一位 Ruby on Rails 的自由开发人员和 Linux Magazine 的前任主编。Martin 毕业于 Purdue University 并获得计算机科学学位,从 1986 年起他一直从事 UNIX 类系统的编程工作。他喜欢收集艺术品和玩具。



2011 年 4 月 18 日

如果您走进一个拥挤的机房,可能会听到有关 “shebangs”、斜线、点、根、管道、端口等等这个那个的闲聊。如果讲到 UNIX®,您无疑会理解本地术语 — 有关 UNIX 的缩略词、命令名、快捷键、选项、文件名和方言 — 且有宾至如归的感觉。与其他艺术工作者一样,UINX 用户拥有广泛的术语来描述其工作细节。

常用缩略语

  • GUI:图形用户界面
  • HTML:超文本标记语言

并非每个人都探讨 UNIX;事实上,有些人可能发现命令行很复杂,令人却步。此外,您可能不希望将全部命令行寄托给临时或无经验的用户。要帮助那些不习惯使用命令行的人,或构建围绕 shell 的自定义解决方案,您可以为您的脚本构建 GUI。有了这样的工具 —dialog 和 Zenity 是两个值得一提的工具(参见 参考资料)— 您就可以使用对话框、文件浏览器和其他常见的 “windowing” 控件和技术来与您的用户交互。事实上,对话框提供更多自然对话:您提出问题,请求响应,并相应地予以响应。

本期的 “对话 UNIX” 探讨 dialog 和 Zenity,并展示如何将任何脚本转化成一个令人信服的 GUI 应用程序。对于传统的、基于文本的界面使用 dialog,Zenity 提供现代风格的视窗化桌面。

向任何 shell 脚本添加对话框

一个命令行实用程序通常提供足够的选项来完全控制每个调用。一些 DOS 命令可能启用或禁用一个特性,而其他 DOS 命令可能处理参数,比如名称列表。在命令行,您将(几乎)所有信息呈现在前面,然后执行任务。图形应用程序很不同。选择是通过菜单、复选框和文件浏览器做出的。一个图形应用程序接受一点信息,处理它,然后通常要求获得更多信息。据说 GUI 应用程序是事件驱动的

dialog 实用程序跨越两个世界。当您需要来自用户的输入时调用该实用程序,然后返回到您的脚本继续处理提供的任何数据。换言之,如果您写一个脚本来使用 dialog,就有可能忽略命令行参数,而是使用 dialog 在必要时发出提示信息。

如果您的系统缺少 dialog 实用程序,您可以轻松使用当前版本自带的包管理器来安装它,或者您可以直接通过源代码编译它。例如,如果您的系统使用 Aptitude,您可以通过如下命令安装 dialog

sudo apt-get install dialog

否则就要通过源代码编译,可以下载维护人员 Thomas Dickey 的 Web 站点上的代码(参见 参考资料)并运行典型的三个命令:./configure && make && make install

$ wget http://invisible-island.net/datafiles/release/dialog.tar.gz
$ tar xzf dialog.tar.gz
$ cd dialog-1.1-20100428
$ ./configure
$ make
$ sudo make install

安装完成之后,您的路径中应当会有一个名为 dialog 的新实用程序。输入 man dialog 来查看捆绑文档。

dialog 使用起来很简单:它仅是另一个 UNIX 命令。您使用命令选项显示您选择的对话框,然后捕获结果并基于该值执行一些逻辑。dialog 的一些变体直接将命令结果放在特殊的 shell 状态变量 $? 中,您应当在 dialog 命令退出后立即保存或询问该变量(因为随后的一个命令会立即改变其值)。另外,通常更为复杂的 dialog 命令变体同时设置 shell 状态变量并生成其他结果。为将事情简单化,dialog 提供 --stdout 选项来将其结果发出到标准输出,因而便于通过命令求值捕获数据(带左引号的命令和赋值语句的组合)。

