内容


在 UNIX 和 Linux 系统上捕获屏幕快照和程序交互

第 3 部分,高级图形屏幕和窗口捕获

Comments

系列内容:

此内容是该系列 # 部分中的第 # 部分: 在 UNIX 和 Linux 系统上捕获屏幕快照和程序交互

敬请期待该系列的后续内容。

此内容是该系列的一部分:在 UNIX 和 Linux 系统上捕获屏幕快照和程序交互

敬请期待该系列的后续内容。

正如本系列的 第 1 部分第 2 部分 所讨论的,捕获屏幕快照和用于演示应用程序行为的程序交互记录是技术作家、技术市场营销人员和提交应用程序 bug 报告的用户经常要完成的任务。本系列的第 1 部分主要讨论捕获程序交互,第 2 部分主要讨论使用命令行应用程序捕获图像。本文是本系列的最后一篇,主要讨论用于 UNIX® 和 Linux® 系统上捕获屏幕的图形应用程序。

UNIX 和 Linux 图形屏幕捕获概述

所有现代的 Linux 和 UNIX 系统都提供某种图形桌面,其中通常包含至少一个图形屏幕捕获应用程序 — 常常是专门针对特定桌面环境的应用程序。例如,GNOME 提供 gnome-screenshot,KDE 提供 KSnapshot。这两个程序都可以捕获对话框、窗口和整个屏幕。除了这些比较简单的内置的屏幕和窗口捕获实用程序之外,还有几个更高级的适用于 Linux 和大多数 UNIX 系统的应用程序也支持屏幕捕获,比如 GNU Image Manipulation Program (GIMP) 和 Shutter。

特定于桌面的屏幕捕获实用程序

对大多数 Linux 和 UNIX 系统可用的 GNOME 和 KDE 桌面环境都包含利用各自环境功能的屏幕快照实用程序。这些实用程序速度快,内存需求较小,且易于使用。但是,它们提供的屏幕捕获选项和功能不如本文后面讨论的通用应用程序那么丰富(见 通用屏幕捕获实用程序)。

使用 gnome-screenshot

gnome-screenshot 应用程序很容易执行,系统需求很低,因此是在 GNOME 桌面上执行简单屏幕捕获的绝佳选择。但是,它只能以 Portable Network Graphics (PNG) 格式捕获图像,没有像本文后面讨论的 GIMP 和 Shutter 等应用程序那样提供细粒度的对象选择控制。

在所有基于 GNOME 的 Linux 和 UNIX 系统上都有 gnome-screenshot 应用程序。可以通过以下方式之一调用它:

  • 选择菜单命令 Applications > Accessories > Take Screenshot
  • Print Screen 键(有时候简写为 PrtSc)。
  • Alt-Print Screen 组合键。
  • 使用命令行。

对于每种调用方法,gnome-screenshot 应用程序的表现略有差异,因为它们用不同的选项执行此命令。

Take Screenshot 菜单命令

选择 Take Screenshot 菜单命令就会以交互模式启动 gnome-screenshot 应用程序(使用 --interactive 命令行选项)。这显示 图 1 所示的对话框。

图 1. gnome-screenshot 配置对话框
gnome-screenshot 应用程序的配置对话框的屏幕快照
gnome-screenshot 应用程序的配置对话框的屏幕快照

Print Screen 键

Print Screen 键就会不带选项地调用 gnome-screenshot 应用程序,这捕获整个屏幕并显示 图 2 所示的对话框。在这个对话框中,可以指定保存屏幕图像的文件的名称和位置。

图 2. gnome-screenshot 保存屏幕快照对话框
gnome-screenshot 应用程序的保存对话框的屏幕快照
gnome-screenshot 应用程序的保存对话框的屏幕快照

Alt-Print Screen 组合键

Alt-Print Screen 组合键(即按住 Alt 键并按 Print Screen 键)就会利用 -w 选项调用 gnome-screenshot 应用程序,这捕获当前窗口,同样显示 图 2 所示的对话框。

命令行

从命令行调用 gnome-screenshot 应用程序时,您能够指定任何选项。可以通过执行 man gnome-screenshot 命令查看 gnome-screenshot 应用程序的联机参考信息,了解所有可用的选项。

