无需访问数据中心即可构建 Power Systems 服务器

与安装介质说再见

无需离开座位,便可配置全新的 IBM Power Systems 服务器。了解如何远程构建自己的虚拟 I/O 服务器、Network Installation Manager 服务器和 AIX 分区。

Anthony English, 高级 AIX 专家, Levitar Pty Ltd

http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/i/p-aenglish.jpgAnthony English 是来自澳大利亚悉尼市的一名独立承包人。他从 1991 年开始就一直在 AIX 系统上工作,他还撰写 IBM developerWorks 博客 AIX Down Under



2011 年 7 月 25 日

对数据中心的虚拟访问

物理访问服务器变得越来越困难了。系统常常位于较偏远的数据中心。即使您前往放置服务器的建筑物,但因为安全措施越来越严,访问服务器可能变得越来越困难。在实践中,远程安装系统通常是更好的选择。与站在冰冷的数据中心的控制台上、周围伴随着发出各种噪音的系统相比,呆在公司里是一种享受,所以您没必要物理访问服务器。

常用首字母缩略词

  • GUI:图形用户界面
  • ISO:国际标准化组织
  • LPAR:逻辑分区
  • NFS:网络文件系统
  • SSH:安全 shell

在本文中,将了解如何远程构建 IBM® Power Systems™ 服务器。假设服务器将由 Hardware Management Console (HMC) 管理,允许安装和配置 LPAR。本文将讨论所涉及的步骤,并提供许多参考资料和文档的链接(请参阅参考资料)。


硬件安装

如果没有人在现场操作,新的服务器不会自行安装并连接上各种线缆。这些操作是回避不了的,必须有人去安装硬件。如果您足够幸运的话,这也许是别人的问题。

假设别人(比如硬件人员)已经检查了电力和冷却需求、架设起服务器并将它连接到网络和存储子系统。HMC 已经打开并连接到网络上(要了解具体的做法,请参阅参考资料)。


通过 HMC 进行远程访问

现在,差不多已经做好通过远程控制接管安装的准备工作了。但是,硬件人员需要先在 HMC 上设置一些简单的菜单项,先以具有 hmcsuperadmin 权限的用户(比如 hscroot)的身份登录 HMC。然后,通过 HMC Management 菜单启用以下远程访问功能:

  • 通过 HMC 访问浏览器:
    • 选择 Manage User Profiles and Access
    • 选择一个具有 hmcsuperadmin 权限的用户。
    • 选择 User
    • 选择 Modify/View User
    • 选择 User Properties
    • 选择 Allow remote access via the web
  • 通过 SSH 远程执行 HMC 命令:
    • 选择 Remote Command execution
    • 选择 Enable remote command execution using the ssh facility
  • LPAR 上的控制台会话:
    • 选择 Remote Virtual Terminal
    • 选择 Enable remote virtual terminal connections
  • HMC 远程操作:
    • Remote Operation 设置为 Enabled

下载和交付

如果您很难存储、复制甚至找到 IBM AIX® 安装介质,那么有一个好消息。IBM 现在以电子方式提供 AIX 和 IBM i 软件。这意味着,您可以下载 ISO 格式的 AIX 和虚拟 I/O (VIO) 服务器安装映像,使用它们构建系统,无需使用物理介质

如果您签订了 IBM Software Maintenance Agreement (SWMA) 或 Software Subscription 合约,那么可以从 IBM Entitled Software Support(ESS;参见参考资料中的链接)下载 AIX 和 VIO 服务器安装映像。

现在,在您的桌边(远离数据中心的地方)就能够打开受支持的浏览器,并以 hscroot 身份(或具有相同权限的用户)登录 HMC。您可以添加托管系统并给此服务器供电(如果还没有执行这些任务的话),也可以通过 HMC 执行这些任务(请参阅参考资料)。


先构建 VIO 服务器,然后构建 NIM

好了,现在您有了一个全新的服务器。它的电源已经打开。下面要做什么呢?

