解码位置代码

我的设备在哪里?

在一个设备出现故障时,您需要知道该设备在系统中的物理位置,以便可以更换它。errptlscfg 命令提供了一个位置代码,指定了故障设备所在的位置。有了位置代码和服务器手册,或包含您的型号的 IBM® Redbooks®,甚至您可以访问 IBM Web 信息中心获得更有用的信息,您就能够识别设备所在的确切位置。

David Tansley, 系统管理员, Ace Europe

//ibm.com/developerworks/i/p-dtansley.jpgDavid Tansley 是一位自由作家。他有 15 年 UNIX 系统管理经验,最近 8 年使用 AIX。他喜欢打羽毛球和观赏一级方程式赛车,但是最喜欢与妻子一起开着 GSA 摩托车旅行。


developerWorks 投稿作者

2013 年 11 月 25 日

简介

遇到设备故障肯定是一件麻烦事。故障设备的类型可能是热插拔硬件,比如风扇冷却装置或热插拔外设组件互连(PCI)卡。在这两种情况下,都需要知道设备的物理位置,然后才能更换它。所以,您需要知道设备的位置代码。故障设备会显示在错误报告中(使用 errpt 命令),该报告还会发布物理位置代码。此外,使用 lscfg 命令可以获得您设备的物理位置。在获得该位置后,应该如何定位设备?


AIX 内部代码和物理代码

AIX 提供了两种不同的代码,它们分别是:

  • IBM AIX®(内部)位置系统代码
  • 物理位置代码

AIX 内部位置代码可与物理代码配合使用来识别设备,我们稍后会在本文这了解这种用法。使用 AIX 生成的那些代码引用了某些特定的设备,例如:

10-80-00-3,0    SCSI CD Drive
10-80-00-2,0    SCSI disk
02-08-00        SAS disk

上面的代码是访问实际设备的内部路径,可以使用 lsdev 命令来查看它们。

另一个我们特别感兴趣的位置代码是物理类型的,由固件生成。例如:

U789C.001.DQD3F62-P2-D3  SAS Disk Drive

自从几年前发布了 IBM POWER5 处理器以后,物理位置代码就成为了定位设备的首选方法。作为一项经验法则,您需要的通常是物理代码。这也是本文的重点。表 1 中提供的命令使您能够获得有关设备的各种信息。

表 1. 获得有关您的设备的信息的命令

命令 描述
lsdev -C -H -F "name status physloc location description" 获得 AIX(如果存在)和物理位置代码。
lsdev -Cc disk -F 'name location physloc' 获得所有磁盘的 AIX 和物理位置代码。
lsdev -Cl hdisk0 -F physloc 获得 hdisk0 的位置代码。
lscfg -vpl hdisk0 获得 hdisk0 的扩展信息。
lsdev -C| grep hdisk0 获得 hdisk0 的 AIX 位置代码。
lsparent -Cl hdisk0 获得 hdisk0 的父设备。
lscfg -l fcs0 获得关于 fsc0 设备的信息。

使用 IBM 信息中心或红皮书

如何能使用物理位置代码定位设备?这取决于您拥有哪种类型的系统,因为这些代码可能因系统而略有不同。请务必持有服务器系统手册,或参阅 IBM 信息中心的在线信息。这些参考资料提供了您所用型号的原理图,包括系统的位置代码,以方便识别。不过,前面已经说过,只要没有东西丢失,就有办法识别设备的物理位置。


代码中包含什么?

物理设备的位置代码来自固件端。如果正确地遵循位置代码,它最终会指向您正在寻找的设备。
无论您有什么样的服务器,位置代码的实际格式都是相同的,它只是可以指向系统上的不同物理位置的代码(数字/字母)。到目前为止,可定位设备的第一个字符一直是 “U”。接下来的介绍会比较有趣。下面是位置代码的通用格式,包含一个示例,该示例来自 IBM Power Systems™ 520 型号(落地式),除非另行说明,否则各示例均使用此型号。除非另行说明,否则所有位置代码示例都是物理位置。

单元 enclosure 类型 enclosure 型号 序列号 位置
U789C 001 DQD3F62 P2-D3

字段 location 是单元/抽屉的单元/型号序列号。您的系统可能包含不同的单元 enclose 类型。不要指望在所有位置代码上都有相同的 enclosure。在有扩展槽(比如额外的磁盘抽屉)时尤其如此。

在本文中,location 字段是备受关注的位。

如果无法解析物理位置,AIX 会假定该设备是一个逻辑设备,在某个点上被链接到一个物理设备。通常情况下,这些设备可能是连接到独立磁盘冗余阵列(RAID)的 SCSI 设备或磁带单元等外部存储的逻辑设备。根据不同的硬件(比如 SCSI、串行、tty 和适配器),这些代码可能具有不同的含义。

