对话 UNIX: 使用 fish!

Friendly Interactive Shell(fish)对于 UNIX 新手和专家都很适合

Friendly Interactive Shell(fish)很容易使用。它的语法、上下文相关的帮助和颜色编码的命令行界面(CLI)显著简化了 UNIX® 的使用,减轻了脚本编程的负担。

Martin Streicher, 软件开发人员, Pixels, Bytes, and Commas

http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/i/p-mstreicher.jpgMartin Streicher 是一位 Ruby on Rails 自由开发人员和 Linux Magazine 的前主编。Martin 毕业于 Purdue University 并获得计算机科学学位,从 1986 年起他一直从事 UNIX 类系统的编程工作。他喜欢收集艺术品和玩具。



2009 年 2 月 19 日

英语是一种令人困惑的语言。例如,请考虑 moongood 这两个单词。对外行人而言,这两个单词似乎应该是押韵的,但是前者的读音是 /mun/(根据 International Pronunciation Alphabet),而后者的读音是 /good/。似乎英语中的惟一规则就是例外。

UNIX shell 同样令人困惑。例如,在 Bourne shell(和大多数常用的 UNIX shell)中,'$var'"$var"`$var` 看起来相似,但是它们会产生很不一样的结果。(在本文中的 shell 示例中,每个 CLI 前面都加上使用的 shell 的名称和命令编号) 。

bash-1) # Demonstrate the differences between single-, double-, and back quotes
bash-2) var=ls
bash-3) echo '$var'
$var
bash-4) echo "$var" 
ls
bash-5) echo `$var`
Rakefile app bin components config db
    doc lib log patches public script src
    test tmp vendor

在上面的命令序列中,把变量 var 设置为两字母的字符串 ls。在第一个 echo 命令中,单引号禁止解释此变量,因此会按原样显示引号中的文本,即四字母的字符串 $var。在第 4 行代码中,双引号会解释此变量,所以结果是字符串 ls。最后,反撇号解释变量并作为子 shell 运行中间结果。因此,`$var` 产生中间字符串 ls,它作为 shell 命令运行,生成当前目录的内容列表。

当然,这三种操作符(单引号、双引号和反撇号)都有合法的用途,但是与英语中的例外一样,记住和掌握这些细微差异很令人头疼。为了进一步证明这一点,请问:$var"$var" 之间有什么差异?(提示:假设 $var 包含空格。)

bash-1) # Create three files and try to remove two
bash-2) touch three two one
bash-3) var="one two"
bash-4) rm "$var"
rm: one two: No such file or directory
bash-5) rm $var
bash-6) ls
three

如果一个变量包含空格,双引号会按原样把变量展开为一个 参数。否则,变量中的任何空格都被解释为参数分隔符。

shell 语法很令人头疼。这很糟糕,因为它使 CLI(UNIX 最强大的特性之一)更难掌握。上面这样的不一致问题甚至会给 UNIX 老手带来困扰。

好在,fish (Friendly Interactive Shell) 的出现改变了这种混乱局面,它提供简明的语法,显著改善了用户体验。与其他 shell 一样,fish 也提供重定向、快捷方式、globbing(即通配符的展开)、子 shell、制表符补全和变量。但是,与其他 shell 不同,fish 还提供颜色编码的 CLI、功能丰富的命令行编辑器和大量文档。

另外,对于执行任何操作,fish 只提供一种方式,这非常明智。如果一个 UNIX 实用程序能够完成某一任务,fish 就不会通过内置命令重复提供此特性。例如,fish 使用系统范围的应用程序 /bin/kill 终止进程。(与之相反,Bourne shell 通过一个内置应用程序实现了它自己的 kill 版本。可以在 Bourne shell 命令提示上输入 /bin/kill 来访问此版本)。fish 尽可能优先考虑简单性而不是灵活性,这显著简化了它的使用方法。

下面,我们来安装 fish 并体验它的一些特性。

获取 fish

fish 是由 Axel Liljencrantz 创建的一个开放源码项目,采用的许可协议是 GNU General Public License, version 2。到编写本文时,fish 的最新版本是 1.23.0,此版本于 2008 年 1 月 13 日发布。