如果您使用 AIX 已经有一段时间了,那么您可能会考虑使用 Network Installation Manager (NIM) 安装 AIX LPAR。但是,要想这么做,则需要一个 NIM 服务器,如果是在绿场 (green-field) 站点中,可能不需要 NIM 服务器。可以通过插入 AIX 安装介质构建 NIM 服务器,但是这对于您可能不可行,因为数据中心可能位于另一块大陆,与您在不同的时区中。那里没有人替您插入 DVD。那该怎么办呢?

在我看来,远程构建 Power System 服务器的最聪明的做法是先安装 VIO 服务器。如果从 IBM ESS 下载 VIO 服务器安装映像,则无需使用物理介质,即可安装 VIO 服务器(有关详细信息,请参阅参考资料)。应该将映像文件放在可从 HMC 访问的 NFS 服务器上。

获得 VIO 服务器安装映像之后,可以使用 HMC GUI 创建 VIO 服务器分区(请参阅参考资料)。然后,可以使用 SSH 连接 HMC 命令行。HMC installios 命令允许使用 NFS 装载工具来安装 VIO 服务器。可以以交互方式运行 installios 命令,依次回答与 VIO 服务器的网络安装有关的一系列问题。清单 1 提供一个示例。NFS 装载的安装映像的位置将以粗体显示。

清单 1. 安装示例
The following objects of type "managed system" were found.  
Please select one:

1. Server-8233-E8B-SN100273P

Enter a number (1): 1

The following objects of type "virtual I/O server partition" were found.  
Please select one:

1. VIO_1
2. VIO_2

Enter a number (1-2): 1

The following objects of type "profile" were found.  Please select one:

1. Default

Enter a number: 1
Enter the source of the installation images [/dev/cdrom]: nfs01:/Virtual_IO_Server.iso
Enter the client's intended IP address: 9.137.50.5
Enter the client's intended subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
Enter the client's gateway: 9.137.50.1
Enter the client's speed [100]: 1000
Enter the client's duplex [full]: full
Would you like to configure the client's network after the
        installation [yes]/no? yes

创建虚拟介质库

安装 VIO 服务器之后,可以创建虚拟介质库,在其中存储 ISO 格式的映像,以便 VIO 客户端可以使用它们。通过将 AIX 安装映像装载到虚拟介质库中,可以引导并安装第一个 AIX LPAR。完成上述操作之后,可以将该 LPAR 配置为 NIM 服务器。

注意:可以通过 HMC GUI 或在 VIO 服务器的命令行上使用 mkrep 命令来创建虚拟介质库。

从虚拟介质库构建 AIX

现在是时候安装第一个 AIX 分区了。请下载 AIX 安装映像(如果还没有的话),然后将它复制到虚拟介质库中。使用这个映像引导并安装第一个 LPAR。该 LPAR 将用作 NIM 服务器,您可以用它来安装其他 LPAR。

接下来,要在 HMC 上创建 LPAR(参见参考资料)。因为将它用作 NIM 服务器,所以需要确保它有足够的资源,尤其是磁盘空间。

可以通过 HMC(请参阅参考资料)或在 VIO 服务器的命令行上为这个 LPAR 分配虚拟光驱。将 AIX 安装映像装载到虚拟光驱中,使用它引导并安装 AIX。因为安装映像位于磁盘上的某个基于文件的设备中,所以可以快速轻松地完成安装。关于安装 AIX 的文档(请参阅参考资料)详细介绍了用于安装、迁移和配置 AIX LPAR 的许多选项。


构建 NIM 服务器

构建好第一个 LPAR 之后,即可将它配置为 NIM 服务器(有关详细信息,请参阅参考资料)。NIM 提供了一个通过网络安装和管理 AIX LPAR 的环境:可以使用 NIM 构建和备份 AIX LPAR 以及 VIO 服务器。红皮书《NIM 详解》(参见参考资料中的链接)介绍了一些构建 NIM 环境的简便步骤,其中包括构建 AIX 标准操作环境的最佳实践和计划。