位置代码可能由几个前缀字母和数字组成。常用前缀如表 2 所示。

表 2. 常用前缀

代码前缀 描述
A 通风设备,例如,风扇
C 卡,例如,PCI 插槽、内存插槽
D 设备,例如,磁盘插槽、磁盘抽屉
E 与电有关的设备,例如,电源
L 逻辑路径,例如,光纤通道
P 背板设备,例如,一个系统或 I/O 背板、系统板
T 接口连接器/端口,例如,串行端口,通常后跟一个表示它是哪个端口的数字
U 单元
V 虚拟背板

这是一个代码

现在,让我们来看一个示例,hdisk0。以下是 hdisk0 的部分 lscfg 输出:

lscfg -vpl hdisk0
hdisk0 U789C.001.DQD3F62-P2-D3 SAS Disk Drive (146800 MB)

Manufacturer................IBM 
Machine Type and Model......ST3146356SS 
FRU Number..................10N7204 
ROS Level and ID............45363045
Serial Number...............3QN2JFEP

Hardware Location Code......U789C.001.DQD3F62-P2-D3

PLATFORM SPECIFIC
Name:disk
Node: disk
Device Type:block

看看上面的 lscfg 输出,它首先告诉我,这是一个 SAS 磁盘,但让我们更仔细地看一看位置代码,并拆分它:

U789C.001.DQD3F62-P2-D3
代码 描述
U789C 单元类型
001 enclosure 型号
DQDS3F62 序列号
P2 背板 2(可从单元前面访问)
D3 设备插槽 3(1 号磁盘驱动器,这是从第二个机架向下数的左边第一个磁盘。)

我如何知道上述所有信息?通过使用我的红皮书并参考该型号的示意图中的位置,我可以知道它的确切位置!

您通常会发现,位置代码只被位置代码引用,不会被系统详细信息引用。在所有设备都来自同一背板时,上述情况绝对适用,并且在这种情况下,将会使用以下格式:Un<location>

这些代码可能使用下面的格式,该格式被转换为:单元 1,抽屉/框架 6,第一个背板,
I/O 插槽 2。

U1.6-P1-I2

在处理卡插槽时,它们可能包含双端口,例如以太网或光纤卡。如果出现这种情况,那么该位置将会包含一个与这些端口有关联的字母 “T”,而且 T 后面的数字是端口号。如果某个位置包含 “T”,但它不是一个卡插槽(并且位置代码中没有 C),那么我们可以非常肯定这是一个集成的(板上)接口。在这里,我想到的是串行端口或以太网端口。

现在,让我们将注意力转向光纤卡插槽。看看光纤卡(fcs0)位置:
lscfg -vl fcs0
物理位置:U789C.001.DQD3F62-P1-C1-T1

看看位置代码:

P1-C1-T1

我们知道:

代码 描述
P1 背板 1。可从单元的后面访问此背板。
C1 卡(PCI)插槽 1。从单元的顶部往下看,这是第一个 PCI 插槽。
T1 这是第一个端口(上端口)。

查看一个集成的(板上)端口,例如,硬件管理控制台(HMC)以太网端口:

P1-T5

我们知道,这不是一个卡,因为位置代码中没有 “C”。

代码 描述
P1 背板 1。可从单元的后面访问此背板。
T5 插槽 5。定位在机器的左侧。左端口。

确定设备是否是板载设备的另一种方法是,设备还会返回一个 AIX 内部位置代码。例如,以 Power Systems 570 为例,以下是一些以太网设备:

ent0      Available 02-08 2-Port 10/100/1000 Base-TX PCI-X Adapter (14108902)
ent1      Available 02-09 2-Port 10/100/1000 Base-TX PCI-X Adapter (14108902)

ent0      U7879.001.DQD1AE7-P1-T6
ent1      U7879.001.DQD1AE7-P1-T7

上述 AIX 内部位置码(02-08 和 02-09)告诉我们,两个以太网设备使用了相同的地址位置 02。由于物理位置中没有 “C”,这说明没有卡插槽,所以我们可以假定,这是一个板载的双端口。作为一个经验法则,如果有两个板载设备(T1 和 T2),而且这两个设备是水平的一对,那么 T1 在右边,T2 在左边。如果设备是垂直的,那么 T1 在上面,T2 在下面。

许多系统都有存储区域网络(SAN)存储。知道如何找到逻辑单元号(LUN)是好事,我们来了解一下 hdisk0,它是 570 型号上的 IBM System Storage® DS3400 磁盘系统:

lscfg -vl hdisk20
hdisk2 0U7879.001.DQD1AE7-P1-C2-T1-W202500A0B85B6194-LE000000000000 MPIO Other DS3K Array Disk

