对话 UNIX,第 11 部分: 漫谈 UNIX 文件系统

了解 UNIX 将重要的文件存储于何处

UNIX® 文件系统中的许多目录都用于某个特殊的目的,并且根据长期的约定来对这些目录进行命名。在“对话 UNIX”系列文章的这一部分中,了解 UNIX 将重要的文件存储于何处。

Martin Streicher (mstreicher@linux-mag.com), 主编, Linux Magazine

Martin Streicher 是 Linux Magazine 的主编。他从普度大学获得了计算机科学硕士学位,从 1982 年开始用 Pascal、C、Perl、Java 和(最近)Ruby 编程语言编写类 UNIX 的系统。


developerWorks 投稿作者

2007 年 8 月 27 日

我刚刚购买了一个全球定位系统(GPS)导航设备,仅仅使用了几次之后,我就迷上了它。从点 A 到点 B,现在是轻而易举的事情。不再需要到 MapQuest 网站上去查询地图了。不再需要猜测哪边是东。不再需要在远离城市的农村地区中途停车以询问方向。我只需要跳进我的车,指定我的目的地,并遵循语音提示即可。为什么呢?GPS 使我看起来就像一个本地居民,它为 Buckaroo Banzai 的格言“无论您去哪里,您就在那里”赋予了新的含义。

本月,让我们纵情满足自己的旅行爱好,并且漫谈 UNIX® 文件系统。从 /bin 到 /var,有许多有趣的景点值得一看(一些经常有人走过,还有一些则很隐秘),并且很快您将会像当地居民一样熟悉周围的环境了。

文件名称的含义

UNIX 计算机上的文件采用层次结构进行组织。这个层次结构的最高层是 /,一般称其为“斜线”或者“根目录”。

如果您将工作目录更改为 /,并运行 ls,那么您将看见几个具有神秘名称的子目录(如 etc、bin、var、hometmp)。尽管 UNIX 现在支持长文件名,但是这些顶层目录名字中的大多数可以追溯到大约 30 年前,即 UNIX 刚刚出现的时候。类似地,根据同样长期存在的约定,包含在 / 中的每个目录都用于某个特殊的目的:

  • /bin 仅仅是包含应用程序和实用工具的许多目录中的一个。然而,/bin 通常包含那些对于系统操作而言基本的实用工具。因此,Shell 文件操作命令如 cpchmod、压缩和解压缩,以及诊断命令都位于 /bin 中。

    /sbin 同样包含那些对于系统操作和维护而言至关重要的实用工具。然而,只有超级用户才能够执行 /sbin 中的程序,因此这个目录称为“superuser-bin”或者 /sbin

  • /dev 包含您的系统中所安装的所有硬件,包括终端和 USB 设备(以及从物理上连接到这台计算机的其他外围设备)、伪终端(用于与 X 终端窗口进行交互),以及硬盘驱动器,等等。
  • /etc(常常发音为“etsee”)专门用于系统配置。/etc 目录包含用于系统守护进程、启动脚本、系统参数和更多其他方面的配置文件。
  • /home 包含用户的 home 目录。例如,如果您的登录名是 joe,那么目录 /home/joe 就是您的个人文件存储库。
  • /lib 用于存储基本的系统库文件。在现代 UNIX 中,通常共享系统库,这意味着并不是每个二进制文件都链接和包括这些库(那样的话,至少将会浪费空间),但是当需要该库的时候,按需要加载它,并且同时可以由许多应用程序进行共享。因此,与 UNIX 一同安装的核心应用程序和实用工具的运行都需要使用 /lib 中的库,并且您至少需要拥有少量相应的库文件,以便从源代码创建新的可执行文件。其中所有的文件都是至关重要的,损坏或者删除(无论是有意的还是无意的)某个文件就可能使系统变得无法使用。
  • /mnt 是“mount”的缩写,是装入硬盘驱动器分区和其他设备的标准位置。如果您希望查看当前装入的并且可访问的所有设备,只需要运行 mount 命令。
  • /tmp 或者“temporary”,是系统范围的暂存存储区。您的 Web 服务器可能会将会话数据文件保存在这里,并且其他实用工具将使用 /tmp 中的空间对中间结果进行缓存。通常认为 /tmp 中的文件在使用后即被丢弃。实际上,您的系统管理员可能会在每天晚上删除其中比某个过期时间更早的所有文件。
  • /usr 用于存储大量文件。最终用户应用程序(从编辑器、游戏和接口,到系统特性)都位于其中,它是 man 页面和其他更多内容的存储库。有些文件很有价值,但并不是系统操作所必须的,那么您很可能会在 /usr 中找到它。
  • /var 是“variable”的简写,它是用于存储那些大小通常随时间而增大的文件的存储库。可以在 /var 中找到邮箱、日志文件、打印机队列和数据库。通常可以将 Web 站点保存在 /var 中,因为 Web 站点可能会在一段时间后异常地累积大量的数据。