如果使用 UNIX 或 UNIX 类系统(比如 Linux® 或 Mac OS X),那么应该很容易在您的系统上从源代码构建 fish。下面是构建步骤,见 清单 1

  1. 下载程序的最新源代码压缩包。
  2. 解压。
  3. 进入源代码目录。
  4. 配置构建。
  5. 运行 make
清单 1. 从源代码构建 fish
bash-1) wget http://www.fishshell.org/files/1.23.0/fish-1.23.0.tar.gz
bash-2) tar xzvf fish-1.23.0.tar.gz
bash-3) cd fish-1.23.0
bash-4) ./configure --without-xsel
checking if autoconf needs to be run... no
checking if autoheader needs to be run... no
checking for /usr/pkg/include include directory... no
...
bash-5) make
gcc -c -o function.o function.c
...
bash-6) sudo make install
...
To use fish as your login shell:
* add the line '/usr/bin/fish' to the file '/etc/shells'.
* use the command 'chsh -s /usr/bin/fish'.

如果使用 UNIX 类系统,configure 可能不需要更多的标志。但是,为了尽可能减少依赖性并让 fish 采用与常用 shell 相同的目录结构,可以分别添加 --without-xsel--prefix=/usr。(如果使用 Mac OS X version 10.4 Leopard,那么还要添加参数 LDFLAGS=-liconv。如果在 Mac OS X 上省略后一个选项,那么无法编译附带的 fish 实用程序) 。

另外,如果使用流行的 UNIX 版本,很可能会找到预先构建好的二进制版本,可以把它直接安装在您的系统上。例如,如果使用 Debian Linux,那么可以用 sudo apt-get install fish 命令直接安装 fish。请访问 fish 项目的主页,了解是否有针对您的系统的二进制版本。


入门

在讨论比较复杂的主题之前,我们先看看在 fish 中如何完成一些常见的 shell 任务:

  • 要想重定向标准输入和标准输出,应该分别使用操作符 <>。要想重定向标准错误,应该使用 ^ 操作符,见 图 1。使用 ^^ 把标准错误追加到一个文件中。
    图 1. 用 ^ 操作符重定向标准错误
    用 ^ 操作符重定向标准错误

    在命令 3 中,rm 产生的错误消息被重定向到 errors 文件中。命令 4 显示此文件的内容。fish shell 为重定向提供各种支持,比如把描述符组合成一个流和结束描述符。

    顺便说一句,文本的颜色和下划线不是编辑出来的。shell 会在您输入时在 CLI 中突出显示文本。绿色表示命令名是有效的;无效的命令名用红色表示。下划线表示指定的文件存在。(后面一节详细讨论 shell 的反馈)。

  • 使用圆括号(())运行子 shell,见 图 2。圆括号中的文本被解释为一系列命令,shell 会把它们替换为执行结果。
    图 2. 使用圆括号运行子 shell
    使用圆括号运行子 shell
  • 通过创建 fish 函数创建别名(即快捷方式)。

    函数可以包含一个或多个命令,特殊变量 $argv 会自动展开成命令行上传递的参数列表。

    可以用 functions 命令列出已定义的所有函数。使用 functions --erase name 删除函数,例如 functions --erase ll

    还可以立即保存在命令行上编写的任何函数。在编写完代码时,输入 funcsave name,例如 funcsave ll。在此之后,当前运行的所有 shell 和以后的所有 shell 都可以使用此函数。可以使用 funced name 命令以交互方式编辑现有的函数。funced 命令提供语法突出显示、制表符补全和自动缩进;funcsavefunced 使用户能够更方便地定制 shell。

  • 输入 set variable namevalue 来设置变量。与内置命令 functions 一样,输入 set --erase variable name 就可以删除一个变量。输入美元符号($)和变量名,就可以获取变量中存储的值,见 图 3
    图 3. 检查一个变量是否存在
    检查一个变量是否存在

    fish 提供 --query 选项来检查是否定义了一个变量。如果已经设置了此变量,set --query 返回状态码 0,这表示没有出现错误;否则,返回 1。语句 6 用 or 操作符连接两个命令:第二个命令(echo)只在第一个命令失败的情况下执行。

