比较 IBM System p 上的 SLES (SUSE) 和 RHEL (Red Hat)

AIX 管理员了解 Linux 的指南

大多数计划在 IBM® System p® 上安装 Linux® 的系统管理员最终都会遇到一个重要的问题:应该安装哪个 Linux 发行版?本文比较 Red Hat 和 Novell 提供的两个发行版,对比它们的优缺点。我们将讨论 Linux on POWER (LoP)、这两个发行版的历史、IBM 与它们的关系以及在决策过程中应该考虑的因素。我们还要对比在 SLES 和 RHEL 上创建逻辑卷的过程。

Ken Milberg, 作家/网站专家, Future Tech

Ken Milberg 是 PMP,同时也是 techtarget.com 的撰稿人/站点专家,他还为 searchopensource.com 提供 Linux 技术信息和支持。Ken 是 IBM Systems Magazine,Open Edition 的撰稿人和技术编辑。Ken 拥有 University of Maryland University College 的计算机与信息科学学士学位和技术管理科学硕士学位。他是 Long Island POWER-AIX 用户组的创始人和负责人。这些年以来,他在各种规模的企业工作过,并且担任过各种职位,包括 CIO 和高级 AIX 工程师。他现在在 Future Tech 工作,这是一家总部设在长岛的 IBM 业务合作伙伴。Ken 不仅是已通过 PMI 认证的项目管理专业人员(PMP),还是通过 IBM 认证的高级技术专家(CATE,IBM System p5 2006)。



2009 年 2 月 04 日

简介

Linux on POWER (LoP) 是在 2005 年随着 Advanced Power Virtualization (APV) 和 IBM System p5® 引入的。这使拥有 IBM System p 体系结构的用户能够在 IBM 的逻辑分区 (LPAR) 上安装 Linux,从而使用户能够在 System p 上使用虚拟化特性,其效果与 UNIX® 的 IBM 版本 AIX® 相似。这些特性包括微分区、Virtual IO Servers (VIOS) 以及 Capacity on Demand (CoD) 等高级特性。Power6 上的一些新特性甚至也支持 LoP,比如 Live Partition Mobility,这使工作负载能够在 System p 服务器之间转移而不需要停机;还有共享的专用容量,这可以优化空闲处理器周期的使用。

最后,应该提醒 LoP 的用户注意 PowerVM 提供的一项创新。此特性以前称为 System p AVE,现在已经改名为 PowerVM™ Lx86。PowerVM Lx86 支持在使用 POWER6™、POWER5+™ 或 POWER5™ 处理器的任何 System p 或 BladeCenter® 机型上安装和运行大多数 32 位 x86 Linux 应用程序,而不需要原生安装应用程序。它在基于 POWER™ 处理器的系统上创建一个 x86 Linux 应用程序环境,动态地把 x86 指令转换为 Power Architecture® 指令并缓存它们以提高性能。它还把 x86 Linux 系统调用映射为 Linux on POWER 系统调用。这个解决方案的独特之处是不需要原生迁移或应用程序升级,就能够运行大多数 x86 Linux 应用程序。SLES 和 RHEL 都支持此特性。

但是,在 IBM System p 上支持 Red Hat 和 Novell 的发行版吗?简单的回答是 “是的”。但是,在它们之间有一些应该注意的根本差别。我曾经作为项目经理参与一个 Linux 发行版迁移项目,此项目的花费高达数百万美元,所以我可以证明选择适当的发行版是多么重要。选择发行版的考虑因素包括 GUI 对您的重要程度、希望从发行版厂商那里获得的支持种类以及每个发行版占有的市场份额。为了帮助您做出决策,本文将介绍管理卷组和给逻辑环境分配物理卷涉及的步骤。


SLES

SUSE 是在 1992 年作为一个 UNIX 咨询小组创立的。第一个真正的 Linux 发行版于 1996 年发布。SLES 基于 SUSE 的 Linux,于 2000 年 10 月首次发布。很有意思的是,最早发布的是一个用于 IBM 大型机的版本。SLES 的 x86 版本于 2001 年 4 月发布。Novell 于 2004 年 1 月收购了 SUSE。SLES V9 于 2004 年 8 月发布,SLES 10 于 2006 年 2 月发布。

