AIX V6.1 远程登录会话管理

法规遵从性的自动会话下线防备

法规遵从性要求系统实现会话的自动下线(automatic logoff),以确保环境的安全。基于 UNIX® 的解决方案倾向于广泛使用诸如 FTP、TELNET 和 SSH 之类的实用工具,它们的会话需要进行自动超时配置。本文解释自动下线和各种法规遵从性之间的关系。然后,详细介绍在 AIX V6.1 系统上为 FTP、TELNET 和 SSH 配置自动超时的管理过程。

Bhushan Pradip Jain, 软件工程师, IBM  

/developerworks/i/p-bpjain.jpgBhushan Pradip Jain 是在 IBM India Software Labs 工作的助理软件工程师。他在 alphaWorks 上发布了一种名为 “Policy-Driven File Encryption Explorer Based on OpenPGP” 的技术,当前从事 IBM Unified Scalable Storage。他还参与过开发 Intrusion Detection System 和实现多天线望远镜操作系统的一部分。Bhushan 在 Pune 的 College of Engineering (COEP) 获得了计算机工程学士学位。



2010 年 9 月 06 日

简介

AIX V6.1 具有各种安全特性,这些特性帮助做到不同行业部门(比如政府、财政、医疗保健,等等)的各种法规遵从性。范围涉及确保静止数据的安全,到确保传送中数据的安全,到登录和密码管理。这些特性让 AIX V6.1 成为一个合适的基于 UNIX 的系统,可以为法规遵从性驱动的行业宿主解决方案和应用程序。

基于 UNIX 的系统和解决方案倾向于不仅对管理任务,也对总体解决方案的各种其他方面,广泛使用诸如 FTP、TELNET 和 SSH 之类的远程登录和文件传输技术。此类远程登录会话的适当使用归为各种遵从性的审计范畴。从遵从性角度来说,这些实用工具的远程登录会话有两个主要因素需要考虑:利用安全传输进行的身份验证和远程会话的自动下线。尽管前者可以通过使用 Kerberos (参见 参考资料)和类似的网络安全协议完成,但是后者需要特殊的管理调优。在本文中,我们要将远程会话的自动下线需求对应到各种遵从性,然后再解释在 AIX V6.1 上启用自动下线的管理过程。本文将帮助管理员在 AIX 系统上调优远程实用工具会话,以做到遵从性,并消除与远程会话相关的风险。


何谓自动下线?

自动下线是保护到给定系统(通常但并不必须是远程的)的休眠会话不被恶意利用,帮助降低受到恶意攻击的风险。很多时候,经授权的用户使用登录机制(比如 SSH、TELNET、FTP 等)登录系统,而由于疏忽忘了从会话下线,或者由于处于不活跃状态,使得会话保持休眠状态。在这些情况下,如果恶意用户利用这些会话,用户就会潜在地破换系统。自动下线特性通过对休眠使用推荐的超时值,可以帮助降低此类风险。


法规遵从性和自动下线

针对政府管辖的不同行业部门,有着不同的法规遵从性。大多数遵从性直接影响企业 IT 解决方案的设计、开发和部署,以确保一个安全的、经审计的环境。这些遵从性对应的 IT 系统大多需要自动下线设施来帮助确保它们不受恶意攻击。例如:

  • 美国 Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) 对合法实体持有的个人健康信息提供联合保护,并就这些信息给予患者一组权利。题为 Automatic logoff 的 HIPAA Security Rule Section 164.312(a)s(2)(iii) 指出,必须 “在不活跃维持一段预定的时间之后,执行终止电子会话的过程”(参见 参考资料)。
  • 美国俄克拉荷马州有一个特殊的 State of Oklahoma Information Security Policy, Procedures and Guidelines,条款适用于保护本州的信息资产。The State of Oklahoma Information Security Policies 需要自动下线,它规定 “Section 7.4: Access Control 指出,在保持不活跃 15 分钟之后,让会话超时"(参见 参考资料)。
  • 联邦法规 U.S. Food and Drug Administration's (FDA) Code 的 Title 21, Part 11 要求药品制造商、医疗设备制造商、生物工艺公司、生物制剂开发商和其他 FDA 管制的行业(食品制造商除外),对处理很多作为业务操作和产品开发一部分的数据形式时涉及到的软件和系统执行控制 — 包括审计、验证系统和文档。Section 300(d) 指出 “使用事务安全措施防止未经授权使用密码和/或标识码,紧急检测并报告任何未经授权使用系统安全单元的企图,并视情况上报管理部门。”(参见 参考资料)。