上述输出相当长。所以,让我们来看看该位置代码到底是怎么回事:

代码 描述
P1 背板 1(可从单元后面访问此背板)
C2 卡(PCI)插槽 2 光纤卡
T1 第一个光纤端口(上)
W202500A0B85B6194 远程 SAN 交换机上的全球端口标识符
LE000000000000 远程磁盘的(逻辑)LUN ID(十六进制值)

某些代码包含一个字母 “L”,后面跟一个数字,这些都是逻辑路径。逻辑路径的典型使用者是包含 RAID 磁盘的 SCSI 磁盘。例如,一个 SCSI 磁盘阵列的位置如下所示:

P1-C8-T1-L0-L0  SCSI RAID 5 Disk Array

热插拔

了解 PCI 热插拔卡是有好处的,因为如果热插拔设备发生故障,只需花费几分钟就可以更换它们。要查看 PCI 热插拔卡,可使用下面的命令:

lsslot -c pci
# Slot Description Device(s)
U789C.001.DQD3F62-P1-C1 PCI-E capable, Rev 1 slot with 8x lanes fcs0 
U789C.001.DQD3F62-P1-C2 PCI-E capable, Rev 1 slot with 8x lanes fcs1 
U789C.001.DQD3F62-P1-C3 PCI-E capable, Rev 1 slot with 16x lanes Empty
U789C.001.DQD3F62-P1-C4 PCI-X capable, 64 bit, 266MHz slot Empty
U789C.001.DQD3F62-P1-C5 PCI-X capable, 64 bit, 266MHz slot Empty

我们已经介绍了 fcs0 卡的位置。但是,我们可以看到,两块激活的卡(fcs0、fcs1)是彼此相邻的。我们已经知道,fcs0 是第一块卡,位于插槽的顶部。所以,向下数的第二块卡就是 fscs1 卡。其他三个插槽 P1-C3、C4 和 C5 是未分配的。

要查看逻辑热插拔设备,可使用以下命令:

lsslot -c slot

快速获得位置代码

如果您对位置仍然感到困惑,而此时一个单元出现了故障,IBM 工程师正在敲门,并且该工程师期望您知道发生故障的设备在哪里,那么您可以随时进入 'SMIT diag',识别出故障设备。该命令还会将位置代码也告诉您。在您这么做之前,一定要先查看 errpt,确认您在识别正确的设备。


修复闪烁的警示灯

在一个设备出故障后,可以通过一个闪烁着琥珀色的指示灯来识别它,也可以通过登录到 HMC 时的一个符号来识别它。在更换或修复设备后,可使用以下命令让状态恢复正常:

/usr/lpp/diagnostics/bin/usysfault -s normal

结束语

现在,您了解了位置代码可以如何帮助您。如前面所述,您需要在更换设备时知道此位置代码。但是,如上所述,位置代码完全取决于您的系统硬件文档,因为这些代码都与特定系统相关。

参考资料

学习

  • Power Systems:Finding parts, locations, and addresses
  • AIX and UNIX 专区:developerWorks 的“AIX and UNIX 专区”提供了大量与 AIX 系统管理的所有方面相关的信息,您可以利用它们来扩展自己的 UNIX 技能。
  • AIX and UNIX 新手入门:访问“AIX and UNIX 新手入门”页面可了解更多关于 AIX 和 UNIX 的内容。
  • AIX and UNIX 专题汇总:AIX and UNIX 专区已经为您推出了很多的技术专题,为您总结了很多热门的知识点。我们在后面还会继续推出很多相关的热门专题给您,为了方便您的访问,我们在这里为您把本专区的所有专题进行汇总,让您更方便的找到您需要的内容。
  • AIX and UNIX 下载中心:在这里你可以下载到可以运行在 AIX 或者是 UNIX 系统上的 IBM 服务器软件以及工具,让您可以提前免费试用他们的强大功能。
  • IBM Systems Magazine for AIX 中文版:本杂志的内容更加关注于趋势和企业级架构应用方面的内容,同时对于新兴的技术、产品、应用方式等也有很深入的探讨。IBM Systems Magazine 的内容都是由十分资深的业内人士撰写的,包括 IBM 的合作伙伴、IBM 的主机工程师以及高级管理人员。所以,从这些内容中,您可以了解到更高层次的应用理念,让您在选择和应用 IBM 系统时有一个更好的认识。

讨论

  • 加入 developerWorks 中文社区。查看开发人员推动的博客、论坛、组和维基,并与其他 developerWorks 用户交流。

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=954230
ArticleTitle=解码位置代码
publish-date=11252013

Decoding location codes

Where is my device?