SLES 有哪些独特之处呢?按我的观点,首先是 Yet another Setup Tool(YaST 或 YaST2)。YaST 与 AIX 上的 smit 相似,它可以执行许多系统管理任务。下面操作逻辑卷,这也使我们能够使用物理设备和文件系统。

首先,使用 # yast 打开 GUI。这会打开下面的 YaST Control Center。

图 1. YaST Control Center
YaST Control Center

接下来,需要选择 LVM。可以添加卷组或添加逻辑卷。在这里,我们要添加一个卷组,因为目前还没有定义卷组。

图 2. LVM 配置
LVM 配置

添加的卷组是 oravg。还将把物理设备 /dev/sdb 分配给这个卷组。

图 3. 把物理设备 /dev/sdb 分配给卷组
把物理设备 /dev/sdb 分配给卷组

完成这个步骤之后,会看到物理卷大小增加了;在这里,它增加到 19.9 GB。现在准备添加逻辑卷。选择 Add

图 4. 添加逻辑卷
添加逻辑卷

在图 5 中,输入逻辑卷名称 oralv 和大小 4.9GB。还要添加挂载点 /ora01,这会创建文件系统。

图 5. 输入逻辑卷名称
输入逻辑卷名称

图 6 显示已经成功地创建了这个卷。

图 6. 成功地创建了卷
成功地创建了卷

通过命令行确认已经成功地创建了这个卷。

图 7. 命令行确认
命令行确认

RHEL

在本节中,讨论 IBM System p 上的 Red Hat 发行版。Red Hat 从 RHEL4 开始支持 IBM System p。也支持 RHEL5。所以,对于没有 IBM 支持的版本,不能使用 PowerVM™(IBM 的虚拟化引擎)等功能。

Red Hat V1 于 1994 年 11 月发布,它实际上是第一个使用 RPM Package Manager 的 Linux 发行版。RHEL 于 2003 年发布,Red Hat Linux 的最新版本 V9 于 2004 年 4 月发布。毫无疑问,Red Hat 是近几年 Linux 市场上的领先者,对于大企业市场尤其如此。

在 RHEL 中缺少 YaST2 那样的综合 GUI,所以执行命令不太方便。Red Hat 发行版也有 GUI,但是需要记住启动它们的命令;没有 SLES 中那样的单一命令。为了添加逻辑卷,要使用 system-config-lvm 命令。在设置卷组之前,首先需要初始化未分区空间(见图 8),在这里是 20 GB:# system-config-lvm

图 8. 初始化未分区空间
初始化未分区空间

初始化之后,选择 Create New Volume Group 创建一个新的卷组。

图 9. 创建新的卷组
创建新的卷组

在这里,把卷组命名为 oraclevg 并分配 256 个 4 mg 的区段。在操作完成时,单击 OK

图 10. 命名卷组
命名卷组

现在,单击逻辑视图以创建逻辑卷。

图 11. 单击逻辑视图
单击逻辑视图

现在创建 LVM。单击 Create New Logical Volume

图 12. 创建新的逻辑卷
创建新的逻辑卷

这里把逻辑卷命名为 oralv 并分配 1000 个区段。把文件系统命名为 /ora01 并设置为 ext3 文件系统。

图 13. 把逻辑卷命名为 oralv
把逻辑卷命名为 oralv

图 14 显示逻辑卷、它的物理卷、文件系统和卷组。

图 14. 逻辑卷、它的物理卷、文件系统和卷组
逻辑卷、它的物理卷、文件系统和卷组

SLES 与 RHEL

在比较这两个发行版之前,一定要下载访问操作系统的所有功能所需的所有软件,包括在 Linux 分区上进行动态逻辑分区的功能。对于不由 Hardware Management Console (HMC) 管理的 System p 服务器,应该下载的所有 SLES 包,请参见 参考资料。这些包是 IBM 以 RPM 格式提供的。在安装这些包之后,还可以执行 CPU 和可热插拔 PCI 适配器的动态重新配置,而不需要重新引导 Linux。