例如,dialog --yesno 命令是最简单的变体之一。它提出一个问题,提示做出是或否的响应,并返回 $? 中的 01,具体取决于用户选择了 “Yes” 还是 “No”。您可以测试 $? 的值并执行一些条件代码。这里是您可以添加到 shell 脚本的一个工作代码段:

dialog --yesno "Do you want to continue?" 0 0
rc=$?
if [ "${rc}" == "0" ]; then
  echo Yes
else
  echo No
fi

--yesno 选项需要至少三个参数:问题文本以及对话框本身的高度和宽度,后者用行和列度量。如果您不需要特定尺寸,总是可以为高度或宽度使用 0,以自动调整对话框大小。(还有相对于窗口左下角放置窗口的选项。)图 1 展示运行中的 --yesno

图 1. --yesno 操作
--yesno 操作

dialog 选项 --calendar 呈现一个日历来允许用户选择特定日期。如果用户选择一个日期,然后单击 OK,命令返回 0。但是,如果用户单击 Cancel,命令返回 1。此外,如果用户单击 OK,命令将选定日期发出为标准输出。这里是使用命令求值产生日期的一个例子:

RESULT=`dialog --stdout --title "CALENDAR" 
    --calendar "Please choose a date..." 0 0 9 1 2010`
retval=$?

--title 选项使用下一个参数来将一个标题添加到对话框,且可用于任何 dialog 命令。非常像 --yesno,您提供一些文本来提示用户。接下来,选项 0 0 再次指定自动高度和宽度,选项 9 1 2010 分别指示日历中显示的初始日、月和年。选项卡和箭头键改变日历并选择一个日期。对话框退出后,如果 retval0RESULT 的值就是选定的日期。图 2 显示日历对话框。

图 2. 日历对话框
日历对话框

dialog 命令提供通常在图形应用程序中找到的大部分控件:

  • --infobox 仅仅展示信息:它不要求任何输入。信息框仍然只是简单地在屏幕上。要延长其显示,在它和下一个命令之前置入一个 sleep 命令。
  • --input 收集单一输入响应。您可能会使用该命令来收集您的用户的姓名或邮政编码。
  • --textbox 显示一个文本文件的内容。如果文件超出对话框的垂直高度,一个控件支持简单的向上和向下滚动。
  • --menu--radiolist 提供一个选择列表,供用户进行选择。两种对话框在功能上是等同的,但是略有不同的视觉风格,以更好地模拟一个 GUI 可能展示的东西。特别地,--radiolist 命令呈现 ( ) 来模拟单选按钮。
  • --checklist 显示用户可单独启用或禁用的一个项目列表。

每个 dialog 变体的输出不同,或是一个单一值,或是一列由空格分隔的带引号值。例如,--checklist 是用于选择一个或多个选项的一个不错的控件,它发出一列带引号值,其中每个值与一个启用的选项相关。下面演示了一个操作示例:

RESULT=`dialog --stdout 
   --checklist "Enable the account options you want:" 10 40 3 \
  1 "Home directory" on \
  2 "Signature file" off \
  3 "Simple password" off`

行 1、2 和 3 结尾的反斜杠(\)是延续标记;从 RESULToff` 的一切内容是一个命令。如果用户启用了 Home directorySimple password$RESULT 将会是 "1" "3"--checklist 的参数是高度和宽度,任何时间内的列表元数量(如果有些项目被挡住,您可以通过滚动查看这些项目),以及清单选项(其中每个选项是一个值)、一个描述、在最初启用或禁用该选项。

您可以随时输入 dialog --help 来查看常规列表,输入 dialog 来查看特定选项。dialog 有无数用法。


有像素?使用 Zenity。

Zenity 是 UNIX 桌面,如同 dialog 是简单的终端窗口。您可以使用 Zenity 从任何 shell 脚本打开 GTK+ 对话框。事实上,Zenity 与 dialog 有着许多相同的功能;惟一的区别在于,Zenity 在一个 X Window System 环境中工作。Zenity 与 GNOME 相捆绑。如果您不运行 GNOME,可以单独安装 Zenity(但是,也要安装大量 GTK+ 库)。您还可以从 GNOME 项目页面下载 Zenity 的源代码(参见 参考资料 获取链接)。

下面是一个简单的例子。命令为:

zenity --question --text "Do you want to continue?"