以上是一些最常见的目录名,尽管某些 UNIX 版本之间存在细微的差异。(例如,在基于 FreeBSD® 的 Mac OS X 上,将包含用户的 home 目录的目录命名为 /Users,而不是 /home。)

保持传统

事实上,名称 etc、bin、lib man 在 UNIX 的文化中是如此根深蒂固,以至于在计算机中的其他地方使用相同的名称来标注类似用途的目录已经成为一种传统。例如,如果您查看一位专家的 home 目录,您很可能会在其中发现 bin 和 lib 目录分别存储个人应用程序以及脚本和个人库。

同样地,/usr/local 中通常包括 etc、bin、lib、和 man。在历史上,曾将 /usr/local 用于存储来自于您的站点或者仅与您的站点有密切关系的应用程序和数据。/usr/local/bin 目录用于存储本地添加的、新的程序,以及标准系统实用工具的本地修改版本。例如,您的系统管理员可能在 /usr/local/bin/perl 中提供了 Perl 的最新和最好的版本,同时保持 /usr/bin/perl 不变,以便进行引用,并且因为其他的核心实用工具可能仍然依赖于它。/usr/local/lib 目录作为 /usr/local/bin 的补充。

/usr/local 目录甚至可能是一个完全独立的分区(甚至是通过网络文件系统从 Network Attached Storage [NAS] 设备装入的分区),这使得可以更容易地对系统进行数据恢复和恢复使用。如果系统中发生了某种情况,管理员可以覆盖操作系统的文件,而无需担心会破坏本地数据。

甚至安装包也是用了类似的目录结构。例如 MySQL:如果使用了选项 --prefix=/usr/local/mysql, 进行配置,那么它将在 /usr/local 中创建它自己的根目录,名为 /usr/local/mysql,并创建子目录 /usr/local/mysql/bin、/usr/local/mysql/lib 等等:

$ ls -1 /usr/local/mysql
bin/
configure*
data/
docs/
include/
lib/
man/
...

或者,如果您希望将 MySQL 的内容安装到 /usr/local/bin、/usr/local/lib 和其他地方,可以使用 --prefix=/usr/local

其他有趣的内容

因为本文只是简要地介绍,所以让我们再安排一些其他有趣的内容。

/etc

/etc 目录是寻找配置文件的地方,这些配置文件通常以后缀 .conf 作为结束。一个较大的包可能拥有它自己的子目录,以便收集用于这个包的所有配置文件。Apache 是一个很好的例子;特别是,Apache V2.2 已经重新组织了它的配置文件,使其更具模块化,并具有更少的独立性。

另一个新颖的内容是 /etc/init.d,其中包含当您的系统启动时运行的许多启动脚本。如果您希望干净地重新启动一个守护进程,例如,在更改它的配置之后,可以在 /etc/init.d 中查找同名的脚本。例如,要重新启动 Postfix 邮件传送代理(MTA),您可以运行:

$ /etc/init.d/postfix restart

/etc/init.d 还包含切换到单用户模式的脚本,以便重新启动并关闭计算机,并禁止登录。

/var/spool

如前所述,/var 保存了那些大小可能随时间增大和缩小的文件。与 / 一样,可以将 /var 划分为若干个子目录,每个子目录都有其自身的方案:

