提供 rootvg 所需的空间

您的操作系统为何需要空间以及如何提供所需的空间

根卷组 (rootvg) 是 IBM® AIX® 系统的命脉,它不仅包含 AIX 操作系统,还有其他很多用途。rootvg 可能包含分页空间、系统转储设备、数据文件系统、mksysb 备份副本、第二个 AIX 实例(使用 multibos 时)等。鉴于 rootvg 磁盘可能需要满足上述所有需求,最好将数据文件系统放置在其各自的卷组中,给 rootvg 留出所需的空间。

Anthony English, 高级 AIX 专家, Levitar Pty Ltd

http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/i/p-aenglish.jpgAnthony English 是来自澳大利亚悉尼市的一名独立承包人。他从 1991 年开始就一直在 AIX 系统上工作,他还撰写 IBM developerWorks 博客 AIX Down Under



2011 年 10 月 31 日

为 rootvg 让路!

每个 AIX 系统都有一个 rootvg,它是一个卷组,即在安装 AIX 时所创建的逻辑磁盘组,它包含了 AIX 操作系统及其标准文件系统。

尽管可以将所有软件、应用程序和数据都放置到 rootvg 中,但最好还是保留一个主要用于存储操作系统的 rootvg ,并为不属于标准 AIX 安装中的文件系统至少再创建一个卷组,如 datavg。

保持 rootvg 的简洁

在各自的卷组中保存数据可以使 rootvg 更加简洁。这对于使用 mksysb 命令(参阅 参考资料 了解详细信息)进行系统备份很重要。如果您想克隆整个 AIX 环境,那么在较小的 rootvg 基础上进行重构要比在包含大量数据的 rootvg 上进行重构(可能需要使用另一个实用工具恢复数据)要容易得多。而且,如果您的确需要进行紧急系统恢复,也不想将宝贵的时间都浪费在寻找系统恢复所需的足够磁盘空间以及再在 mksysb 备份中清理数据文件系统的过程。

在各自的卷组中保存数据还有另一个明显优势:性能。可以将数据分配到 I/O 性能比 rootvg 磁盘更好的磁盘上的卷组上。在操作系统级上,可以调优一个卷组、甚至单个物理卷的特征。您还可以针对数据逻辑单元数量(data logical unit numbers,LUNs)调优 Storage Area Network (SAN) 存储子系统,而不会影响 rootvg。

简化数据迁移和复制

在 rootvg 外部保存数据的另一个好处是可以只将数据卷组迁移到新的 AIX 系统(参阅 参考资料 了解详细信息)。通过采取这种模块式方法,可以将大量数据复制或移动到其他 AIX 系统上,而不必重构 rootvg。当您需要在不重新构建数据的测试或灾难恢复系统上刷新数据时,这种方法很方便。

rootvg 中有什么?

有一些简单方法可以将 rootvg 磁盘消耗保持在足够小的范围以便管理,同时又向其提供足够的空间,以避免运行时空间不足。第一步是了解当前为 rootvg 分配了什么内容。

rootvg 中的文件系统

可以通过 lsvgfs 命令查看哪些文件系统属于 rootvg,如 清单 1 所示。

清单 1. 列出 rootvg 文件系统
# lsvgfs rootvg

/
/usr
/var
/tmp
/home
/opt
/admin
/var/adm/ras/livedump

清单 1 中所列的文件系统都是标准 AIX 7.1 安装的一部分。如果您的 rootvg 中有一些数据文件系统,应考虑将其移动到一个单独的卷组,尤其是当它们占用大量 rootvg 磁盘空间时。