生成的结果如 图 3 所示。(用于演示的机器在运行 Ubuntu 10。)如果您单击 OK,命令返回 0。否则,它返回 1

图 3. 一个简单问题
一个简单问题

如同 dialog,Zenity 有很多选项 — 甚至比 dialog 还多 — 但是选项命名贴切,因而不言自明。您可能发现 Zenity 比 dialog 更有优势,特别是由于大部分计算机用户都有某种 X 桌面。

Zenity 提供与 dialog 相同的许多控件。这里是收集名称的一个代码段:

ENTRY=`zenity --entry --text "Please enter your name" 
   --entry-text "Your name" --title "Enter your name"
if [ $? == 0 ]; then
  zenity --info --text "Hello $ENTRY\!"
fi

再次说明,如果 zenity 的退出代码是 0,那么 ENTRY 有某人的姓名。这里是为使用 Zenity 而重写后的日历示例:

DATE=`zenity --calendar --day "9" --month "1" --year "2010" --format "%Y-%m-%d"
if [ $? == 0 ]; then
  echo $DATE
fi

尽管 Zenity 更详细一点 — 例如,对于年、月、日有单独的选项 — 其他 DOS 命令使您免于记住精确的参数使用顺序。Zenity 的日历还允许您指定输出格式,即使用标准 strftime() 代码。该命令的结果类似于 2010-1-9,它表示 2010 年 1 月 9 日。

Zenity 还提供一个过程表来展示一个操作的状态。它从标准输入逐行读取数据。如果一个行的前缀是井号(#),文本被更新为该行文本。如果一个行仅包含一个数字,百分比被更新为该数字。清单 1 展示 Zenity 文档中的一个示例。

清单 1. Zenity 过程表
#!/bin/sh
(
  echo "10" ; sleep 1
  echo "# Updating mail logs" ; sleep 1
  echo "20" ; sleep 1
  echo "# Resetting cron jobs" ; sleep 1
  echo "50" ; sleep 1
  echo "This line will just be ignored" ; sleep 1
  echo "75" ; sleep 1
  echo "# Rebooting system" ; sleep 1
  echo "100" ; sleep 1
) |
zenity --progress \
  --title="Update System Logs" \
  --text="Scanning mail logs..." \
  --percentage=0

if [ "$?" = -1 ] ; then
  zenity --error \
    --text="Update canceled."
fi

sub-shell(包含在括号中)执行一系列任务 — 在这个人为例子中 albeit sleep 延迟 — 且通过一个管道将输出发出到一个 Zenity 过程表。在每一步之前,sub-shell 发出一个数字来推进过程表,每个 --percentage 0 起始于 0,然后发出一个以 # 开头的字符串来改变状态消息。因此,过程表沿着步骤标记脚本工作。如果 Zenity 的退出代码是 -1,单击的是 Cancel 按钮。

再次说明,要使用 dialog 或 Zenity,用对话框替换您之前引用过命令行参数的代码。用一个小创意,您可以将您的 shell 脚本转化为一等桌面公民。


其他高级工具

有些时候,您可能发现您的需求超过了 shell 脚本以及 dialog 和 Zenity 工具的功能范围之外。在那些实例中,您可能转向 C/C++ 并为桌面构建本机应用程序,但是您还可以使用高级脚本语言和许多强大的 GUI 框架的语言绑定。