  • /var/spool/mail 是寻找您和其他用户的传入邮件的地方。您的邮箱是一个简单的平面(连续的、非索引的)文件(除非您的系统管理员正在使用 maildir 格式)。传入邮件追加到文件的尾部。您所丢弃的邮件将从该文件中删除;并且当您读取一条新的消息时,将会更改并重写已有的消息状态字段。您可以读写您自己的邮箱,但是可以通过权限防止您访问其他用户的邮箱。(建议您不要直接编辑您的邮箱。)
  • /var/log 保存了一套系统日志文件,或者记录系统活动的文件。这些日志记录了所有的活动,从邮件通信到失败的登录尝试。通常,每个守护进程都拥有自己的日志文件,这使得当一个服务失败时很容易搜寻所发生的问题。因为可以显示系统活动,所以对日志文件的访问通常会受到限制,只有超级用户才可以访问。

如果您的系统提供了集中的传真服务,那么 /var/spool 还将对这些请求进行排队。

/usr/man

用于您的 UNIX 系统的核心 man 页面位于 /usr/man 中。还可以在 /usr/local/man 和包的 man 目录(如 /usr/local/mysql5/man)中找到 man 页面的扩展集合。

因为 man 页面可能像可执行文件那样存放于许多不同的地方,所以 man 程序支持与 PATH 工作方式相同的环境变量 MANPATH。要在多个位置搜索一个特定的页面,可以将 MANPATH 定义为一系列 man 页面目录:

MANPATH="/usr/man"
MANPATH="/usr/local/man:$MANPATH"
MANPATH="/usr/local/mysql/man:$MANPATH
MANPATH="$HOME/man:$MANPATH"
export MANPATH

在该示例中,首先 搜索 $HOME/man(它在最左边,或者最前面),随后是 /usr/local/mysql/man,依此类推。顺便说一下,可以将上面的前四个命令简化为下面的语句:

MANPATH="/usr/man:/usr/local/man:\
/usr/local/mysql/man:$HOME/man"

然而,将附加的目录隔离开来,将允许您快速地对条目进行重新排序,并轻松地添加新的目录。而且,如果存在许多路径,编辑后面的 MANPATH(通过扩展 PATH)变量将变得使人乏味。

包含文件

包含文件(或者头文件)定义了在操作系统中或特定的库中使用的常量、宏以及其他结构。不需要重新定义一个特定的结构,您只需要将头文件“包含”在您的代码(代码重用的一种简单形式)中,并按照头文件中的规范编写代码。(man 中的第 2 部分和第 3 部分就专门用于这样的规范;例如,可以尝试 man 2 signal。)

与 bin 和 lib 类似,include 是一个常见的目录名。如果一个包提供了开发工具包,并且您已经将这个包安装到了它自己的根目录,那么可以在 include 子目录中找到相应的头文件。

或者,如果您已经将包安装到了公共的 /usr/local/{bin、lib、include} 目录中,那么可以在 /usr/local/include 中根据这个包进行命名的子目录中找到包的头文件。这是将所有的内容保存到一个公共地方的例外情况。为什么呢?头文件的命名不是唯一的,所以将所有的内容安装到一个地方将会导致冲突,一个包有可能覆盖另一个包的头文件。

如果您从源代码构建应用程序(您将在后面的部分中对其进行深入研究),并且头文件位于一个非标准的位置,那么您可能需要在编译器命令中添加 -I 选项。作为一个示例,如果您的 ImageMagick 头文件位于 /opt/include/magick 中,添加 -I/opt/include/magick 作为编译器的开关。

非常深入地了解它

即将结束今天的 UNIX 旅行。现在,您可以更容易地穿越 UNIX 的小路和背街了。如果您迷路了,只需要说“家,家,家”(不要被 猎户星座 所欺骗)或者输入 cd 即可。请记住,您还可以使用 findlocate 来查找大多数文件,包括可执行文件、库和包含文件。

