内容


为 AIX 更新技术级别和服务包

简介

在 2006 年,所有有关 AIX 上的操作系统升级规则都发生了变化。专门术语也从维护级别(ML)改为技术级别(TL)。这些改变是为了重新建立品牌,还是确实新增了重要的变化?最佳实践是什么?何时应当部署技术(维护)级别的更新?此外,如何能够最好地检索更新、服务包和补丁?总体而言,您如何实际执行一次 TL 更新?

本文将解释所有这些概念并讨论升级方法的最新变动。在这个过程中,您将回顾一些重要的新概念,比如 Concluding Service Pack (CSP),CSP 是一个 TL 的最终服务包。您还将体验实际的系统升级,使用像 IBM® Service Update Management Assistant (SUMA) 和 Fix Central 这样的系统。SUMA 可以帮助系统管理员自动检索 AIX 更新。Fix Central 是基于 Web 的中央存储库,面向所有 TL、服务包和补丁,包括硬件固件。最后,您将了解判断部署 TL 升级的时机的基本方法。

技术级别概览

尽管有些系统管理员在谈论他们的 AIX 版本时仍然使用 “维护级别” 这一术语,实际上这个词现在只针对遗留 AIX 系统。新的 IBM 方法每年指定两个 TL 发行版。第一个 TL 包括硬件特性、支持和软件服务。第二个 TL 包括发行版中的软件特性,这意味着第二个发行版通常更加庞大和完善。最后,还支持在较旧的 TL 上使用新硬件。

过去,新硬件只能用于新的技术发行版,因此必须要升级到新的级别。AIX 目前为新硬件提供支持的方式可分为两类。第一类称为支持。首先,AIX 出现了一些新变化,允许它在启动时识别新硬件。这些支持新硬件的变化至少包括在启动时引用的表的更新。这可以判断处理器类型和创建新启动介质的方式。第二种支持方式称为开发,它要求 AIX 对操作系统进行更加普遍的修改,比如修改虚拟内存管理器(VMM)以使用新的页面大小。这种新的发行策略于 2007 年首次实现,从 AIX V5.3 TL6 (两年支持的第一个级别)开始。

服务包概览

服务包是什么?服务包(SP)包含几组针对非常普遍的问题的程序临时补丁(Program Temporary Fixes,PTF)。服务包是累积性的,并且通常是在一个新 TL 发行后每隔 4 到 6 周发行一次。服务包可以包括:

  • 在发行下一个 TL 之前必须解决的由用户报告的问题。
  • 由开发团队报告的关键问题。
  • 为支持新硬件而实施的有限修改,比如修改设备驱动程序的内核以反映一种新的处理器。这些修改不会添加新的功能。新的功能只会添加到 TL 或新发行版中。SP 发行周期大概为 4 至 6 周。

那么,在各个服务包之间会出现哪些变化?在这期间将提供中间补丁(有时称为补丁包、临时补丁或独立 PTF)来解决问题,直到这些补丁可以包括到某个服务包。IBM 将之称为 “临时缓解办法”。可以通过 lslpp -L 命令或 emgr -l 命令在系统中跟踪这些中间补丁。

IBM 通过订阅服务提供安全更新,这些安全更新通过顾问程序发布。

Concluding Service Packs

另一个需要理解的重要概念是 Concluding Service Pack (CSP)。CSP 是 TL 的最终服务包。它通常包含针对关键问题或安全问题的补丁。新增的策略还包括对每个 OS TL 的更加长期的支持。每个 TL 现在最多可获得为期两年的支持。这意味着您不需要升级到最新的 TL 就可以继续请求最长可达两年的 IBM 支持(从引入到更新)。新的服务器更新策略还允诺在 TL 生命周期期间提供更好的可用性。具体方法是允许您通过在 TL 的整个生命周期期间安装服务包和 PTF 来维护操作系统。

使用 SUMA 自动部署 TL 和服务包

IBM Service Update Management Assistance (SUMA) 是一种非常重要的系统,因为它允许您自动检索 TL 和服务包部署。在本节中,您将使用 SUMA 检索 TL。SUMA 在 AIX V5.3 中首次发行。SUMA 能够比其他任何系统更好地帮助系统管理员自动检索 AIX 更新,使管理员不再需要从 Web 手动检索更新。此外,它允许您配置策略来自动下载完整的 TL 更新、服务包,甚至是中间补丁。SUMA 的主要目标是让系统管理员将更多精力放在系统管理方面,而不是在重复单调的工作上浪费时间,比如下载更新。