一个组合是 Ruby 脚本语言和 wxWidgets 框架的 Ruby 绑定。Ruby 是面向对象的、富于表现力的且简洁的,运行于大部分操作系统之上。wxWidgets 框架还可用于每个主流平台,包括 Mac OS X、Windows®、Linux® 和 UNIX。由于两者都是可移植的,您可以用 Ruby 编写一个应用程序一次,然后随处运行它。另一个更简单的选择是 Shoes。尽管不如 wxWidgets 丰富,Shoes 学习和使用起来相当简单。清单 2 使用 70 行代码实现了一个计算器。

清单 2. 用 Shoes 实现的一个计算器
class Calc
  def initialize
    @number = 0
    @previous = nil
    @op = nil
  end

  def to_s
    @number.to_s
  end

  (0..9).each do |n|
    define_method "press_#{n}" do
      @number = @number.to_i * 10 + n
    end
  end

  def press_clear
    @number = 0
  end

  {'add' => '+', 'sub' => '-', 'times' => '*', 'div' => '/'}.each do |meth, op|
    define_method "press_#{meth}" do
      if @op
        press_equals
      end
      @op = op
      @previous, @number = @number, nil
    end
  end

  def press_equals
    @number = @previous.send(@op, @number.to_i)
    @op = nil
  end
end

number_field = nil
number = Calc.new
Shoes.app :height => 250, :width => 200, :resizable => false do
  background "#EEC".."#996", :curve => 5, :margin => 2

  stack :margin => 2 do

    stack :margin => 8 do
      number_field = para strong(number)
    end

    flow :width => 218, :margin => 4 do
      %w(7 8 9 / 4 5 6 * 1 2 3 - 0 Clr = +).each do |btn|
        button btn, :width => 46, :height => 46 do
          method = case btn
            when /[0-9]/; 'press_'+btn
            when 'Clr'; 'press_clear'
            when '='; 'press_equals'
            when '+'; 'press_add'
            when '-'; 'press_sub'
            when '*'; 'press_times'
            when '/'; 'press_div'
          end

          number.send(method)
          number_field.replace strong(number)
        end
      end
    end
  end
end

对 Ruby 和 Shoes 的介绍不在本文讨论范围之内,但是这里是一些最重要的构造:

  • 大多数 Ruby 类 Calc 使用 Ruby 的元编程功能,在运行时为所有数字键和数学操作键定义功能。
  • 代码开头 Shoes.app... 创建计算器的 GUI,为其呈现布局和按钮。Shoes 提供两个容器来装配布局:stackflow。一个 stack 是元素的一个垂直堆栈,其中每个元素直接放在前一个元素下面。一个 flow 尽量紧密地包裹元素,直至它达到其边框局限,然后包装其余的元素。(您可以将一个堆栈看作是一个 HTML <div>,将一个流看作 HTML <p>。)您可以使用 Ruby 块创建一个堆栈或一个流。
  • 最里面的 flow 快循环创建应用程序中的所有按钮,并有效地将每个按钮绑定到其方法。(case 语句返回一个方法名称;number.send(method) 行调用实例化计算器上的那个方法。)
  • number_field.replace strong(number) 行通过最新计算结果更新计算器显示。发出 number 致使类调用其自己的 to_s (“to string”) 方法。

其他脚本语言拥有类似的库,且 Ruby 本身有更多选择,包括 Ruby Cocoa,可使用 Ruby 在 Mac OS X 上开发 Cocoa 应用程序。选择您喜欢的开源脚本语言,找到一个轻量级 GUI 工具包,然后开始编码。


您不需要讨厌的编译器!

