性能侦探: 哪儿出问题了?

如何通过描述性能问题来帮助您诊断这些问题

如果您在 IBM® AIX® 操作系统上遇到某个性能问题,那么您要做的最重要的任务就是正确诊断它。当用户告诉您 “系统运行缓慢” 时,是时候执行一些侦探工作了。您需要知道应该询问哪些问题才能帮助您查明真正的问题。本系列由两部分组成,第一篇文章将演示如何通过描述性能问题来帮助您识别瓶颈。第 2 部分将介绍有助于从一开始就预防这些瓶颈的一些不错的实践。

Anthony English, 高级 AIX 专家, Levitar Pty Ltd

http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/i/p-aenglish.jpgAnthony English 是来自澳大利亚悉尼市的一名独立承包人。他从 1991 年开始就一直在 AIX 系统上工作,他还撰写 IBM developerWorks 博客 AIX Down Under



2012 年 5 月 03 日

“我们遇到一个问题!”

当系统运行缓慢时,用户就会寻找快速的解决办法。有时,快速解决问题的一种诱惑是寻找一个快速修复程序,但该程序可能存在隐藏的症状,无法解决真正的底层问题。这不是一种聪明的做法。如果医生在患者说完他们感觉不适后立即开出处方,您会怎么想?医药艺术的核心是诊断。修复系统性能问题也是如此。


询问正确的问题

您可能需要做大量的调查工作,才能准确找到是什么因素导致响应缓慢。报告的第一个症状可能并不是惟一的症状。它甚至可能不是最严重的症状。但它对找到何处发生了资源争用非常重要。这个收集流程可能会花费一些时间,但它可以避免您 “修复” 错误的问题,或避免您将时间和精力花在事实上并不重要的症状上。

当然,完全修复任何问题的第一步是识别问题是什么。要理解为什么响应缓慢,关键在于知道查看何处出了问题和询问出了什么问题。如果您可以将性能问题的详细描述集中起来,诊断会更容易、更迅速。


隔离问题

如果我必须确定处理性能问题的单一规则,我会说:您必须准确查明您基础架构中的哪个组件是难点所在。为此,您不但必须查看运行缓慢的组件,还要查看正常运行的组件。

与简单地假设系统系统绑定了处理器、网络缓慢或存储区域网络 (SAN) 配置较差相比,找到资源争用区域要有效得多。您会发现,解决一些能揭示基础架构中的哪个组件可能需要注意的基本问题是很有必要的。

AIX Performance PMR 工具

如果您有一个系统的执行性能低于预期,AIX Performance PMR 数据收集工具可能会为您提供方便(参见 参考资料)。除了提供一些帮助识别资源瓶颈的脚本,Performance PMR 工具 (perfpmr) 还包含一组问题,可帮助您和 IBM 支持人员准确查明性能问题位于何处。通过解决这些问题,您可以更好地掌握真正的瓶颈。

首先,询问一些基本的问题。到底是什么东西运行缓慢?缓慢的性能影响着一个用户还是许多用户?是否是某个进程运行缓慢,比如一个报告、备份或数据库更新?是否连接到了某个特定的 SAN 独立磁盘冗余阵列 (RAID) 集的所有系统都响应缓慢?哪个系统受到了影响?哪个应用程序正在运行?是整个 IBM Power systems™ 服务器还是一个逻辑分区 (LPAR) 受到影响?如果是一个 LPAR 受到影响,那么是否是某个文件系统或者甚至一个文件上存在瓶颈?

其他工具

如果将性能问题缩小到一个 LPAR,然后进一步深入研究。您可以通过 df 命令对文件系统的使用情况进行一些基本检查。nmontopas 等命令可提供逻辑分区的性能的总体视图。这两个命令都拥有一些菜单,可深入研究它们来查看处理器的使用情况,识别繁忙的磁盘,显示网络统计信息和查看其他许多有用指标的菜单。图 1 显示了 topas 命令的主屏幕。