那么,fish 如何处理 $var'$var'"$var"`$var` 呢?它遵守几条简单的规则:

  • 如果变量包含空格,那么空格会被保留,变量总是作为单一参数,见 图 4
    图 4. fish 按原样保留字符串中嵌入的空格
    fish 按原样保留字符串中嵌入的空格
  • 如果最外边的引号是双引号,那么展开所有变量。
  • 如果最外边的引号是单引号,那么不展开变量。

我们来看看这些规则的实际应用。

命令 1 创建四个 文件,最后一个文件的名称包含空格。命令 3 和 4 删除 file 变量指定的文件。命令 6 和 7 删除 twofiles 变量指定的两个文件。仔细看一下命令 6:因为值没有放在引号(单引号或双引号)中,所以不保留空格。因此,命令 7 把此变量展开成两个参数并删除两个文件。命令 9 和 10 重复命令 6 和 7 中的场景。

命令 11 和 12 演示空格规则。尽管在命令 12 中变量没有放在双引号中,但是 fish 在命令 11 中保留空格。非常好

命令 14 到 16 演示 fish 的嵌套引号规则。现在,再看一下命令 11、15 和 16。shell 使用颜色编码显示匹配的引号,以此确保语法正确。再看一下命令 9 和 11。后一个命令在文件名上显示下划线,这表示此文件存在。在命令 9 中没有下划线,这提示用户某些地方出错了。

fish 的首字母代表 Friendly,对用户友好是它的主要目标。


对于新手非常有帮助的一个特性

说到对用户友好,就不能不提到 fish制表符补全 特性,这个新颖的特性对于 UNIX 新用户和专家都极其有帮助。为了体验制表符补全,请按下面的示例操作。在每行的末尾按 Tab 键。

如果您不确定一个命令名的拼写,可以在输入几个字母之后按 Tab,就会看到可能的完整命令的列表,见 图 5。(在您的系统上显示的命令列表可能与这里显示的不一样。此列表取决于 PATH 环境变量和您的 UNIX 系统的内容) 。

图 5. 按 Tab 补全命令名
按 Tab 补全命令名

注意 CLI 中的红色文本。如果 fish 不认识一个命令名,就用红色显示它。按 Tab,就会显示以目前输入的字母开头的所有应用程序名(以及简短的描述)。在空提示行上按 Tab,就会看到 PATH 中的所有应用程序。

如果想了解一个命令的可用选项,那么在连字符(-)或双连字符(--)后面按 Tab,见 图 6

图 6. 还可以通过按 Tab 补全一个选项
还可以通过按 Tab 补全一个选项

此时,fish 会显示可用的选项。shell 维护许多常用命令和选项的索引,您很可能能够得到所需的帮助。但是,定制的或更复杂的实用程序可能缺少这种数据。可以阅读 fish 文档,了解关于编写自己的补全特性的更多信息。

还可以在输入选项的几个字母之后按 Tab,见 图 7。shell 会显示所有匹配的选项。

图 7. 还可以输入选项的一部分
还可以输入选项的一部分

如果您不知道一个命令处理的操作数类型,fish 在许多情况下可以提供帮助,但并不是在所有情况下都可以。例如,如果输入 set(或 vared,即 fish 变量编辑器)和一个空格,然后按 Tab,fish 会显示可用变量的列表。set 的操作数是一个变量。同样,如果输入 type 和一个空格,然后按 Tab,fish 会显示内置函数的列表,这些函数扩展文件系统上可用的实用程序。