构建 AIX LPAR

在安装其他 AIX LPAR 时,可以使用 NIM 构建它们。有许多关于使用 NIM 进行安装和引导的资料(请参阅参考资料中的链接)。如果需要创建 AIX 安装映像中没有的其他 NIM 资源,可以使用虚拟介质库。实际上,如果您愿意的话,可以使用虚拟介质库构建所有 AIX LPAR。虚拟介质库被称为聪明人的 NIM:它很容易掌握,非常适合用来在虚拟化环境中安装软件。它还可以快速地克隆使用 mkdvd 命令备份的 AIX 映像。

构建基本的 LPAR 之后,便可以选用更多的配置方式。您可能需要安装下载的新软件包,或者用最新的补丁包升级 AIX。在使用 mkdvd 命令将软件转换为 ISO 格式的文件之后,便可将它们复制到虚拟介质库中。即使服务器在很远的地方,您也能够在自己的桌边完成所有这些任务。


远程安装路线图

构建您永远不会亲眼看到的系统可能有点儿让人畏惧,但这很有意义,可以节省大量时间,还可以避免不必要的旅行,并且不再需要订购并保存物理介质。既然您已经了解所涉及的步骤,现在我们可以总结一下这些步骤。下面是远程控制的路线图:

  1. 安装硬件。
  2. 通过配置 HMC 启用远程访问。
  3. 发现托管系统。
  4. 给托管系统供电。
  5. 创建一个 VIO 服务器:
    1. 将 VIO 服务器和 AIX 安装映像下载到一个 NFS 服务器。
    2. 创建 VIO LPAR 配置文件。
    3. 从 HMC 命令行安装 VIO 服务器。
    4. 配置 VIO 服务器。
    5. 创建 VIO 虚拟介质库。
    6. 将 AIX 安装映像复制到 VIO 虚拟介质库。
  6. 创建 NIM 服务器 LPAR:
    1. 从虚拟介质库中的 AIX 安装映像进行引导。
    2. 将 LPAR 配置为 NIM 服务器。
  7. 使用 VIO 虚拟介质库创建其他 AIX LPAR。
  8. 完成操作。

在桌边舒适地操作

有了 HMC、VIO 服务器和 NIM,就无需收集一堆 DVD 或 CD,然后穿戴整齐,跑到数据中心去执行安装操作。现在,可以远程安装和管理 IBM Power System 服务器,根本不需要看到实际的系统。

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

  • 可以从 Entitled Software Support 下载 AIX、VIO 服务器和 IBM i 安装 ISO 映像。您需要提供您的 IBM 客户编号、计算机类型、序列号以及 SWMA,以证明您有资格。用您的 IBM ID 登录并单击 Software Downloads 链接。

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=742550
ArticleTitle=无需访问数据中心即可构建 Power Systems 服务器
publish-date=07252011

Building your Power Systems server without data center access

Say goodbye to installation media

You can configure your brand new IBM Power Systems server without getting up from your seat. Learn how to build your virtual I/O server, a network installation manager server, and your AIX partitions remotely.

Anthony English (anthonyenglish@levitar.com.au), Senior AIX Specialist, Freelance contractor

Anthony EnglishAnthony English is a freelance contractor in Sydney, Australia. He has worked on AIX systems since 1991 and writes the IBM developerWorks blog, AIX Down Under. He is also recognized as an IBM Champion for Power Systems. You can reach Anthony at anthonyenglish@levitar.com.au. Follow Anthony English on Twitter.



14 June 2011

Also available in Chinese

Virtual access to the data center

Getting physical access to servers is becoming increasingly difficult. Systems are often located in lights-out data centers in remote locations. And even if you do get to the unmarked building that hosts your machines, security is getting tighter. In practice, installing your system remotely is usually a better option. Standing at a console in a chilly data center with systems that beep and whirr as your only company is a luxury you can do without.

Frequently used acronyms

  • GUI: Graphical user interface
  • ISO: International Organization for Standardization
  • LPAR: Logical partition
  • NFS: Network file system
  • SSH: Secure shell

In this article, you learn how to build an IBM® Power Systems™ server remotely. The procedure assumes that your server will be managed by a hardware management console (HMC) that allows you to install and configure LPARs. The article covers the high-level steps involved and provides links to many resources to help you with more detailed documentation (see Resources).