分配给 rootvg 的磁盘空间

可以使用 lsvg 命令加上卷组名称查看为 rootvg 分配了多少磁盘空间。清单 2 显示了一个新安装的 AIX 7.1 系统的 lsvg 输出。

清单 2. 列出卷组特征
# lsvg rootvg

VOLUME GROUP:       rootvg           VG IDENTIFIER:  00f6050a00004c000000012c2cde33d6
VG STATE:           active           PP SIZE:      128 megabyte(s)
VG PERMISSION:      read/write       TOTAL PPs:    279 (35712 megabytes)
MAX LVs:            256              FREE PPs:     229 (29312 megabytes)
LVs:                11               USED PPs:       50 (6400 megabytes)
OPEN LVs:           10               QUORUM:         2 (Enabled)
TOTAL PVs:          1                VG DESCRIPTORS: 2
STALE PVs:          0                STALE PPs:      0
ACTIVE PVs:         1                AUTO ON:        yes
MAX PPs per VG:     32512
MAX PPs per PV:     1016             MAX PVs:        32
LTG size (Dynamic): 256 kilobyte(s)  AUTO SYNC:      no
HOT SPARE:          no               BB POLICY:      relocatable
PV RESTRICTION:     none

在本示例中,rootvg 被划分为一些 128 MB 的物理分区(PP),如 PP SIZE 值所示。分配给 rootvg 的总磁盘大小(TOTAL PPs)为 35712 MB(或者 大于 35 GB)。FREE PPs 值显示还有多少 rootvg 磁盘空间可用于增加文件系统或其他目的。在本例中,这个值为 29312 MB(或大于 29 GB)。

对 rootvg 磁盘空间的需求

在 rootvg 中保留适当的可用磁盘空间很重要,因为有几个需求可能会耗尽这些可用空间。下面是一些最常见的需求:

  • 分页空间
  • 系统转储设备
  • 文件系统增长
  • 软件安装和更新
  • 使用 multibos 更新 AIX
  • mksysb 映像文件

下面几个小节将详细介绍这些 rootvg 空间需求。


分页空间

分页空间(或交换空间)是一种逻辑卷,用来存储不使用随机存取存储器(RAM)进程的临时区域。确保系统上有足够的分页空间很重要。每当更改 AIX 系统的内存分配时,都应检查分页空间要求。

内存分配和调优

为系统分配额外的分页空间之前,检查内存分配和内存调优是值得的。

如果分页空间使用率高,那么应查看是否为工作负载分配了足够的内存。分页空间使用率高可能是系统 RAM 不足的一个征兆。内存调优也可能极大改善系统性能,减少额外的分页空间需求。请参阅 参考资料 部分中关于优化 AIX 7 内存性能的文章,了解更多详细信息。

增加分页空间

执行基本 AIX 安装时,默认分页空间是一个名为 hd6 的逻辑卷。考虑到在典型的系统上,hd6 通常很少可满足内存需求,您可能需要增加它的大小。可以使用 chps 命令(参阅 参考资料)或通过 AIX System Management Interface Tool (SMIT) 实现这一点,而且这不会导致运行中断。

好消息是,分页空间不必都位于 rootvg 内。可以在一个数据卷组中新建一些分页空间,或者创建一个专门用作分页空间的卷组。如果您想要移除一个默认的分页空间如 hd6,必须执行一个特别的过程,分页空间和虚拟内存文档包含了更多信息 (参阅 参考资料)。

可以增加分页空间,甚至新增一个分页空间设备,并且在无需关闭系统的情况下激活它。如果您想停用并移除用于默认系统转储设备的现有分页空间,则首先需要将该默认转储设备分配给另一个逻辑卷或分页空间(参阅 参考资料)。

减小分页空间

您能够了解为何增加分页空间会占用 rootgv 中的额外磁盘空间,但减小 分页空间为何也会这样呢?实际上,减小分页空间时占用额外磁盘空间只是临时措施。当您使用 chps -d(参阅 参考资料)减小活动分页空间时,AIX 将创建一个临时分页空间,作为一个临时区域,将分页空间的内容复制到该区域,然后删除原始分页空间,以便重建一个规模更小的分页空间。清单 3 展示了如何减小分页空间。

清单 3. 减小分页空间
# chps -d 1 hd6

shrinkps: Temporary paging space paging00 created.
shrinkps: Dump device moved to temporary paging space.
shrinkps: Paging space hd6 removed.
shrinkps: Paging space hd6 recreated with new size.