图 1. topas 命令的主屏幕
topas 主屏幕的屏幕截图

vmstat 命令对识别性能瓶颈特别有用。仅这一个命令就可以显示内存、处理器和 I/O 数据,在下面的 清单 1 中可以看到该命令。

清单 1. 一个 vmstat 示例
vmstat 1 4

System configuration: lcpu=12 mem=7168MB ent=2.80

kthr    memory              page              faults              cpu
----- ----------- ------------------------ ------------ -----------------------
 r  b   avm   fre  re  pi  po  fr   sr  cy  in   sy  cs us sy id wa    pc    ec
 5  0 793201 942484   0   0   0   0    0   0 15550 32034 25717  4 37 50  8  1.32  47.1
 1  0 793201 942484   0   0   0   0    0   0 17369 36882 29660  6 40 48  6  1.45  51.6
 0  0 793201 942484   0   0   0   0    0   0 18309 39566 33628  8 39 47  7  1.45  51.9
 4  0 793203 942482   0   0   0   0    0   0 16068 34022 27586  5 39 49  6  1.40  49.8

有关 vmstat 如何快速查明系统中何处在争用资源的详细说明,请参阅 “优化 AIX 7 内存性能” 系列。请参阅 参考资料,以获取与这些和其他与系统性能相关的文章的链接。

您能否再现该问题?

当您使用 perfpmr 工具向 IBM 支持人员报告一个性能问题时,如果您可以提供问题的详细描述,那么这会很有帮助。例如,您可以提供有关该问题的最简单的可重复示例的更多细节。当您尝试再现该问题时,查看是否有一个命令或一系列事件始终生成缓慢的结果。AIX 命令的执行是否也很慢?

检查日志文件

日志文件是一个重要的信息来源。大部分应用程序、数据库和硬件组件都提供了错误日志。如果某个磁带备份的运行速度异常缓慢,原因可能是磁带驱动器需要清理。如果磁带驱动器连接到一个 AIX LPAR,您可以运行 errpt 命令。使用 -a 标志来提供错误的详细描述,如下面的 清单 2 所示。

清单 2. 详细的错误报告 (errpt -a)
# errpt -a | more
LABEL:          TAPE_ERR1
IDENTIFIER:     4865FA9B

Date/Time:       Sat Oct  1 12:56:00 AEST 2011
Sequence Number: 136509
Machine Id:      00C5A47E4C00
Node Id:         tsm1
Class:           H
Type:            PERM
WPAR:            Global
Resource Name:   rmt1
Resource Class:
Resource Type:
Location:
VPD:
        Manufacturer................IBM
        Machine Type and Model......ULT3580-TD3
        Serial Number...............1210002439
        Device Specific.(FW)........93G6

Description
TAPE OPERATION ERROR

如果有一个脚本运行缓慢,可能它会生成一些输出来表明它在执行哪个阶段。

是否任何内容发生了变化?

当一个运行良好的进程突然运行缓慢,您自然会问,是否有有些内容发生了变化。是否以前(可能在升级之前)正常运行的某个组件不再正常运行?修复不一定是回滚到升级前的配置。可能您需要设置一个调节参数或环境变量。

一个简单的过程(比如扩展文件系统)可能需要向卷组添加一个新的物理卷。如果新的物理卷具有默认队列深度属性,这可能导致 I/O 请求在操作系统上排队,无论 SAN 能够多么出色地响应 I/O 请求。

您可以使用 lsattr 命令检查设备属性。清单 3 中有一个示例展示了一个物理卷的队列深度。

清单 3. 列出设备属性
# lsattr -El hdisk7 -a queue_depth
queue_depth 3  Queue DEPTH True

要更改某个设备属性,通常可以使用 chdev 命令,如 清单 4 中所示。

清单 4. 更改设备属性
# chdev -l hdisk7 -a queue_depth=20
hdisk7 changed

如果设备正在使用,您可以释放可能正在使用它的任何资源或计划在重新启动后更改属性。为此,可以添加 -P 标志(参见下面的 清单 5)

清单 5. 永久更改设备属性
# chdev -l hdisk7 -a queue_depth=20 -P   # Make permanent change

一个正常运行的系统中有非常多的组件,如果您可以确定在出现性能问题之前发生了哪些配置更改,这会为您带来切实的帮助。

您期望获得怎样的性能?

如果是第一次设置应用程序、系统或硬件,那么对它们应有的性能预期是否合理?这些预期的依据是什么?例如,是否有一种运行类似进程的等效配置比运行缓慢的配置要快得多?

