对话 UNIX,第 4 部分: UNIX 所有权和权限管理

共享信息

了解如何对文件权限进行操作以保护您的文件,或者与他人共享这些文件。

Martin Streicher (mstreicher@linux-mag.com), 主编, Linux Magazine

Martin Streicher 是 Linux Magazine 的主编。他从普度大学获得了计算机科学硕士学位,从 1982 年开始用 Pascal、C、Perl、Java 和(最近)Ruby 编程语言编写类 UNIX 的系统。



2006 年 12 月 26 日

从大约 50 年前电子时代的开始直到 1977 年出现了 Apple 计算机,完成计算工作的硬件设备一直很缺乏,并且购买和运行它们也非常的昂贵。当时,这些(相对)原始的系统非常珍贵,仅仅用来处理那些最复杂的问题。不同的项目之间必须竞争才能获得机时,而最早的信息技术 (IT) 管理人员的任务是保持系统每天 24 小时、每个星期 7 天不间断地进行工作。毕竟,每一秒的闲置都等于浪费金钱。

在理想的情况下,可以根据需要将这些浪费掉的 时间自动地分配给任何处于就绪状态等待进行计算的任务。实际上,这正是分时 (time-sharing) 的基本思想(由 Robert Berner 在 1957 年提出)。在 Multics、RSTS/E 和后来的 UNIX® 及其最新的变种中,都实现了分时或多任务,对计算机资源(CPU、输入和输出、以及内存)进行划分,分配给多个等待执行的作业,使得看起来每个作业都独占了计算机。可以在多任务大型机中附加一些虚拟终端,这样每个终端都可以看作一台个人计算机。

现在,您很可能拥有自己的 UNIX 计算机,或者与其他用户共享功能更强大的多处理器系统。但无论是您的便携式计算机、或者公共机房中的 UNIX 庞然大物,都可能需要进行同时访问。UNIX 提供了健壮的工具和基础结构,以便帮助您保护和共享信息。

本文介绍了用户权限,特别是研究了如何对文件权限进行操作,以便对其他用户限制或共享您的目录和文件。如果您希望流畅地与 UNIX 进行对话,那么了解相关的权限是至关重要的。

ID 和 UID

在开始之前,让我们来看看您使用的究竟是哪个用户。在命令提示符处,输入 whoami

$ whoami
strike

我的计算机回答 strike,这是我的用户名(即登录时所使用的名称)。您的 whoami 应该返回您的登录名称。

当然,您的用户名是用户 ID (UID) 的假名(pseudonym)。要查看您的 UID,可以输入 id -u

$ id -u
501

在本示例中,我的 UID 为 501。

通常,尽可能地使用用户名而不是 UID,因为用户名易于阅读和记忆。例如,如果您运行 ps uxf 命令以查看您的运行进程的列表,那么 ps 将显示您的用户名作为您的进程的所有者。

$ ps uxf
USER       PID %CPU %MEM   VSZ  RSS TTY      STAT START   TIME COMMAND
strike   32346  0.0  0.1  6496 1832 ?        S    19:39   0:00 sshd: strike@pts/0
strike   32347  0.0  0.1  2592 1476 pts/0    Ss   19:39   0:00  \_ -bash
strike   32358  0.0  0.0  2476  820 pts/0    R+   19:39   0:00      \_ ps uxf

输出结果中显示了 3 个进程,分别是:一个 ssh 登录进程,它产生了一个 bash Shell,而后者启动了 ps 命令。类似地,如果您在自己的 home 目录中运行 ls -alFG 以查看您的文件的所有者,那么将显示您的用户名而不是您的 UID。

通常,只有您可以中断自己的任务。(当然,超级用户 root 可以控制和操作所有的任务。)例如,joe(共享相同系统的另一个用户)不能终止我正在运行的 Shell,即上面列表中的进程 32347:

$ whoami
joe
$ kill -INT 32347
-bash: kill: (32347) - Operation not permitted

其中,32347 是我的 Shell 的进程 ID,joe 可以通过运行 ps auxf 找到该信息。然而,因为该进程由我所拥有,所以 joe 不能终止它。与此相反,我当然可以结束自己的任何任务,如清单 1 所示。

清单 1. 结束自己的进程
$ ps uxf
...
strike   32347  0.0  0.1  2592 1488 pts/0    Ss   19:39   0:00  \_ -bash
strike   32733 39.5  0.0  1480  356 pts/0    R    19:50   0:01      \_ yes
$ kill -INT 32733
$ ps uxf
...
strike   32347  0.0  0.1  2592 1488 pts/0    Ss   19:39   0:00  \_ -bash

在运行了 kill -INT 32733 之后,终止了进程 32733(yes 命令)。

尽管这是个比较简单的概念,但严格的所有权和针对每个用户的预置,这两种特性使得 UNIX 远比 Microsoft® Windows® 更加安全。


成员具有相应的权限

与您所启动的作业一样,您还拥有您所创建的目录和文件。例如,在您的 home 目录中运行 ls -alFG 命令和 $HOME 以查看您所拥有的内容,如清单 2 所示。

清单 2. 列出您在自己的 home 目录中所拥有的内容
$ ls -alFG $HOME
...
-rw-------   1 strike     6175 Aug 25 07:03 .bash_history
-rw-------   1 strike      567 Apr 20  2005 .bash_profile
-rw-------   1 strike     1834 Apr 20  2005 .bashrc
drwx------   2 strike     4096 Mar  8 10:54 .ssh/
-rw-------   1 strike     9516 Aug 22 16:42 .viminfo
-rw-r--r--   1 strike  1529617 Jul 19 07:00 Archive.zip
drwxrwx---   3 strike     4096 Aug 24 04:04 IBM/
drwxr-xrwx   3 strike     4096 Jun 14 06:06 backups/
...

UNIX 组中存在的问题

要在组中的所有成员之间共享文件,可以更改文件的组所有者,这是一种非常简单的方法。例如,如果由您、janejoe 组成了 science UNIX 组,并且您希望与这两个用户共享敏感的 nuclear.csv 数据文件,只需要将该文件的组所有者更改为 science 即可。

但是,如果 sambertha 也需要访问该文件,而他们都不属于 science 组,那又应该怎么办呢?当然,您可以将这两个用户加到 science 中,但这样做将允许他们访问 science 组所拥有的所有 文件。

这是 UNIX 组实现中的一个局限性:一个文件有且只能有一个组所有者,而要实现复杂的共享方案通常会导致组的数目激增。(您可以为 joe、jane、sambertha 创建一个新的组,比如 jjsb。但是当 donald 也需要访问时,又应该怎么办呢?)

如果您需要使用复杂的访问控制方案,可以考虑使用访问控制列表 (ACL),许多 UNIX 实现都提供了这种机制。ACL 对标准的 UNIX 所有权模型进行了扩展,可以对每个用户或每个组授予(或撤销)特定的权限。ACL 就像是在门口设置了一个保镖:可以让您的伙伴、某些名流和经过筛选的客人进入,而将无业游民和其他乌合之众拒之门外。

正如您看到的,我拥有我的 home 目录中的所有目录和文件。作为所有者,我可以删除、重命名和移动我的任何文件和目录,并且可以编辑我的任何文件。您对自己的文件(除非特别指明,这里的文件 同时表示文件和目录)具有相同的权限。

另外,您可以决定与其他的用户共享 您的文件。实际上,因为 UNIX 是一种多用户系统,所以共享文件是该操作系统的基本理念之一。

除了特定的用户所有者,每个文件和目录还具有一个 所有者。UNIX 组 只是一些用户的集合,而您可以作为一个或多个组中的成员。使用 id 可以查看您的成员信息:

$ id
uid=501(strike) gid=501(strike) groups=501(strike),
  81(appserveradm), 79(appserverusr), 80(admin)