那么,SUMA 如何工作?实际上,它们使用一个调度模块,允许按照预定义的时间间隔运行策略,并且遵循维护窗口。这些策略的配置很简单,甚至还可以手动运行 SUMA(通过 smit 或命令行)引入所需的任何更新。要配置 SUMA,需要知道补丁的类型。一共有 8 种不同的补丁类型,它们分别是 APAR、PTF、Critical、Security、I/O Server、Latest(所有补丁)、Filesets(特殊类型)和 Maintenance Levels。另外,您可以对某个策略执行三种操作,即预览、下载、下载和清除。预览模式并不执行任何操作,它仅生成下载内容预览。“download only” 操作下载实际的数据,而 “download and clean” 操作将在新的补丁级别淘汰后删除不再需要的文件集。这可以限制需要保留的数据的大小。

您可以从 smit 或命令行运行 suma 命令。在第一个例子中,使用 smit 下载一个完整的 TL:# smit suma

当 smit 屏幕出现时,选择 Download Updates Now (easy) 并单击 Enter

图 1. 从 smit 屏幕下载更新
从 smit 屏幕下载更新
从 smit 屏幕下载更新

在这个屏幕中,向下滚动找到 Download Maintenance Level or Technology Level 并单击 Enter(参见图 2)。

图 2. 选择 Download Maintenance Level or Technology Level
选择 Download Maintenance Level or Technology Level
选择 Download Maintenance Level or Technology Level

在图 3 所示的窗口中,单击 F4 并选择合适的 TL 级别。

图 3. 选择合适的 TL 级别
选择合适的 TL 级别
选择合适的 TL 级别

在这个例子中,该级别为 6100-01,如图 4 所示。

图 4. TL 级别为 6100-01
TL 级别为 6100-01
TL 级别为 6100-01

单击 Enter 并运行。完成后,将看到一个如图 5 所示的摘要。

图 5. 摘要页面
摘要页面
摘要页面

为您提供了以下摘要:

  • 59 downloaded
  • 0 failed
  • 36 skipped

现在,尝试使用命令行。在本例中,将下载 TL Two for AIX V6.1。可通过运行 suma -x 命令来实现(参见图 6)。

图 6. 运行 suma -x 命令
运行 suma -x 命令
运行 suma -x 命令

大约 30 分钟后,将成功完成下载(参见图 7)。

图 7. 命令完成
命令完成
命令完成

文件安装在 /usr/sys/inst.images,如果使用其他方法检索文件的话,也需要将文件放到这个位置。

SUMA 为什么很重要?首先,它能够确保系统拥有所需的最新补丁。保持最新的补丁非常重要。其次,它无需干预就可以下载补丁,从而让系统管理员关注更加重要的任务。

Fix Central

本小节将介绍 Fix Central,并讨论如何使用它下载 TL 和服务包部署。Fix Central 是针对所有 TL 和 AIX 服务包的中央存储库。您还将看到如何登录到 Fix Central 并检索服务包。Fix Central 在 2007 年 10 月进行了彻底修改,为所有软件、硬件和操作系统提供了补丁和更新。其中包括 Hardware Management Console (HMC)。可以使用 Fix Central 的以下选项进行下载:APAR、Fix ID 或 Test。此外,可以使用三种下载选项,即 IBM Download Director、HTTP 和 FTP。

前面使用 suma 时通过命令行下载了一个 TL,现在还从这里下载一个服务包(6100-02)。首先访问 Fix Central for System p®,如图 8 所示(参见 参考资料 获得 Fix Central 的链接)。

图 8. Fix Central for System P
Fix Central for Systemp P
Fix Central for Systemp P

这时,在下拉菜单中选择您的版本。将弹出另一个下拉菜单,可以从中选择以下选项之一:fix packs、fix recommendations、fix search、managing updates 和 security advisories。选择 fix pack。单击 Continue(参见图 9)。

图 9. 选择补丁包类型
选择补丁包类型
选择补丁包类型

这时,选择 TL:6100-02。这一次,可以下载最新的服务包或完整 TL。选择完整的 TL(参见图 10)。

图 10. 选择完整 TL
选择完整 TL
选择完整 TL

下载选项包括 Download Director、bulk FTP 或 CD。在本例中,使用 Download Director。这种方法值得推荐,因为它有一个友好的界面并且可以灵活地暂停下载。