您可以在两个 AIX LPAR 上运行 perfpmr 工具,简单地对比它们。性能数据可提供一种快速度量正常运行的系统应该如何表现的方式。

清单 6 演示了如何在 10 分钟(600 秒)内运行一个 perfpmr 脚本。输出的前几行如下所示。

清单 6. 采集 10 分钟的性能统计数据
#./perfpmr.sh 600

(C) COPYRIGHT International Business Machines Corp., 2000,2001,2002,2003,2004-2008

23:12:26-10/05/11 :     perfpmr.sh begin
    PERFPMR: hostname: slowhost
    PERFPMR: perfpmr.sh Version 610 2010/12/01

问题是否是间歇性的?

在这里,perfpmr 工具再次提供了一些关键问题。性能是间歇性地缓慢还是一直缓慢?缓慢行为是否有一种模式?例如,有时系统似乎时在大量用户开始登录时达到性能峰值,但然后会迅速回落。

哪个方面缓慢?

找到到底是什么导致用户报告系统运行缓慢可能很有用。是登录所花的时间还是回送一个字符所花的时间?或许某个事务花了太长时间才完成,或者某个报告花了太长时间才生成。

重新启动是否会临时修复问题?

如果重新启动会让问题消失一会,这可能是由于供其他进程使用的资源未释放。如果在重新启动后问题再次出现这个问题,这花了多长时间?有时有必要禁用您怀疑导致响应缓慢的特定进程。

查找可能耗尽内存或处理器时间的进程或具查找有过量 I/O 资源需求的进程总是值得的。ps 命令有许多选项可帮助报告最繁忙的进程。清单 7 就是一个示例。

清单 7. ps 命令报告正在运行的进程
# ps -ef | more
			     UID      PID     PPID   C    STIME    TTY  TIME CMD
    root        1        0   0   Oct 04      -  0:01 /etc/init
    root   655466  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/snmpd
    root  2097342        1   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /bin/ksh /usr/tivoli/tsm/server/bin/
rc.adsmserv
    root  2424972  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/inetd
    root  2883806        1   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/lib/errdemon
    root  2949246        1   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/ccs/bin/shlap64
    root  3276878  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/syslogd
    root  3604516        1   0   Oct 04      -  1:24 /usr/sbin/syncd 60
    root  3670082  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:05 /usr/sbin/xntpd
    root  3735676  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/muxatmd
    root  3801210  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/hostmibd
    root  3866772        1   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/srcmstr
    root  3932286  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/portmap
    root  3997832  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/aixmibd
    root  4063420        1   0   Oct 04      -  0:44 /usr/sbin/getty /dev/consol
e
    root  4128936  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:03 sendmail: accepting connect
ions
    root  4259980  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/snmpmibd
    root  4325556        1   0   Oct 04      -  0:02 /usr/sbin/cron
    root  4391124  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:03 /usr/sbin/rsct/bin/vac8/IBM.
	CSMAgentRMd
    root  4522176        1   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/bin/dsmcad
    root  4718774  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/rpc.lockd -d 0
    root  4784284  2424972   0   Oct 04      -  1:10 xmtopas -p3
    root  4980888  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/biod 6
    root  5177506  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/nfsd 3891
    root  5243046  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/rpc.mountd
    root  5439672  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:04 /usr/sbin/rsct/bin/rmcd -a IBM.
LPCommands -r
    root  5570560        1   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 bin/nonstop_aix @config/nonstop.
properties
    root  5701822  2097342 208   Oct 04      - 938:56 dsmserv quiet
    root  5832888        1   0   Oct 04      -  0:02 /usr/local/sbin/sshd
    root  5898436  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/qdaemon
    root  5963972        1   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/uprintfd
    root  6095040  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/writesrv
    root  6160590  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:08 /usr/sbin/pcmsrv
    root  6291682  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/rsct/bin/IBM.DRMd

问题是否与网络相关?