如果您已经掌握了 shell 脚本编写,将您的工作与 dialog 或 Zenity 结合起来,以增加互操作性。如果您需要的编程功能比 shell 提供的更多,考虑 Ruby 或 Python 这样的语言以及任何窗口工具包。您无需一个编译器来编写良好的桌面应用程序。

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

  • dialog 项目页面:下载 dialog 的源代码。
  • Zenity:从 GNOME 项目页面获取 Zenity 的源代码。
  • Shoes:了解如何使用 Shoes,Ruby 的一个 GUI 库,来编写应用程序脚本。

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=647494
ArticleTitle=对话 UNIX: 使用 shell 脚本创建好的图形应用程序
publish-date=04182011

Speaking UNIX: Creating great graphical applications with shell scripts

The command line isn't suitable for every user. Indeed, some users may only feel comfortable when armed with a mouse. To accommodate those users or build custom desktop applications using only the shell, add GUIs to your scripts. Here's how you can do it.

Martin Streicher, Software Developer, Pixel, Byte, and Comma

author photo - martin streicherMartin Streicher is a freelance Ruby on Rails developer and the former Editor-in-Chief of Linux Magazine. Martin holds a Masters of Science degree in computer science from Purdue University and has programmed UNIX-like systems since 1986. He collects art and toys. You can reach Martin at martin.streicher@gmail.com.



25 January 2011

Also available in Chinese

If you walk into any crowded machine room, chances are you'll catch chit-chat about "shebangs," slashes, dot-dots, root, pipes, ports, and dash-dash this and that. If you speak UNIX®, you'll no doubt grok the local lingo—acronyms, command names, shortcuts, options, file names, and colloquialisms about UNIX—and feel right at home. Like practitioners of other art, UNIX users have an extensive vernacular for describing the specifics of their work.

Frequently used acronyms

  • GUI: Graphical user interface
  • HTML: Hypertext Markup Language

But not everyone speaks UNIX; in fact, some may find the command line daunting or perplexing. Further, you simply may not want to entrust the entirety of the command line to an occasional or inexperienced user. To assist those unaccustomed to the command line or to build custom solutions around the shell, you can build GUIs for your scripts. With such tools—dialog and Zenity are two worthy of mention (see Resources)—you can use dialog boxes, file browsers, and other common "windowing" controls and techniques to interact with your users. Indeed, dialog boxes provide for more natural conversations: You present information, ask for a response, and react accordingly.

This installment of "Speaking UNIX" looks at dialog and Zenity and shows how you can turn any script into a convincing GUI application. You use dialog with traditional, text-based interfaces; Zenity proffers the style of the modern, windowed desktop.

Add dialog boxes to any shell script

A command-line utility typically offers sufficient options to completely control each invocation. Some switches may enable or disable a feature, while other switches may process arguments, such as a list of names. On the command line, you present (nearly) all the information up front and let the job go. Graphical applications are very different. Choices are made through menus, check boxes, and file browsers. A graphical application takes in a little information, processes it, and then usually asks for more information. It's said that GUI applications are event driven.

The dialog utility spans the two worlds. You invoke the utility whenever you need input from the user, and then return to your script to continue processing whatever data was provided. In other words, if you write a script to use dialog, you'll likely ignore command-line arguments and instead use dialog to prompt for information when necessary.

If your system lacks the dialog utility, you can easily install it with your distribution's own package manager, or you can build it directly from source. For example, if your system uses Aptitude, you can install dialog with the command:

sudo apt-get install dialog

Otherwise, to build from source, download the code from maintainer Thomas Dickey's Web site (see Resources) and run the typical trio of commands: ./configure && make && make install:

$ wget http://invisible-island.net/datafiles/release/dialog.tar.gz
$ tar xzf dialog.tar.gz
$ cd dialog-1.1-20100428
$ ./configure
$ make
$ sudo make install

After the installation, you should have a new utility named dialog in your path. Type man dialog to see the bundled documentation.

Using dialog is simple: It's just another UNIX command. You display a dialog box of your choice using the command's options, then capture the result and perform some logic based on that value. Some variations of dialog place the result of the command directly in the special shell status variable, $?, which you should save or interrogate immediately after the dialog command exits (because a subsequent command will immediately change its value). Other, typically more complicated variations of the dialog command both set the shell status variable and generate other results. To make things simple, dialog provides the --stdout option to always emit its result to standard output, making it easy to capture data with command evaluation (a combination of a command in back quotes and an assignment statement).

