AIX 灾难恢复

解决资源冲突

在发生灾难之后,要恢复各种 AIX® IT 资源,执行恢复工作的人员需要将精力集中于实施精心准备的计划。计划中未预料到的偏差可能会导致灾难恢复项目出现极大的延迟。通常,这些未预料到的偏差是因为不能够坚持业务连续性策略、指导原则、标准以及程序所导致的。本文指出了在灾难恢复实现中常常出现的一些资源冲突,并为解决这些冲突提供了一些建议。

Dana French, 总裁, Mt Xia Inc.

French 先生在 IT 行业中的从业经验已有三十多年,所涉及的行业也非常之多。他的工作重点主要是业务连续性、灾难恢复以及高可用性等领域,并且他设计和编写了许多软件包,以实现灾难恢复和高可用性流程的自动化。他最大的贡献是将系统管理作为一项自动化的、面向业务的流程(而不是面向系统的、交互的流程)的方法。您可以通过 dfrench@mtxia.com 与他联系。



2007 年 10 月 08 日

引言

在实施灾难恢复的过程中,您最不希望出现的是未预料到的硬件和软件资源冲突。这些冲突往往会消耗时间、人员资源,并导致恢复时间的目标无法实现。本文的目的是,确定导致资源冲突的最常见的原因,并提供相关的机制以避免或解决这些冲突。最理想的解决方案是完全地避免这些冲突,以便在实施灾难恢复的过程中根本不需要解决这些冲突。

许多 IT 部门尝试支持多种实现标准,其中一种用于非集群系统,一种用于集群系统,还有另一种用于支持灾难恢复系统。维护多种标准本身可能会导致在实施灾难恢复的过程中出现冲突。将它们整合为一组标准应该作为您的灾难恢复规划项目的目标,以及业务连续性的整体策略。

在实施 AIX® 灾难恢复的过程中,会碰到一些典型的问题,具体包括:

  • 为进行灾难恢复而提供的系统(与生产系统相比,这些系统具有不同的类型、规模、以及容量;通常,这些系统将随着操作系统的更新而更新。)
  • 用户和组权限问题
  • 应用程序的多个实例(在生产中,每个应用程序会在单独的系统加以实现,并且在灾难恢复配置的单个系统中加以组合。)
  • 网络命名和寻址问题
  • 生产应用程序(在安装过程中绑定于某个特定的网络地址或者网络名)
  • 节点名和主机名冲突(灾难恢复站点中现有的系统与在灾难恢复计划中实现的新的系统之间的冲突)
  • 面向各种功能性系统类型(如独立、高可用性以及灾难恢复)的多种实现标准

本文中所讨论的资源冲突和解决方法假设组织具有多个运行生产系统的数据中心,并且每个数据中心都可以作为一个或多个其他数据中心的灾难恢复站点。本文中所提供的信息适用于任何数据中心和灾难恢复计划。

网络冲突

在实施灾难恢复的过程中,避免网络冲突的最佳解决方案是,始终确保每个网络地址 (TCP/IP) 或者名称在企业范围内具有唯一的值。在拥有多个活动数据中心的组织中,不应该将生产数据中心的网络地址 (TCP/IP) 故障转移到灾难恢复站点。要做到这一点,需要对路由器和交换机重新进行配置,并且这可能会使得数据中心中运行的现有生产系统承担灾难恢复工作负载。因此,生产应用程序不应该绑定于或者依赖于某个特定的网络 TCP/IP 地址,因为在发生灾难的时候,这些网络 TCP/IP 地址可能会更改,从而导致应用程序无法正常工作。应用程序和常规用户不应该使用 TCP/IP 地址、或者通过 TCP/IP 地址来指定网络服务,他们应该只使用符号名称。而且,应用程序和常规用户所使用的符号名称应该仅仅是一个别名,并且指向某个主机名

在这种上下文中,节点 可以指向任何系统(作为一个整体),无论它是不是某个集群或者独立系统中的一部分,而节点名称 是独立于主机名的实体。节点名结构中只包含字母数字字符。可以根据系统的节点名导出一个或多个主机名。表 1 说明了一个名为 abcdefgh00 的节点具有五个主机名。