如果卷组内没有足够的空间用于创建临时分页空间,则无法减小分页空间。分页空间可能需要大量磁盘空间。在 rootvg 或另一个卷组中保留一些空闲空间用于分页。


系统转储设备

系统意外中止时,选中的内核数据区域将被复制到主转储设备。这可能有助于分析,特别是在操作系统没有任何明显原因而突然停止时(希望这种情况少一些)。

通常有一个主转储设备,可以将其分配给分页空间。您可以预估转储的大小,以确保转储设备上有足够空间,并且复制目录来捕获系统转储。

dumpcheck 命令通常包含在 root cron 中,用于估计系统转储所需的大小。如果您最大的转储设备不够大,dumpcheck 将在错误报告中显示一条警告消息。想要增大转储设备或创建辅助转储设备,请参阅 参考资料,了解如何操作。


文件系统增长

rootvg 文件系统的磁盘占用空间可能会增长,这并不为足。这可能是因为日志文件、软件安装、临时工作空间,或者仅仅因为有人将一些大文件复制到一个 rootvg 文件系统中所导致的。即使文件系统受到严格管理,还是有一些命令总是会增大文件系统。例如,使用 installp 安装新软件或执行 mksysb 备份时,文件系统将自动增大。

如果某个文件系统空间不足,可以执行一些快速清理,或者为文件系统增长提供更多空间,只要还有可用磁盘空间。


软件安装和更新

安装新软件或更新现有软件时,会增加磁盘空间占用。通常,老版本都不会立即删除,而是保留很长时间(或者永远),所以磁盘占用会逐渐增加。如果的确需要返回之前的软件版本或必须从备份中恢复,最好尽量加快此过程。rootvg 中的一些空闲磁盘空间对于快速流畅的回滚可能很关键。可以使用几种策略更新 AIX,同时提供轻松回滚(参阅 参考资料)。


使用 multibos 更新 AIX

AIX multibos 命令允许在 rootvg 上创建并保持一个单独的可启动 AIX 实例。在主要实例启动并运行时,可以使用一个不同级别的 AIX 软件更新升级备用实例。如果需要,甚至可以登录备用实例并定制它。这样,一切准备就绪后,只需短暂的停用即可开始使用备用实例。

使用 multibos 意味着您可以在是中断窗口之前修补 AIX。在运行中断期间,只需要进行一次重启;如果需要回滚到之前的实例(现在是备用实例),也只需进行一次重启。这是一个很棒的备份计划,它比从备份中恢复要容易得多。

如果打算使用 multibos,那么需要在 rootvg 中腾出一些空间来存储第二个实例。这并不是复制整个 rootvg,但它的确会复制大部分标准 rootvg 文件系统。了解使用 multibos 的更多详细信息,请参阅 参考资料


mksysb 映像文件

可以使用 mkdvd 命令创建 mksysb 备份并将其保存为 International Organization for Standardization (ISO) 格式。这可能是创建系统备份的一种灵活方法,而且不需要物理介质。mkdvd 命令的确在 rootvg 中创建一些临时文件系统,除非指定一个替代卷组或其它位置用于存储映像。要详细了解如何创建可靠的操作系统备份,请参阅 参考资料


向 rootvg 分配更多磁盘空间

即使进行了清理并竭尽所能以保持 rootvg 精简,还是会出现磁盘空间不足的情况。要增加磁盘分配,可以执行以下一个或多个操作:

  • 使用 extendvg 向 rootvg 分配一个新物理卷。
  • 增大现有 rootvg 物理卷。
  • 镜像、迁移或恢复到另一个更大的磁盘。

向 rootvg 增加一个新磁盘非常容易。extendvg 命令为 rootvg 添加一个新磁盘,还提供额外的物理分区(PP)。但您没有必要为 rootvg 增加整个磁盘。

如果 rootvg 位于一个 SAN 子系统上,则可以增加 LUN 大小。您可以通过运行 chvg -g rootvg 命令识别更大的磁盘。注意,只有 AIX 6.1 TL 4 或更高版本才支持这个选项。rootvg 增加后,使用 lsvg rootvg 进行验证。

可以将 rootvg 镜像到或将其部分逻辑卷迁移到一个更大的磁盘。查看关于卷组的 AIX 文档(参阅 参考资料),了解更多详细信息。要备份当前 rootvg 并将其恢复到另一个磁盘,可以使用 mksysb 命令(参阅 参考资料)。