For example, the command dialog --yesno is one of the simplest variants. It presents a question, prompts for either a yes or no response, and returns either 0 or 1 in $? depending on whether the user selected "Yes" or "No," respectively. You can test the value of $? and execute some conditional code. Here's is a working snippet you can add to a shell script:

dialog --yesno "Do you want to continue?" 0 0
rc=$?
if [ "${rc}" == "0" ]; then
  echo Yes
else
  echo No
fi

The --yesno option requires at least three arguments: text for the question and the height and width of the dialog box itself, measured in rows and columns. If you don't require specific dimensions, you can always use 0 for either height or width to size the dialog box automatically. (There are also options for placing the window relative to the top left corner of the window.) Figure 1 shows --yesno in operation.

Figure 1. The --yesno operation
The --yesno operation

The dialog option --calendar presents a calendar to allow the user to choose a specific date. If the user chooses a date, and then clicks OK, the command returns 0. If, however, the user clicks Cancel, the command returns 1. Moreover, if the user clicks OK, the command emits the date selected to standard output. Here's an example using command evaluation to yield a date:

RESULT=`dialog --stdout --title "CALENDAR" 
    --calendar "Please choose a date..." 0 0 9 1 2010`
retval=$?

The --title option uses the next argument to add a title to the dialog box and can be used with any dialog command. Much like --yesno, you provide some text to prompt the user. Next, the options 0 0 again specify automatic height and width, and the options 9 1 2010 dictate the initial day, month, and year, respectively, shown in the calendar. The Tab and arrow keys alter the calendar and choose a date. After the dialog box is dismissed, if retval is 0, the value of RESULT is the date selected. Figure 2 shows the calendar dialog box.

Figure 2. The calendar dialog box
The calendar dialog box

The dialog command offers most of the controls typically found in a graphical application:

  • --infobox simply presents information: It does not expect any input. The information box remains on screen only briefly. To prolong its display, place a sleep command between it and the next command.
  • --input collects a single, typed response. You might use this command to collect your user's name or zip code.
  • --textbox displays the contents of a text file. If the file exceeds the vertical height of the dialog box, a control allows for simple scrolling up and down.
  • --menu and --radiolist present a list of choices and allow the user to select one. The two kinds of dialog box are functionally equivalent but have slightly different visual styles to better simulate what a GUI might present. Specifically, the --radiolist command renders ( ) to mimic radio buttons.
  • --checklist displays a list of items that the user can enabled or disabled individually.

The output of each dialog variant differs but is either a single value or a list of quoted values separated by white space. For instance, --checklist, which is great for choosing one or more options, emits a list of quoted values, where each value is associated with an enabled option. An example demonstrates the operation:

RESULT=`dialog --stdout 
   --checklist "Enable the account options you want:" 10 40 3 \
  1 "Home directory" on \
  2 "Signature file" off \
  3 "Simple password" off`

The backslash (\) at the end of lines 1, 2, and 3 are continuations; everything from RESULT to off` is one command. If the user enabled Home directory and Simple password, $RESULT would be "1" "3". The arguments to --checklist are the height and width, the number of list elements at any time (you can scroll to see additional items if some are occluded), and the checklist options, where each option is a value, a description, and whether the option is initially enabled or disabled.

You can type dialog --help at any time to see the list of general and dialog-specific options. There are tons of uses for dialog.


Got pixels? Use Zenity.

Zenity is to the UNIX desktop what dialog is to simple terminal windows. You can use Zenity to open GTK+ dialog boxes from any shell script. In fact, Zenity shares many of the same features as dialog; the only difference is that Zenity works in an X Window System environment. Zenity comes bundled with GNOME. If you don't run GNOME, you can install Zenity separately (however, expect a large number of GTK+ libraries to be installed, too). You can also download the source of Zenity from the GNOME project pages (see Resources for a link).