表 1:节点名和主机名
节点名主机名描述
abcdefgh00abcdefgh00-boot这些节点和主机名指向在启动时分配给网络适配器的 IP 地址。
abcdefgh00abcdefgh00-pers这些节点和主机名指向一个分配给网络适配器的、持久的 IP 地址,该地址是始终存在的。
abcdefgh00abcdefgh00-rg01这些节点和主机名指向一个分配给网络适配器的服务 IP 地址,该地址在应用程序服务运行时是可用的。
abcdefgh00abcdefgh00-mgmt这些节点和主机名指向一个分配给网络适配器的系统管理 IP 地址,该地址是始终存在的。
abcdefgh00abcdefgh00这些节点和主机名指向一个分配给网络适配器的服务 IP 地址,该地址在系统准备好提供应用程序服务时是可用的。

表 1 中还显示了一个名为 abcdefgh00 的主机名,它正好与该系统的节点名相对应。请务必认识到,尽管它们具有相同的名称,但它们的用途是不同的。

应用程序和常规用户所使用的符号名称不应该为表 1 中提及的任何主机名,并且他们应该只使用这些主机名的别名,如表 2 中所示。

表 2:主机名和别名
主机名别名
abcdefgh00-rg01 myappl5
ijklmnop02-rg22db2sys
qrstuvwx17-rg05mqseries5

请注意,在表 2 中,所有主机名的扩展都是 -rg##。这些是对资源组服务地址的引用。尽管这是一个 HACMP 概念,但是它可以用于任何集群的或者独立的系统,以指向某个系统提供的网络服务。任何需要访问系统网络服务的应用程序或者常规用户应该只引用别名,通过别名可以将他们重定向到资源组主机名,而资源组主机名会将他们重定向到资源组服务 IP 地址。

在发生灾难的时候,在系统的灾难恢复站点中使用不同的 TCP/IP 地址、不同的节点名称,以及不同的主机名重新启动生产应用程序。要为灾难恢复站点中刚刚重新启动的应用程序提供访问,唯一所需的更改是,在 DNS 中将这些别名重新指向灾难恢复站点中新的资源组主机名。不需要对应用程序和常规用户进行任何更改,并且所有的应用程序都将自动地重新路由到正确的位置和应用服务器。

用户名

在整个企业的范围内,应该为组织中的每个人分配唯一的标识符,并且当他离开组织之后,不再继续使用这个标识符。这样可以确保在评估问题、难题和操作时进行无缝审核跟踪。用户名应该由字母数字字符组成,并且对于组织内部所有的系统都应该是有效的结构,以便每个人只使用一个用户名。指定一个适用于所有系统的用户名结构并且提供一定的灵活性,这可能是一项棘手的任务。这是因为大多数组织现在运行着各种各样的操作系统,而每种操作系统对用户名结构都有各自的要求。要设计一种通用的用户名结构,您必须考虑到 Microsoft® Windows®、UNIX® 的多个变体、Linux®、OS/400®、RACF® 以及其他操作系统的需求。

有一些用户名结构看上去可以适用于这些环境,包括:

  • 四到七个小写字母和字母数字字符,以字母开头。
  • 七个小写字母和字母数字字符,前三个字符为字母,而后四个字符为数字。
  • 七个小写字母和字母数字字符,前四个字符为字母,而后三个字符为数字。

当然还有一些其他用户名结构也是有效的,但上述这些是最常用的结构。这些结构提供了所需的共同点以满足大多数需求,并提供足够的灵活性,以便用于大型和小型组织。

用户 ID 和 组 ID 编号

在灾难恢复规划过程中,必须意识到,分配给用户和组的用户 ID (UID) 和组 ID (GID) 编号应该在企业范围内是唯一的,以避免在实施灾难恢复的过程中出现冲突或者安全破坏的情况。

为了避免维护工作,并支持保存 UID 和 GID 值及其关联用户和组名的数据库的问题,应该使用一种可再现的算法来计算 UID 和 GID 值。一种执行 UID 和 GID 计算工作的简单算法是,使用 sum 命令和 -r 选项以生成 Berkeley 校验值。下面的示例中使用了这种技术:

$ print "abc1234" | sum -r
  29247  1

本系列文章中所有的命令都采用了 Korn Shell 语法。

下面是上述命令的一个变体,其中使用了 Korn Shell 93 语法:

/usr/bin/ksh93
  UID=$( print "abc1234" | sum -r )
  UID=${UID//[!0-9]/}
  print "UID=${UID}"

该技术的一个限制是,对于三个小写字母加上四个数字的指定用户名格式,它仅计算 600 到 65,000 之间的编号。所以,整个企业内用户和组的数目必须小于 65,000,并且采用这个算法可能会出现重复的值。

资源组名

这里所使用的资源组的概念,要比高可用性实体的范畴更大一些。资源组用于定义资源的任何逻辑集合,它可能包括磁盘、I/O、用户、应用程序,等等,无论节点是否参与到一个高可用性集群或者灾难恢复提供方案。在这种上下文中,应该将资源组看作独立于任何计算机、服务器、或者数据中心。

下面提供了关于定义资源组名的标准:

表 3:资源组名结构定义
应用程序代码+环境+功能+客户 ID+序列 ID
三个字符+一个字符+一个字符+两个字符+一个数字

表 4 中描述了资源组名中每个成分的详细信息。

表 4:资源组名结构定义
资源组名组件字符数目
应用程序代码3db2 = DB2®
nim = NIM
mqm = MQSeries®
tsm = Tivoli® Storage Manager
vio = Virtual I/O
环境1a = 接受 (acceptance)
g = 预生产(pre-production)/Gold
d = 测试 (test)/开发 (development)
p = 生产 (production)
t = 测试 (test)
x = 灾难恢复 (disaster recovery)
功能1a = 应用程序 (application)
c = 组合 (combination)/多用途 (multi-purpose)
d = 数据库 (database)
m = 管理 (management)
u = 实用工具 (utility)
公司或者其他标识符 2ac = Acme
mx = Mt Xia
ib = IBM
序列 ID10-9、A-Z、a-z
表 5:资源组名示例
应用程序代码环境功能客户 ID序列 ID资源组名示例
db2apmx0db2apmx0
nimddmx1nimddmx1
mqmtamx2mqmtamx2

卷组名

为了帮助实现一般的维护、灾难恢复和业务连续性,建议在企业范围内为每个卷组名使用唯一的值。一个 AIX 系统可能包含多个资源组,并且通常为每个资源组定义一个卷组。然而,一个资源组可能包含几个卷组,这取决于应用程序的需求。

卷组名应该是基于前面定义的资源组名的,并且在字符 vg 后使用两位数字的序列编号唯一地标识该卷组。

使用这个标准,卷组名恰好由 12 个字符组成,并具有下面的结构:

表 6:卷组名结构定义
资源组名组件卷组序列标识符字母字符卷组名
db2apmx000vgdb2apmx000vg
db2apmx001vgdb2apmx001vg
db2apmx002vgdb2apmx002vg

逻辑卷名

在企业范围内,将这种唯一性的思想扩展到逻辑卷名,这样可以在发生计划内或者计划外停机时,在执行系统故障转移的过程中避免命名冲突。逻辑卷名也应该基于前面定义的资源组名。每个逻辑卷都关联于一个卷组,并且每个卷组通常包含几个逻辑卷。

使用资源组名定义一个逻辑卷名,确定这个逻辑卷属于哪个卷组和资源组。然后,添加四个字符的字母数字标识符,字符 lv 后面的这个标识符可以唯一地标识逻辑卷。

表 7:逻辑卷名结构定义
资源组名组件逻辑卷序列标识符逻辑卷标识符逻辑卷名
db2apmx0db20lvdb2apmx0db20lv
db2apmx0db21lvdb2apmx0db21lv
db2apmx0db22lvdb2apmx0db22lv