使用 KSnapshot

KSnapshot 比 GNOME 上的 gnome-screenshot 强大得多,也更灵活,但是只能在 KDE 桌面系统或也安装了 KDE 和相关库的 GNOME 系统上使用。它对于 KDE 桌面上的大多数屏幕捕获需求是绝佳的选择;但是,它也没有像下一节讨论的 GIMP 和 Shutter 等应用程序那样提供细粒度的对象选择控制。

在所有基于 KDE 的 Linux 和 UNIX 系统上都有 KSnapshot。可以通过以下方式之一调用它:

  • 选择菜单命令 K Menu > Applications > Graphics > Take Screenshot
  • Alt-F2 组合键并在 Run Command 对话框中输入它的名称。
  • 使用命令行。

以这些方法启动 KSnapshot 都会显示 图 3 所示的对话框。

图 3. KSnapshot 配置和控制对话框
KSnapshot 配置和控制对话框的屏幕快照
KSnapshot 配置和控制对话框的屏幕快照

选择希望捕获的图形对象的类型(通过 Capture mode 下拉菜单)、可选的延时和是否包含窗口装饰之后,单击 New Snapshot 以捕获指定的对象或选择的区域。在同一对话框中显示新的屏幕捕获。然后可以用图像编辑应用程序打开它,或者通过单击 Save As 并指定文件的位置和名称把它保存到文件中。在 Filter 中,可以指定在保存新图像时希望使用的图形文件格式,选项包括 Encapsulated PostScript (EPS)、Joint Photographic Experts Group (JPEG)、PNG、X BitMap (XBM)、X PixMap (XPM) 和 Microsoft® Windows® BMP and Icon 格式。

通用屏幕捕获实用程序

前面讨论了 GNOME 和 KDE 桌面默认提供的屏幕和图像捕获实用程序。它们都提供高级的功能,比如能够手工选择要捕获的屏幕部分以及在经过一定的延时之后捕获图像(这让您能够选择菜单、在对话框中显示特定内容等等)。尽管这些内置的应用程序很不错,但是其他 Linux 和 UNIX 应用程序提供了它们不具备的高级功能。

本文余下的部分讨论两个应用程序,它们提供很多出色的功能,即使是对图像要求最高的技术作家也会满意。第一个应用程序 GIMP 并不是作为屏幕/图像捕获应用程序设计的 — 它是一个包含屏幕捕获功能的图像编辑应用程序。第二个应用程序 Shutter 是一个 Perl 脚本,它提供用于指定、选择和管理屏幕捕获的出色的用户界面。

使用 GIMP

GIMP 是一个流行的栅格图像编辑应用程序,适用于几乎所有现代图形计算平台,提供许多与 Adobe Photoshop 相同的功能。GIMP 集成的屏幕捕获功能和先进的图像编辑功能让它成为屏幕捕获和后续处理的自然选择。尽管我发现 Shutter 对于 GNOME 系统是一个卓越且方便的屏幕捕获应用程序,但是在普适性和功能方面比不上 GIMP。

GIMP 适用于所有 Linux 发行版,也适用于大多数其他操作系统,包括 Hewlett-Packard HP-UX、IBM® AIX®、Mac OS® X、Microsoft Windows 和 Sun and Oracle Solaris。(在 AIX Toolbox for Linux Applications CD 上可以找到 GIMP for AIX。)GIMP 提供先进的集成的图像捕获功能,可以在捕获图像之后马上编辑它们。

GIMP 与 GNOME 桌面之间的关系常常会引起误解。GIMP 不是 GNOME 应用程序,因此不需要在系统上安装 GNOME 桌面或由 GNOME 使用的库。实际上,GIMP 需要名为 GIMP Toolkit (GTK) 的底层图形用户界面 (GUI) 工具包。顾名思义,GTK 原来是作为供 GIMP 使用的可重用组件和函数集开发的。因此,GIMP 只需要 GTK 的现代版本(GTK+、GTK2 等等)和一些 X Window System 库(或在非 UNIX 和非 Linux 系统上功能相当的库),就可以在任何平台上运行。

