内容


浏览目录树

以更少的键击从 cd 命令获取更多信息

Comments

即使您多年以来一直在使用 cd 命令,您也可能会对它的一些特性感到惊讶。究竟您最后一次运行 man cd 命令是在什么时候?(参见 参考资料,获取 cd 命令的文档链接。)cd 命令有几个小技巧,可以帮助您节约大量不必要的录入。考虑到您必须频繁更改目录,这对于您来说一定是个好消息。

本文检查 UNIX® 目录结构,展示如何查看您的当前目录路径并将您的目录添加到您的 shell 提示。本文首先展示一些简单的 cd 示例,然后解释什么是绝对路径相对路径,以及何时使用它们。然后,我将分享我最喜欢的一些省时的 cd 快捷键,比如如何转到您的主目录,如何识别任意用户的主目录。我还将展示如何在两个目录之间来回切换,并提供一个关于 cd 命令的小秘笈,我将其称为 cd 转移(shuffle)。那是在两个相似的目录路径之间移动的一个简单方法。

但是,在查看更改目录之前,重要的是要对 UNIX 目录结构有一定的理解。

向上浏览目录树

Windows® 操作系统中的文件夹 在 UNIX 中称为目录目录 是包含几组文件和其他目录的容器。

UNIX 分支中的所有目录从根目录向下扩展,根目录用正斜杠(/)表示。例如:

  • 目录 /usr 是根目录(/)的一个子目录。
  • /usr/spool 目录是 /usr 的一个子目录。
  • /usr/spool/mail 目录是 /usr/spool 的一个子目录。

...以此类推。

我位于什么目录内?

从 shell 提示,您可以显示您所在的目录的路径名,方法是运行命令 pwd,如 清单 1 所示。可以通过以下方法记住这个命令:present working directory(当前工作目录)。

清单 1. 显示当前工作目录(pwd)
# pwd
# /home/anthony

cd 基础

要切换到另一个目录,命令格式为:cd + 空格 + 目标目录。记住,UNIX 命令是区分大小写的,因此,请采用小写字母,除非目录中的确有大写字母。在 清单 2 中的示例中,我正在更改到的每个目录都以一个正斜杠(/)开始,原因是我正在使用绝对路径,绝对路径是从根目录开始的目录路径。

清单 2. 使用绝对路径的 cd 命令
# cd /var
# cd /usr/spool/mail
# cd /home/anthony

您完全可以到达任何目录 — 如果有权限的话(您需要执行权限)— 使用它的绝对路径名。清单 2 中的命令作为示例提供。通常您不会在一行中运行两个 cd 命令,因为更改工作目录的目的是为了在其中进行一些工作,而不是直接移动到别的地方。

如果您进入的目录不是有效目录,或者您没有访问该目录的权限,cd 命令将报告一个错误。如果您的 cd 命令失败,那么您仍将处于原目录中。

我在哪里?

好吧,您的 cd 命令没有报告错误,因此假定它有效。但确定您现在所处的目录还是不错的。

当然,每当您想检查当前工作目录时,您都可以运行 pwd 命令,但还有更好的方法。只要 cd 命令成功运行,新的当前工作目录将存储在环境变量 $PWD(Present Working Directory)中。注意,与 pwd 命令不同,这个变量是大写。因此,您可以使用 echo 命令显示 $PWD 的值,如 清单 3 所示。

清单 3. 显示 $PWD
# echo $PWD
# /home/anthony

难道这不比您此前看到的运行 pwd 命令更容易吗?不管怎样,了解您的目录存储在一个变量中还是很有用。原因是:可以将 $PWD 的值显示为 shell 提示的一部分。

提示我的工作目录

目前为止,示例中的 shell 提示都设置为正斜杠、英镑符号、或符号 #。但是,如果您在 shell 提示中包含 $PWD,您就总是知道您当前所处的目录。然后,当您运行 cd 时,变量 PWD 将被更新并显示为 shell 提示的一部分。