Hardware installation

So far, no one has worked out how a new server can be racked up and cabled without anyone actually being there. No getting around it—someone has to install the hardware. If you're lucky, this will be somebody else's problem.

Assume that somebody else (like, the hardware person) has verified power and cooling requirements, racked up your server, and cabled it to the network and your storage subsystem. The HMC has been turned on and is on the network. (To learn how that's done, see Resources section.)


Remote access via the HMC

At this point, you're almost ready to take over the installation by remote control. First, however, the hardware person needs to set some simple menu options on the HMC. He or she begins by logging in to the HMC as a user with hmcsuperadmin rights, such as hscroot. From there, he or she steps through the HMC Management menus to enable the following remote-access capabilities:

  • Browser access via the HMC:
    • Select Manage User Profiles and Access.
    • Select a user who has hmcsuperadmin permissions.
    • Select User.
    • Select Modify/View User.
    • Select User Properties.
    • Select Allow remote access via the web.
  • HMC Remote command execution via SSH:
    • Select Remote Command execution.
    • Select Enable remote command execution using the ssh facility.
  • Console sessions on LPARs:
    • Select Remote Virtual Terminal.
    • Select Enable remote virtual terminal connections.
  • HMC remote operation:
    • Set Remote Operation to Enabled.

Download and deliver

If storing, copying, and even finding your IBM AIX® installation media is a pain point for you, how's this for good news? IBM now delivers your AIX and IBM i software electronically. That means you can download your AIX and virtual I/O (VIO) server installation images in ISO format and use them to build your system without the need for physical media.

If you have an IBM Software Maintenance Agreement (SWMA) or Software Subscription contract, you can download your AIX and VIO server installation images by connecting to IBM Entitled Software Support (ESS; see Resources for links).

Back at your desk, far away from the data center, you should now be able to fire up a supported browser and log in to the HMC as hscroot (or an equivalent user). At this point, you're ready to add a managed system and power on that server, if those tasks haven't already been performed. You can do this through the HMC (see Resources).


VIO server first, then NIM

Okay, so now you've got a brand-new server. It's powered on and begging to be put to work. Where to from here?

If you've been working on AIX for a while, you might be thinking of using network installation manager (NIM) to install your AIX LPARs. But to do that, you need a NIM server, which you may not have if it's a green-field site. You could always build your NIM server by inserting the AIX installation media, but that may not be an option for you—the data center may be on another continent and in a different time zone. There's no one there to insert DVDs for you. So, how do you proceed?

In my view, the smartest way to build a Power System server remotely is to install a VIO server, first. You can do that without physical media if you download the VIO server installation file from IBM ESS (see Resources for details). This file should reside on an NFS server that is accessible from the HMC.

When your VIO server installation image is available, you can create a VIO server partition using the HMC GUI (see Resources). Then, you can connect to the HMC command line using SSH. The HMC installios command allows you to install the VIO server by means of an NFS mount. You can run the installios command interactively, stepping through a series of questions regarding the network setup of the VIO server. Listing 1 provides an example. The location of the NFS-mounted installation image appears in bold.

Listing 1. installios example
The following objects of type "managed system" were found.  
Please select one:

1. Server-8233-E8B-SN100273P

Enter a number (1): 1

The following objects of type "virtual I/O server partition" were found.  
Please select one:

1. VIO_1
2. VIO_2

Enter a number (1-2): 1

The following objects of type "profile" were found.  Please select one:

1. Default

Enter a number: 1
Enter the source of the installation images [/dev/cdrom]: nfs01:/Virtual_IO_Server.iso
Enter the client's intended IP address: 9.137.50.5
Enter the client's intended subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
Enter the client's gateway: 9.137.50.1
Enter the client's speed [100]: 1000
Enter the client's duplex [full]: full
Would you like to configure the client's network after the
        installation [yes]/no? yes

Create a virtual media library

When you've got a VIO server, you can create a virtual media library that lets you store images in ISO format, so that they can then be made available to the VIO clients. By loading the AIX installation image into the virtual media library, you can boot and install your first AIX LPAR. Once that's done you can configure this LPAR as your NIM server.