要想使用 GIMP 捕获屏幕图像,应该选择 File > Create > Screenshot 菜单命令,这显示 图 4 所示的对话框。

图 4. GIMP 配置和控制对话框
GIMP 配置和控制对话框的屏幕快照
GIMP 配置和控制对话框的屏幕快照

在这个对话框中,可以指定是要捕获整个屏幕、特定窗口或对话框还是可选择的区域。还可以指定在捕获窗口时是否希望捕获窗口装饰,可以以秒为单位指定捕获图像之前的延时。

捕获图像之后,GIMP 自动地打开图像供编辑,见 图 5。在 GIMP 中修改捕获的图像之后,可以使用 File > Save As 菜单命令把图像保存到文件中。

图 5. 在 GIMP 中捕获的图像
在 GIMP 中捕获的图像的屏幕快照
在 GIMP 中捕获的图像的屏幕快照

使用 Shutter

Shutter 是一个 Perl 脚本,它需要 GNOME 库,因此通常在运行 GNOME 桌面的系统上运行。Shutter 原来名为 gscrot,因为过去它为命令行屏幕捕获应用程序 scrot 提供 GNOME 包装器。但是,Shutter 现在完全独立了,不再需要 scrot。Shutter 提供出色的用于指定、选择和管理屏幕捕获的用户界面。

可以从命令行或通过在 GNOME 菜单中选择 Applications > Accessories > Shutter 命令启动 Shutter。在第一次启动 Shutter 时,可能希望通过 Edit > Preferences 对话框配置它,见 图 6

图 6. 配置 Shutter
配置 Shutter 的屏幕快照
配置 Shutter 的屏幕快照

在这个对话框的各个选项卡中,可以指定捕获的图像的命名方案(包括基本名称和图像编号)、是否在捕获的窗口图像中包含窗口装饰、自动保存捕获的图像的格式和位置等等。

配置完 Shutter 之后(或者希望采用默认设置),可以按以下方法之一捕获图像:

  • Full Screen 下拉菜单中选择希望捕获的屏幕(或虚拟屏幕)以捕获全屏图像。
  • Window 下拉菜单中选择希望捕获的窗口的名称以捕获特定的窗口或对话框。
  • 选择 Window 下拉菜单右边的图标以捕获窗口的一部分。
  • 选择以上图标右边的图标以捕获一个菜单或一组层叠菜单。

捕获的图像显示在 Shutter 中,见 图 7

图 7. 在 Shutter 中捕获的图像
在 Shutter 中捕获的图像的屏幕快照
在 Shutter 中捕获的图像的屏幕快照

Shutter 根据在 Preferences 对话框中指定的命名方案自动地保存它捕获的图像。还可以指定编号方案 — 如果要捕获一系列图像,它们必须按一定的次序出现,那么指定编号方案很方便。它还在主对话框中单独的面板中显示所有屏幕捕获,让您能够方便地检查是否已经捕获了所需的所有图像。关于 Shutter 的更多信息参见 参考资料

结束语

本文讨论的图形屏幕捕获实用程序能够帮助不需要(或不想)使用命令行的用户简便地执行屏幕捕获。

GNOME 和 KDE 系统提供的默认图形屏幕捕获实用程序对于简单的屏幕捕获很方便,但是如果需要调整图像或要捕获多个图像,则使用 GIMP 和 Shutter 会更好。

GIMP 很适合作为标准的屏幕捕获工具,因为它适用于所有现代桌面计算机系统。在除 GNOME 之外的所有系统上我通常使用 GIMP,在 GNOME 系统上使用 Shutter,因为 Shutter 提供前缀、编号和先进的选择功能。


相关主题

  • gnome-screenshot 包是 GNOME Utilities 包的组成部分,在运行 GNOME 桌面的所有系统上都默认安装它。
  • 在运行 KDE 桌面的所有系统上都默认安装 KSnapshot
  • AIX and UNIX 专区:developerWorks 的“AIX and UNIX 专区”提供了大量与 AIX 系统管理的所有方面相关的信息,您可以利用它们来扩展自己的 UNIX 技能。
  • AIX and UNIX 专题汇总:AIX and UNIX 专区已经为您推出了很多的技术专题,为您总结了很多热门的知识点。我们在后面还会继续推出很多相关的热门专题给您,为了方便您的访问,我们在这里为您把本专区的所有专题进行汇总,让您更方便的找到您需要的内容。
  • AIX and UNIX 下载中心:在这里你可以下载到可以运行在 AIX 或者是 UNIX 系统上的 IBM 服务器软件以及工具,让您可以提前免费试用他们的强大功能。
  • IBM Systems Magazine for AIX 中文版:本杂志的内容更加关注于趋势和企业级架构应用方面的内容,同时对于新兴的技术、产品、应用方式等也有很深入的探讨。IBM Systems Magazine 的内容都是由十分资深的业内人士撰写的,包括 IBM 的合作伙伴、IBM 的主机工程师以及高级管理人员。所以,从这些内容中,您可以了解到更高层次的应用理念,让您在选择和应用 IBM 系统时有一个更好的认识。
  • 技术书店 浏览关于这些和其他技术主题的图书。
  • GIMP 是一个栅格图像编辑应用程序,它也提供对话框、窗口和屏幕捕获功能。
  • Shutter 是一个强大且易用的对话框、窗口和屏幕捕获应用程序,具有许多定制的强大功能。