图 11. Download Director
Download Director
Download Director

下载时间取决于 Internet 的速度。我使用宽带下载大概需要一个小时。

系统管理员应该将 Fix Central URL 添加到浏览器收藏夹中。Fix Central 帮助系统保持最新状态,并且是手动检索升级数据的最佳方法。如果不懂得使用这个工具,就难以成为高效的 AIX 系统管理员。

升级 TL

现在介绍如何将系统升级到下一个 TL。

首先作为根用户登录:# su - root。确保对系统进行了备份。如果喜欢的话,还可以使用 alt_disk_install 或 multibios;但是如果必须返回到以前的级别,则要准备计划 B。您应当使用它们,因为它们不会被拒绝,并且有助于跟踪和拒绝 PTF。

使用以下命令执行备份:# mksysb。完成备份之后就没有后顾之忧了!

安装

创建一个 .toc 文件。这可以通过运行 inutoc 命令实现(参见图 12)。需要在文件集所在的目录运行此命令。如果没有 .toc 文件,更新将无法工作。

图 12. 运行 inutoc 命令
运行 inutoc 命令
运行 inutoc 命令

创建完成后,就可以开始升级了。访问 .toc 文件所在的目录。这样做则不需在升级期间指定路径名:# smit update_all

将对如图 13 所示的屏幕进行一些修改。

图 13. 更新软件屏幕
更新软件屏幕
更新软件屏幕

将软件的 Input 设备/目录放到 dot (.) 中。如果对包含 .toc 文件的目录执行 cd 操作,则无需指定完整的路径名。在本例中您并没有提交软件,因为无法取消 TL 升级。您应该限制系统上存储的文件集的数量,否则将占用大量磁盘空间。在本例中,首先预览数据来确保不会出现任何问题。这是这个 smit 菜单上的第三个选项(参见图 13)。预览选项只执行一个操作:检查升级的必要条件是否全部满足。这可以有效地防止意外情况。在每月的 2 小时窗口维护期间,您不希望花时间检查是否遗漏了其他内容。您可以在任何时候运行预览,这不会对系统造成影响。

在我们的例子中,预览成功运行并且没有发生任何意外,如图 14 所示。因此可以继续执行下一步操作。

图 14. 预览输出
预览输出
预览输出

准备好运行升级后,将预览修改为 no。您还必须修改与 << Accept new license agreement >> 有关的默认字段。出于某些原因,AIX 默认设置为 no。将其修改为 yes

单击 Enter 后,将提示您确认这项操作。单击 Enter 以继续此流程(参见图 15)。

图 15. 开始升级流程
开始升级流程
开始升级流程

升级流程所需的时间最长可达 1 个小时,这取决于系统的速度和执行的升级类型。完成升级后,可以下翻找到 summary 区段,查看升级是否成功,本例中为 yes(参见图 16)。

图 16. 升级成功
升级成功
升级成功

最后一个步骤是重启机器。确保启动并运行应用程序,然后执行这一步骤。重启机器后,将允许 oslevel 命令确认新系统级别(参见清单 1)。

清单 1. 确认新系统级别
lpar46ml16fd_pub > # oslevel -s
6100-02-01-0847

这些信息表示哪些含义?它表示您正在运行的是在 2008 年第 47 周发行的 AIX V6 TL2,service pack 1。第四个字段 0847 表示年份和星期。最后,它强烈建议您在升级到新 TL 时应用最新的服务包。在我们的例子中则无需这样做,因为最新的包已经包括在 TL 升级中。

TL 升级部署安排

何时应当实际执行一次 TL 升级?通常需要在下面三种场景中选择升级:

  • 您的 TL 即将超出可用的支持期限。
  • 您希望对即将进入到生产中的新发行级别进行测试,并且需要获得最长的补丁支持期限。
  • 您需要使用 TL 的新特性和功能。

简单而言,执行升级实际上并不存在绝对正确或错误的时机。一些客户需要能够实现最大正常运行时间和稳定性的环境。这些客户通常会一直等待,直到在应用新的 TL 之前它们至少出现了 6 个月到一年的时间。而另一些人将在升级前等待某些 TL 准备就绪,从而确保获得最大程度的可靠性。对于那些希望利用新特性并确保拥有最新安全补丁的客户,他们通常会在新服务包出现后立即安装。从供应商支持的角度来看,IBM 希望您在新 TL(这方面还包括服务包)出现时就执行升级。理由是为始终保持最新级别的系统提供支持更加容易。我倾向于至少每年升级到一个新的 TL。在这种情况下,我通常还会等待至少第二个服务包的发行。如果您宁愿谨慎一些,那么可以等待第三个服务包的发行。这样,您就会知道您的发行版确实非常稳定。