Here's a quick example. The command:

zenity --question --text "Do you want to continue?"

produces something like Figure 3. (The machine used for demonstration is running Ubuntu 10.) If you click OK, the command returns 0. Otherwise, it returns 1.

Figure 3. A simple question
A simple question

Like dialog, Zenity has a good number of options—perhaps even more than dialog—but the options are well named and thus self-explanatory. You'll likely find Zenity more advantageous than dialog, especially as most computer users have an X desktop of some sort.

Zenity offers many of the same controls as dialog. Here is a snippet to collect a name:

ENTRY=`zenity --entry --text "Please enter your name" 
   --entry-text "Your name" --title "Enter your name"
if [ $? == 0 ]; then
  zenity --info --text "Hello $ENTRY\!"
fi

Again, if the exit code of zenity is 0, then ENTRY has the person's name. Here is the calendar example from above rewritten to use Zenity:

DATE=`zenity --calendar --day "9" --month "1" --year "2010" --format "%Y-%m-%d"
if [ $? == 0 ]; then
  echo $DATE
fi

Although Zenity is a little more verbose—there are separate options for day, month, and year, for example—the additional switches free you from remembering the precise usage sequence of arguments. Zenity's calendar also allows you to specify the format for output, using standard strftime() codes. The result of this command would be something like 2010-1-9 for 9 January 2010.

Zenity also provides a progress meter to show the state of an operation. It reads data from standard input line by line. If a line is prefixed with the octothorpe, or pound sign (#), the text is updated with the text on that line. If a line contains only a number, the percentage is updated with that number. Listing 1 shows is an example from the Zenity documentation.

Listing 1. The Zenity progress meter
#!/bin/sh
(
  echo "10" ; sleep 1
  echo "# Updating mail logs" ; sleep 1
  echo "20" ; sleep 1
  echo "# Resetting cron jobs" ; sleep 1
  echo "50" ; sleep 1
  echo "This line will just be ignored" ; sleep 1
  echo "75" ; sleep 1
  echo "# Rebooting system" ; sleep 1
  echo "100" ; sleep 1
) |
zenity --progress \
  --title="Update System Logs" \
  --text="Scanning mail logs..." \
  --percentage=0

if [ "$?" = -1 ] ; then
  zenity --error \
    --text="Update canceled."
fi

The sub-shell (wrapped in parentheses) performs a series of tasks—albeit sleep delays in this contrived example—and emits output to a Zenity progress meter via a pipe. Before each step, the sub-shell emits a number to advance the progress meter, which starts at 0 per --percentage 0, and then emits a string prefaced with # to change the status message. Thus, the progress meter steps along to mark the work of the script. If Zenity exits with code -1, the Cancel button was clicked.

Again, to use dialog or Zenity, replace code where you previously referenced a command-line argument with a dialog box. With a little creativity, you can turn your shell scripts into first-class desktop citizens.


Additional advanced tools

At some point, you may find that your requirements exceed the capabilities of both shell scripting and the dialog and Zenity tools. In those instances, you may turn to C/C++ and build native applications for the desktop, but you can also turn to advanced scripting languages and language bindings for any number of robust GUI frameworks.

One combination is the Ruby scripting language and the Ruby bindings for the wxWidgets framework. Ruby is object oriented, expressive, concise, and runs on most operating systems. The wxWidgets framework is also available on every major platform, including Mac OS X, Windows®, Linux®, and UNIX. Because both are portable, you can write an application once in Ruby and run it everywhere. Another, simpler option is Shoes. Although not as rich as wxWidgets, Shoes is fairly quick to learn and use. The code in Listing 2 realizes a calculator in 70 lines of code.