对于客户端/服务器配置,可能有必要检查问题是在服务器本地运行时发生的,还是跨网络运行时发生的。您可以从控制台运行应用程序,查看响应时间是否与通过网络连接时类似。

如果应用程序使用客户端/服务器模型,您可以使用 ping server_IP_address 从客户端执行一些基本测试(参见 清单 8)。

清单 8. 按 IP 地址 Ping
ping 192.168.168.30
PING 192.168.168.30: (192.168.168.30): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 192.168.168.30: icmp_seq=0 ttl=255 time=0 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.168.30: icmp_seq=1 ttl=255 time=0 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.168.30: icmp_seq=2 ttl=255 time=0 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.168.30: icmp_seq=3 ttl=255 time=0 ms

----192.168.168.30 PING Statistics----
4 packets transmitted, 4 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 0/0/0 ms

ping IP 地址有助于确定问题是否与域名系统 (DNS) 配置相关。如果您怀疑网络有问题,网络配置的图表或描述是一个不错的出发点。

涉及到哪些供应商应用程序?

一定要知道在性能缓慢的系统上使用了哪些供应商应用程序。您通常应该为一些应用程序使用操作系统调节、建议的内核设置和其他环境变量。可能也有一些可修复应用程序的已知性能问题的补丁。

您应该知道安装了供应商应用程序的哪些次要版本/主要版本/级别,以及应用程序最近是否更新过。


一般建议

perfpmr 文档建议提供简单、具体的问题实例的清楚的书面陈述。它还建议将症状和事实与理论、想法和您自己的结论分开。文档中表明,“如果可以掌握所有的事实情况,那么性能团队可迅速消除不相关的事实。”

另一个建议是,确保使用了正确的机器来收集信息。在大型站点(尤其是许多虚拟化环境)中,很容易从错误的系统收集数据。文档表明,“这使得分析问题变得很困难。”

要识别机器型号和序列号,您可以使用 lsconf 命令。

当您处理性能问题时,很容易忘记您已采取了哪些步骤来解决问题。记录采取来诊断或修复问题的操作可以节省大量浪费的工作。


对耐心的回报

修复性能问题需要出色的诊断技能,将事实与理论和假设分开的能力,以及最重要的耐心。解决方案常常很简单,您的工作会以改进的系统性能作为回报。这个两部分系列中的下一篇文章将介绍一些实践,这些实践可帮助您避免从以开始就发生性能瓶颈。

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

  • 下载 perfpmr,AIX Performance PMR 数据收集工具。
  • 免费 试用 IBM 软件。下载试用版,登录在线试用版,在沙盒环境中使用产品。从 100 多个 IBM 产品试用版中自由选择。

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=812911
ArticleTitle=性能侦探: 哪儿出问题了?
publish-date=05032012

The performance detective: Where does it hurt?

How describing performance problems helps you diagnose them

If you're up against a performance problem on the IBM® AIX® operating system, your most important task is to diagnose it correctly. When a user tells you "the system is running slowly," it's time for some detective work. You need to know what questions to ask to help you pinpoint the real issue. The first article of this two-part series demonstrates how describing a performance problem can help you identify the bottlenecks. Part 2 will look at some good practices that help prevent those bottlenecks in the first place.

Share:

Anthony English (anthonyenglish@levitar.com.au), Senior AIX specialist, Levitar Pty Ltd

AnthonyAnthony English is an independent contractor from Sydney, Australia. He has worked on AIX systems since 1991 and writes the IBM developerWorks blog, AIX Down Under. He is also recognized as an IBM Champion for Power Systems. You can reach Anthony at anthonyenglish@levitar.com.au.



31 January 2012

Also available in Chinese Russian

"Houston, we have a problem!"

It's not the sort of news you want to hear. A system is slow, and there are users who are looking for a quick resolution. Sometimes the temptation is to go for a quick fix that may end up masking symptoms instead of addressing the real underlying problem. That's not a smart approach. What would you think of a doctor who prescribes medicine as soon as a patient says they aren't feeling well? The heart of the art of medicine is diagnosis. The same is true for fixing system performance problems.


Asking the right questions

It can take quite a bit of investigation to work out exactly what the factors contributing to the slow response times are. The first symptom reported may not be the only symptom. It may not even be the worst one. It is vital to find where the resource contention is happening. This fact-gathering process could take some time, but it saves you from "fixing" the wrong problem or spending time and effort on what is, in fact, only a minor symptom.