结束语

本文讨论了如何处理 AIX 上的技术升级和服务包。回顾了专门术语和实质内容方面的新增强和变化。同时,还讨论了何时以及如何升级环境的最佳实践。探讨了各种将数据引入系统的方法:使用 SUMA 自动执行以及使用 IBM Fix Central 手动执行。本文还通过使用 SUMA 获得的下载执行了一次升级(使用 smit)。


相关主题

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=376714
ArticleTitle=为 AIX 更新技术级别和服务包
publish-date=03192009

Contents


Installing technology levels and service packs for AIX

Comments

In 2006, all the rules changed with respect to operating system upgrades in AIX. Even the nomenclature has changed from maintenance level (ML) to technology level (TL). Is this just a rebranding or are there substantive changes here? What about best practices? When should you deploy technology- (maintenance) level upgrades? Furthermore, what is the best way of retrieving upgrades, service packs, and fixes? Finally, how do you actually perform a TL upgrade?

This article explains all of these concepts and discusses recent changes to the upgrade methodology. In doing so, you'll review important new concepts such as the Concluding Service Pack (CSP), which is the final service pack of a TL. You'll even walk through an actual upgrade of a system where you'll be working with systems such as the IBM® Service Update Management Assistant (SUMA) and Fix Central. SUMA helps the systems administrator automate the retrieval of AIX updates. Fix Central is the Web-based central repository for all TLs, services packs, and fixes, including hardware firmware. Finally, you'll learn the rationale in determining when you should deploy a TL upgrade.

Technology level overview

Although some systems administrators still use the term "maintenance level" when discussing their AIX version, the term is now reserved for legacy AIX systems. The new IBM methodology dictates two TL releases per year. The first TL includes hardware features, enablement, and software services. The second includes software features in the release, which means the second release is larger and more comprehensive. Finally, there is also now support for new hardware on older TLs.

Historically, new hardware was only supported in new technology releases, which obviously required an upgrade to the new level. The way AIX now supports new hardware is broken down into two categories. The first category is support. First, AIX has actually undergone changes allowing it to recognize new hardware at boot time. Changes to support the new hardware include, at a minimum, updates of tables that are referenced at boot. These determine the processor type and how to create new boot media. The second category is referred to as exploitation, which requires AIX to undergo more pervasive changes to the operating system, such as changes to the Virtual Memory Manager (VMM) to exploit new pages sizes. This new release strategy was first implemented in 2007, starting with AIX V5.3 TL6, which was the first level to have two-year support.

Service pack overview

What about service packs? A service pack (SP) contains groups of Program Temporary Fixes (PTF)s for highly pervasive issues. Service packs are cumulative and are generally released every four to six weeks after the release of a new TL. Service packs can include any of the following:

  • Customer-reported problems that can't wait until the next TL.
  • Critical problems reported by development teams.
  • Limited changes to support new hardware, such as device drivers' kernels changes to reflect a new processor. These are changes that do not add new functionality. New functionality will only be added for TLs or new releases. SP release schedules are approximately every four to six weeks.

So, what happens between service packs? Interim fixes, sometimes referred to as fix packs or temporary fixes, or stand-alone PTFs, are made available for relief until the time that the fix becomes available in a service pack. It's what IBM calls "temporary relief." They are tracked on the system with either the lslpp -L command or emgr -l command.

Security updates, published through advisories, are made available by IBM through subscription services.

Concluding service packs

Another important concept to understand is the Concluding Service Pack (CSP). The CSP is the final service pack for a TL. It usually contains fixes for critical problems or security issues. The new strategy also includes a longer period of support for each OS TL. Each TL will now be supported for up to a two-year period. This means that you can continue to call IBM support for up to a two-year period (from the introduction to the update) without having to move up to the latest TL. The new server update strategy also promises improved serviceability throughout the life of TL. This is done by allowing you to maintain your operating system by installing service packs and PTFs throughout the entire lifecycle of the TL.

Automating TLs and service pack deployments with SUMA

The IBM Service Update Management Assistance (SUMA) is an extremely important system because it allows you to automate the retrieval of TL and service pack deployments. In this section, you're going to use SUMA to retrieve TLs. SUMA was first released with AIX V5.3. More than anything, SUMA helps the system administrator automate the retrieval of AIX updates, allowing the administrator to get away from the mundane tasks of manually retrieving updates from the Web. Furthermore, it allows you to configure policies to automatically download either entire TL upgrades, service packs, or even interim fixes. The primary objective of the utility is to allow systems administrators to spend more time on proactive systems administration and less time on redundant or tedious work such as downloading updates.