通过添加 清单 4 中的行,可以在您主目录的 .profile 文件中设置 shell 提示变量 PS1。

清单 4. 在 shell 提示中包含 $PWD
PS1='${PWD} > '
export PS1

当您下次登录时,您的 .profile 文件将作为登录流程的一部分执行,这将把工作目录显示为 shell 提示的一部分。如果您知道如何达到您的主目录,现在就可以执行 .profile 文件(参见 清单 5)。

清单 5. 使用新的 shell 提示执行新的 .profile
# . ./.profile
/home/anthony >

您可以定制这个提示,以包含主机名、登录名、或者一些显示字符。要了解关于加强 shell 提示的更多信息,请参见 参考资料 中的文章链接 “Tip: Prompt magic”。

相对路径更好

当您只想从目录树的一个分支跳转到附近的另一个分支时,使用绝对路径会有点麻烦,这就是 cd 命令允许使用相对路径的原因。默认情况下,相对路径指的是相对于您所在的当前目录的路径。使用相对路径意味着更少的键击,尽管那取决于您要从哪个目录前往哪个目录。

例如,要从 /home/anthony 到 /home/anthony/bin,您不必输入目标目录的绝对路径(/home/anthony/bin);输入相对于您的当前目录的新路径即可,如 清单 6 所示。

清单 6. 使用一个相对路径的 cd 命令
/home/anthony > cd bin
/home/anthony/bin >

注意,shell 提示是如何显示 $PWD 的新值的。

访问父目录

如果您使用 -a 标志运行 ls 命令,将会看到两个条目:一个是 .(圆点),另一个是 ..(点-点)。单点表示当前目录,双点表示父目录 — 当前目录上边紧临的目录。

当您想通过 cd 到上一层目录时,使用父目录很方便,如 清单 7 所示。

清单 7. 使用 cd 命令前往父目录(点-点)
/var/spool/mqueue > cd ..
/var/spool >

然后您可以前往一个新的子目录(参见 清单 8)。

清单 8. 使用 cd 前往子目录
/var/spool > cd mail
/var/spool/mail >

或者,也可以在单个命令中实现上述切换,如 清单 9 所示。

清单 9. 在一个命令中从分支到分支
/var/spool/mqueue > cd ../mail
/var/spool/mail >

甚至可以向上或向下跳几个目录层级,如 清单 10 所示。

清单 10. 跳过几个分支
/usr/IBM/WebSphere/AppServer/profiles > cd ../../PortalServer/log
/usr/IBM/WebSphere/PortalServer/log >

一旦您习惯了使用相对路径,它将变为第二属性。

主目录快捷方式

每位 UNIX 用户都有一个主目录,在创建用户时定义。可以在 /etc/passwd 中或使用 smit 查询主目录,但有更好的方法返回主目录。

使用 cd 直接返回主目录

如果您想返回主目录,可以运行不带任何参数的 cd 命令,如 清单 11 所示。

清单 11. 使用 cd 命令快速返回主目录
/usr/IBM/WebSphere/PortalServer/log > cd
/home/anthony >

主目录保存在变量 $HOME 中,这意味着不带参数的 cd 命令相当于运行 cd $HOME(参见 清单 12)。

清单 12. cd $HOME
/var/spool/mail > cd $HOME
/home/anthony >

$HOME 变量对于了解主目录很有用,即使您现在不打算返回主目录。事实上,$HOME 变量太有用了,以至于它有一个别名:波浪号(~)。

调用主目录 — 波浪号

您可能需要查看或使用主目录中的文件。如果您位于其他目录中,不必先返回主目录或者键入完整的目录路径,只需使用波浪号即可。如 清单 13 所示,可以从主目录之外的某个地方随意复制主目录中的 .profile 文件。

清单 13. $HOME 的波浪号快捷方式
/usr/IBM/WebSphere > cp ~/.profile ~/.profile.save

远程访问您的邻居的主目录

还可以使用波浪号列示或处理另一个用户的主目录中的文件(如果有足够权限)。为此,执行后面带该用户登录名的波浪号命令,如 清单 14 所示。

清单 14. 波浪号是每个人的 HOME
/home/anthony > cp ~john/.profile ~john/.profile.save

这比猜想用户的主目录更安全,比在 /etc/passwd 中查找更容易。

通过破折号返回

通常,您需要更改目录,只需运行一两个命令,然后返回上一个目录($OLDPWD)。为此,可以使用 cd dashback,即 cd 后面跟一个破折号(cd -)。在 清单 15 中,注意 $PS1 shell 提示如何在我每次运行 cd 命令时显示新目录。