对备份和恢复的影响

如果要对 rootvg 进行重大更改,无论是额外的磁盘分配、新文件系统创建、还是将文件系统移动到其他卷组中,都应注意对备份大小和计划所造成的可能影响。还需要记住任何系统恢复过程和基础架构以防它们受到影响。


结束语

卷组布局的模块式方法允许 rootvg 使用较小的磁盘空间,以便轻松实现备份和恢复。分离数据卷组和 rootvg 还允许您在不直接影响 rootvg 的情况下调优、迁移和复制数据。

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

  • 免费试用 IBM 软件。下载试用版,登录在线试用版,在沙箱环境中试用产品,或者通过云访问试用软件。有超过 100 个 IBM 产品试用版可供选择。

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=768726
ArticleTitle=提供 rootvg 所需的空间
publish-date=10312011

Give rootvg the space it needs

Why your operating system needs space and how to provide it

The root volume group (rootvg) is the lifeblood of your IBM® AIX® system. It contains the AIX operating system, but you can use it for a lot more than that. A rootvg may include paging space, system dump devices, data file systems, a copy of mksysb backups, a second instance of AIX (when you use multibos), and more. With all of those possible demands on the rootvg disk, it is a good idea to keep data file systems in their own volume group and give rootvg the space it needs.

Share:

Anthony English (anthonyenglish@levitar.com.au), Senior AIX Specialist, Freelance contractor

Anthony EnglishAnthony English is a freelance contractor in Sydney, Australia. He has worked on AIX systems since 1991 and writes the IBM developerWorks blog, AIX Down Under. He is also recognized as an IBM Champion for Power Systems. You can reach Anthony at anthonyenglish@levitar.com.au. Follow Anthony English on Twitter.



06 September 2011

Also available in Chinese

Make way for rootvg!

Every AIX system has a rootvg. It's a volume group—a logical group of disks—that is created at the time you install AIX. It contains the AIX operating system with its standard file systems.

Although you can put all of your software, applications, and data into rootvg, it generally makes sense to keep rootvg primarily for the operating system and create at least one other volume group—such as datavg—for file systems that are not part of the standard AIX installation.

Keep rootvg lean

Keeping data in its own volume group gives you a leaner and cleaner rootvg. This is important for when you do system backups using the mksysb command (see Resources for more details). If you want to clone an AIX environment, it's far easier to rebuild from a smaller rootvg than from one with a large amount of data that will probably be recovered with a different utility anyway. And, if you do need to do an urgent system recovery, you don't want to lose precious time finding large enough disks to restore to and then have to untangle data file systems from your mksysb backup.

There's another, more obvious advantage to keeping data in its own volume group: performance. You can assign the data to its own volume group on disks that have better I/O performance than rootvg disks. At the operating system level, you can tune the characteristics for a volume group or even for individual physical volumes. You can also tune the Storage Area Network (SAN) storage subsystem just for the data logical unit numbers (LUNs) without affecting rootvg.

Make data migration and replication easier

Another benefit of keeping data file systems out of rootvg is that you can migrate just the data volume group to a new AIX system (see Resources for details). By taking this modular approach, you can replicate or move large amounts of data to other AIX systems without having to rebuild the rootvg as well. This can be handy when you want to refresh data on a test or disaster recovery system that doesn't need to be built from scratch.

What's in rootvg?

There are some simple ways to keep rootvg disk use small enough to be manageable while giving it enough disk so that it never runs short of space. The first step is to see what is currently allocated for rootvg.

File systems in rootvg

You can see which file systems belong to rootvg by using the lsvgfs command, shown in Listing 1.

Listing 1. List rootvg file systems
# lsvgfs rootvg

/
/usr
/var
/tmp
/home
/opt
/admin
/var/adm/ras/livedump

The file systems shown in Listing 1 above all come as part of a standard installation of AIX 7.1. If you have some data file systems in your rootvg, consider moving them to a separate volume group, especially if they use a large amount of rootvg disk.

Disk space allocated to rootvg

You can see how much disk space is allocated to rootvg with the lsvg command followed by the volume group name. Listing 2 shows the lsvg output for a newly installed AIX 7.1 system.