规定了类似功能需求的其他遵从性法规有:

  • FERPA: 34 CFR Part 99 [Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act]
  • GLB: 16 CFR Part 314 Standards for Safeguarding Customer Information [section 501(b) of the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act ("GLB Act")]
  • USA Patriot Act

更多信息请参见 University of Oklahoma 制定的 "Information Technology Security Policy" (参见 参考资料)。

这指出了各种法规遵从性的自动下线防备的重要性。下一节,我将解释使用最流行的远程登录实用工具在 AIX V6.1 系统上启用自动下线的过程。


AIX V6.1(FTP、TELNET、SSH)的自动下线过程

文件传输协议 (FTP)、TELNET 和 SSH (Secure Shell) 是流行的 AIX V6.1 远程登录机制,在给定的解决方案中以各种方式用于达到各种目的。AIX V6.1 提供特殊的管理过程,帮助为这些实用工具配置自动下线特性。下面解释这些过程,并提供一些例子:

带有自动下线特性的 FTP

在 AIX 中,inetd 守护进程为网络提供 Internet 服务管理,并默认在您每次启动系统时启动。FTP 具有一个理想的会话超时特性,但是该特性需要被启用,并且 inetd 守护进程需要被通知:在不活跃维持一段具体的时间之后,连接将被中止。/etc/inetd.conf 文件(inetd 的配置文件)包含关于 FTP 服务应该如何行动的详细信息。如下所示,我们编辑 /etc/inted.conf 文件,将 FTP 会话不活跃的时间间隔设置为 60 秒。通常,这个值取决于业务策略以及法规遵从性准则。

代码 1:配置 FTP 的 inetd 配置文件启用自动下线特性
(0) root @ motu: 61H (0934A_61H) : / # hostname
motu.in.ibm.com

(0) root @ motu: 61H (0934A_61H) : / # vi /etc/inetd.conf
..........................
..........................

ftp     stream  tcp6    nowait  root    /usr/sbin/ftpd  ftpd -t 60

..........................
..........................
:wq

注意,"ftp stream tcp6 nowait root /usr/sbin/ftpd ftpd" 项通常已经在 /etc/inetd.conf 文件中。您只需添加超时值即可,即在后面附加 "-t 60"

现在 FTP 服务需要重新启动,更改才能生效。下面的命令将停止并启动 FTP 服务。

代码 2:重新启动 FTP 子服务器
(0) root @ motu: 61H (0934A_61H) : / # stopsrc -t ftp
0513-127 The ftp subserver was stopped successfully.
(0) root @ motu: 61H (0934A_61H) : / # startsrc -t ftp
0513-124 The ftp subserver has been started.

我们来验证一下刚才设置的自动下线配置。一旦我们成功地连接到 FTP 服务器(通过基本命令进行验证),我们将明确地保持会话休眠 60 秒钟。在其后执行任何命令时,我们都会从服务器收到消息 “421 Timeout (60 seconds): closing connection.”,这表明 FTP 的自动下线已成功配置。

代码 3:验证 FTP 自动下线功能
(0) root @ motu: 61H (0934A_61H) : / # ftp motu.in.ibm.com
Connected to motu.in.ibm.com.
220 motu.in.ibm.com FTP server (Version 4.2 Wed Jun 3 15:43:49 CDT 2009) ready.
Name (motu.in.ibm.com:root): root
331 Password required for root.
Password:
230-Last unsuccessful login: Mon Oct 26 12:20:34 IST 2009 on /dev/pts/0 from 
ssingh11.in.ibm.com

230-Last login: Tue Nov 24 15:36:56 IST 2009 on ftp
230 User root logged in.
ftp> cd
(remote-directory) /
250 CWD command successful.
ftp> lcd
Local directory now /
ftp> cd
(remote-directory) /
421 Timeout (60 seconds): closing connection.
ftp> quit