清单 15. 返回上一个目录
/home/anthony > cd /usr/sys/inst.images
/usr/sys/inst.images > cd -
/home/anthony >

切换开关

使用这个 cd dashback 的结果是:如果两次输入该命令,就可以在两个目录之间来回切换。这个功能在下面这种情况下很有用:您想在一个目录中更改一个程序或配置文件,然后在另一个目录下的日志文件中查看结果。清单 16 展示了两个目录之间的切换。与其他示例类似,我将跳过您在实际更改目录后可能立即会运行的命令。

清单 16. 在 $PWD 和 $OLDPWD 之间切换
/data/log > cd /apps/config
/apps/config > cd -
/data/log > cd -
/apps/config >

cd 转移

我发现一个特别有用的特性是 cd 转移。当两个目录路径只有一个区别(比如一个单词不同)时,这个是从旧目录切换到新目录的一种简单方法。

对于从没用过这个特性的 UNIX 老手来说,这个语法可能有些奇怪,但它的确有效,参见 清单 17

清单 17. cd 转移语法
cd directorya directoryb

第一个参数是当前目录路径中需要替换的参数,第二个参数是替换字符串。例如,要从 v7 移动到 v8,只需键入 cd v7 v8,如 清单 18 所示。

清单 18. 使用 cd 转移
/programs/v7/reports/monthly > cd v7 v8
/programs/v8/reports/monthly >

一个命令就节约了 19 次键击!这比向上三个父目录,然后沿目录树向下,或者使用绝对路径要简单得多。

这个两个参数 cd 命令有很多用途:在类似的路径之间切换,这些路径的惟一区别是一个数据库实例名、一个分支名、或者也许是一个日期。cd 转移可以在非常短的时间内为您节约数千次键击。

跳过历史

如果历史上的每年每月都有一个对应目录,cd 转移允许从一年跳到另一年,清单 19 展示了它的工作方式。

清单 19. 新年
/hist/2010/april/reports > cd 2010 2011
/hist/2011/april/reports >

如果您想更改到同一年中的一个不同的月,使用 cd 转移,以 from 月份和 to 月份作为参数,如 清单 20 所示。

清单 20. 切换月份目录
/hist/2011/april/reports > cd april may
/hist/2011/may/reports >

如果两个目录路径只有一个字符串不同,cd 转移特性比较理想。

cd 没问题吗?

当我在脚本中使用 cd 时,我总是验证更改目录命令有效后才继续下一条命令。我曾经看到一个操作系统被一个两年来每天都在运行的两行清理脚本擦除。当一个远程主机关闭时,一个 NFS 加载的目录将变得不可用。cd 命令失败,清理脚本一直继续,直到系统上没有任何东西留下可以清理。

在继续进行其他操作之前验证 cd 命令已生效的一种简单方法是在 cd 命令之后立即使用 shell 短路 && 。如果 cd 命令失败,下一条命令将不会继续。参见 清单 21

清单 21. cd 和短路
cd /some/dir && rm *.log

结束语

在本文中,您学习了 cd 命令。您看到了如何使用绝对路径和相对路径更改目录,如何显示所在的工作目录,以及如何在两个目录之间来回切换。您看到了引用主目录的不同方法,了解了鲜为人知的 cd 转移特性,该特性允许替换当前路径中的字符串并切换到新路径。