下午好,女士们、先生们。下次旅行将在 30 天后启程。

附录 A:选择一个标准,任何标准

您的 UNIX 操作系统附带的软件位于文件系统中适当的位置(可能存储在 /bin 或者 /lib 中的),而本地添加的软件则可能位于许多不同的位置。某些系统管理员将本地软件放在 /usr/local 中,而其他的系统管理员则使用 /opt 或者“optional”,因为运行系统并不需要该软件。而且,某些管理员会转储 /usr/local/bin 或 /opt/bin 中所有的可执行文件、/usr/local/lib 或 /opt/lib 中所有的库,等等。

另一种方法(这是我更喜欢的范例)是为每一个本地添加的包创建一个根目录,特别是在这个包很大的情况下。例如,我将 MySQL V5 安装到 /usr/local/mysql5.0,将 Apache V2.2 安装到 /usr/local/apache2.2。每个包的安装程序都会在包的根目录中创建它自己的 bin、lib 和 man 目录。

这种方法有一个缺点,每个最终用户必须向他或她的 PATH 环境变量中添加许多 bin 目录。并且当这一需求并不是特别复杂时,通过在系统范围的 Shell 启动文件中扩展缺省的 PATH 设置,就可以解决这个问题。例如,Bash 系统范围启动脚本 /etc/profile,可能包含:

PATH="/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/local/bin"

PATH="$PATH:/usr/local/mysql5.0/bin"
PATH="$PATH:/usr/local/perl6/bin"
PATH="$PATH:/usr/local/Zend/bin"

export PATH

然而,将一个包存储在它自己的“容器”中,这是很有好处的:

  • 哪个包提供了特定的应用程序,这是显而易见的。遵循这一分类系统,您可以使用 which 命令找到包的名字:
    $ which mysql
    /usr/local/mysql5.0/bin/mysql
  • 您可以同时保留同一个包的不同版本。

    例如,如果您希望提供 Perl V5.6 和 Perl V5.8,可以将前者安装到 /usr/local/perl5.6,将后者安装到 /usr/local/perl5.8。每个用户都可以通过改变 PATH 变量,来选择一个 Perl 版本。

  • 您可以同时保留不同的版本,但是可以通过使用符号链接,使得缺省情况下对应于某一个特定的版本。只需创建一个到您希望提供的包的版本的符号链接即可。

    例如,假定您提供了前面介绍的两个 Perl 版本。如果您希望将 Perl V5.8 作为缺省值,可以创建一个到 /usr/local/perl5.8 的符号链接,并将它命名为 perl

    $ ls -1 /usr/local/perl*
    perl5.6
    perl5.8
    
    $ sudo ln -s /usr/local/perl5.8 \
      /usr/local/perl
    
    $ ls -1 -F /usr/local/perl*
    perl5.6/
    perl5.8/
    perl@

    最终用户现在可以添加 /usr/local/perl/bin 到他或她的 PATH 变量以运行 perl 命令。如果您最后需要或者希望切换到一个更新的或者更旧的 Perl 版本,那么您只需删除该符号链接,并重新创建一个指向不同目录的符号链接即可。

    对于这样的维护任务,符号链接是非常重要的。您可以维护变量、变更路径,并为方便访问构建集合。例如,您可以在传统的 /usr/local/bin 目录中填入链接到其他包中的命令的符号链接,如 ln -s /usr/local/perl/bin/perl /usr/local/bin/perl。(是的,您可以创建指向另一个符号链接的符号链接。)

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

  • IBM 试用软件:从 developerWorks 可直接下载这些试用软件,您可以利用它们开发您的下一个项目。

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=251116
ArticleTitle=对话 UNIX,第 11 部分: 漫谈 UNIX 文件系统
publish-date=08272007

Speaking UNIX, Part 11: Ramble around the UNIX file system

Discover where UNIX stores important files

Many directories in the UNIX® file system serve a special purpose, and certain directories are named per long-standing convention. In this installment of the "Speaking UNIX" series, discover where UNIX stores important files.

Martin Streicher (martin.streicher@gmail.com), Chief Technology Officer, McClatchy Interactive

Photo of Martin StreicherMartin Streicher is a freelance Ruby on Rails developer and the former Editor-in-Chief of Linux Magazine. Martin holds a Masters of Science degree in computer science from Purdue University and has programmed UNIX-like systems since 1986. He collects art and toys. You can reach Martin at martin.streicher@gmail.com.