注意,即使 FTP 服务器已经在保持 60 秒不活动之后自动关闭了连接,但是客户要在超时之后尝试执行命令时才会被通知。

利用自动下线特性确保 TELNET 的安全

AIX V6.1 系统上 TELNET 的自动下线防备是通过 /etc/profile 中的参数控制的。/etc/profile 文件是一个管理员掌管的系统配置文件,用于控制系统范围内所有用户的默认变量。为了防止因用户疏忽离开帐户而导致的潜在安全危害,管理员可以在 /etc/profile 中设置一个叫做 "TMOUT" 的环境变量,它也掌管 TELNET 的自动退出(如下所示)。在下面的例子中,第一个命令 TMOUT=<time interval in seconds> 设置不活跃的时间间隔,此不活跃将导致从会话自动下线。这里,我们将值设置为 60 秒。这个值取决于业务策略以及法规遵从性准则。下一个命令将此环境变量声明为只读,以便没有用户(管理员之外的用户)能够覆盖这个默认值,以让会话打开时间长于不活跃时间间隔设置的时长。在后续的远程登录系统的过程中,环境变量 "TMOUT" 将被设置为只读,并且不活跃值为 60 秒。

代码 4:为自动下线配置 profile 配置文件
(0) root @ motu: 61H (0934A_61H) : / # vi /etc/profile
..........................
..........................

TMOUT=60
readonly TMOUT

..........................
..........................
:wq!

我们来验证一下前面的设置。如下所示,当我们 TELNET 到机器时,命令 "echo $TMOUT" 给出的输出是 60,表示新值设置适当。此外,可以看到,该变量的值不可改变,因为我们已将之设置为只读。随后,如果我们保持 TELNET 会话 60 秒钟不活跃,那么会话被自动下线(如下所示),从而成功地启用 AIX V6.1 系统上 TELNET 的自动会话下线。注意,在下面的代码清单中,我们使用一个 bash shell:

代码 5:验证 TELNET 自动下线功能
(0) root @ motu: 61H (0934A_61H) : / # telnet motu.in.ibm.com
Trying...
Connected to motu.in.ibm.com.
Escape character is '^]'.


telnet (motu.in.ibm.com)

AIX Version 6
Copyright IBM Corporation, 1982, 2009.
login: root
root's Password:
*****************************************************************************
*                                                                           *
*                                                                           *
*  Welcome to AIX Version 6.1!                                              *
*                                                                           *
*                                                                           *
*  Please see the README file in /usr/lpp/bos for information pertinent to  *
*  this release of the AIX Operating System.                                *
*                                                                           *
*                                                                           *
*****************************************************************************
Last unsuccessful login: Mon Oct 26 12:20:34 IST 2009 on /dev/pts/0 from
ssingh11.in.ibm.com

Last login: Tue Nov 24 15:40:50 IST 2009 on /dev/pts/1

(0) root @ motu: 61H (0934A_61H) : / # echo $TMOUT
60
(0) root @ motu: 61H (0934A_61H) : / # echo $SHELL
/usr/bin/bash
(0) root @ motu: 61H (0934A_61H) : / #  export TMOUT=200
-bash: TMOUT: readonly variable
(1) root @ motu: 61H (0934A_61H) : / # timed out waiting for input: auto-logout
Connection closed.
(0) root @ motu: 61H (0934A_61H) : / #

注意,如果系统在提交对 /etc/profile 的更改之后重启,那么超时值将不仅针对远程登录而设置,也针对物理登录而设置。

利用自动下线特性确保 SSH 安全

由于其默认的安全行为,很多解决方案喜欢 SSH 胜过 TELNET。顺便说一句,在 /etc/profile 文件中为 TELNET 的自动下线进行的配置(前面已解释)也适合于 SSH。