cd 命令在命令行上非常重要,用途非常广泛,了解它的众多快捷方式是值得的。


相关主题

  • 参阅 cd 命令的命令参考资料
  • 获取 AIX 文件系统和目录 简介。
  • 使用 Tip: Prompt magic(Daniel Robbins,developerWorks,2000 年 9 月)定制您的 shell 提示。
  • AIX and UNIX 专区:developerWorks 的“AIX and UNIX 专区”提供了大量与 AIX 系统管理的所有方面相关的信息,您可以利用它们来扩展自己的 UNIX 技能。
  • AIX and UNIX 专题汇总:AIX and UNIX 专区已经为您推出了很多的技术专题,为您总结了很多热门的知识点。我们在后面还会继续推出很多相关的热门专题给您,为了方便您的访问,我们在这里为您把本专区的所有专题进行汇总,让您更方便的找到您需要的内容。
  • AIX and UNIX 下载中心:在这里你可以下载到可以运行在 AIX 或者是 UNIX 系统上的 IBM 服务器软件以及工具,让您可以提前免费试用他们的强大功能。
  • IBM Systems Magazine for AIX 中文版:本杂志的内容更加关注于趋势和企业级架构应用方面的内容,同时对于新兴的技术、产品、应用方式等也有很深入的探讨。IBM Systems Magazine 的内容都是由十分资深的业内人士撰写的,包括 IBM 的合作伙伴、IBM 的主机工程师以及高级管理人员。所以,从这些内容中,您可以了解到更高层次的应用理念,让您在选择和应用 IBM 系统时有一个更好的认识。

评论

添加或订阅评论,请先登录注册

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=643088
ArticleTitle=浏览目录树
publish-date=03242011

Up and down the directory tree

Get more from the cd command with fewer keystrokes

The cd command you use to change directories is one of the first UNIX® shell commands you learn, and it's remarkably versatile. Learn some shortcuts that make it even easier for you to zip around between directories. Also, find out how to make good use of some common variables that help cd work for you.

Share:

Anthony English (anthonyenglish@levitar.com.au), Senior AIX Specialist, Freelance contractor

Anthony EnglishAnthony English is a freelance contractor in Sydney, Australia. He has worked on AIX systems since 1991 and writes the IBM developerWorks blog, AIX Down Under. He is also recognized as an IBM Champion for Power Systems. You can reach Anthony at anthonyenglish@levitar.com.au. Follow Anthony English on Twitter.



18 November 2010

Also available in Chinese

Even if you've been using the cd command for years, you might be surprised at some of its features. After all, when did you last run man cd? (For a link to the documentation for the cd command, see Resources.) The cd command has a few little tricks that can save you lots of unnecessary typing. Considering how often you have to change directories, that's good news for you.

This article looks at the UNIX® directory structure and shows how you can see your current directory path and add your directory to your shell prompt. After looking at some simple cd examples, the article explains what is meant by the absolute path and the relative path and when to use each one. Then, I share some of my favourite time-saving cd shortcuts, such as how to get to your home directory and how to identify the home directory of any user. I show how to toggle back and forth between two directories and provide a little-known gem about cd that I like to call the cd shuffle. It's a simple way of moving between two similar directory paths.

Before looking at changing directories, however, it's important to understand a bit about the UNIX directory structure.

Uprooting the directory tree

What you may know as folders in Windows® operating systems are called directories in UNIX. A directory is a container that holds groups of files and other directories.

All directories in UNIX branch downward from the root directory, denoted by the forward slash (/). For example:

  • The directory /usr is a subdirectory of the root directory (/).
  • The /usr/spool directory is a subdirectory of /usr.
  • The /usr/spool/mail directory is a subdirectory of /usr/spool.

. . . and so on.

What directory am I in?

From a shell prompt, you can display the path name of the directory you're in by running the command pwd, shown in Listing 1. Remember this command as the present working directory.

Listing 1. Display the present working directory (pwd)
# pwd
# /home/anthony

The abc of cd

To change to another directory, use cd followed by a space, and then the directory you want to go to. Remember that UNIX commands are case-sensitive, so make it all lowercase unless the directory name actually has uppercase letters in it. In the examples in Listing 2, each directory I'm changing to starts with a slash (/), because I'm using the absolute path, tracing the trail of directories all the way from the root directory.

Listing 2. The cd command using an absolute path
# cd /var
# cd /usr/spool/mail
# cd /home/anthony

You can get to any directory at all—if you have permission (you need execute permission)—using its absolute path name. The commands in Listing 2 are provided as examples. You wouldn't ordinarily run two cd commands in a row, because the point of changing your working directory is to do some work in it, not to move on to somewhere else straight away.

If the directory you entered isn't a valid directory or you don't have permission to go there, the cd command reports an error. If your cd command fails, then you stay in the directory you started from.