The first step in fixing any problem at all, of course, is identifying what the problem is. The key to understanding why a system is responding poorly is knowing where to look and what questions to ask. The diagnosis will be easier and faster if you can put together a detailed description of the performance problem.


Isolating the problem

If I had to identify a single rule for dealing with performance problems, it would be this one: You must pinpoint exactly which component in your infrastructure is the pain point. To do that, you have to look not only at what's running poorly but also at what's working normally.

Locating the areas of resource contention is far more effective than simply assuming the system is processor-bound, the network is slow, or the Storage Area Network (SAN) is poorly configured. You'll find it worth working through some basic questions that shed light on which component in your infrastructure might need attention.

The AIX Performance PMR tools

If you have a system that's performing below expectations, the AIX Performance PMR data collection tools may come in handy (see Resources). In addition to providing some scripts that help you identify resource bottlenecks, the Performance PMR tools (perfpmr) include a set of questions that help you and IBM Support pinpoint exactly where the performance problem lies. By working through the questions, you can get a better grasp of the real bottlenecks.

To start with, ask some basic questions. What exactly is running slowly? Is the slow performance affecting a single user or many users? Is it one process that is slow, such as a report, a backup, or a database update? Are all the systems connecting to a particular SAN redundant array of independent disks (RAID) set responding poorly? Which system is affected? What application is running? Is it an entire IBM Power systems™ server or just one logical partition (LPAR)? If it is a single LPAR, is there a bottleneck on a single file system or even just one file?

Other tools

If you narrow the performance problem down to a single LPAR, you can then drill down further. You can do some basic checks for file system usage via the df command. Commands such as nmon and topas give an overall view of performance for a logical partition. Both these commands have menus that allow you to drill down to view processor usage, identify busy disks, display network statistics, and look at many other useful metrics. Figure 1 below shows the main screen for the topas command.

Figure 1. Main screen for the topas command
Screen shot of the topas main screen

The vmstat command is especially useful for identifying performance bottlenecks. This single command can show you memory, processor, and I/O data, as you can see below in Listing 1.

Listing 1. A vmstat example
vmstat 1 4

System configuration: lcpu=12 mem=7168MB ent=2.80

kthr    memory              page              faults              cpu
----- ----------- ------------------------ ------------ -----------------------
 r  b   avm   fre  re  pi  po  fr   sr  cy  in   sy  cs us sy id wa    pc    ec
 5  0 793201 942484   0   0   0   0    0   0 15550 32034 25717  4 37 50  8  1.32  47.1
 1  0 793201 942484   0   0   0   0    0   0 17369 36882 29660  6 40 48  6  1.45  51.6
 0  0 793201 942484   0   0   0   0    0   0 18309 39566 33628  8 39 47  7  1.45  51.9
 4  0 793203 942482   0   0   0   0    0   0 16068 34022 27586  5 39 49  6  1.40  49.8

For a detailed explanation of how vmstat can quickly point you to where a system is struggling for resources, see the "Optimizing AIX 7 memory performance" series. See Resources for links to these and other articles related to system performance.

Can you reproduce the problem?

When you report a performance problem to IBM Support using the perfpmr tools, it helps if you can provide a detailed description of the problem. For example, you can provide more detail about the simplest repeatable example of the problem. When you try to reproduce the problem, see if there is a command or a sequence of events that always produces slow results. Is the execution of AIX commands also slow?

Check log files

Log files are an important source of information. Most applications, databases, and hardware components provide some sort of error logging. If a tape backup is running unusually slowly, it may be simply because the tape drive needs to be cleaned. If the tape drive connects to an AIX LPAR, you can run the errpt command. Use the -a flag for a detailed description of the error, as shown below in Listing 2.

Listing 2. Detailed error report (errpt -a)
# errpt -a | more
LABEL:          TAPE_ERR1
IDENTIFIER:     4865FA9B

Date/Time:       Sat Oct  1 12:56:00 AEST 2011
Sequence Number: 136509
Machine Id:      00C5A47E4C00
Node Id:         tsm1
Class:           H
Type:            PERM
WPAR:            Global
Resource Name:   rmt1
Resource Class:
Resource Type:
Location:
VPD:
        Manufacturer................IBM
        Machine Type and Model......ULT3580-TD3
        Serial Number...............1210002439
        Device Specific.(FW)........93G6

Description
TAPE OPERATION ERROR

If there is a script that is running slowly, perhaps it generates some output to indicate which stage it is up to.