所以,我们不使用 TELNET,而使用 SSH 登录机器并测试行为。我们应该使用根用户之外的其他用户,SSH 到机器中(根用户的默认 shell 被设置为 ksh (Korn shell)。一旦登录到系统中,我们就执行一系列类似于前面执行的命令(用于确认环境变量 "TMOUT" 的值确实被设置为 60,并且此变量真的是只读的,值无法更改)。现在,在 60 秒的不活跃之后,我们从远程机器收到一条连接关闭消息,这表示已经为 SSH 成功设置了自动下线。

代码 6:验证 SSH 自动下线功能
(0) root @ motu: 61H (0934A_61H) : / # ssh bhushan@motu.in.ibm.com
bhushan's Password:
1 unsuccessful login attempt since last login.
Last unsuccessful login: Tue Nov 24 18:35:22 IST 2009 on ssh
Last login: Tue Nov 24 18:27:43 IST 2009 on /dev/pts/2
*****************************************************************************
*                                                                           *
*                                                                           *
*  Welcome to AIX Version 6.1!                                              *
*                                                                           *
*                                                                           *
*  Please see the README file in /usr/lpp/bos for information pertinent to  *
*  this release of the AIX Operating System.                                *
*                                                                           *
*                                                                           *
*****************************************************************************
Could not chdir to home directory /home/bhushan: A file or directory in the 
path name does not exist.

$ echo $TMOUT
60
$ echo $SHELL
/usr/bin/ksh
$ export TMOUT=200
ksh: TMOUT: This variable is read only.
$ pwd
/
Shell will time out in 60 seconds.
ksh: Timed out waiting for input.
Connection to motu.in.ibm.com closed.
(1) root @ motu: 61H (0934A_61H) : / #

注意,对于 AIX V6.1,shell 的类型或者用户帐户类型对通过在 /etc/profile 文件中设置 TMOUT 环境变量而启用的自动超时特性的行为没有任何影响。此外,该环境变量还为任何用于登录系统的登录机制,确保在一定时间间隔的不活跃之后自动超时。


结束语

在本文中,我们描述了自动下线的重要性及其与法规遵从性的关系。我们学习了为 AIX V6.1 系统上的 FTP、TELNET 和 SSH 会话设置自动下线的管理过程,AIX V6.1 将有助于法规遵从性和得到安全的环境。

致谢

作者真诚感谢 IBM 公司的 Sandeep R Patil (rsandeep@in.ibm.com) 在本文写作过程中提出的观点、意见和理念,并帮助将此主题传达给社区、客户和从业者。

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=516890
ArticleTitle=AIX V6.1 远程登录会话管理
publish-date=09062010

AIX V6.1 Remote Login Session Management

Provisions for automatic session logoff for regulatory compliance

Regulatory compliances require systems to implement automatic logoff of sessions to enable secure environment. UNIX® based solutions tend to make extensive use of utilities like FTP, TELNET and SSH whose sessions are required to be configured for automatic timeout. This article explains the relationship between automatic logoff and various regulatory compliances. Subsequently, it steps through the administrative procedure required to configure it for FTP, TELNET and SSH over AIX V6.1.

Share:

Bhushan Pradip Jain (bhujain1@in.ibm.com), Associate Software Engineer, IBM  

author photo Bhushan Pradip Jain is a Associate Software Engineer working for the IBM India Software Labs. He has published a technology named as "Policy-Driven File Encryption Explorer Based on OpenPGP" under alphaWorks and is currently working on IBM Unified Scalable Storage. He has also worked for developing Intrusion Detection System and implementation of part of the operating system for a multi-antenna telescope. Bhushan has completed his B.Tech. in Computer Engineering from College of Engineering, Pune(COEP). You can contact him at bhujain1@in.ibm.com.



22 June 2010

Also available in Chinese

Introduction

AIX V6.1 is provisioned with various security features which aid in adherence of various regulatory compliances applicable to different industrial sectors like federal, finance, health care, etc. The functionalities cover from secure data at rest to secure data in transit to login and password management. These features make AIX V6.1 a lucrative UNIX based system to host solutions and applications for regulatory compliance driven industries.