Where am I?

Okay. Your cd command didn't report any failures, so you assume that it worked. But it would be nice to know for sure which directory you're now in.

Of course, you could run the pwd command every time you need to check the current working directory, but there's a better way. Whenever you run the cd command successfully, the new working directory is stored in the environmental variable $PWD (Present Working Directory). Note that this variable is in uppercase letters, unlike the pwd command. So, you could display the value of $PWD using echo, as you can see in Listing 3.

Listing 3. Display $PWD
# echo $PWD
# /home/anthony

Doesn't seem much easier than running that pwd command you saw earlier, does it? Still, it's helpful to know that your directory is stored in a variable. Here's why: You can display the value of $PWD as part of the shell prompt.

Prompt my working directory

In the examples used so far, the shell prompt is set to the hash, or pound, symbol (#). But if you include $PWD in your shell prompt, you always know what directory you're in. Then, when you run cd, the variable PWD will be updated and displayed as part of the shell prompt.

You can set the shell prompt variable PS1 in your .profile in your home directory by adding the lines shown in Listing 4.

Listing 4. Include $PWD in the shell prompt
PS1='${PWD} > '
export PS1

When you next log in, your .profile should execute as part of the login process, and this should display the working directory as part of the shell prompt. If you know how to get to your home directory, you could execute the .profile right now (see Listing 5).

Listing 5. Execute your new .profile with the new shell prompt
# . ./.profile
/home/anthony >

You can tailor the prompt to include the host name, your login name, or some other display characters. For details about enhancing the shell prompt, see the link to the article "Tip: Prompt magic" in Resources.


Relatively better

It's a bit cumbersome using absolute paths when you only want to jump from one branch of the tree to another nearby. That's why cd allows you to use relative paths. By default, the relative path refers to the directory relative to the current directory you are in. Using the relative path often means fewer keystrokes, although that depends on the directory you are going from and the one you're headed to.

To get from /home/anthony to /home/anthony/bin, for example, you don't have to enter the absolute path of the target directory (/home/anthony/bin); it's enough to enter the new path relative to the one you're already in, as you can see in Listing 6.

Listing 6. The cd command using a relative path
/home/anthony > cd bin
/home/anthony/bin >

Notice how the shell prompt shows the new value for $PWD.

Visit your parents

If you run the ls command using the -a flag, you can see an entry for . (dot) and another for .. (dot-dot). The single dot represents the current directory. The two dots are for the parent directory—the one immediately above the directory you're in.

Using the parent directory is handy when you want to go up a level via cd. Listing 7 shows how.

Listing 7. Using the cd command to go to the parent directory (dot-dot)
/var/spool/mqueue > cd ..
/var/spool >

You can then head down to a new subdirectory (see Listing 8 ).

Listing 8. Using cd to go to a subdirectory
/var/spool > cd mail
/var/spool/mail >

Or, you could do all of that in a single command, as you see in Listing 9.

Listing 9. Branch to branch in one command
/var/spool/mqueue > cd ../mail
/var/spool/mail >

You can even jump up a couple of levels, and then down a couple, as shown in Listing 10.

Listing 10. Jump through branches
/usr/IBM/WebSphere/AppServer/profiles > cd ../../PortalServer/log
/usr/IBM/WebSphere/PortalServer/log >

Once you get used to using the relative path, it becomes second nature.


The shortcut home

Every UNIX user has a home directory that is defined when the user is created. You could look up your home directory in /etc/passwd or use smit, but there's a better way of getting home.

Using cd straight to home

If you want to get to your own home directory, use the cd command without any parameters, as shown in Listing 11.

Listing 11. Fast-track home with cd
/usr/IBM/WebSphere/PortalServer/log > cd
/home/anthony >

Your home directory is stored in the variable $HOME. That means that the cd command without parameters is equivalent to typing cd $HOME (see Listing 12).

Listing 12. cd $HOME
/var/spool/mail > cd $HOME
/home/anthony >

That $HOME variable is useful for knowing your home directory even if you're not headed there just yet. In fact, the $HOME variable can be so helpful that it's got an alias: the tilde (~).