So, how do SUMAs work? Essentially, they use a scheduling module that allows policies to be run at predefined intervals, which conform to your maintenance window. The policies can be configured easily without any extensive configuration. You even have the option to manually run SUMA (either from smit or the command line) to bring in whatever updates you require. To configure SUMA, you need to know the fix type. There are eight different kinds of fix types. They include APAR, PTF, Critical, Security, I/O Server, Latest (all fixes), Filesets (specific types), and Maintenance Levels. In addition, there are three types of actions you can perform on a policy. These include preview, download, and download and clean. Preview mode does not really do anything; it just generates a preview of what would be downloaded. The "download only" action downloads the actual data, while the "download and clean" action removes filesets no longer necessary after a new fix level has been brought down. This limits the size of the data that you'll need to keep.

You can run the suma command from either smit or the command line. In the first example, use smit to download an entire TL: # smit suma.

When the smit screen comes up, choose Download Updates Now (easy) and click Enter.

Figure 1. Downloading updates from the smit screen
Downloading updates from smit screen
Downloading updates from smit screen

From this screen, scroll down to Download Maintenance Level or Technology Level and click Enter (see Figure 2).

Figure 2. Selecting Download Maintenance Level or Technology Level
Selecting Download Maintenance Level or Technology Level
Selecting Download Maintenance Level or Technology Level

At the window in Figure 3, click F4 and choose the appropriate TL level.

Figure 3. Choosing the appropriate TL level
Choosing the appropriate TL level
Choosing the appropriate TL level

In this case, it is 6100-01, as shown in Figure 4.

Figure 4. TL level of 6100-01
TL level of 6100-01
TL level of 6100-01

Click Enter and let it run. When it completes, you'll see a summary, as shown in Figure 5.

Figure 5. Summary page
summary page
summary page

This provides you with the following summary:

  • 59 downloaded
  • 0 failed
  • 36 skipped

Now try it from the command line. In this case, you're going to download TL Two for AIX V6.1. Do this by running the suma -x command (see Figure 6).

Figure 6. Running the suma -x command
running the suma -x command
running the suma -x command

After about 30 minutes, it completes successfully (see Figure 7).

Figure 7. Command completed
command completed
command completed

The files get installed in /usr/sys/inst.images, which is where you would also manually put them if you were to retrieve them using different processes.

Why is SUMA important? Perhaps most importantly, it helps to ensure that your systems have the latest patches that it needs. Current fixes are important. Secondly, it downloads the patches without intervention, which allows the systems administrator to focus on more important tasks.

Fix Central

This section reviews Fix Central and discusses how to use it to download TL and service pack deployments. Fix Central is the central repository for all TLs and service packs for AIX. Among other things, you'll see how to log into Fix Central and retrieve service packs. Completely revamped in October of 2007, it provides fixes and updates for all your software, hardware, and operating systems. This includes the Hardware Management Console (HMC). Using Fix Central, you can download using the following options: by APAR, Fix ID, or Test. In addition, there are three download options, IBM Download Director, HTTP, and FTP.

Download a service pack from the exact TL that you downloaded previously during the work with suma from the command line -- 6100-02. First go to Fix Central for System p®, as shown in Figure 8 (see Related topics for a link to Fix Central).

Figure 8. Fix Central for System P
Fix Central for Systemp P
Fix Central for Systemp P

From here, in the drop-down menu, choose your version. Another drop-down menu pops up, which is where you can select from one of the following: fix packs, fix recommendations, fix search, managing updates, and security advisories. Choose fix pack. Click Continue (see Figure 9).

Figure 9. Choosing Fix packs type
Choosing Fix packs type
Choosing Fix packs type

From here, select the TL: 6100-02. At this time, you can either download the latest service pack or the entire TL. Choose the entire TL (see Figure 10).

Figure 10. Choosing the entire TL
choosing the entire TL
choosing the entire TL

The options for download include Download Director, bulk FTP, or CD. In this case, use Download Director. I recommend this method because it has a friendly interface and there is also flexibility to pause downloads.

Figure 11. Download Director
Download Director
Download Director

The length of time is dependent on your Internet connection. For me, on broadband, this took roughly an hour.

As a systems administrator, the Fix Central URL should definitely be one of your browser favorites. Fix Central helps you keep your systems up to date and is the best method of manually retrieving data for your upgrades. You really can't be an effective AIX systems administrator without knowing how to use this tool.