21 June 2007

Also available in Chinese Russian

I just purchased a Global Positioning System (GPS) navigation device and, after only a handful of uses, I'm hooked. Getting from Point A to Point B is now a snap. No more MapQuest. No more guessing which way is east. No more pit stops in the sticks to ask for clarifications. I simply jump in my car, specify my destination, and follow the voice prompts. Why, the GPS makes me look like a local, giving new meaning to the Buckaroo Banzai maxim, "Wherever you go, there you are."

Let's indulge my wanderlust this month and ramble around the UNIX® file system. From /bin to /var, there are lots of interesting sights to see—some well trodden and others obscure—and shortly, you'll know your way around like the locals.

What's in a file name?

The files on a UNIX machine are organized in a hierarchy. The very top of the hierarchy is /—commonly referred to as "slash" or "the root directory."

If you change your working directory to / and run ls, you'll see several subdirectories with cryptic names like etc, bin, var, home, and tmp. Although UNIX now supports long file names, most of the monikers of these top-level directories hark back some 30 years to the origin of UNIX. Similarly, by the same long-standing conventions, each directory contained in / serves a special purpose:

  • /bin is but one of many directories that contain applications and utilities. However, /bin typically contains utilities that are essential to system operation. Hence, the shells, file-manipulation commands such as cp and chmod, compression and decompression, and diagnostics reside in /bin.

    /sbin also contains utilities crucial to system operation and maintenance. However, the programs found in /sbin can be executed only by superusers—hence, "superuser-bin" or /sbin.

  • /dev incorporates all the hardware installed on your system, including terminals and USB devices (and other peripherals that are physically connected to the computer), pseudo-terminals (used to interact with X terminal windows), and hard disk drives, among others.
  • /etc (often pronounced "etsee") is dedicated to system configuration. The /etc directory contains configuration files for the system daemons, startup scripts, system parameters, and more.
  • /home contains a user's home directories. For instance, if your login name is joe, the directory /home/joe acts as your personal file repository.
  • /lib is the coffer for essential system libraries. In modern UNIX, system libraries are typically shared, meaning that the libraries are not linked and included in each binary (which would waste space, at the least), but are loaded on demand when needed and shared by many applications at once. Hence, core applications and utilities installed with UNIX require the libraries in /lib to run, and you need at least a small handful of the libraries to create new executables from source code. All files here are vital, and the corruption or removal (whether intentional or accidental) of even one file can render a system useless.
  • /mnt, short for "mount," is the standard location to mount hard disk drive partitions and other devices. If you want to see which devices are currently mounted and accessible, simply run the mount command.
  • /tmp, or "temporary," is the system-wide scratch pad. Your Web server might stash session data files here, and other utilities use the space in /tmp for caching intermediate results. Files in /tmp are considered disposable. Indeed, your systems administrator probably deletes all files older than a certain expiry every evening.
  • /usr is the umbrella for a great number of files. End-user applications—from editors, games, and interfaces, to system features—are here, as is the library of man pages along with much more. Chances are that if the file is useful but not mandatory for system operation, you'll find it in /usr.
  • /var—short for "variable"—is the repository for files that typically grow in size over time. Mailboxes, log files, printer queues, and databases can be found in /var. It's commonplace also for Web sites to be kept in /var because a Web site tends to amass data preternaturally over time.

The directory names above are the most common, although some flavors of UNIX diverge slightly. (For example, on Mac OS X, which is based on FreeBSD®, the directory that contains users' home directories is named /Users rather than /home.)

Keeping tradition

In fact, the names etc, bin, lib, and man are so entrenched in UNIX culture that it is traditional to label directories of like purpose found elsewhere on the machine with the same name. For example, if you look at an expert's home directory, you'll likely find bin and lib directories to store personal applications as well as scripts and personal libraries, respectively.

For more information about UNIX naming conventions, see the Appendix A: Pick a standard, any standard section.