Novell 的一项独特创新是 SUSE Linux Enterprise 的综合软件组合,这最早用在 IBM System p5® 和 BladeCenter JS21 上。这包括 IBM WebSphere® 应用服务器、IBM DB2®、SLES10 和 Centeris Likewise Management(可以使用这个管理工具管理 Linux 和 Windows 服务器的网络)。这个软件组合包含在一张 DVD 上,所有 Novell 业务合作伙伴都提供该软件组合。此产品是一个端到端的支持 Web 的环境,功能全面且强大。它适合那些有定制 Web 应用程序或 Java 应用程序的客户,可以帮助他们结合使用支持的应用程序和开放源码应用程序更新基础结构。IBM 的虚拟化产品 PowerVM 也完全支持它。在 RHEL 方面,Red Hat 有自己的应用程序组合。这个软件组合是 RHEL4 的一个综合版本,其中包含 JBoss 和 Apache。但是,RHEL 软件组合不具备 SLES 软件组合那样的 System p 支持水平。

另外,根据调查,Novell 的市场份额从去年的大约 13% 增长到了目前的大约 17%(参见 参考资料)。SLES 的一些基准测试结果也令人影响深刻。最近,在最流行的高端服务器之一 IBM System p570(使用新的 4.7 GHz POWER6™ 芯片,运行 SUSE Linux)上进行的 SPECfp_2006 基准测试得分为 22.4。这是目前的最高分数;这比运行 HP-UX 的 HP Integrity rx6600 大约高 23%。

那么 RHEL 呢?Red Hat 多年占据很大的 Linux 市场份额,这是一个应该考虑的因素。与 YaST 相比,我个人更喜欢某些 RHEL GUI 工具,尤其是本文中用来配置逻辑卷的工具。这个 GUI 既简单又直观。

我既使用过 SLES,也使用过 RHEL,但是不好断定哪个在 IBM System p 上更好使用。它们都具备良好的支持,都有突出的优点。还要注意,Red Hat 和 Novell 都提供和支持 Linux on POWER 配置。请访问 IBM 的 Linux on POWER Service and Productivity Tools Support 论坛(参见 参考资料),在这里和可以和使用这些系统的其他人交换看法。


结束语

在本文中,我们讨论了 IBM System p 上的两种主要 Linux 发行版:RHEL 和 SLES。还详细介绍了 Linux on POWER (LoP) 和这两个发行版的历史。演示了在这两个发行版上设置逻辑卷的过程。在此过程中,体验了这两个发行版的 GUI。RHEL 还是 SLES?它们都不错,您要仔细考虑。

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=AIX and UNIX, Linux
ArticleID=368127
ArticleTitle=比较 IBM System p 上的 SLES (SUSE) 和 RHEL (Red Hat)
publish-date=02042009

Contents


Comparison of SLES (SUSE) and RHEL (Red Hat) on IBM System p

The AIX administrators guide to learning Linux

Comments

Linux on POWER (LoP) was introduced in 2005 with the introduction of Advanced Power Virtualization (APV) and IBM System p5®. Its introduction allowed users of the IBM System p architecture to install Linux natively on top of IBM's logical partitioning (LPAR) technology. In doing so, it provided users with the ability to use virtualization features on System p, similar to what they could do with IBM's brand of UNIX®: AIX®. These features included micro-partitioning, Virtual IO Servers (VIOS) and supported advanced-level features, such as Capacity on Demand (CoD). It even is supported by newer innovations available on the Power6, such as Live Partition Mobility, which allows workloads to be dynamically moved from one System p server to another with no downtime; and shared dedicated capacity, which optimizes the use of spare processor cycles.