日志逻辑卷名

JFS 和 JFS2 文件系统需要一个用于 JFS 日志的逻辑卷。同样地,也需要在企业范围内使用唯一的名称。日志逻辑卷名结构应该与前面定义的逻辑卷名结构相同;然而,逻辑卷序列标识符应该包含字母字符 jfs,后面加上单个数字以唯一地标识这个名称。为一个日志中的每个卷组定义逻辑卷;然而,可以定义多个逻辑卷。作为一个示例,名为 db2apmx0 的资源组可能拥有一个名为 db2apmx00vg 的卷组。这个卷组拥有多个与其相关联的 JFS 日志逻辑卷:

表 8:日志逻辑卷名结构定义
资源组名组件JFS 日志逻辑卷序列 IDJFS 日志逻辑卷 IDJFS 日志逻辑卷名
db2apmx0jfs0lvdb2apmx0jfs0lv
db2apmx0jfs1lvdb2apmx0jfs1lv
db2apmx0jfs2lvdb2apmx0jfs2lv

文件系统装入点目录名

为了确保在灾难恢复场景中将一个应用程序的多个实例恢复到单个系统,每个包含应用程序文件的文件系统都应该在企业范围内具有唯一的装入点目录。要实现这一点,最好的方法是,使用资源组名或者逻辑卷名的一个子字符串作为顶层目录,因为通常每个逻辑卷都需要一个文件系统装入点。

作为一个示例,名为 db2apmx0 的资源组可能拥有多个与其相关联的文件系统:

表 9:文件系统装入点目录名定义
资源组名组件可选的逻辑卷序列 ID可选的子目录文件系统装入点
db2apmx0db2_08_01/bin/db2apmx0/db2_08_01/bin
db2apmx0db2_08_01/data/db2apmx0/db2_08_01/data
db2apmx1mq01/db2apmx1mq01
db2apmx1mq02/db2apmx1mq02
db2apmx1mq03/db2apmx1mq03

结束语

在企业范围内对资源进行唯一地命名,这样可以提供一种有效的方法,以便在灾难恢复或者高可用性故障转移的过程中避免发生冲突。使用资源组名作为这种方法的基础,可以将其扩展到比本文中所介绍的更大的范围。附加的潜在资源冲突包括:

  • 应用程序启动和终止脚本的文件名
  • 工作负载管理器 (Workload Manager) 的类和子类
  • 性能监视
  • 作业调度
  • 打印队列
  • Tivoli Storage Manager
  • MQSeries

本文中所描述的标准并不一定适合您的组织的特定要求和需求;然而,对本文中的基本原则进行相应的修改,您的组织就可以得到类似的标准,以帮助解决或者消除这些潜在的冲突。不要等到必须使用它们的时候才确定所需的标准,比如在出现了计划内或者计划外停机的情况时。

要避免资源冲突,组织需要采用企业范围内的业务连续性思想。而且,业务连续性必须作为系统设计工作中的起点,而不是终点。不幸的是,很少有系统在构建时考虑到后面的业务连续性。

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

  • IBM 试用软件:从 developerWorks 可直接下载这些试用软件,您可以利用它们开发您的下一个项目。

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=AIX and UNIX, Security
ArticleID=260107
ArticleTitle=AIX 灾难恢复
publish-date=10082007

AIX disaster recovery

Resolving resource conflicts

Recovering AIX® IT resources after a disaster requires the personnel performing the recovery to concentrate on working the prepared plan. Unexpected deviations from the plan can cause immense delays in the disaster recovery project. Often, these unexpected deviations are due to a lack of adherence to business continuity policies, guidelines, standards, and procedures. This article identifies resource conflicts that typically occur during a disaster recovery implementation and provides suggestions for resolving these conflicts.

Dana French, President, Mt Xia Inc.

Mr. French's career in the IT industry has spanned three decades and numerous industries. His work focuses primarily on the fields of business continuity, disaster recovery, and high availability, and he has designed and written numerous software packages to automate the processes of disaster recovery and high availability. He is most noted for his approach to system administration as an automated, business oriented process, rather than as a system oriented, interactive process. He is also a noted authority on the subject of Korn Shell programming.