在一般情况下,fish 中的所有内置函数都有上下文相关的操作数补全。请试一下 cd,见 图 8

图 8. 许多命令是上下文相关的,可以显示适当的参数
许多命令是上下文相关的,可以显示适当的参数

cd 函数是一个 fish 函数,它的操作数是一个现有的目录。在输入 cd 之后按 Tabfish 会显示 CDPATH 中的每个目录包含的所有现有目录。

另一个智能化补全与 ssh 相关。输入 ssh 和一个空格,然后按 Tab,就会看到从 Secure Shell 已知主机文件(通常在 ~/.ssh/known_hosts 中)获取的已知主机名列表:

fish-1) ssh
login.example.com  (Hostname)
host1.example.com         (Hostname)

fish shell 还会补全文件名和目录名。同样,它会在您输入路径名时突出显示正确的元素。

fish 与其他 shell 之间的一个重要差异是,它不提供历史快捷方式,比如 !!!!$


使用 fish 作为登录 shell

如果您喜欢 fish,希望用它作为登录 shell,那么把 fish 的路径添加到正式 shell 列表(/etc/shells)中,然后运行 chsh

bash-1) type fish
fish is /usr/bin/fish
bash-2) sudo vi /etc/shells
Add the line /usr/bin/fish to the file if it's missing, and save the file
bash-3) cat /etc/shells
/bin/bash
/bin/csh
/bin/ksh
/bin/sh
/bin/tcsh
/bin/zsh
/usr/bin/fish
bash-4) chsh -s /usr/bin/fish
Changing shell for strike
Password: ********
bash-5) login strike
Password: ********
Last login: Wed Oct  8 15:02:21 on ttys000
Welcome to fish, the friendly interactive shell
Type help for instructions on how to use fish
fish-1) echo $SHELL
/usr/bin/fish

结束语

fish 中还有许多有用的特性值得研究。“fish 这条鱼非常有营养。”

可以调整语法突出显示采用的颜色。可以通过编辑 ~/.config/fish/config.fish 定制启动过程。可以使用通用变量fishd 跨 shell 实例共享变量。这种 shell 还有出色的历史搜索特性、交互式变量编辑器和交互式命令行编辑器。

最好的一点是,fish 本身提供大量文档。如果需要帮助,只需在命令提示上输入 help

医生的意见是对的:吃 “鱼” 对您有益。

参考资料

学习

  • 您可以参阅本文在 developerWorks 全球站点上的 英文原文
  • 对话 UNIX:阅读本系列中的其他文章。
  • 阅读 fish User Manual
  • 了解关于 fish shell 设计 的更多信息。
  • 查看更多的 fish 屏幕图
  • 了解关于 UNIX shell 的更多信息。
  • AIX and UNIX 专区:developerWorks 的“AIX and UNIX 专区”提供了大量与 AIX 系统管理的所有方面相关的信息,您可以利用它们来扩展自己的 UNIX 技能。
  • AIX and UNIX 新手入门:访问“AIX and UNIX 新手入门”页面可了解更多关于 AIX 和 UNIX 的内容。
  • AIX and UNIX 专题汇总:AIX and UNIX 专区已经为您推出了很多的技术专题,为您总结了很多热门的知识点。我们在后面还会继续推出很多相关的热门专题给您,为了方便您的访问,我们在这里为您把本专区的所有专题进行汇总,让您更方便的找到您需要的内容。
  • 浏览 技术书店 获得关于这些主题和其他技术主题的图书。

获得产品和技术

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=AIX and UNIX, Open source
ArticleID=370617
ArticleTitle=对话 UNIX: 使用 fish!
publish-date=02192009

Speaking UNIX: Go fish!

The Friendly Interactive Shell (fish) is ideal for UNIX novices and experts alike

The Friendly Interactive Shell, or fish, is a joy to use. Its syntax, context-sensitive help, and color-coded command-line interface (CLI) greatly simplify the use of UNIX® and ease the burdens of scripting.

Share:

Martin Streicher (martin.streicher@gmail.com), Software Developer, Pixels, Bytes, and Commas

Photo of Martin StreicherMartin Streicher is a freelance Ruby on Rails developer and the former Editor-in-Chief of Linux Magazine. Martin holds a Masters of Science degree in computer science from Purdue University and has programmed UNIX-like systems since 1986. He collects art and toys. You can reach Martin at martin.streicher@gmail.com.