Listing 2. List volume group characteristics
# lsvg rootvg

VOLUME GROUP:       rootvg           VG IDENTIFIER:  00f6050a00004c000000012c2cde33d6
VG STATE:           active           PP SIZE:      128 megabyte(s)
VG PERMISSION:      read/write       TOTAL PPs:    279 (35712 megabytes)
MAX LVs:            256              FREE PPs:     229 (29312 megabytes)
LVs:                11               USED PPs:       50 (6400 megabytes)
OPEN LVs:           10               QUORUM:         2 (Enabled)
TOTAL PVs:          1                VG DESCRIPTORS: 2
STALE PVs:          0                STALE PPs:      0
ACTIVE PVs:         1                AUTO ON:        yes
MAX PPs per VG:     32512
MAX PPs per PV:     1016             MAX PVs:        32
LTG size (Dynamic): 256 kilobyte(s)  AUTO SYNC:      no
HOT SPARE:          no               BB POLICY:      relocatable
PV RESTRICTION:     none

In this example, the rootvg is divided into physical partitions (PPs) of 128 megabytes, as shown by the PP SIZE value. The total disk assigned to rootvg (TOTAL PPs) comes to 35712 megabytes (MB), or over 35 gigabytes (GB). And the FREE PPs value tells you how much rootvg disk space can still be used for increasing file systems or other purposes. In this case, it is 29312 MB, or more than 29 GB.

Demands on rootvg disk space

It's important to keep a healthy amount of free disk space in rootvg, because there are a number of ways it can get used up. Here are some of the most common culprits:

  • Paging space
  • System dump devices
  • File system growth
  • Software installation and updates
  • AIX updates using multibos
  • mksysb image files

The next several sections describe these demands on rootvg space in detail.


Paging space

Paging space, or swap space, is a type of logical volume that serves as a staging area for processes that are not using active random-access memory (RAM). It's important to ensure you have enough paging space on your system. Whenever you change your memory allocation for an AIX system, you need to review paging space requirements.

Allocating and tuning memory

Before assigning extra paging space to your system, it's worth looking at memory allocation and memory tuning.

If paging space use is high, check to see if there is enough memory allocated for the workload. High paging space may be a symptom of a system that is starved for RAM. Memory tuning can also bring significant improvements in system performance and reduce the need for additional paging space. See the article about optimizing AIX 7 memory performance in the Resources section for more details.

Increasing paging space

When you do a basic AIX install, the default paging space is a logical volume called hd6. Considering that hd6 is rarely large enough to accommodate memory on a typical system, you probably need to increase it. You can do this without any outages using the chps command (see Resources) or via the AIX System Management Interface Tool (SMIT).

The good news is that your paging space doesn't all have to sit in rootvg. You can create new paging spaces in a data volume group, or a volume group just for paging. If you're removing a default paging space, such as hd6, it requires a special procedure.  The paging space and virtual memory documentation has more information (see Resources).

You can increase paging space or even add a new paging space device and make it active without bringing down your system. If you want to deactivate and remove an existing paging space that is used for the default system dump device, you need to allocate the default dump device to another logical volume or paging space first (see Resources).

Reducing paging space

You can understand why increasing paging space would take up extra disk space in rootvg, but why would decreasing it do the same? Actually, it's only as a temporary measure. When you reduce an active paging space using chps -d (see Resources), AIX creates a temporary paging space as a staging area, copies the contents of paging space to it, and then deletes the original paging space so it can be recreated with the smaller size. You can see what this looks like in Listing 3.

Listing 3. Reducing paging space
# chps -d 1 hd6

shrinkps: Temporary paging space paging00 created.
shrinkps: Dump device moved to temporary paging space.
shrinkps: Paging space hd6 removed.
shrinkps: Paging space hd6 recreated with new size.

You can't reduce paging space if you don't have enough space in your volume group for the temporary paging space. Paging space can make a big demand on disk space. Keep some spare disk for paging, either in rootvg or another volume group.


System dump devices

When a system is halted unexpectedly, selected areas of kernel data are copied to the primary dump device. This can be helpful for analysis, especially on those (hopefully rare) occasions when your operating system stops without any apparent reason.