18 September 2007

Also available in Chinese Russian

Introduction

During a disaster recovery implementation effort, the last thing you want is unexpected hardware and software resource conflicts. These tend to consume time, personnel resources, and cause recovery time objectives to be missed. The goal of this article is to identify the most common causes of resource conflicts and to provide mechanisms to avoid or resolve them. The most desirable solution is to avoid these conflicts altogether so that resolution during a disaster recovery implementation effort is not required.

Many IT departments attempt to support multiple implementation standards, one for non-clustered systems, another for clustered systems, and yet another for disaster recovery-enabled systems. Maintaining multiple standards can itself be a source and cause of conflicts during a disaster recovery implementation. Consolidation into a single set of standards should be a goal of your disaster recovery planning project and an overall strategy of business continuity.

Some of the typical issues encountered during an AIX® disaster recovery implementation include:

  • Systems provisioned for the purpose of disaster recovery (These systems are of a different type, size, and capacity than production; the systems are usually newer with updated operating systems.)
  • User and group permission problems
  • Multiple instances of an application (Each application is implemented on a separate system in production and are combined on a single system in the disaster recovery provisioning.)
  • Network naming and addressing issues
  • Production applications (tied to a specific network address or network name during installation)
  • Node name and host name conflicts (conflicts between existing systems in the disaster recovery site and the new systems being implemented under the disaster recovery plan)
  • Multiple implementation standards for various functional system types such as standalone, high availability, and disaster recovery

The resource conflicts and resolutions discussed here assume an organization has multiple data centers running production systems, and each data center serving as a disaster recovery site for one or more other data centers. The information presented here is applicable to any data center and disaster recovery plan.

Networking conflicts

The best solution for avoiding networking conflicts during a disaster recovery implementation is to always ensure that each network address (TCP/IP) or name has a unique value across the enterprise. In organizations with multiple active data centers, network addresses (TCP/IP) from the production data center should not be failed over to the disaster recovery site. To do so requires reconfiguration of routers and switches, and it could endanger the existing production systems running in the data center accepting the disaster recovery workload. Therefore, the production applications should never be tied to or dependent upon a specific network TCP/IP address because, in a disaster, those network TCP/IP addresses change, causing the applications not to work. Applications and regular users should never use or specify a network service by its TCP/IP address, and they should only use a symbolic name. Furthermore, the symbolic name used by applications and regular users should only be an alias and point to a host name.

In this context, a node refers to any system as a whole, whether or not it is part of a cluster or a standalone system, and the node name is a separate entity from the host name. The node name structure consists of alphanumeric characters only. One or more host names can be derived based on the node name of the system. Table 1 illustrates a node named abcdefgh00 with five host names.

Table 1: Node names and host names
Node nameHost nameDescription
abcdefgh00abcdefgh00-bootThese node and host names refer to an IP address assigned to a network adapter at boot time.
abcdefgh00abcdefgh00-persThese node and host names refer to a persistent IP address assigned to a network adapter that will always be present.
abcdefgh00abcdefgh00-rg01These node and host names refer to a service IP address assigned to a network adapter that is available when the application services are running.
abcdefgh00abcdefgh00-mgmtThese node and host names refer to a system management IP address assigned to a network adapter that is always present.
abcdefgh00abcdefgh00These node and host names refer to a service IP address assigned to a network adapter that is available when the system is ready to provide application services.

Table 1 also shows a host name called abcdefgh00, which happens to correspond with the node name of the system. Recognize that even though they have the same name, their purposes are different.

The symbolic name used by applications and regular users should not be any of the host names referenced in Table 1, and they should only use an alias to these host names, as shown in Table 2.

Table 2: Host names and aliases
Host nameAlias
abcdefgh00-rg01 myappl5
ijklmnop02-rg22db2sys
qrstuvwx17-rg05mqseries5

Notice in Table 2 that all host names have an extension of -rg##. These are references to a resource group service address. Even though this is an HACMP concept, it can be used on any clustered or standalone system to refer to a network service offered by a system. Any applications or regular users requiring access to a systems network services should only refer to the alias, which redirects them to the resource group host name, which redirects them to the resource group service IP address.