评论

添加或订阅评论,请先登录注册

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=681065
ArticleTitle=在 UNIX 和 Linux 系统上捕获屏幕快照和程序交互: 第 3 部分,高级图形屏幕和窗口捕获
publish-date=06152011

Capturing screen shots and program interaction on UNIX and Linux systems: Part 3, Advanced graphical screen and window capture

Capturing screen images of applications is something that all technical writers, most graphical application developers, many technical marketing staff members, and even many users need to do. Modern UNIX® systems provide a number of different tools to capture graphical screens and single windows. This article, the final of three-part series, focuses on graphical tools that are available for most Linux® and UNIX systems. These tools make it easy to capture graphical portions of the screen to help illustrate both proper and improper program behavior.

Share:

William von Hagen, Systems Administrator, Writer, WordSmiths

William von Hagen has been a writer and UNIX systems administrator for more than 20 years and a Linux advocate since 1993. Bill is the author or co-author of books on subjects such as Ubuntu Linux, Xen Virtualization, the GNU Compiler Collection (GCC), SUSE Linux, Mac OS X, Linux file systems, and SGML. He has also written numerous articles for Linux and Mac OS X publications and Web sites. You can reach Bill at wvh@vonhagen.org.



26 April 2011

Also available in Chinese

As discussed in Part 1 and Part 2 of this series, capturing screen shots and a record of program interaction to illustrate application behavior is a common task for technical writers, technical marketing personnel, and for anyone who is filing a bug report on an application. Part 1 of this series focused on capturing program interaction, while Part 2 focused on image capture using command-line applications. This article, the last in the series, focuses on graphical applications for screen capture on UNIX® and Linux® systems.

UNIX and Linux graphical screen capture overview

All modern Linux and UNIX systems provide some sort of graphical desktop, which usually includes at least one graphical screen capture application—most often one that is specific to a particular desktop environment. For example, GNOME provides gnome-screenshot, and KDE provides KSnapshot. Both can capture individual dialogs, individual windows, and the entire screen. In addition to these somewhat simple, built-in screen and window capture utilities, several more advanced applications that support screen capture (such as GNU Image Manipulation Program (GIMP) and Shutter) are available for Linux and most UNIX systems.

Desktop-specific screen capture utilities

The GNOME and KDE desktop environments that are available for most Linux and UNIX systems both include screen shot utilities that leverage the capabilities of those environments. These utilities are fast, have relatively small memory requirements, and are easy to use. However, they do not provide all the screen capture options and capabilities of the more general-purpose applications discussed later in this article (see General screen capture utilities).

Using gnome-screenshot

The gnome-screenshot application is easy to execute and has minimal system requirements, making it an excellent choice for simple screen captures from the GNOME desktop. However, it can only capture images in Portable Network Graphics (PNG) format and does not provide the fine-grained control over object selection that is provided by applications such as GIMP and Shutter, as discussed later in this article.

The gnome-screenshot application is available on all GNOME-based Linux and UNIX computer systems. You can invoke it by doing one of the following:

  • Select the Applications > Accessories > Take Screenshot menu command.
  • Press the Print Screen key (sometimes abbreviated as PrtSc).
  • Press the Alt-Print Screen key combination.
  • Use the command line.

The gnome-screenshot application works slightly differently in each of these cases because they execute the command with different options.

Take Screenshot menu command

Selecting the Take Screenshot menu command starts the gnome-screenshot application in interactive mode (by using the --interactive command-line option). This displays the dialog shown in Figure 1.