在我的系统中,我的主要组的组 id (GID) 为 501,该组名为 strike。我还属于其他的 3 个组:

  • appserveradm
  • appserveruser
  • admin

在通常情况以及缺省情况下,您所创建的文件的组所有者为您的主要组,但是您可以将组所有者更改为您所属的任何组。在您的 home 目录中运行 ls -laF,可以显示有关您的文件的更多信息,如清单 3 所示。

清单 3. 显示有关您的文件的更多信息
-rw-------   1 strike strike     6118 Aug 27 21:59 .bash_history
-rw-r--r--   1 strike strike      567 Apr 20  2005 .bash_profile
-rw-r--r--   1 strike strike     1834 Apr 20  2005 .bashrc
drwx------   2 strike strike     4096 Mar  8 10:54 .ssh/
-rw-------   1 strike strike     9516 Aug 22 16:42 .viminfo
-rw-r--r--   1 strike strike  1529617 Jul 19 07:00 Archive.zip
drwxr-xr-x   3 strike strike     4096 Aug 24 04:04 IBM/
drwxrwxr-x   3 strike admin      4096 Jun 14 06:06 backups/

注意:清单 3 显示了 ls -l 的典型输出。清单 2 看起来有些不同,这是因为在前面的讨论中出于简化的目的,有意隐藏了组所有者的信息。您可以使用 -G 隐藏组所有者。

名为 backups 的目录的组所有者为 admin,它将某些权限给予了组中所有的成员。同时,我的其他文件的组所有者为 strike。通常,一个用户是他或她的同名组中的唯一成员,这个同名组有效地将访问权限限制于该用户。


细节内容

如果您回头再看看上面的 ls 的输出结果,您将注意到,每行内容的开头有一个由 10 个字符组成的序列。每个字符都是一个开/关设置或,后者表示了三类用户(您本人、您的一个组和其他用户)的某一种特定的权限。图 1 显示了每一位的用法。

图 1. UNIX 文件的权限位
UNIX 权限

在图 1 中:

  • 起始位表示该文件是否为目录(通常,起始 表示该文件是否为特殊文件。如果该文件是特殊文件,起始字符 d 表示目录、l 表示符号链接,等等)。这个设置是无法改变的。
  • 接下来的三位(用蓝色表示的)分别表示 对该文件的读、写和执行权限。您可以禁用写权限位,例如要防止删除文件。(是的,要删除一个文件,您需要写权限。)
  • 接下来的三位(用绿色表示的)表示 对该文件的读、写和执行权限。
  • 最后的三位(用橙色表示的)表示所有其他 用户(即除了您自己以及您的组中的成员之外的所有用户)的权限。

可以使用 ls -laF 的输出作为示例查找上述内容:

  • 只有我可以读和写 .bash_history、.bash_profile、.bashrc 和 .viminfo 文件。我可以查看、编辑和删除这些文件。
  • 只有我可以访问 .ssh 目录。第一位表示它是一个特殊的文件,d 表示目录。我可以显示该目录中的内容,因为已经设置了它的用户读位。我可以在该目录中添加和删除文件,因为已经设置了它的用户写位。您可能奇怪为什么该目录是用户可执行的。除非设置了该位,否则无法遍历目录(进入目录并列举目录)。(另外,正如本系列的第 3 部分中所提到的,您的 .ssh 目录必须是您私有的,否则您的公钥访问无法正常工作。)
  • 我可以读和写 Archive.zip 文件,并且其他用户可以读该文件。(当然,strike 组也可以读该文件,但如果我是该组中唯一的成员,那么这个权限是没有实际意义的。)
  • 我可以列举、读和写 IBM(另一个目录)中的文件,而其他用户可以列举其中的内容。
  • 最后,admin 组的成员和我可以列举、读和写 backups 目录中的文件,而其他用户可以列举和读。