In the event of a disaster, the production applications are restarted at the disaster recovery site on systems with different TCP/IP addresses, different node names, and different host names. To provide access to the applications now restarted at the disaster recovery site, the only change that is necessary is to repoint the alias names in the DNS to the new resource group host name in the disaster recovery site. No changes are necessary for the applications and regular users, and all applications are automatically rerouted to the correct location and application server.

User names

Each person in an organization should be assigned a unique identifier across the enterprise that is only assigned to that person, and when that person leaves the organization, it is retired. This ensures a seamless audit trail when evaluating problems, issues, and actions. The user name should consist of alphanumeric characters and be a valid structure for all systems within an organization so that each person only has one user name. Specifying a user name structure that works on all systems and provides enough variability can be a daunting task. The reason for this is because most organizations today run a wide variety of operating systems, each with it's own requirements for user name structures. To devise a common user name structure, you must take into consideration the requirements of Microsoft® Windows®, multiple variants of UNIX®, Linux®, OS/400®, RACF®, and others.

Some user name structures that seem to work across these environments are:

  • Four to seven lowercase and alphanumeric characters, beginning with a letter
  • Seven lowercase and alphanumeric characters, first three characters being alphabetic and the last four characters being digits
  • Seven lowercase and alphanumeric characters, first four characters being alphabetic and the last three characters being digits

There are certainly other user name structures that work, but these seem to be the most commonly used structures. These structures provide the commonality necessary to satisfy most requirements, as well as enough flexibility to be useful in both large and small organizations.

User ID and group ID numbers

In disaster recovery planning, it is important to recognize that user ID (UID) and group ID (GID) numbers should be uniquely assigned to users and groups on an enterprise-wide basis in order to avoid conflicts or security breaches during a disaster recovery implementation.

In order to avoid the maintenance and support issues of keeping a database of UID and GID values and their associated user and group names, a reproducible algorithm should be used to calculate the UID and GID values. An easy algorithm for performing a UID and GID calculation is to use the sum command and the -r option to generate the Berkeley cksum value. Here's an example of using this technique:

$ print "abc1234" | sum -r
  29247  1

All commands shown in this series of articles are expressed in Korn shell syntax.

A variation on the above command using Korn Shell 93 syntax:

/usr/bin/ksh93
  UID=$( print "abc1234" | sum -r )
  UID=${UID//[!0-9]/}
  print "UID=${UID}"

A limitation of this technique is that it only calculates numbers between 600 and 65,000 for the specified user name format of three lowercase letters followed by four digits. So the number of users and groups is limited to less than 65,000 across the enterprise, and the possibility of duplicates does exist with this algorithm.

Resource group names

The concept of a resource group is used here in a larger sense than just as a high-availability entity. Here a resource group is used to define any logical collection of resources, which might include disk, I/O, users, applications, and so forth, regardless of whether or not a node participates in a high-availability cluster or disaster recovery provisioning scheme. In this context, a resource group should be viewed as independent from any machine, server, or data center.

The following provides a standard for defining the resource group name:

Table 3: Resource group name structure definition
Application code+Environment+Function+Customer or client ID+Sequence ID
Three characters+One character+One character+Two characters+One digit

The detailed information for each component of the resource group name is described in Table 4.

Table 4: Resource group name structure definition
Resource group name componentNumber of charactersValues
Application code3db2 = DB2®
nim = NIM
mqm = MQSeries®
tsm = Tivoli® Storage Manager
vio = Virtual I/O
Environment1a = acceptance
g = pre-production/Gold
d = test/development
p = production
t = test
x = disaster recovery
Function1a = application
c = combination/multi-purpose
d = database
m = management
u = utility
Company or other identifier 2ac = Acme
mx = Mt Xia
ib = IBM
Sequence ID10-9,A-Z,a-z
Table 5: Example resource group names
Application codeEnvironmentFunctionCustomer or client IDSequence IDExample resource group name
db2apmx0db2apmx0
nimddmx1nimddmx1
mqmtamx2mqmtamx2

Volume group names

In order to facilitate normal maintenance, disaster recovery, and business continuity, it is recommended that each volume group name be a unique value across the enterprise. A single AIX system might contain multiple resource groups, and there typically is one volume group defined per resource group. However, a resource group might contain several volume groups, depending upon the requirements of the application.