Upgrading a TL

Now review the procedures to upgrade your system to the next TL.

First log in as root: # su - root. Make sure you back up your system. If you prefer, you can also use alt_disk_install or multibios; the bottom line is that you need to have a plan B if you must go back to your prior level. You should also commit them, because they can't be rejected and they also make it easier to track and reject PTFs.

Do a backup using the following command: # mksysb. When the backup is completed, you're set!

Installation

Create a .toc file. This is done by running the inutoc command (see Figure 12). You run this in the directory where your filesets reside. If you don't have the .toc file, your update will not work.

Figure 12. Running the inutoc command
Running the inutoc command
Running the inutoc command

When this is completed, you are ready to start the upgrade. Move to the directory where your .toc file resides. If you do this, you will not have to specify a path name during your upgrade: # smit update_all.

On the screen in Figure 13, you will be making several changes.

Figure 13. Update software screen
Update software screen
Update software screen

For Input device/directory for software, put in the dot (.). If you remembered to cd to the directory that has the .toc file, you don't need to specify the full path name. In this case, you did not commit the software, though as a practical matter because you can't back out of a TL upgrade, you really should say yes to limit the amount of filesets stored on your system -- a real disk hog. In this case, you first previewed the data to ensure that there would not be any problems. This is the third option on this smit menu (shown in Figure 13). The preview option does nothing except validate whether something might be missing as a prerequisite of the upgrade. This is good to do to avoid surprises. You don't want to find out something is missing during your two-hour maintenance window of the month. You can run a preview at any time without any impact to the system.

In our case, as you can see in Figure 14, the preview is successful and there are no failures. So you are ready to move on.

Figure 14. Output of the preview
Output of the preview
Output of the preview

When you are ready to run the upgrade, change the preview to no. You will also have to change the default field that relates to << Accept new license agreement >>. For some reason, AIX defaults to no. Change it to yes.

After you click Enter, it will prompt you to make sure you want to do this. Click Enter to continue to start the process (see Figure 15).

Figure 15. Start the upgrade process
Start the upgrade process
Start the upgrade process

This can run for up to an hour, depending on the speed of your system and the type of upgrade you are performing. When the process is complete, you can scroll down to the summary section to see if you've been successful, which in this case is yes. (see Figure 16).

Figure 16. Success
success
success

Your final step is to reboot the box. Make sure you perform this step before bringing your applications back and going live. After I rebooted the box, I ran the oslevel command to confirm the new system level (see Listing 1).

Listing 1. Confirming the new system level
lpar46ml16fd_pub > # oslevel -s
6100-02-01-0847

What does this information signify? It tells that you are running AIX V6 TL2, service pack 1, released in 2008 in the 47th week. The forth field, 0847, indicates the year and week. Finally, it is highly recommended that you apply the latest service pack when moving to the new TL. In our case we did not have to, because the latest pack was already a part of the TL upgrade.

TL upgrade deployment schedule

When should you actually perform a TL upgrade? There are generally three scenarios where you will make this choice:

  • When your TL is going out of the available support period.
  • You want to test a new distribution level that will be going into production and need to get the longest period of fix support.
  • You want to use the new features and functionality of the TL.

The short answer is that there really is no right or wrong time to perform an upgrade. Some clients need an environment that requires maximum uptime and stability. These clients typically wait until new TLs are out for at least six months to a year before applying them. Other folks will wait for several TL's to be put into place prior to upgrading to ensure maximum reliability. For clients that like to take advantage of new features and ensure that they have the latest security patches, they typically install new service packs shortly after they come out. From a vendor-support perspective, IBM would prefer if you upgraded your TLs (and service packs, for that matter) as soon as they come out. The reason is that it's just easier to support systems that are always at current levels. I like to upgrade at least once a year to a new TL. In doing so, I will also usually wait until at least service pack number two has been released. If you really want to err on the side of caution, wait until service pack number three. That way, you will know that your release is really rock solid.

Summary

This article,discussed how to work with technology upgrades and service packs on AIX. It reviewed recent enhancements and changes in both nomenclature and substance. At the same time, it discussed best practices on how and when to upgrade environments. It looked at various methods at bringing the data to our systems: automatically using SUMA and manually with the IBM Fix Central. The article also performed an actually upgrade (with smit) using a download performed using SUMA.


Downloadable resources


Related topics


Comments

Sign in or register to add and subscribe to comments.

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=362252
ArticleTitle=Installing technology levels and service packs for AIX
publish-date=01062009