UNIX based systems and solutions tend to make extensive use of remote login and file transfer technologies like FTP, TELNET and SSH not only for administrative tasks but also for various other aspects of the overall solution. Rightful use of such remote login sessions come under the auditing umbrella for various compliances. From a compliance perspective, the two prime factors to be considered for remote login sessions of these utilities are authentication with secure transmission and automatic logoff of remote sessions. While the former can be accomplished via use of Kerberos (see Resources) and similar network security protocol, the latter requires special administrative tuning. In this article, we will map the need of automatic logoff of remote sessions to various compliances and subsequently explain the administrative procedures required for its enablement over AIX V6.1 systems. The article will aid administrators to tune the remote utility sessions on their AIX systems, to adhere to compliances and also address the risk associated with remote sessions.


What is automatic logoff?

Automatic logoff is protection of dormant sessions to a given system (generally remote, but not necessarily) from malevolent usage to help mitigate the risk of malicious attack. Many a times authorized users log into systems using login mechanisms (like SSH, TELNET, FTP and others) and either due to negligence forget to log off from the session or due to inactivity the session remains dormant. In such cases, if a malicious user exploits these sessions, the user can potentially disrupt the system. Automatic logoff feature helps alleviate such risks by automatically disabling the session using recommended time-out values for dormancy.


Regulatory compliance and automatic logoff

There are different regulatory compliances for different industrial sectors mandated by the government. Most of the compliance directly influence the designing, development and deployment of IT solution for businesses to ensure a safe and audited environment. Most of these compliances require automatic logoff facilities for their IT systems to help secure them from malicious influence. For example:

  • The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) provides federal protections for personal health information held by covered entities and gives patients an array of rights with respect to that information. The HIPAA Security Rule Section 164.312(a)s(2)(iii) titled Automatic logoff indicates the requirement as "Implement procedures to terminate an electronic session after a predetermined time of inactivity" (see Resources).
  • The State of Oklahoma in United States has a special State of Oklahoma Information Security Policy, Procedures and Guidelines which are applied for the protection of the information assets of the state. The State of Oklahoma Information Security Policies requires automatic logoff which states, "Section 7.4: Access Control indicates to timeout a session after 15 minutes of inactivity" (see Resources).
  • Title 21, Part 11 of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration's (FDA) Code of Federal Regulations requires drug makers, medical device manufacturers, biotechnology companies, biologics developers and other FDA-regulated industries (except food manufacturers) to implement controls—including audits, validation systems and documentation—for software and systems involved in processing many forms of data as part of business operations and product development. Section 300(d) indicates "Use of transaction safeguards to prevent unauthorized use of passwords and/or identification codes, and to detect and report in an immediate and urgent manner any attempts at their unauthorized use to the system security unit, and, as appropriate, to organizational management." (see Resources).

The other compliance regulations stating the need for similar functionality are:

  • FERPA: 34 CFR Part 99 [Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act]
  • GLB: 16 CFR Part 314 Standards for Safeguarding Customer Information [section 501(b) of the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act ("GLB Act")]
  • USA Patriot Act

For more details, see "Information Technology Security Policy" laid down by University of Oklahoma (see Resources).

This states the importance of automatic logoff provisioning for various regulatory compliances. In the next section, we will explain the procedures to enable automatic logoff over most popular remote login utilities over AIX V6.1


Auto logoff procedures for AIX V6.1 (FTP, TELNET, SSH)

File Transfer Protocol (FTP), TELNET and SSH (Secure Shell) are popular AIX V6.1 remote login mechanism used in various ways to meet various purposes within a given solution. AIX V6.1 provides special administrative procedures to help configure auto logoff feature with these utilities. The following explains and provides examples on these procedures:

FTP with automatic logoff feature

In AIX, the inetd daemon provides Internet service management for a network and starts by default every time you start your system. FTP has an ideal session timeout feature but this feature needs to be enabled and the inetd daemon needs to be informed that the connection is to be timed out in case of inactivity for a particular period. The /etc/inetd.conf file (configuration file for inetd) contains details about how the FTP service should behave. As shown below, we edit the /etc/inted.conf file to set the time interval for FTP session inactivity to be 60 seconds. Typically, this value will depend upon the business policy as well as the regulatory compliance guidelines.