Listing 2. A calculator in Shoes
class Calc
  def initialize
    @number = 0
    @previous = nil
    @op = nil
  end

  def to_s
    @number.to_s
  end

  (0..9).each do |n|
    define_method "press_#{n}" do
      @number = @number.to_i * 10 + n
    end
  end

  def press_clear
    @number = 0
  end

  {'add' => '+', 'sub' => '-', 'times' => '*', 'div' => '/'}.each do |meth, op|
    define_method "press_#{meth}" do
      if @op
        press_equals
      end
      @op = op
      @previous, @number = @number, nil
    end
  end

  def press_equals
    @number = @previous.send(@op, @number.to_i)
    @op = nil
  end
end

number_field = nil
number = Calc.new
Shoes.app :height => 250, :width => 200, :resizable => false do
  background "#EEC".."#996", :curve => 5, :margin => 2

  stack :margin => 2 do

    stack :margin => 8 do
      number_field = para strong(number)
    end

    flow :width => 218, :margin => 4 do
      %w(7 8 9 / 4 5 6 * 1 2 3 - 0 Clr = +).each do |btn|
        button btn, :width => 46, :height => 46 do
          method = case btn
            when /[0-9]/; 'press_'+btn
            when 'Clr'; 'press_clear'
            when '='; 'press_equals'
            when '+'; 'press_add'
            when '-'; 'press_sub'
            when '*'; 'press_times'
            when '/'; 'press_div'
          end

          number.send(method)
          number_field.replace strong(number)
        end
      end
    end
  end
end

An introduction to Ruby and Shoes is beyond the scope of this article, but here are some of the most important constructs:

  • The bulk of the Ruby class Calc uses Ruby's metaprogramming features to define functions at run time for all the digit keys and for the math operation keys.
  • The code beginning Shoes.app... creates the GUI for the calculator, rendering the layout and the buttons for it. Shoes provides two containers to assemble layouts: the stack and the flow. A stack is a vertical stack of elements, with each element placed directly beneath the element preceding it. A flow packs elements in as tightly as it can until it reaches the limits of its bounding box, and then wraps the remaining elements. (You can think of a stack as an HTML <div> and a flow as an HTML <p>.) You create a stack or flow using a Ruby block.
  • The innermost flow block loops, creating all the buttons in the application and effectively binding each button to its method. (The case statement returns a method name; the line number.send(method) calls that method on the instantiated calculator.)
  • The line number_field.replace strong(number) updates the calculator display with the result of the most recent calculation. Emitting number causes the class to call its own to_s ("to string") method.

Other scripting languages have similar libraries, and there are many more choices for Ruby itself, including Ruby Cocoa to develop Cocoa applications on Mac OS X with Ruby. Pick your favorite open source scripting language, find a lightweight GUI toolkit, and start coding.


We don't need no stinkin' compiler!

If you've already mastered shell scripting, combine your work with dialog or Zenity to add interactivity. And once you need more programming power than what the shell provides, consider a language such as Ruby or Python and any one of several windowing toolkits. You don't need a compiler to write great desktop applications.

Resources

Learn

  • Speaking UNIX: Check out other parts in this series.
  • wxWidgets: Read more about wxWidgets, the cross-platform GUI framework.
  • AIX and UNIX developerWorks zone: The AIX and UNIX zone provides a wealth of information relating to all aspects of AIX systems administration and expanding your UNIX skills.
  • New to AIX and UNIX? Visit the New to AIX and UNIX page to learn more.
  • Technology bookstore: Browse the technology bookstore for books on this and other technical topics.

Get products and technologies

  • dialog project page: Download the source code for dialog.
  • Zenity: Get the source code for Zenity from the GNOME project pages.
  • Shoes: Learn how to script applications with Shoes, a GUI library for Ruby.

Discuss

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into AIX and Unix on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=619288
ArticleTitle=Speaking UNIX: Creating great graphical applications with shell scripts
publish-date=01252011