25 November 2008

Also available in Chinese Russian

English is a perplexing language. For example, consider the words moon and good. To the uninitiated, the words should rhyme, but the former is pronounced /mun/ (according to the International Pronunciation Alphabet), while the latter is spoken /good/. Seemingly, the only rule in English is exception.

UNIX shells are equally perplexing. For instance, in the Bourne shell (and most common UNIX shells), the phrases '$var', "$var", and `$var` look alike but yield substantially different results. (Each CLI in the shell examples presented in this article are prefaced with the name of the active shell and the command number.)

bash-1) # Demonstrate the differences between single-, double-, and back quotes
bash-2) var=ls
bash-3) echo '$var'
$var
bash-4) echo "$var" 
ls
bash-5) echo `$var`
Rakefile app bin components config db
    doc lib log patches public script src
    test tmp vendor

In the sequence above, the variable var is set to the two-letter string ls. In the initial echo command, the apostrophes prevent interpretation of the variable, instead yielding a verbatim copy of the quoted text, the four-letter string $var. Next, in command 4, the double quotation marks do interpret the variable, so the result is the string ls. Finally, the back quotes both interpret the variable and run the intermediate result as a subshell. Thus, `$var` yields the intermediate string ls, which runs as a shell command to produce the contents of the local directory.

Certainly, all three operators—the single, double, and back quotation marks—serve a valid purpose, but like exceptions in English, memorizing and mastering the variations can be maddening. Here's more proof: What's the difference between the phrase $var and "$var"? (Hint: Assume that $var contains whitespace.)

bash-1) # Create three files and try to remove two
bash-2) touch three two one
bash-3) var="one two"
bash-4) rm "$var"
rm: one two: No such file or directory
bash-5) rm $var
bash-6) ls
three

If a variable contains whitespace, the double quotation marks keep the variable expansion intact as a single argument. Otherwise, any whitespace in the variable is interpreted as an argument delimiter.

Yep. Shell syntax can be maddening. And that's unfortunate, because it makes the CLI—one of the most powerful features of UNIX—more difficult to learn. Indeed, inconsistencies like those described above fluster hardened veterans, too.

Thankfully, fish—the Friendly Interactive Shell—swims upstream against the tide of obfuscation, providing streamlined syntax and a much-improved user experience. Like other shells, fish provides redirection, shortcuts, globbing (that is, expansion of wildcards), subshells, tab completion, and variables. Unlike alternatives, however, fish also provides color-coded CLIs, an extensive command-line editor, and rich documentation.

Additionally (and intelligently), fish provides only one way to do anything. If a UNIX utility achieves a particular task, fish does not repeat the feature as a built-in command. For example, fish uses the system-wide application /bin/kill to terminate processes. (By comparison, the Bourne shell implements its own version of kill as a built-in application. You can type /bin/kill at the Bourne shell prompt to use the application, instead.) Whenever possible, fish prefers simplicity over flexibility, making it far more predictable to use.

Here, let's install fish, reel it in, and try just some of its many features.

Catching fish

Fish is an open source project created by Axel Liljencrantz and licensed under the GNU General Public License, version 2. As of this writing, the latest version of fish is 1.23.0, released 13 January 2008.

If you use UNIX or a UNIX-like system, such as Linux® or Mac OS X, fish should build from source code readily and easily on your system. Here are the steps, as shown in Listing 1:

  1. Download the most recent source tarball of the program.
  2. Unpack it.
  3. Change to the source directory.
  4. Configure the build.
  5. Run make.
Listing 1. Build fish from source
bash-1) wget http://www.fishshell.org/files/1.23.0/fish-1.23.0.tar.gz
bash-2) tar xzvf fish-1.23.0.tar.gz
bash-3) cd fish-1.23.0
bash-4) ./configure --without-xsel
checking if autoconf needs to be run... no
checking if autoheader needs to be run... no
checking for /usr/pkg/include include directory... no
...
bash-5) make
gcc -c -o function.o function.c
...
bash-6) sudo make install
...
To use fish as your login shell:
* add the line '/usr/bin/fish' to the file '/etc/shells'.
* use the command 'chsh -s /usr/bin/fish'.