Note: You can create the virtual media library via the HMC GUI or on the VIO server's command line using the mkrep command.

Build AIX from the virtual media library

Now it's time to install your first AIX partition. Download the AIX installation image (if you haven't already), and copy it to the virtual media library. You use this image to boot and install your first LPAR. This LPAR will be your NIM server, which you can use for installing your other LPARs.

Next, create the LPAR on the HMC (see Resources). As this is your NIM server, ensure that it has sufficient resources—in particular, disk space.

You can assign a virtual optical drive to the LPAR via the HMC (see Resources) or on the VIO server's command line. Load the AIX installation image onto the virtual optical drive and use it to boot and install AIX. As the installation image is on a file-backed device on disk, you'll be surprised how quickly and easily the installation can be done. The documentation on installing AIX (see Resources) steps you through the multitude of options for installing, migrating, and configuring your AIX LPARs.


Build a NIM server

After you've finished building the first LPAR, you can configure it as a NIM server (see Resources for details). NIM provides an environment for installing and managing AIX LPARs over the network: You can use NIM to build and back up your AIX LPARs and VIO servers. The Redbook NIM from A to Z (see Resources for a link) provides some easy steps for building a NIM environment and includes best practices and a helpful plan for building an AIX standard operating environment.


Build AIX LPARs

When it comes to installing your other AIX LPARs, you can build them using NIM. A wealth of information is available on installing and booting with NIM (see Resources for links). If you need to create other NIM resources that are not available in the AIX installation image, you can use the virtual media library to do it. In fact, you could use the library to build all your AIX LPARs, if you wanted to. The virtual media library has been called the smart man's NIM: It's easy to learn and works well for the installation of software in a virtualized environment. It's also a quick way of cloning AIX images that have been backed up using the mkdvd command.

Many more configuration options are available once the basic LPARs are built. You might need to install new packages that you have downloaded or update AIX with the latest fix pack. If you use the mkdvd command to convert the software to ISO format files, you can copy them onto the virtual media library. You should be able to do all of this from your desk, even if the server is in another hemisphere.


Remote installation road map

It may be a bit daunting thinking about building a system you'll never get to meet in person, but it makes a lot of sense and saves a great deal of time. It also avoids unnecessary travel and eliminates the need for ordering and storing physical media. Now that you've seen the steps involved, stand back and have a look at the view. Here's a road map of where you've been on remote control tours:

  1. Install the hardware.
  2. Configure the HMC for remote access.
  3. Discover the managed system.
  4. Power it on.
  5. Create a VIO server:
    1. Download VIO server and AIX installation media to an NFS server.
    2. Create a VIO LPAR profile.
    3. Install the VIO server from the HMC command line.
    4. Configure the VIO server.
    5. Create the VIO virtual media library.
    6. Copy the AIX installation image to your VIO server.
  6. Create the NIM server LPAR:
    1. Boot from the AIX installation image in the virtual media library.
    2. Configure the LPAR as a NIM server.
  7. Create other AIX LPARs using NIM or the VIO virtual media library.
  8. Take a bow.

From the comfort of your desk

With the HMC, the VIO server, and NIM, the days of gathering a bunch of DVDs or CDs, donning your winter woollies, and heading for the data center are behind you. These days, you really can install and manage your IBM Power System server without ever seeing it.

Resources

Learn

Get products and technologies

  • You can download the AIX, VIO server, and IBM i installation ISO images from Entitled Software Support. You'll need to prove that you're entitled by providing your IBM Customer number, your machine type and serial number, and SWMA. Log in with your IBM ID and click the Software Downloads link.

Discuss

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into AIX and Unix on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=680303
ArticleTitle=Building your Power Systems server without data center access
publish-date=06142011