Finally, we should note that users of LoP should be aware of a new innovation brought in by PowerVM. Formerly referred to as System p AVE, it has since been renamed PowerVM™ Lx86. PowerVM Lx86 supports the installation and running of most 32-bit x86 Linux applications on any System p or BladeCenter® model with POWER6™, POWER5+™, or POWER5™ processors, without a native installation of the application. It works by creating an x86 Linux application environment running on POWER™ processor-based systems by dynamically translating x86 instructions to Power Architecture® instructions and caching them to enhance performance. It also maps x86 Linux system calls to Linux on POWER system calls. What is unique about this solution is that no native porting or application upgrade is required for running most x86 Linux applications. This is supported by both SLES and RHEL.

But aren't both Red Hat's and Novell's distributions supported on IBM System p? The short answer is yes. But there are some fundamental differences between them that you should be aware of. As a project manager presently involved in a multimillion-dollar project moving from one Linux distribution to another, I can attest to the importance of this decision. Some of these factors include how important a GUI is to you, what kind of support you can expect to receive from your distribution vendors, and the respective market share of each distribution. To help you in you decision, you'll see what's involved in managing volume groups and allocating physical volumes to your logical environments.

SLES

SUSE was founded in 1992 as a UNIX Consulting Group. The first real Linux distribution was released in 1996. SLES is based on SUSE's Linux and was first released in October 2000. Interestingly enough, it was first released as a version for the IBM mainframe. The x86 version of SLES was released in April 2001. Novell acquired SUSE in January 2004. SLES V9 was released in August 2004, and SLES 10 was released in February 2006.

What is it about SUSE that sets it apart? In my view, it starts with Yet another Setup Tool (YaST, or YaST2) . YaST is similar to smit on AIX, and it can pretty much perform and systems administration task. Let's work with logical volumes, which will allow you to work with physical devices and file systems, as well.

First, we'll call up the GUI using the # yast. This calls up the YaST Control Center shown below.

Figure 1. YaST Control Center
YaST Control Center
YaST Control Center

Next, you need to choose LVM. You can add a volume group or add logical volumes. In this case, you will add a volume group since we don't have one defined at the moment.

Figure 2. LVM configuration
LVM configuration
LVM configuration

The volume group you are adding is oravg. You'll also allocate physical device /dev/sdb to this volume group.

Figure 3. Allocating physical device /dev/sddb to the volume group
Allocating physical device /dev/sddb to the volume group
Allocating physical device /dev/sddb to the volume group

When that is completed, you'll see the physical volume size increase; in our case, it increases to 19.9 GB. Now we're ready to add the logical volume. Choose Add.

Figure 4. Adding the logical volume
Adding the logical volume
Adding the logical volume

In Figure 5, you'll input the name of the logical volume, oralv, and request a size of 4.9GB. You'll also add the mount point, /ora01, which also creates the file system.

Figure 5. Inputting the name of the logical volume
Inputting the name of the logical volume
Inputting the name of the logical volume

Figure 6 shows that the volume was created successfully.

Figure 6. The volume was created successfully
The volume was created successfully
The volume was created successfully

The command line verifies that the volume was created successfully.

Figure 7. Command-line verification
Command-line verification
Command-line verification

RHEL

In this section, we'll discuss Red Hat's distribution on IBM System p. Red Hat offers support on the IBM System p starting with RHEL4. RHEL5 is also supported. So without IBM support of the version , functionality, such as PowerVM™, IBM's virtualization engine, will just not work.

Red Hat V1 was released in November 1994 and was actually the first Linux to use the RPM Package Manager. RHEL was introduced in 2003, with the last of the Red Hat Linux versions, V9, released in April 2004. Unquestionably, Red Hat has been the Linux market leader through the years, particularly for big business.

What you won't find with RHEL is an integrated GUI-like YaST2, from which you can launch any command that your heart desires. With Red Hat, you have GUIs, but you need to remember the names of the commands that launch them; there is not one command from which it all flows as there is with SLES. To add logical volumes, you'll use the system-config-lvm command. The first thing you'll need to do prior to setting up our volume group is initialize your unpartitioned space (see Figure 8), which, here, is 20 GB: # system-config-lvm.

Figure 8. Initializing your unpartitioned space
Initializing your unpartitioned space
Initializing your unpartitioned space

After you initialize, choose Create New Volume Group to create a new volume group.