If you're using a UNIX-like system, the additional flags to configure aren't strictly needed. However, to minimize dependencies and to keep fish in the same directory structure as common shells, you can add --without-xsel and --prefix=/usr, respectively. (If you use Mac OS X version 10.4 Leopard, also add the parameter LDFLAGS=-liconv. If you omit the latter option on Mac OS X, the attendant fish utilities fail to build.)

Optionally, if you use a popular UNIX variant, you can likely find pre-built binaries ready to install on your distribution. For example, if you use Debian Linux, you can install fish in an instant with the command sudo apt-get install fish. Check the fish project home page for availability for your system.


School is in

Before diving in to more complex topics, let's look at how common shell tasks are accomplished in fish:

  • To redirect standard input and standard output, use the operators < and >, respectively. To redirect standard error, use the carat (^), as shown in Figure 1. To append standard error to a file, use ^^.
    Figure 1. Redirect standard error with the caret operator
    Redirect standard error with the caret operator

    In command 3, the error messages produced by rm are captured in the file named errors. Command 4 shows the contents of the file. The fish shell has rich support for redirection, such as combining descriptors into one stream and closing descriptors.

    By the way, the colored and underlined text shown aren't editorial. The shell highlights text in the CLI as you type. In the lines, green indicates that the command name is valid; an invalid command name is colored red. The underline is a hint that the named file exists. (A section below covers shell feedback in more detail.)

  • To run a subshell, use the parentheses (()), as shown in Figure 2. Text enclosed within parentheses is interpreted as a list of commands and replaced by the result.
    Figure 2. Use parentheses to run a subshell
    Use parentheses to run a subshell
  • To create an alias, or shortcut, create a fish function.

    A function can contain one or more commands, and the special variable $argv automatically expands to the list of arguments passed on the original command line.

    You can list all defined functions with the command functions. To erase a function, use functions --erase name, as in functions --erase ll.

    You can also instantly save any function you write at the command line. When your code is complete, type funcsave name, such as funcsave ll. The function is immediately available to all your currently running shells and all future shells, as well. The command funced name interactively edits an existing function. The funced command has full syntax highlighting, tab completion, and automatic indenting; funcsave and funced make it easy to customize your shell.

  • To set a variable, type set variable namevalue. As with the functions built-in variable, type set --erase variable name to "unset," or erase, a variable. To retrieve the value stored in the variable, type a dollar sign ($) followed by the variable's name, as shown in Figure 3.
    Figure 3. Test for the existence of a variable
    Test for the existence of a variable

    Smartly, fish provides the --query option to test whether a variable is defined. If the variable is set, set --query returns a status code of 0, indicating that no error occurred; otherwise, it returns a 1. Statement 6 chains two commands with the or operator: The second command (echo) executes only if the first command fails.

So, how does fish handle the dreaded $var, '$var', "$var", and `$var`? True to form, it follows a few simple rules:

  • If a variable contains whitespace, the whitespace is always preserved, and the variable always evaluates to a single argument (see Figure 4.
    Figure 4. Fish keeps strings with embedded whitespace intact
    Fish keeps strings with embedded whitespace intact
  • If the double quotation mark is the outermost quote, all variables are expanded.
  • If the single quotation mark is the outermost quote, no variables are expanded.

Let's look at how these rules work in practice.

Command 1 creates four files, where the last file has whitespace in its name. Commands 3 and 4 delete the file named by the variable file. Commands 6 and 7 delete the two files named in the twofiles variable. Look closely at command 6: Because the value is not placed in quotation marks (either single or double), whitespace is not protected. Hence, command 7 expands the variable into two arguments and deletes both files. Commands 9 and 10 reiterate the scenario in commands 6 and 7.

Commands 11 and 12 demonstrate the whitespace rule. Even though the variable is not surrounded by double quotation marks in command 12, fish maintains the whitespace set in command 11. Very nice.

Commands 14 through 16 exhibit fish's nested quoting rules. Now, glance again at commands 11, 15, and 16. The shell uses color codes to display balanced quotation marks and reinforce proper syntax. Look, too, at commands 9 and 11. The latter command underlined the file name, indicating that it exists. The missing underline in command 9 is a big hint you did something wrong.