The volume group name should be based on the previously defined resource group name, and a two-digit sequence number that uniquely identifies the volume group followed by the characters vg.

Using this standard, the volume group name consists of exactly 12 characters with the following structure:

Table 6: Volume group name structure definition
Resource group name componentVolume group sequence identifier Literal charactersVolume group name
db2apmx000vgdb2apmx000vg
db2apmx001vgdb2apmx001vg
db2apmx002vgdb2apmx002vg

Logical volume names

Extending the unique mentality to logical volume names across the enterprise ensures naming conflicts will be avoided while performing system failovers during planned or unplanned outages. The logical volume name should also be based upon the previously defined resource group name. Each logical volume is associated with a volume group, and each volume group typically contains several logical volumes.

Using the resource group name to define a logical volume name, determine which volume group and resource group this logical volume belongs to. Then add a four-character alphanumeric identifier that uniquely identifies the logical volume followed by the characters lv.

Table 7: Logical volume name structure definition
Resource group name componentLogical volume sequence identifierLogical volume identifierLogical volume name
db2apmx0db20lvdb2apmx0db20lv
db2apmx0db21lvdb2apmx0db21lv
db2apmx0db22lvdb2apmx0db22lv

Log logical volume names

JFS and JFS2 file systems require a logical volume for the JFS log. A unique name across the enterprise is also required. The log logical volume name structure should be the same as previously defined for a normal logical volume; however, the logical volume sequence identifier should consist of the literal characters jfs followed by a single digit to uniquely identify this name. Logical volume will be defined per volume group on one log; however, multiples might be defined. As an example, a resource group named db2apmx0 might have a volume group named db2apmx00vg. This volume group has multiple JFS log logical volumes associated with it:

Table 8: Log logical volume name structure definition
Resource group name componentJFS log logical volume sequence IDJFS log logical volume IDJFS log logical volume name
db2apmx0jfs0lvdb2apmx0jfs0lv
db2apmx0jfs1lvdb2apmx0jfs1lv
db2apmx0jfs2lvdb2apmx0jfs2lv

File system mount point directory names

To ensure the ability to recover multiple instances of an application onto a single system in a disaster recovery scenario, each file system containing application files should have a unique mount point directory across the enterprise. The best way to achieve this is to use the resource group name or a substring of the logical volume name as the top-level directory, since typically a file system mount point is required for each logical volume.

As an example, a resource group named db2apmx0 might have multiple file systems associated with it:

Table 9: File system mount point directory name definition
Resource group name componentOptional logical volume sequence IDOptional sub-directoriesFile system mount point
db2apmx0db2_08_01/bin/db2apmx0/db2_08_01/bin
db2apmx0db2_08_01/data/db2apmx0/db2_08_01/data
db2apmx1mq01/db2apmx1mq01
db2apmx1mq02/db2apmx1mq02
db2apmx1mq03/db2apmx1mq03

Conclusion

The unique naming methodology for resources across the enterprise provides an effective method of avoiding conflicts during a disaster recovery or high-availability failover. The use of a resource group name as the basis of this methodology can be expanded beyond the scope presented here. Additional potential resource conflicts include:

  • File names for application start and stop scripts
  • Workload Manager classes and subclasses
  • Performance monitoring
  • Job scheduling
  • Printer queues
  • Tivoli Storage Manager
  • MQSeries

The standards described in this article might or might not suit your the particular needs and requirements of your organization; however, the overriding principle of this article is that your organization should have similar standards in place to help resolve or eliminate these potential conflicts. The worst time to decide that standards are needed is when you need them most, such as during a planned or unplanned outage.

Avoiding resource conflicts requires an organization to adopt an enterprise-wide mentality of business continuity. Furthermore, business continuity must be the beginning point in systems design, not the end point. Unfortunately, very few systems are built from the business continuity perspective backwards.

Resources

Learn

Get products and technologies

  • IBM trial software: Build your next development project with software for download directly from developerWorks.

Discuss

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into AIX and Unix on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=255882
ArticleTitle=AIX disaster recovery
publish-date=09182007