Has anything changed?

When a process that was running well suddenly starts to run slowly, you naturally ask if anything has changed. Is there something that worked previously—perhaps before an upgrade—that no longer works properly? The fix may not necessarily be to roll back to the pre-upgrade configuration. It may simply be that there is a tuning parameter or environmental variable that you need to set.

A simple procedure, such as extending a file system, may require adding a new physical volume to a volume group. If the new physical volume has the default queue depth attribute, it can cause I/O requests to queue on the operating system, regardless of how well the SAN may be able to service I/O requests.

You can check device attributes using the lsattr command. Listing 3 has an example showing the queue depth for a physical volume.

Listing 3. List device attribute
# lsattr -El hdisk7 -a queue_depth
queue_depth 3  Queue DEPTH True

To change a device attribute, you can usually use the chdev command, as shown in Listing 4.

Listing 4. Change device attribute
# chdev -l hdisk7 -a queue_depth=20
hdisk7 changed

If the device is in use, you can free up any resources that may be using it or schedule the attribute change for after a reboot. You can do this by adding the -P flag (see Listing 5 below).

Listing 5. Permanent change to device attribute
# chdev -l hdisk7 -a queue_depth=20 -P   # Make permanent change

There are so many components in a well-functioning system that it really helps if you can find out what configuration changes might have occurred in the lead-up to the performance problem.

What performance was expected?

If the application, system, or hardware is being set up for the first time, are there reasonable expectations about how it is supposed to perform? On what are those expectations based? For example, is there an equivalent configuration that runs a similar process significantly faster than the one that is running slowly?

You can get a simple comparison between two AIX LPARs by running the perfpmr tools on both of them. The performance data can provide a quick measure of what a normally functioning system should look like.

Listing 6 demonstrates how to run a perfpmr script for 10 minutes (600 seconds). The first few lines of the output are shown below.

Listing 6. Capturing performance statistics for 10 minutes
#./perfpmr.sh 600

(C) COPYRIGHT International Business Machines Corp., 2000,2001,2002,2003,2004-2008

23:12:26-10/05/11 :     perfpmr.sh begin
    PERFPMR: hostname: slowhost
    PERFPMR: perfpmr.sh Version 610 2010/12/01

Is the problem intermittent?

Here again, the perfpmr tools offer some key questions. Is the slow performance intermittent or constant? Is there a pattern to the slow behavior? For example, sometimes systems seem to peak when a large number of users log in at the start of the day, but then things settle down quickly.

What aspect is slow?

It can be useful to find out what exactly is leading users to report that the system is running slowly. Is it the time it takes to log in or the time it takes to echo a character? Perhaps a transaction is taking a long time to complete or a report is taking too long to generate.

Does a reboot provide a temporary fix?

If a reboot makes the problem disappear for a while, it could be because of a resource that is consumed but not released for use by other processes. If the problem does creep in again after a reboot, how long does that take? Sometimes it is worth disabling a particular process that you suspect is causing the slow response times.

It's always worth looking for processes that may be chewing up memory or processor time or putting excessive demand on I/O resources. The ps command has many options that help report the busiest processes. Listing 7 is an example.