Friendly is fish's first name.


A great feature for landlubbers

Speaking of friendly features, fish's tab completion feature is another novelty that new UNIX users—and experts—find extremely useful. To see completion in action, type along in the example that follows. Click the Tab key at the end of each line.

If you're unsure of a command name, you can click Tab after typing a few letters to view a list of possible completions, as Figure 5 shows. (The list of completions on your system may differ from the list shown here. The list depends both on your PATH environment variable and the contents of your UNIX system.)

Figure 5. Click Tab to complete a command name
Press Tab to complete a command name

Notice the red text in the CLI. If fish doesn't recognize the name of a command, it is shown in red. Clicking Tab reveals all the application names—with a brief description—that begin with what you've you typed so far. You can also click Tab at an empty prompt to see all applications in your PATH.

If you'd like to know what options are available for a command, click Tab after a hyphen (-) or double hyphen (--), as shown in Figure 6.

Figure 6. You can also click Tab to complete an option
You can also press Tab to complete an option

Here, fish tells you which options are available. The shell maintains a large index of common commands and options, and chances are, you can get the help you need. However, custom or more esoteric utilities may lack such data. You can read the fish documentation to learn more about writing your own completions.

You can also click Tab after typing a few letters of the option, as Figure 7 shows. The shell displays all the possible matches.

Figure 7. You can type part of an option, too
You can type part of an option, too

If you don't know what kind of operand a command manipulates, fish can help—in many cases, but not all. For example, if you type set (or vared, the fish variable editor), a space, and then press Tab, fish presents a list of available variables. The operand for set is an argument. Similarly, if you type type, a space, and then click Tab, fish displays a list of built-ins and functions that extend which utilities are available to you on the file system.

In general, all the built-ins and functions included with fish have context-sensitive operand completion. Try cd, for example, as shown in Figure 8.

Figure 8. Many commands are context sensitive and present suitable arguments
Many commands are context sensitive and present suitable arguments

The cd function is a fish function and is aware that its operand is an existing directory. When you click Tab after typing cd, fish presents all the existing directories contained in every directory in your CDPATH.

Another smart completion is associated with ssh. Type ssh followed by a space, and then click Tab to see a list of known hostnames taken from your Secure Shell known hosts file (typically found in ~/.ssh/known_hosts):

fish-1) ssh
login.example.com  (Hostname)
host1.example.com         (Hostname)

The fish shell also completes file names and directory names. Again, it highlights correct elements as you type path names.

One significant difference between fish and other shells is the lack of history shorthand, such as !, !!, and !$.


Casting for more fish

If you like fish and want to adopt it as your login shell, add the path to fish to the official list of shells, /etc/shells, and then run chsh:

bash-1) type fish
fish is /usr/bin/fish
bash-2) sudo vi /etc/shellsAdd the line /usr/bin/fish to the file if it's missing, and save the file
bash-3) cat /etc/shells
/bin/bash
/bin/csh
/bin/ksh
/bin/sh
/bin/tcsh
/bin/zsh
/usr/bin/fish
bash-4) chsh -s /usr/bin/fish
Changing shell for strike
Password: ********
bash-5) login strike
Password: ********
Last login: Wed Oct  8 15:02:21 on ttys000
Welcome to fish, the friendly interactive shell
Type help for instructions on how to use fish
fish-1) echo $SHELL
/usr/bin/fish

Conclusion

There is a lot to discover and like in fish. Dare I say it? "There is a lot of C in the fish."

You can tweak the colors in syntax highlighting. You can customize your startup by editing ~/.config/fish/config.fish. You can share variables across shell instances using universal variables and fishd. The shell also has a great history search feature, an interactive variable editor, and an interactive command-line editor.

Best of all, there is a tremendous amount of documentation all available from fish itself. If you need help, just type help at any command prompt.

The doctors are right: fish is good for you.

Resources

Learn

Get products and technologies

Discuss

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into AIX and Unix on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=354732
ArticleTitle=Speaking UNIX: Go fish!
publish-date=11252008