设置目录的保护 (sticky) 位

如果您希望确保一个目录持久,而不会被意外地删除,那么可以使用 chmod +T 设置其保护 位。

$ ls -lF drwxrwxrwx 2 strike strike 68 Aug 28 06:21 dropbox/ drwx------ 2 strike strike 68 Aug 28 06:21 mine/ $ chmod +t dropbox $ ls -lF drwxrwxrwt 2 strike strike 68 Aug 28 06:21 dropbox/ drwx------ 2 strike strike 68 Aug 28 06:21 mine/

设置保护位并将权限设置为所有用户都可以读、写和执行,每个用户都可以在 dropbox 目录中放置文件,但只有我能够删除该目录中的文件或该目录本身。

如果您运行 ls -ld /tmp,这个用作应用程序临时空间的系统范围临时目录可能是保护的。

您可以使用 chmod更改模式 change mode)命令修改相应的权限(除了目录位之外)。您可以使用 chgrp更改组 change group)命令来修改文件所属的组。(超级用户 root 也可以使用 chownchange owner 命令来更改文件所有权。)

下面是 chmod 的示例应用程序:

  • chmod u+x script.sh如果您编写了一个 Shell 脚本,并且希望执行它,那么需要设置其执行位。其中,短语 u+x 表示对用户所有者 (u) 设置 (+) 执行位 (x)chmod 的一般形式是 chmod,不指定用户(即表示用户)、一个或多个 ug(表示组)、或 o(表示其他用户),+-,以及一个或多个 rwx
  • chmod go+rx IBM这个命令为组和其他用户设置了读和执行权限。
  • chmod a+rx script.sh除了 ugo 以外,您还可以使用修饰符 a 来表示所有用户 或用户、组和其他用户。因此,这个命令为所有的三类用户设置了读和执行权限。
  • chgrp admin backups这个命令将 backups 目录的组所有者更改为 admin。

如果使用 + 添加权限,它将会添加指定的权限,但不会修改其他的权限。与之类似,如果使用 -减号)撤消权限,它将会禁用某些权限,但不会修改其他的权限。如果您希望一次设置所有的权限,可以使用数值文件模式。(您还可以使用 chmod = 操作符。有关详细的内容,请参见手册页面。)

注意:数值文件模式 是从 0 到 7 的 8 进制数字,或三位的数值,其中每一位分别表示读、写和执行。因为对于每个文件都有三类用户,所以完整地指定文件模式需要三个数字,如 400644777。下面提供了一些示例:

  • 要让一个目录成为私有的,可以为自己设置权限,而撤销组和其他用户的权限:
    $ mkdir example
    $ ls -l
    drwxr-xr-x    2 strike  strike       68 Aug 28 11:27 example
    $ chmod 700 example
    $ ls -l
    drwx------    2 strike  strike       68 Aug 28 11:27 example

    模式 700 可以表示为用户设置读、写和执行权限(开头的 7),而禁用所有其他的权限(后面的两个 0)
  • 如果您希望让该计算机上其他的用户可以读取您的文件,可以为所有的三类用户设置读权限:
    $ ls -l .aliases
    -rw-------   1 mstreich  mstreich  79 Jul 26 17:08 .aliases
    $ chmod 644 .alias
    $ ls -l
    -rw-r--r--  1 mstreich  mstreich  79 Jul 26 17:08 .aliases

    644 是一种缩写,它表示为我设置读和写权限 (6),并为组 (4) 和其他用户 (4) 设置读权限。当然,如果您的 home 目录中存在 .aliases 文件,那么必须将 $HOME 设置为允许列举和读。

表 1 给出了用户所有者、组所有者和其他用户的数值及其关联的结果。只需在每个部分中加上相应的值,就可以找到合适的值进行设置。

表 1. 数值及其关联的结果
某类用户结果
用户0400允许所有者读。
0200允许所有者写。
0100对于文件,允许所有者执行,对于目录,允许所有者在该目录中进行搜索。
0040允许组成员读。
0020允许组成员写。
0010对于文件,允许组成员执行,对于目录,允许组成员在该目录中进行搜索。
其他用户0004允许其他用户读。
0002允许其他用户写。
0001对于文件,允许其他用户执行,对于目录,允许其他用户在该目录中进行搜索。