Code 1: Configure inetd configuration file for FTP with Automatic Logoff.
(0) root @ motu: 61H (0934A_61H) : / # hostname
motu.in.ibm.com

(0) root @ motu: 61H (0934A_61H) : / # vi /etc/inetd.conf
..........................
..........................

ftp     stream  tcp6    nowait  root    /usr/sbin/ftpd  ftpd -t 60

..........................
..........................
:wq

Note that the "ftp stream tcp6 nowait root /usr/sbin/ftpd ftpd" entry is usually already present in the /etc/inetd.conf file. You have to just add the timeout value by appending it with "-t 60".

Now the FTP service needs to be restarted for the changes to make effect. The following commands will stop and start the FTP service.

Code 2: Restart FTP subserver.
(0) root @ motu: 61H (0934A_61H) : / # stopsrc -t ftp
0513-127 The ftp subserver was stopped successfully.
(0) root @ motu: 61H (0934A_61H) : / # startsrc -t ftp
0513-124 The ftp subserver has been started.

Let's verify the automatic logoff configuration set above. Once we are successfully connected to the FTP server (verified via basic commands) we will explicitly keep the session dormant for 60 seconds. On execution of any commands thereafter, we should get the message from the server "421 Timeout (60 seconds): closing connection." which indicates that the auto logoff for FTP is successfully configured.

Code 3: Verify the FTP automatic logoff functionality.
(0) root @ motu: 61H (0934A_61H) : / # ftp motu.in.ibm.com
Connected to motu.in.ibm.com.
220 motu.in.ibm.com FTP server (Version 4.2 Wed Jun 3 15:43:49 CDT 2009) ready.
Name (motu.in.ibm.com:root): root
331 Password required for root.
Password:
230-Last unsuccessful login: Mon Oct 26 12:20:34 IST 2009 on /dev/pts/0 from 
ssingh11.in.ibm.com

230-Last login: Tue Nov 24 15:36:56 IST 2009 on ftp
230 User root logged in.
ftp> cd
(remote-directory) /
250 CWD command successful.
ftp> lcd
Local directory now /
ftp> cd
(remote-directory) /
421 Timeout (60 seconds): closing connection.
ftp> quit

Note that even though the FTP server had automatically closed the connection after 60 seconds on inactivity, the client will only be informed when it tries to execute a command after the timeout.

Secure TELNET with automatic logoff feature

The auto logoff provision for TELNET on AIX V6.1 is controlled via parameters listed in /etc/profile. The /etc/profile file is an administrator governed system configuration file which controls system-wide default variables for all users. To prevent potential security hazard from users leaving their accounts unattended, the administrator can set an environment variable named "TMOUT" in /etc/profile, which also governs the auto logout for TELNET (as shown below). In the example below, the first command TMOUT=<time interval in seconds> sets the time interval for the inactivity that will lead to an automatic logoff from the session. Here, we have set the value to 60 seconds. This value will depend upon the business policy as well as the regulatory compliance guidelines. The next command declares this environment variable as read-only so that no user (other than the administrator) can override this default value to have the session opened for longer that the inactivity time interval set. On the subsequent remote logins to the system, the environment variable "TMOUT" will be set as read-only and with inactivity value as 60 seconds.

Code 4: Configure profile configuration file for automatic logoff.
(0) root @ motu: 61H (0934A_61H) : / # vi /etc/profile
..........................
..........................

TMOUT=60
readonly TMOUT

..........................
..........................
:wq!

Let us verify the previous settings. As shown below, when we TELNET to the machine, the command "echo $TMOUT" gives an output as 60 indicating that the new value is set appropriately. Also, it can be seen that the value of the variable cannot be changed as we set it to read-only. Subsequently, if we keep the TELNET session inactive for 60 seconds, the session is automatically logged off (as seen below) thus successfully enabling automatic session logoff for TELNET over AIX V6.1. Note that in the listing below we are using a bash shell:

Code 5: Verify the TELNET automatic logoff functionality.
(0) root @ motu: 61H (0934A_61H) : / # telnet motu.in.ibm.com
Trying...
Connected to motu.in.ibm.com.
Escape character is '^]'.


telnet (motu.in.ibm.com)