Mimicking canon, /usr/local frequently has etc, bin, lib, and man. Historically, /usr/local has been used to store applications and data that originate or are germane solely to your site. The /usr/local/bin directory stores locally added, new programs and locally modified versions of standard system utilities. For example, your systems administrator might offer the latest and greatest version of Perl in /usr/local/bin/perl, keeping /usr/bin/perl constant both for reference and because other core utilities might depend on it. The /usr/local/lib directory complements /usr/local/bin.

The /usr/local directory might even be an entirely separate partition (even a partition mounted through the Network File System from a Network Attached Storage [NAS] device), which makes system restores and resurrections simpler. If something happens to a system, the administrator can overwrite the operating system's files without worrying about destroying local data.

Even packages mirror the root directory. Consider MySQL: If configured with the option --prefix=/usr/local/mysql, it creates its own root directory in /usr/local named /usr/local/mysql and creates the subdirectories /usr/local/mysql/bin, /usr/local/mysql/lib, and so on:

$ ls -1 /usr/local/mysql
bin/
configure*
data/
docs/
include/
lib/
man/
...

Alternatively, if you want to install MySQL's pieces in /usr/local/bin, /usr/local/lib, and the rest, use --prefix=/usr/local.

Other points of interest

Because this is the 25-cent tour, let's swing by a few other attractions.

/etc

The /etc directory is the place to look for configuration files, which usually end with the suffix .conf. A larger package might have its own subdirectory to collect all the configuration files for that package. One case in point is Apache; in particular, Apache V2.2 has reorganized its configuration files to be more modular and less monolithic.

Another novelty includes /etc/init.d, which accommodates the many startup scripts that run when your system boots. If you want to cleanly restart a daemon, say, after changing its configuration, look in /etc/init.d for an eponymous script. For example, to restart the Postfix mail transport agent (MTA), you'd run:

$ /etc/init.d/postfix restart

/etc/init.d also contains scripts to drop to single-user mode, to restart and shut down the machine, and disable logins.

/var/spool

As mentioned earlier, /var keeps files that tend to grow and shrink in size over time. Like /, /var is divided into subdirectories, each with its own scheme:

  • /var/spool/mail is where you find your and other users' incoming mail. Your mailbox is simply a flat (contiguous, non-indexed) file (unless your systems administrator is using the maildir format). Incoming mail is appended to the end of the file. Mail you discard is deleted from the file; and when you read a new message, the status field of the message is changed and rewritten in place. You can read and write your own mailbox, but permissions prevent you from accessing other users' mailboxes. (It's recommended that you not edit your mailbox directly.)
  • /var/log maintains the suite of system log files, or those files that record system activity. Logs track everything from mail traffic to failed login attempts. Each daemon usually has its own log file, which makes it easy to hunt down issues when a service fails. Because system activity can be revealing, logs here are typically restricted and available to superusers only.

If your system provides a centralized fax service, /var/spool queues those requests, too.

/usr/man

The core man pages for your UNIX system reside in /usr/man. Extended collections of man pages can also be found in /usr/local/man and in a package's man directory, such as /usr/local/mysql5/man.

Because man pages can be found in as many places as executables, the man program supports a MANPATH environment variable that works identically to PATH. To search more than one location for a specific page, define MANPATH as a series of man page directories:

MANPATH="/usr/man"
MANPATH="/usr/local/man:$MANPATH"
MANPATH="/usr/local/mysql/man:$MANPATH
MANPATH="$HOME/man:$MANPATH"
export MANPATH

Here, $HOME/man is searched first (it's leftmost, or first), followed by /usr/local/mysql/man, and so on. By the way, the first four commands above could be simplified to the statement:

MANPATH="/usr/man:/usr/local/man:\
/usr/local/mysql/man:$HOME/man"

Yet, keeping the additions separate allows you to reorder the entries quickly and add new directories just as simply. Moreover, if you have a lot of paths, editing the latter MANPATH (and by extension, the PATH) variable becomes tedious.

Include files

Include files (or header files) define constants, macros, and other structures used in the operating system or in a particular library. Rather than redefine a specific structure, you simply "include" the header file in your code (a simple form of code reuse) and code to the header file's specifications. (The man sections 2 and 3 are set aside for such specifications; try man 2 signal, for instance.)

