跳转到主要内容

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

这是您第一次登陆到 developerWorks,已经自动为您创建了您的概要文件。 选择您概要文件中可以公开的信息的信息(如姓名、国家/地区,以及公司),这些信息同时也会与您所发布的内容相关联。 您可以随时更新您的 IBM 账号。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

  • 关闭 [x]

当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

所有提交的信息确保安全。

  • 关闭 [x]

IBM AIX 设备驱动程序开发

AIX 设备驱动程序框架及相关 API 的教程

Gautam Raut, 高级软件工程师, IBM
http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/aix/library/au-aix-device-driver/GautamRaut.JPG
Gautam Raut 在印度浦那的 IBM 软件实验室工作,是 Andrew File System (AFS) Team 中的一名高级软件工程师。他致力于对转储和崩溃,以及 Linux 和 AIX 平台上所报告的错误进行内核与用户级的调试。他还研究各种 AFS 特定的 AIX 内核组件。Gautam 持有浦那大学的计算机科学硕士学位。他是一个 Linux 爱好者,他用业余时间在他的 Fedora 8 机器上研究 Linux 内核。

简介:  本教程阐述 IBM® AIX® 设备驱动程序框架及相关的应用程序编程接口 (API)。在这里,我们将讨论设备交换结构、注册设备交换方法的 API、主编号和次编号管理,以及将数据从内核移动到用户空间。

发布日期:  2013 年 6 月 13 日
级别: 中级

访问情况 : 5821 次浏览

简介

在传统的 UNIX® 中,术语 设备 是指硬件组件,如磁盘驱动器、磁带驱动器、打印机、键盘、伪设备(如控制台、错误特殊文件和空特殊文件),等等。在 AIX 中,这些设备被称为核心设备,它们有设备驱动程序,系统通过主编号和次编号来识别它们。

AIX 设备驱动程序是一种 AIX 内核扩展。内核扩展在一个受保护的内核域上运行。它们可以在系统启动或运行时被加载到内核中,也可以在运行时被删除。用户级的代码只能通过系统调用来访问注册的设备驱动程序代码。设备驱动程序为 AIX 添加了系统管理的可扩展性、可配置性和易用性。

如需了解基本的内核扩展开发,请参阅 IBM developerWorks 文章 编写 AIX 内核扩展

设备驱动程序通过引用 /usr/lib/kernex.exp 使用由 AIX 内核 "/unix" 导出的核心内核服务。"kernex.exp" 包含一个由内核导出的符号列表。这些导出的符号本质上是内核函数和存储位置(内核全局数据结构)。链接器程序 (ld) 在链接编译的设备驱动程序代码时使用此信息。

1 页,共 15 | 后一页

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=AIX and UNIX, Linux
ArticleID=933006
TutorialTitle=IBM AIX 设备驱动程序开发
publish-date=06132013
author1-email=gautraut_cnnew1@in.ibm.com
author1-email-cc=

Skip to main content

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Select information in your profile (name, country/region, and company) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

  • Close [x]

The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerworks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

All information submitted is secure.

  • Close [x]

developerWorks Community:

  • Close [x]

IBM AIX device driver development

A tutorial on AIX device driver framework and related APIs

Gautam Raut (gautraut@in.ibm.com), Senior Software Engineer, IBM
Gautam
Gautam Raut works as a Senior Software Engineer for the Andrew File System (AFS) Team at the IBM Software Labs in Pune, India. He works with kernel and user-level debugging of dumps and crashes, as well as reported bugs on the Linux and AIX platforms. He has also worked on various AFS-specific AIX kernel components. Gautam holds M.S. in Computer Science from the University of Pune. He is a Linux enthusiast who spends his spare time exploring the Linux kernel on his Fedora 8 box.

Summary:  This tutorial illustrates the IBM® AIX® device driver framework and related application programming interfaces (APIs). Here, we shall discuss about the device switch structure, API to register device switch methods, major and minor number management, and moving data from kernel to user space.

Date:  28 Mar 2013
Level:  Intermediate PDF:  A4 and Letter (244 KB | 15 pages)Get Adobe® Reader®

Activity:  20933 views
Comments:  

Introduction

In traditional UNIX®, the term device refers to hardware components, such as disk drives, tape drives, printers, keyboards, pseudo devices (such as the console, error special file and null special file), and so on. In AIX, these devices are referred to as kernel devices, which have device drivers and are known to the system by major and minor numbers.

AIX device drivers are a type of AIX kernel extensions. Kernel extensions run within a protected domain of a kernel. They can be loaded into kernel during system start or run time and removed at run time. User-level code can access registered device driver code only through system calls. Device drivers add extensibility, configurability and ease of system administration to AIX.

To understand basic kernel extension development, refer to the IBM developerWorks article, Writing AIX kernel extensions.

Device drivers use core kernel services exported by AIX kernel "/unix" by referring to /usr/lib/kernex.exp. "kernex.exp" contains a list of symbols exported by kernel. These exported symbols are essentially kernel functions and storage locations (kernel global data structure). The linker program (ld) uses this information while linking the compiled device driver code.

1 of 15 | Next

Comments



static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=AIX and UNIX, Linux
ArticleID=861832
TutorialTitle= IBM AIX device driver development
publish-date=03282013
author1-email=gautraut@in.ibm.com
author1-email-cc=