例如,要为其他用户设置读和写权限,可以将 0004 加上 0002 以产生 0006。对于用户和组,可以进行类似的操作,可以将三个总数加在一起,以产生完全限定的数值模式。


权限是非常重要的

在 UNIX 系统中,需要不断地设置和管理相关权限。通常,您需要对特定文件和目录具有适当的权限,以便运行一些守护进程;只有设置了正确的权限,这些目录(如 /tmp)才能正常工作;当然,要与其他用户共享某些文件,或保护您的文件不让其他用户访问,必须能够设置、更改和读取相应的权限。

本系列中的下一篇文章将继续介绍文件,并研究在多台计算机上对大量的文件进行管理的实用程序和技术。

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=185617
ArticleTitle=对话 UNIX,第 4 部分: UNIX 所有权和权限管理
publish-date=12262006

Speaking UNIX, Part 4: UNIX ownership and permissions provide for privacy and participation

Share and share alike

Learn how to manipulate file permissions to protect your files, or share them with others.

Martin Streicher (martin.streicher@gmail.com), Chief Technology Officer, McClatchy Interactive

Photo of Martin StreicherMartin Streicher is a freelance Ruby on Rails developer and the former Editor-in-Chief of Linux Magazine. Martin holds a Masters of Science degree in computer science from Purdue University and has programmed UNIX-like systems since 1986. He collects art and toys. You can reach Martin at martin.streicher@gmail.com.



17 October 2006

Also available in Chinese Russian

From the dawn of the electronic age a scant 50 years ago until the launch of the Apple computer in 1977, computing hardware was scarce and extremely expensive to acquire and operate. What cycles could be eked out of (the relatively) primitive systems of the day were precious commodities, grudgingly allocated to only the most vexing problems. Projects vied to get computer time, and the earliest information technology (IT) managers worked to keep systems busy 24 hours per day, seven days per week. After all, an idle tick was money wasted.

Ideally, those lost ticks would be allocated on demand and automatically to any ready task awaiting computation. And indeed, that's the idea (first proposed by Robert Berner as early as 1957) behind time-sharing. As realized in Multics, RSTS/E, and later UNIX® and its many modern variants, time-sharing, or multitasking, divides a computer's resources (the CPU, input and output, and memory) among awaiting jobs, creating the illusion that every job has exclusive use of the machine. Attach several dumb terminals to a multitasking mainframe and each terminal appears to be a personal computer.

Nowadays, it's quite likely that you have your own UNIX computer and share an even more powerful multi-processor system with others. Yet in both cases -- your laptop and the UNIX behemoth in the corporate machine room -- simultaneous access remains fundamental. UNIX provides robust tools and infrastructure so that you can both protect and share information.

This article looks at user privileges and, in particular, examines how to manipulate file permissions to restrict or share your directories and files with others. Understanding permissions is crucial if you want to speak UNIX fluently.

The id, the ego, and the UID

To start, let's explore just who you are. At a command prompt, type whoami:

$ whoami
strike

My computer answers strike, which is my user name (the same name I use to log in). Your whoami should return your login name.

As it turns out, your user name is really a pseudonym for your user ID (UID). To see your UID, type id -u:

$ id -u
501

Here, my UID is 501.

In general, user names are used whenever possible instead of UIDs simply because they're human-readable and easy to remember. For example, if you run the ps uxf command to see a list of your running processes, ps displays your user name as the owner of your processes.