There is usually a primary dump device, which may be allocated to your paging space. You can estimate the dump size to ensure you have sufficient room on your dump device and copy directory to capture the system dump.

The dumpcheck command is usually included in the root cron to estimate the size needed for a system dump. If your largest dump device is not large enough, dumpcheck posts a warning in the error report. If you need to increase your dump device or create a secondary dump device, see Resources to find out how.


File system growth

It's no surprise that the disk usage for rootvg file systems can grow. This might be due to log files, installation of software, temporary work space, or simply because someone copies big files into one of the rootvg file systems. Even if you're highly disciplined with your file systems, there are some commands that increase file systems anyway. For example, a file system can be increased automatically when you install new software using installp or when you perform a mksysb backup.

If you are running short on space for a file system, you can either do some quick cleaning up or make more room for growth, as long as you have some disk space available.


Software installation and updates

When new software is installed or existing software upgraded, it has an impact on disk usage. Often old versions are not removed for a long time (or ever!), so disk usage creeps up. In the event that you do need to return to an earlier version of software or you have to restore from a backup, it is best to make the process as quick as possible. Some spare disk space in rootvg may be critical to a quick and smooth rollback. You can use a number of strategies for updating AIX while providing for easy rollback (see Resources).


AIX updates using multibos

The AIX multibos command allows you to create and hold a separate bootable instance of AIX on your rootvg. You can update the alternate instance with a different level of AIX software updates while the primary instance is up and running. You can even log in to the alternate instance and customize it if you need. Then, when you're ready, you can have a short outage to start using the alternate instance.

Using multibos means you can do your AIX patching ahead of an outage window. During the outage, a reboot is all you need, and if you want to roll back to the earlier instance (now the standby), it's only a reboot away. That's a great backout plan—much easier than restoring from a backup.

If you're going to use multibos, then you need some free space in rootvg to store the second instance. It's not a complete copy of rootvg, but it does replicate most of the standard rootvg file systems. For more information about using multibos, see Resources.


mksysb image files

You can create mksysb backups using the mkdvd command and save them into International Organization for Standardization (ISO) format. This can be a flexible way to make system backups without the need for physical media. The mkdvd command does create some temporary file systems in rootvg unless you specify an alternate volume group or location to store the images. For more details about how to create reliable operating system backups, see Resources.


Allocating more disk space to rootvg

Even after you clean up, declutter, and do all you can to keep rootvg lean, you may still find yourself short of available disk space. To increase the disk allocation, you can do one or more of the following:

  • Allocate a new physical volume to rootvg using extendvg.
  • Increase an existing rootvg physical volume.
  • Mirror, migrate, or restore to a different, larger disk.

Adding a new disk to rootvg is easy enough. The extendvg command adds a new disk to the rootvg, which gives you extra physical partitions (PPs). But you may not need to increase rootvg by an entire disk.

If your rootvg is on a SAN subsystem, you may be able to increase the LUN size. You can recognize the larger disk by running the chvg -g rootvg command. Note that this option is supported for AIX 6.1 TL 4 or later. After rootvg is increased, verify using lsvg rootvg.

You can mirror the rootvg or migrate some of its logical volumes to a larger disk. See the AIX documentation about volume groups (Resources) for further information. The mksysb command is also an option if you want to back up the current rootvg and restore it to a different disk (see Resources).

Effects on backup and recovery

If you make significant changes to rootvg, whether it's additional disk allocation, creation of new file systems, or moving file systems into other volume groups, be aware of the possible impact to backup sizes and schedules. You also need to keep in mind any system recovery procedures and infrastructure in case they are affected.


Conclusion

A modular approach to volume group layouts lets you keep rootvg disk usage small so it is easier to back up and recover. Having data volume groups separate from rootvg also gives you the chance to tune, migrate, or replicate data without having a direct impact on rootvg.

Resources

Learn

Get products and technologies

  • Try out IBM software for free. Download a trial version, log into an online trial, work with a product in a sandbox environment, or access it through the cloud. Choose from over 100 IBM product trials.

Discuss

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into AIX and Unix on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=755417
ArticleTitle=Give rootvg the space it needs
publish-date=09062011