Akin to bin and lib, include is a common directory name. If a package has a development kit and you've installed the package in its own root directory, look in the include subdirectory for the header files.

Or, if you've installed a package into the common /usr/local/{bin,lib,include} directory, look for a package's header files in a subdirectory of /usr/local/include named after the package. This is an exception to storing everything in a common pool. Why? Header files are not uniquely named, so installing everything in one place would cause collisions, with one package overwriting another's header files.

If you build applications from source code (something you'll explore in-depth in an upcoming installment) and header files are in a non-standard location, you might need to add the -I option to your compiler commands. As an example, if your ImageMagick header files reside in /opt/include/magick, add -I/opt/include/magick to the compiler's switches.

Know it like the back of your hand

This concludes today's UNIX tour. You can now navigate the alleys and back streets of UNIX a bit more easily. If you do get lost, just say "Home, Home, Home" (don't get tricked by Betelgeuse)—or type cd. Remember that you can also use find and locate to find most anything, including executables, libraries, and include files.

Good afternoon, ladies and gentlemen. The next tour leaves in 30 days.

Appendix A: Pick a standard, any standard

While the software that ships with your UNIX operating system has a proper place in the file system—stored in /bin or /lib, say—locally added software might be found in any number of locations. Some systems administrators place local software in /usr/local, while others use /opt or "optional," because the software isn't required to run the system. Further, some administrators dump all executables in /usr/local/bin or /opt/bin, all libraries in /usr/local/lib or /opt/lib, and so on.

Another approach—and a paradigm I prefer—is to create a root directory for each locally added package, especially if the package is large. For example, I install MySQL V5 into /usr/local/mysql5.0 and Apache V2.2 into /usr/local/apache2.2. Each package installer creates its own bin, lib, and man directories within the package root.

A disadvantage of this approach is that each end user must add many bin directories to his or her PATH environment variable. And while that requirement isn't particularly onerous, it can be mitigated by expanding the default PATH set in the system-wide shell startup file. For example, the Bash system-wide, startup script, /etc/profile, might contain:

PATH="/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/local/bin"

PATH="$PATH:/usr/local/mysql5.0/bin"
PATH="$PATH:/usr/local/perl6/bin"
PATH="$PATH:/usr/local/Zend/bin"

export PATH

However, storing a package in its own "container" is quite advantageous:

  • It's obvious which package provides a specific application. Following this classification system, you can find the name of the package using the which command:
    $ which mysql
    /usr/local/mysql5.0/bin/mysql
  • You can retain multiple versions of the same package in parallel.

    For example, if you want to offer Perl V5.6 and Perl V5.8, install the former into /usr/local/perl5.6 and the latter to /usr/local/perl5.8. Each user can choose a Perl version by altering the PATH variable.

  • You can retain multiple versions in parallel but default to a particular version by using a symbolic link. Simply create a symbolic link to the version of the package you want to offer.

    For instance, assume that you offer the two versions of Perl mentioned above. If you want Perl V5.8 to be the default, create a symbolic ink to /usr/local/perl5.8 and name it perl:

    $ ls -1 /usr/local/perl*
    perl5.6
    perl5.8
    
    $ sudo ln -s /usr/local/perl5.8 \
      /usr/local/perl
    
    $ ls -1 -F /usr/local/perl*
    perl5.6/
    perl5.8/
    perl@

    An end user can now add /usr/local/perl/bin to his or her PATH variable to run the perl command. If you eventually need or want to switch to a newer or older version of Perl, you can simply delete the symbolic link and recreate it to point to a different directory.

    Symbolic links are invaluable for maintenance tasks such as this. You can maintain variants, reroute paths, and build collections for convenient access. For example, you can populate the traditional /usr/local/bin directory with links to commands in other packages, as in ln -s /usr/local/perl/bin/perl /usr/local/bin/perl. (Yes, you can create a symbolic link that traverses another symbolic link.)

Resources

Learn

Get products and technologies

  • IBM trial software: Build your next development project with software for download directly from developerWorks.

Discuss

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into AIX and Unix on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=236319
ArticleTitle=Speaking UNIX, Part 11: Ramble around the UNIX file system
publish-date=06212007