Figure 1. The gnome-screenshot configuration dialog
Screen shot of the gnome-screenshot application's configuration dialog

Print Screen key

Pressing the Print Screen key invokes the gnome-screenshot application with no options, captures the entire screen, and displays the dialog shown in Figure 2. In this dialog, you can specify the name and location of the file in which you want to save the captured image.

Figure 2. The gnome-screenshot save screen shot dialog
Screenshot of the gnome-screenshot application's save dialog

Alt-Print Screen key combination

Pressing the Alt-Print Screen key combination (in other words, holding down the Alt key and pressing the Print Screen key) invokes the gnome-screenshot application with its -w option, captures the current window, and also displays the dialog shown in Figure 2.

Command line

Invoking the gnome-screenshot application from the command line enables you to specify any of its options. See the online reference information for the gnome-screenshot application—available by executing the man gnome-screenshot command—for information about all available options.

Using KSnapshot

KSnapshot is much more powerful and flexible than its GNOME equivalent, gnome-screenshot, but works only on KDE desktop systems or GNOME systems where the KDE desktop and associated libraries are also installed. It is an excellent choice for most of your screen capture needs from the KDE desktop; however, it still does not provide the fine-grained control over object selection provided by applications such as GIMP and Shutter, as discussed in the next section.

KSnapshot is available on all KDE-based Linux and UNIX computer systems. You can invoke it by doing one of the following:

  • Select the K Menu > Applications > Graphics > Take Screenshot menu command.
  • Press the Alt-F2 key combination and enter its name into the Run Command dialog.
  • Use the command line.

Starting KSnapshot in any of these ways initially displays the dialog, as shown in Figure 3.

Figure 3. The KSnapshot configuration and control dialog
Screenshot of the KSnapshot configuration and control dialog

After selecting the type of graphical object that you want to capture (from the Capture mode drop-down), an optional delay, and whether to include window decorations, click New Snapshot to capture the specified object or selected region. The new screen capture displays in the same dialog. You can then open it with an image editing application or save it to a file by clicking Save As and specifying the location and name of that file. In the Filter entry, you can specify the graphics file format you want to use when saving the new image—options include Encapsulated PostScript (EPS), Joint Photographic Experts Group (JPEG), PNG, X BitMap (XBM), X PixMap (XPM), and the Microsoft® Windows® BMP and Icon formats.

General screen capture utilities

The previous sections discussed the screen and image capture utilities that are provided by default with the GNOME and KDE desktops. Both of these provide advanced capabilities, such as being able to select manually a portion of the screen to capture and only capturing an image after some delay has elapsed, enabling you to select menus, show specific items in dialogs, and so on. Though these built-in applications are great, other Linux and UNIX applications provide advanced capabilities that are out of scope for basic, built-in applications.

The two applications discussed in the remainder of this article provide an impressive number of bells and whistles to keep even the most image-oriented writer happy. The first, GIMP, wasn't even designed as a screen/image capture application—it is an image editing application that includes screen capture capabilities. The second, Shutter, is a Perl script that provides a great user interface for specifying, selecting, and managing screen captures.

Using GIMP

GIMP is a popular raster image editing application that is available for almost all modern graphical computing platforms and provides many of the same capabilities as Adobe Photoshop. GIMP's integrated screen capture capabilities and sophisticated image editing capabilities make it a natural choice for screen captures and subsequent cleanup. Though I find Shutter to be an excellent and convenient screen capture application for GNOME systems, it's difficult to beat the combination of ubiquity and power that GIMP provides.

GIMP is available for all Linux distributions and is also available for most other operating systems, including Hewlett-Packard HP-UX, IBM® AIX®, Mac OS® X, Microsoft Windows, and Sun and Oracle Solaris. (GIMP for AIX is available on the AIX Toolbox for Linux Applications CDs.) GIMP provides sophisticated integrated image capture capabilities that make captured images available for editing immediately after they are captured.

The relationship between GIMP and the GNOME desktop is a common source of confusion. GIMP is not a GNOME application and, therefore, does not require that the GNOME desktop or all of the libraries that are used by GNOME be installed on your system. Instead, GNOME requires an underlying graphical user interface (GUI) toolkit called the GIMP Toolkit (GTK) that, as the name suggests, was originally developed as a central, reusable set of components and functions for GIMP. GIMP therefore only requires a modern version of GTK (GTK+, GTK2, and so on) and some X Window System libraries (or their equivalents on non-UNIX and non-Linux systems) to run on any platform.