Figure 9. Create New Volume Group
Create New Volume Group
Create New Volume Group

In this case, you'll call the volume group oraclevg and allocate 256 4 mg extents. Click OK when the action is completed.

Figure 10. Naming the volume group
Naming the volume group
Naming the volume group

At this point, click on logical view to create a logical volume.

Figure 11. Clicking on logical view
Clicking on logical view
Clicking on logical view

Now let's create the LVM. Click on Create New Logical Volume.

Figure 12. Create New Logical Volume
Create New Logical Volume
Create New Logical Volume

We'll call our LV oralv and allocate 1000 extents. We'll also call the file system /ora01 and make it an ext3 file system.

Figure 13. Naming the logical volume oralv
Naming the logical volume oralv
Naming the logical volume oralv

Figure 14 shows the logical volume, its physical volume, file system, and volume group.

Figure 14. Logical volume, its physical volume, file system, and volume group
Logical volume, its physical volume,   file system, and volume group
Logical volume, its physical volume, file system, and volume group

SLES vs. RHEL

Before we compare and contrast the two distributions, make sure you download all the required software that will enable you to access the full capabilities of your operating system, including the ability to enable dynamic logical partitioning on your Linux partition. See Related topics for a complete list of SLES packages you should download for System p servers that are not managed by a Hardware Management Console (HMC). These packages are provided from IBM in RPM format. After installing these packages, the dynamic reconfiguration of CPU and hot-pluggable PCI adapters can also be performed without having to reboot Linux.

One important innovation exclusive to Novell is its integrated stack for SUSE Linux Enterprise, first made available on IBM System p5® and BladeCenter JS21. This consists of the IBM WebSphere® application server, IBM DB2®, SLES10, and Centeris Likewise Management. This management tool allows you to manage a network of Linux and Windows servers. The stack is bundled on one DVD and available from all Novell business partners. This product is an end-to-end Web-enabled environment, which is as powerful as it is integrated. This is intended for clients with custom Web-based or Java applications who are looking to modernize their infrastructure with a mix of supported and open source applications. It is also fully supported by IBM's midrange virtualization product, IBM's PowerVM. On the RHEL side, Red Hat has its own application stack. This stack is an integrated version of RHEL4 that includes JBoss and Apache. The RHEL stack, however, does not have the same level of System p support the SLES stack does.

Additionally, Novell's market share climbed from approximately 13 percent in last year's survey to roughly 17 percent in the current poll (see Related topics). SLES also boasts some impressive benchmarks. Recent SPECfp_2006 benchmarks on one of its most popular high-end midrange servers, the IBM System p570, powered by the new POWER6™ chip (4.7 GHz) and running SUSE Linux, scored 22.4. This is the highest result in the industry; approximately 23 percent better than an HP Integrity rx6600 running HP-UX.

What about RHEL? Red Hat owns the market share for Linux and has for many years, which is something to consider. I have a preference for some of the RHEL GUI tools over YaST — in particular, the one we looked at in this article — to configure logical volumes. The GUI is easy on the eyes and intuitive.

karen

As someone who has used both SLES and RHEL, I'm not prepared to say I prefer one or the other on IBM System p. They both have great support and are top performers. It's also important to note that both Red Hat and Novell service and support the Linux on POWER configurations. Make sure you visit IBM's Linux on POWER Service and Productivity Tools Support Forum (see Related topics), where you can collaborate with others using these systems.

Summary

In this article, we looked at the top Linux distributions on IBM's System p: RHEL and SLES. The history of Linux on POWER (LoP) and the histories of the leading distributions were also detailed. You've seen firsthand how to set up the logical volumes on each distribution. In doing so, you used the GUI of each distribution to perform some configurations. RHEL or SLES? The bottom line is you can't go wrong with either.


Downloadable resources


Related topics


Comments

Sign in or register to add and subscribe to comments.

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=AIX and UNIX, Linux
ArticleID=349766
ArticleTitle=Comparison of SLES (SUSE) and RHEL (Red Hat) on IBM System p
publish-date=11182008