Call home, tilde

You may want to view or work on files in your home directory. If you're in some other directory, there's no need to go home first or to type the full directory path. Just use the tilde character. In Listing 13, I make a copy of my .profile in my home directory, all from the comfort of somewhere else.

Listing 13. Tilde shortcut for $HOME
/usr/IBM/WebSphere > cp ~/.profile ~/.profile.save

Remote access to your neighbour's home

You can also use tilde to list or work with files in another user's home directory (if your permissions allow it). To do this, just use tilde followed by the user's login name, as Listing 14 shows.

Listing 14. Tilde is everyone's HOME
/home/anthony > cp ~john/.profile ~john/.profile.save

This is safer than guessing the user's home directory and easier than looking it up in /etc/passwd.


Dashing back

Quite often, you need to change directory only to run a command or two, and then return to the directory you were in previously ($OLDPWD). To do that, use the cd dashback. That's cd followed by a dash (cd -). In Listing 15, notice how the $PS1 shell prompt displays the new directory each time I run cd.

Listing 15. Return to previous directory
/home/anthony > cd /usr/sys/inst.images
/usr/sys/inst.images > cd -
/home/anthony >

The toggle switch

A consequence of this cd dashback is that if you enter it twice, you can toggle back and forth between two directories. This functionality could be useful if you wanted to change a program or configuration file in one directory and see the results in a log file in a different directory. Listing 16 shows the toggle between two directories. As with the other examples, I'm skipping the commands you might run right after you've actually changed directory.

Listing 16. Toggle between $PWD and $OLDPWD
/data/log > cd /apps/config
/apps/config > cd -
/data/log > cd -
/apps/config >

The cd shuffle

The feature that I find especially helpful is the cd shuffle. It's a simple way of switching from an old directory to a new one when the two directory paths have only one difference, such as a single word.

The syntax may look odd to UNIX old hands if they have never used it, but it works. See Listing 17.

Listing 17. cd shuffle syntax
cd directorya directoryb

The first parameter is the string you want to replace in the current directory path. The second parameter is the replacement string. For example, to move from v7 to v8, you just type cd v7 v8, as you can see in Listing 18.

Listing 18. Using cd shuffle
/programs/v7/reports/monthly > cd v7 v8
/programs/v8/reports/monthly >

That single command has saved 19 keystrokes! That's much simpler than going up three parent directories, and then heading back down the directory tree or using the absolute path.

This two-parameter cd command has lots of uses: swapping between similar directory paths where the only difference is a database instance name, a branch name, or maybe a date. The cd shuffle can save you thousands of keystrokes in a very short time.

Jump through history

If you have a directory for each year and each month of history, cd shuffle allows you to jump around from one year to another. See how it works in Listing 19.

Listing 19. New year
/hist/2010/april/reports > cd 2010 2011
/hist/2011/april/reports >

If you want to change to a different month within the same year, use cd shuffle with the from month and the to month as its parameters, as shown in Listing 20.

Listing 20. Swap month directory
/hist/2011/april/reports > cd april may
/hist/2011/may/reports >

If two directory paths have only one string different, cd shuffle is ideal.


Is cd okay?

When I use cd in scripts, I always verify that the change directory has worked before continuing with the next command. I once saw an operating system wiped out by a two-line cleanup script that had been working every day for two years. An NFS-mounted directory became unavailable when a remote host was turned off. The cd command failed, and the cleanup script continued anyway until there was nothing left on the system to clean up.

A simple way of verifying that cd worked before proceeding with something else is to use the shell short-circuit && straight after a cd command. If the cd command fails, the next command won't continue. See Listing 21.

Listing 21. cd and short-circuit
cd /some/dir && rm *.log

Conclusion

In this article, you learned about the cd command. You saw how to change directories using the absolute path and the relative path, and you learned how to display the working directory you are in and toggle back and forth between two directories. You saw different ways of referring to home directories, and you learned about the little-known cd shuffle, which allows you to substitute a string in your current path and switch to a new path.

The cd command is so important on the command line, and it's used so often, that it's worth knowing some of its many shortcuts.

Resources

Learn

Discuss

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into AIX and Unix on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=587961
ArticleTitle=Up and down the directory tree
publish-date=11182010