$ ps uxf
USER       PID %CPU %MEM   VSZ  RSS TTY      STAT START   TIME COMMAND
strike   32346  0.0  0.1  6496 1832 ?        S    19:39   0:00 sshd: strike@pts/0
strike   32347  0.0  0.1  2592 1476 pts/0    Ss   19:39   0:00  \_ -bash
strike   32358  0.0  0.0  2476  820 pts/0    R+   19:39   0:00      \_ ps uxf

The output shows three running processes: an ssh login, which spawned a bash shell, which launched the ps command itself. Similarly, if you run ls -alFG in your home directory to view the owners of your files, your user name is displayed instead of your UID.

In general, only you can interrupt your tasks. (Of course, the superuser, root, can control and manipulate all tasks.) For example, joe, another user sharing the same system, cannot terminate my running shell, which is process 32347 in the list above:

$ whoami
joe
$ kill -INT 32347
-bash: kill: (32347) - Operation not permitted

Here, 32347 is the process ID of my shell, which joe can find by running ps auxf. However, because I own the process, joe cannot terminate it. In contrast, I can certainly kill any of my own tasks, as shown in Listing 1.

Listing 1. Kill your own processes
$ ps uxf
...
strike   32347  0.0  0.1  2592 1488 pts/0    Ss   19:39   0:00  \_ -bash
strike   32733 39.5  0.0  1480  356 pts/0    R    19:50   0:01      \_ yes
$ kill -INT 32733
$ ps uxf
...
strike   32347  0.0  0.1  2592 1488 pts/0    Ss   19:39   0:00  \_ -bash

Upon running kill -INT 32733, process 32733 (the yes command) is terminated.

While a relatively simple concept, strong ownership rights and per-user provisioning are two features that make UNIX far more secure than, say, Microsoft® Windows®.


Membership has its privileges

Like the jobs you launch, you also own the directories and files you create. For example, run the ls -alFG command on your home directory and $HOME to see what you own, as shown in Listing 2.

Listing 2. List what you own in the home directory
$ ls -alFG $HOME
...
-rw-------   1 strike     6175 Aug 25 07:03 .bash_history
-rw-------   1 strike      567 Apr 20  2005 .bash_profile
-rw-------   1 strike     1834 Apr 20  2005 .bashrc
drwx------   2 strike     4096 Mar  8 10:54 .ssh/
-rw-------   1 strike     9516 Aug 22 16:42 .viminfo
-rw-r--r--   1 strike  1529617 Jul 19 07:00 Archive.zip
drwxrwx---   3 strike     4096 Aug 24 04:04 IBM/
drwxr-xrwx   3 strike     4096 Jun 14 06:06 backups/
...

The trouble with UNIX groups

Changing the group owner of a file is a convenient way to share the file with all the members of that group. For example, if you, jane, and joe compose the science UNIX group and you want to share the sensitive nuclear.csv data file with both users, simply change the group owner of that file to science.

But what if sam and bertha also need access to that file and neither are in the science group? You could certainly add both users to science, but that would allow them to access all the files that the science group owns.

This is an unfortunate limitation of the UNIX group implementation: A file can have one and only one group owner, and implementing complex sharing schemes typically leads to an explosion of groups. (You could create a new group, say, jjsb, just for joe, jane, sam, and bertha. But what happens when donald needs access, too?)

If you require complex access control schemes, consider using access control lists (ACLs), which many UNIX implementations offer. An ACL extends the standard UNIX ownership model to grant (or exclude) specific rights per user or per group. An ACL is like keeping a bouncer at the door: You can let your buddies in plus certain celebrities and other hand-picked guests, but keep the paparazzi and the rest of the riff-raff out.

As you can see, I own all the directories and files in my home directory. As the owner, I can delete, rename, and move any of my files and directories, and I can edit any of my files. You have the same rights for your files (files means files and directories collectively, unless a specific exception is made).

In addition, you can elect to share your files with others. Indeed, because UNIX was designed as a multi-user system, sharing files is another principle tenet of the operating system.