AIX Version 6
Copyright IBM Corporation, 1982, 2009.
login: root
root's Password:
*****************************************************************************
*                                                                           *
*                                                                           *
*  Welcome to AIX Version 6.1!                                              *
*                                                                           *
*                                                                           *
*  Please see the README file in /usr/lpp/bos for information pertinent to  *
*  this release of the AIX Operating System.                                *
*                                                                           *
*                                                                           *
*****************************************************************************
Last unsuccessful login: Mon Oct 26 12:20:34 IST 2009 on /dev/pts/0 from
ssingh11.in.ibm.com

Last login: Tue Nov 24 15:40:50 IST 2009 on /dev/pts/1

(0) root @ motu: 61H (0934A_61H) : / # echo $TMOUT
60
(0) root @ motu: 61H (0934A_61H) : / # echo $SHELL
/usr/bin/bash
(0) root @ motu: 61H (0934A_61H) : / #  export TMOUT=200
-bash: TMOUT: readonly variable
(1) root @ motu: 61H (0934A_61H) : / # timed out waiting for input: auto-logout
Connection closed.
(0) root @ motu: 61H (0934A_61H) : / #

Note that if the system is restarted after committing the changes to /etc/profile, the timeout value will not only be set for remote login but will also be set for physical login.

Secure SSH with automatic logoff feature

A lot of solutions prefer SSH over TELNET for its default secure behavior. Incidentally, the configurations done for auto logoff of TELNET in the /etc/profile file (explained previously) are also applicable for SSH.

So, instead of TELNET let us SSH into the machine and test the behavior. We shall SSH into the machine using other user than root whose default shell is set to be ksh (Korn shell). Once we log in to the system, we execute a series of commands similar to the ones previously executed to confirm that the value of the environment variable "TMOUT" is actually set to 60, and that the variable is indeed read-only and the value cannot be changed. Now after inactivity for 60 seconds, we get a connection closed message from the remote machine, which indicates that the auto logoff is successfully set for SSH.

Code 6: Verify the SSH automatic logoff functionality.
(0) root @ motu: 61H (0934A_61H) : / # ssh bhushan@motu.in.ibm.com
bhushan's Password:
1 unsuccessful login attempt since last login.
Last unsuccessful login: Tue Nov 24 18:35:22 IST 2009 on ssh
Last login: Tue Nov 24 18:27:43 IST 2009 on /dev/pts/2
*****************************************************************************
*                                                                           *
*                                                                           *
*  Welcome to AIX Version 6.1!                                              *
*                                                                           *
*                                                                           *
*  Please see the README file in /usr/lpp/bos for information pertinent to  *
*  this release of the AIX Operating System.                                *
*                                                                           *
*                                                                           *
*****************************************************************************
Could not chdir to home directory /home/bhushan: A file or directory in the 
path name does not exist.

$ echo $TMOUT
60
$ echo $SHELL
/usr/bin/ksh
$ export TMOUT=200
ksh: TMOUT: This variable is read only.
$ pwd
/
Shell will time out in 60 seconds.
ksh: Timed out waiting for input.
Connection to motu.in.ibm.com closed.
(1) root @ motu: 61H (0934A_61H) : / #

Note that for AIX V6.1, the type of shell or the user account type does not have any effect over the behavior of the auto timeout feature enabled by setting the TMOUT environment variable in /etc/profile file. Moreover this environment variable ensures auto timeout after inactivity for the interval of time for any login mechanism used to log into the system.


Conclusion

In this article, we have described the importance of automatic logoff and its relation with regulatory compliances. We have learned the administrative procedures required to set automatic logoff for FTP, TELNET and SSH sessions on AIX V6.1 which will help for regulatory compliance and enable a secure environment.

Acknowledgement

The author sincerely acknowledges Sandeep R Patil (rsandeep@in.ibm.com) from IBM Corporation for his valued insights, exposure and motivation to write this article and help convey the subject to the community, customers and practitioners.

Resources

Learn

Get products and technologies

Discuss

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into AIX and Unix on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=497464
ArticleTitle=AIX V6.1 Remote Login Session Management
publish-date=06222010