Listing 7. The ps command reports the processes that are running
		# ps -ef | more
			     UID      PID     PPID   C    STIME    TTY  TIME CMD
    root        1        0   0   Oct 04      -  0:01 /etc/init
    root   655466  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/snmpd
    root  2097342        1   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /bin/ksh /usr/tivoli/tsm/server/bin/
rc.adsmserv
    root  2424972  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/inetd
    root  2883806        1   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/lib/errdemon
    root  2949246        1   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/ccs/bin/shlap64
    root  3276878  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/syslogd
    root  3604516        1   0   Oct 04      -  1:24 /usr/sbin/syncd 60
    root  3670082  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:05 /usr/sbin/xntpd
    root  3735676  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/muxatmd
    root  3801210  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/hostmibd
    root  3866772        1   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/srcmstr
    root  3932286  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/portmap
    root  3997832  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/aixmibd
    root  4063420        1   0   Oct 04      -  0:44 /usr/sbin/getty /dev/consol
e
    root  4128936  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:03 sendmail: accepting connect
ions
    root  4259980  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/snmpmibd
    root  4325556        1   0   Oct 04      -  0:02 /usr/sbin/cron
    root  4391124  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:03 /usr/sbin/rsct/bin/vac8/IBM.
	CSMAgentRMd
    root  4522176        1   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/bin/dsmcad
    root  4718774  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/rpc.lockd -d 0
    root  4784284  2424972   0   Oct 04      -  1:10 xmtopas -p3
    root  4980888  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/biod 6
    root  5177506  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/nfsd 3891
    root  5243046  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/rpc.mountd
    root  5439672  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:04 /usr/sbin/rsct/bin/rmcd -a IBM.
LPCommands -r
    root  5570560        1   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 bin/nonstop_aix @config/nonstop.
properties
    root  5701822  2097342 208   Oct 04      - 938:56 dsmserv quiet
    root  5832888        1   0   Oct 04      -  0:02 /usr/local/sbin/sshd
    root  5898436  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/qdaemon
    root  5963972        1   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/uprintfd
    root  6095040  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/writesrv
    root  6160590  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:08 /usr/sbin/pcmsrv
    root  6291682  3866772   0   Oct 04      -  0:00 /usr/sbin/rsct/bin/IBM.DRMd

Is the problem related to the network?

With a client/server configuration, it may be worth testing to see if the problem occurs when run locally on the server rather than across the network. You can run the application from the console and see if the response time is similar to when you connect across the network.

If the application uses a client/server model, you can do some basic testing from the client using ping server_IP_address (see Listing 8).

Listing 8. Ping by IP address
ping 192.168.168.30
PING 192.168.168.30: (192.168.168.30): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 192.168.168.30: icmp_seq=0 ttl=255 time=0 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.168.30: icmp_seq=1 ttl=255 time=0 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.168.30: icmp_seq=2 ttl=255 time=0 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.168.30: icmp_seq=3 ttl=255 time=0 ms

----192.168.168.30 PING Statistics----
4 packets transmitted, 4 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 0/0/0 ms

A ping by IP address can help identify if the issue is related to Domain Name System (DNS) configuration. If you suspect network problems, a diagram or description of the network configuration is a useful starting point.

What vendor applications are involved?

It is important to know what vendor applications are used on a system that is performing poorly. Often there are operating system tunables, recommended kernel settings, and other environmental variables that you should use for some applications. There also may be patches for the application that fix known performance issues.

You should know what version/release/level of the vendor application is installed and if the application has been updated recently.


General advice

The perfpmr documentation recommends providing a clear written statement of a simple specific instance of the problem. It also recommends separating the symptoms and facts from theories, ideas, and your own conclusions. As the documentation says, "If all the facts are available, the performance team can quickly eliminate the unrelated ones."

Another piece of advice is to ensure the correct machine is being used for information gathering. In large sites—and especially with so many virtualized environments—it can be easy to collect data from the wrong system. As the documentation says, "This makes it very hard to investigate the problem."

To identify the machine model and serial number, you can use the lsconf command.

When you're working through a performance problem, it can be easy to lose track of what steps you've already taken to resolve the issues. Keeping a record of the actions taken to diagnose or fix the problem can save you a lot of wasted effort.


The rewards of patience

Fixing performance problems requires good diagnostic skills, an ability to separate facts from theories and assumptions, and, above all, patience. Often the solution is a simple one, and your efforts are rewarded with an improved system performance. The next article in this two-part series looks at some practices that can help you prevent performance bottlenecks from occurring in the first place.

Resources

Learn

Get products and technologies

  • Download perfpmr, the AIX Performance PMR data collection tools.
  • Try out IBM software for free. Download a trial version, log into an online trial, work with a product in a sandbox environment, or access it through the cloud. Choose from over 100 IBM product trials.

Discuss

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into AIX and Unix on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=790265
ArticleTitle=The performance detective: Where does it hurt?
publish-date=01312012