In addition to a specific user owner, every file and directory also has a group owner. A UNIX group is simply a collection of users, and you can be a member of one or more groups. Use id to discover your memberships:

$ id
uid=501(strike) gid=501(strike) groups=501(strike),
  81(appserveradm), 79(appserverusr), 80(admin)

On my system, my primary group is group id (GID) 501, or the group named strike. I also belong to three other groups:

  • appserveradm
  • appserveruser
  • admin

Typically and by default, the group owner of a file that you create is your primary group, but you can subsequently change the group owner to any of the groups that you belong to. Run ls -laF on your home directory to reveal more about your files, as shown in Listing 3.

Listing 3. Discover more about your files
-rw-------   1 strike strike     6118 Aug 27 21:59 .bash_history
-rw-r--r--   1 strike strike      567 Apr 20  2005 .bash_profile
-rw-r--r--   1 strike strike     1834 Apr 20  2005 .bashrc
drwx------   2 strike strike     4096 Mar  8 10:54 .ssh/
-rw-------   1 strike strike     9516 Aug 22 16:42 .viminfo
-rw-r--r--   1 strike strike  1529617 Jul 19 07:00 Archive.zip
drwxr-xr-x   3 strike strike     4096 Aug 24 04:04 IBM/
drwxrwxr-x   3 strike admin      4096 Jun 14 06:06 backups/

Note: Listing 3 displays the typical output of ls -l. Listing 2 looks different because the group owner was intentionally hidden to simplify the earlier discussion. You can hide the group owner with -G

The directory named backups has group owner admin, which extends certain privileges to all the members of that group. Meanwhile, the group owner of the rest of my files is strike. Typically, a user is the only member of his or her eponymous group, which effectively limits access solely to the user.


The fine details

If you glance back at the output of ls above, you'll likely notice a sequence of 10 characters at the beginning of each line. Each character is an off or on setting, or bit, representing a specific right for one of three constituencies: you, one of your groups, and others. Figure 1 shows the uses of each bit.

Figure 1. The permission bits of a UNIX file
UNIX permissions

In Figure 1:

  • The initial bit indicates whether the file is a directory. (In general, the initial bit indicates whether a file is special. If the file is special, the initial character is d for directory and l for symbolic link, among others.) This setting is immutable.
  • The next three bits (shown in blue) represent your right to read, write, and execute the file, respectively. You might disable your write bit, for example, to prevent the file from being deleted. (Yes, you need write permission to delete a file.)
  • The next three bits (in green) represent a group's right to read, write, and execute the file.
  • The final three bits (in orange) represent the rights of every other user (that is, all users, excluding yourself and the members of your group).

Use the ls -laF output found above as examples:

  • The files .bash_history, .bash_profile, .bashrc, and .viminfo are readable and writable only by me. I can view, edit, and delete these files.
  • The .ssh directory is accessible only by me. The first bit indicates that it's a special file, and the d stands for directory. I can display the contents of the directory because its user-read bit is set. I can add and remove files from the directory, because its user-write bit is set. You might be wondering why the directory is user-executable, as well. A directory cannot be traversed (entered and cataloged) unless this bit is set. (By the way, as mentioned in Part 3 of this series, your .ssh directory must be private to you, or your public key access won't work.)
  • I can read and write the file Archive.zip, and others can read the file. (Of course, the strike group can also read the file, but if I'm the only member of that group, the permission is somewhat moot.)
  • I can catalog, read, and write files in IBM, another directory, and others can catalog its contents.
  • Finally, the members of the admin group and I can catalog, read, and write files in backups, and everyone else can catalog and read.

Make a directory sticky

If you want to ensure that a directory persists and isn't removed by accident, set the sticky bit by using chmod +T.

$ ls -lF drwxrwxrwx 2 strike strike 68 Aug 28 06:21 dropbox/ drwx------ 2 strike strike 68 Aug 28 06:21 mine/ $ chmod +t dropbox $ ls -lF drwxrwxrwt 2 strike strike 68 Aug 28 06:21 dropbox/ drwx------ 2 strike strike 68 Aug 28 06:21 mine/

With the sticky bit set and with permissions set to all can read, write, and execute, everyone can place files in my drop box, but I am the only user who can remove files in the directory or remove the directory itself.