To capture a screen image using GIMP, select the File > Create > Screenshot menu command, which displays the dialog shown in Figure 4.

Figure 4. The GIMP configuration and control dialog
Screenshot of the GIMP configuration and control dialog

This dialog enables you to specify whether you want to capture an image of the entire screen, a specific window or dialog, or a selectable region. It also provides controls that enable you to specify whether you want to capture window decorations when capturing a window and to specify a delay in seconds before the image will be captured.

After capturing an image, GIMP automatically opens that image for editing, as shown in Figure 5. When you are done making modifications to the captured image in GIMP, you can save the image to a file using the traditional File > Save As menu command.

Figure 5. A captured image in GIMP
Screenshot of a captured image in GIMP

Using Shutter

Shutter is a Perl script that requires the GNOME libraries and, thus, is typically run on systems that are running the GNOME desktop. Shutter was originally known as gscrot because it provided a GNOME wrapper for a command-line image capture application called scrot. However, Shutter is now completely standalone and no longer requires scrot. Shutter provides a great user interface for specifying, selecting, and managing screen captures.

You can start Shutter from the command line or by selecting the Applications > Accessories > Shutter command from the GNOME menus. When you first start Shutter, you may want to initially configure it through its Edit > Preferences dialog, shown in Figure 6.

Figure 6. Configuring Shutter
Screenshot of configuring Shutter

The various tabs in this dialog enable you to specify the naming scheme for the images that you capture (including a base name and image numbering), whether to include window decorations in captured window images, the format and location captured images should automatically be saved, and more.

After you finish configuring Shutter (or if you just want to use it out of the box), you can capture an image in one of the following ways:

  • Select the screen (or virtual screen) that you want to capture from the Full Screen drop-down menu to capture a full-screen image.
  • Select the name of the window that you want to capture from the Window drop-down menu to capture a specific window or dialog.
  • Select the icon to the right of the Window drop-down to capture a section of a window.
  • Select the icon to the right of the previous icon to capture a single menu or a set of cascading menus.

The captured image displays in Shutter, as shown in Figure 7.

Figure 7. Captured image in Shutter
Screenshot of a captured image in Shutter

Shutter automatically saves the images it captures based on the naming scheme identified in its Preferences dialog. You can also specify a numbering scheme—this is convenient if you are capturing a series of images that must appear in that order. It also displays all of your screen captures in separate panes within its main dialog, which is also convenient if you want to verify that you have captured all of the images that you need for explaining or documenting the sequence of windows, dialogs, and so on, that are associated with a specific process. For more information about Shutter, see Resources.

Summary

The graphical screen capture utilities discussed in this article simplify screen capture for users who do not need (or want) to work from the command line.

The default graphical screen capture utilities provided on GNOME and KDE systems are convenient for simple screen captures, but GIMP and Shutter provide some significant advantages when you know that you need to touch up those images or when capturing multiple images.

GIMP is great as a standard screen capture tool because it is available for every modern desktop computer system. I tend to use GIMP everywhere except for GNOME systems, where I use Shutter because of its prefixing, numbering, and sophisticated selection capabilities.

Resources

Learn

  • The gnome-screenshot package is part of the GNOME Utilities package and is installed by default on all systems that are running the GNOME desktop.
  • KSnapshot is installed by default on all systems that are running the KDE desktop.
  • The AIX and UNIX developerWorks zone provides a wealth of information relating to all aspects of AIX systems administration and expanding your UNIX skills.
  • New to AIX and UNIX? Visit the New to AIX and UNIX page to learn more.
  • Browse the technology bookstore for books on this and other technical topics.

Get products and technologies

  • GIMP is a raster image editing application that also provides dialog, window, and screen capture capabilities.
  • Shutter is a powerful and easy-to-use dialog, window, and screen capture application with many custom and powerful capabilities.

Discuss

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into AIX and Unix on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=650442
ArticleTitle=Capturing screen shots and program interaction on UNIX and Linux systems: Part 3, Advanced graphical screen and window capture
publish-date=04262011