If you run ls -ld /tmp, chances are that your system-wide temporary directory, used widely as application scratch space, is sticky.

You modify permissions (except for the directory bit) by using the chmod (change mode) command. You manipulate a file's group assignment by using the chgrp (change group) command. (The superuser, root, can also change file ownership by using the chown, or change owner, command.)

Here are example applications of chmod:

  • chmod u+x script.sh: If you write a shell script and want to execute it, enable its execute bit. Here, the phrase u+x means for the user owner (u) to enable (+) the execute bit (x). The general form of chmod is chmod, none (which implies user), one, or more of u, g (for group), or o (for others), a + or -, and one or more of r, w, and x.
  • chmod go+rx IBM: This command enables the read and execute privileges for group and others.
  • chmod a+rx script.sh: In addition to u, g, and o, you can use the modifier a for all or user, group, and others. Thus, this command enables read and execute for all three constituencies.
  • chgrp admin backups: This command changes the group owner to admin.

If you add permissions with +, it adds the specified permissions but leaves other permissions untouched. Similarly, if you retract permissions with - (minus), it disables certain permissions but otherwise leaves the status quo. If you want to set all the permissions at once, use numeric file modes. (You can also use the chmod = operator. See the man page for details.)

Note: A numeric file mode is a octal digit from 0 to 7, or a three-bit number, one bit for each of read, write, and execute. Because there are three constituencies for each file, a fully specified file mode is three digits, such as 400, 644, or 777. Here are some examples:

  • To make a directory private, you enable rights for yourself but retract the rights for a group and others:
    $ mkdir example
    $ ls -l
    drwxr-xr-x    2 strike  strike       68 Aug 28 11:27 example
    $ chmod 700 example
    $ ls -l
    drwx------    2 strike  strike       68 Aug 28 11:27 example

    Mode 700 translates to enable read, write, and execute for user (the leading 7), but disable all other permissions (the two latter zeroes).
  • If you want to let everyone else on your computer read one of your files, enable the read permission for all three constituencies:
    $ ls -l .aliases
    -rw-------   1 mstreich  mstreich  79 Jul 26 17:08 .aliases
    $ chmod 644 .alias
    $ ls -l
    -rw-r--r--  1 mstreich  mstreich  79 Jul 26 17:08 .aliases

    644 is a shorthand for set, read, and write permissions for me (6), and read for group (4) and others (4). Of course, if the file .aliases was in your home directory, the permissions for $HOME would have to permit cataloging and reading.

The chart in Table 1 presents numeric values and the associated result for user owner, group owner, and others. Simply add the values in each section to find the proper value to set.

Table 1. Numeric values and associated results
WhoValueResult
User0400Allow read by owner.
0200Allow write by owner.
0100For files, allow execute by owner; for directories, allow the owner to search in the directory.
Group0040Allow read by group members.
0020Allow write by group members.
0010For files, allow execute by owner; for directories, allow group members to search in the directory.
Others0004Allow read by others.
0002Allow write by others.
0001For files, allow execution by others; for directories allow others to search in the directory.

For example, to set read and write privileges for others, add 0004 and 0002 to yield 0006. Do something similar for user and group and add all three sums to yield a fully qualified numeric mode.


Permissions are fundamental

Setting and managing permissions comes up again and again on UNIX systems. You often need proper permissions on specific files and directories to run daemons; directories, such as /tmp, work only if correct permissions are set; and, of course, to share files with others -- or to protect your files -- you must be able to set, change, and read permissions.

The next article in this series continues with files and explores utilities and techniques to manage hundreds or thousands of files on multiple computers.

Resources

Learn

Get products and technologies

Discuss

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into AIX and Unix on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=168960
ArticleTitle=Speaking UNIX, Part 4: UNIX ownership and permissions provide for privacy and participation
publish-date=10172006