When you have a faulty device, you need to know where the device is located physically on your system, so it can be replaced. The errpt or lscfg comand provides a location code specifying where the faulty device is located. Armed with the location code and a server manual or an IBM® Redbooks® title covering your model, or even better with access to IBM web information center, you should be able to identify exactly where the device is located.

Share:

David Tansley (david.tansley@btinternet.com), System Administrator, Ace Europe

David TansleyDavid Tansley is a freelance writer. He has 15 years experience as a UNIX administrator, using AIX the last eight years. He enjoys playing badminton then relaxing watching Formula 1, but nothing beats riding and touring on his GSA motorbike with his wife.



26 August 2013

Also available in Chinese

Introduction

Getting a device failure is definitely an inconvenience. The type of device that is failing might be hardware swappable such as a fan cooling unit or a hot swap Peripheral Component Interconnect (PCI) card. In either case, you need to know the physical location of the device for it to be replaced. So, you need to know the location code of the device. A failing device will be shown up in the error report (using the errpt command), where the physical location code will be posted as well. Alternatively, using the lscfg command also tells you the physical locations of devices. After getting the location, how do you go about locating the device?


AIX internal codes and physical codes

AIX provides two different codes, and they are:

  • IBM AIX® (internal) location system codes
  • Physical location codes

AIX internal location codes can be used in conjunction with physical codes to identify devices, as we will see later in this article. The ones generated using AIX , reference certain devices, for example:

10-80-00-3,0    SCSI CD Drive
10-80-00-2,0    SCSI disk
02-08-00        SAS disk

The above codes are the internal paths to the actual device, which can be viewed with the lsdev command.

The other location code which is the physical type and the one we are particularly interested in is generated by the firmware. For example:

U789C.001.DQD3F62-P2-D3  SAS Disk Drive

Since the release of IBM POWER5 processors a few years back, the physical location code is the preferred method for locating devices. As a rule, the physical code is generally all that you need. That is what I focus on in this article. The commands provided in Table 1 enables you to get various information about your devices.

Table 1. Commands to get information about your devices

Command Description
lsdev -C -H -F "name status physloc location description" Get the AIX ( if present) and physical location codes.
lsdev -Cc disk -F 'name location physloc' Get the AIX and physical location codes of all disks.
lsdev -Cl hdisk0 -F physloc Get the location code of hdisk0.
lscfg -vpl hdisk0 Get extended information o fhdisk0.
lsdev -C| grep hdisk0 Get the AIX location code of hdisk0.
lsparent -Cl hdisk0 Get the parent devices for hdisk0.
lscfg -l fcs0 Get information about the fsc0 device.

Use the IBM information center or Redbooks

How can you locate a device using the physical location code? It depends on what type of system you have, as these might slightly different across the system ranges. Always make sure that you have your server system manual or refer to the online information at IBM information center. These references provide the schematics of your model, including the location codes of your system for easy identification. However, having stated that all is not lost, there are ways to physically identify a device.


What's in a code?

The location code of a physical device comes from the firmware side. If you follow the location code correctly, it eventually points to the device you are looking for.
The actual format of a location code is the same format no matter what server you have, it is just the codes (in numbers/letters) that can point to a different physical location on your system. The first character of a locatable device is always "U", so far so good. Next, it gets interesting. Here is the general format of a location code, with an example, taken from an IBM Power Systems™ 520 model (floor standing), which is what is used for examples unless otherwise stated. All location code examples are physical locations unless otherwise stated.

Unit enclosure type Enclosure model Serial number Location
U789C 001 DQD3F62 P2-D3

The fields location are the unit/model serial number of the unit/drawer. Your system might contain different unit enclose types. Do not expect to have the same enclosure on all your location codes. This is especially true if you have expansion slots, such as additional disk drawers.

For this article, the location field is the interesting bit.

If the physical location cannot be resolved, AIX assumes it is a logical device that at some point is linked to a physical device. Typically, these can be logical devices connected to say, external storage such as Redundant Array of Independent Disks (RAID) SCSI devices or tape units. The codes can have different meanings depending on the type of hardware, for instance SCSI, serial, ttys and adapters.

The location code can be made up of several prefix letters and numbers. Common prefixes are shown in Table 2.

Table 2. Common prefixes

Code prefix Description
A Air moving device, for example,fan
C Card, for example, PCI slots, memory slots
D Devices, for example, disk slot, disk drawer
E Electrical, for example, power supply
L Logical path, for example, Fibre Channel
P Planar, for example, a system or I/O back-plane, system board
T Interface connector /Port, for example, serial port, usually followed by a number to denote which port
U Unit
V Virtual planar

That's a code

Let's now look at an example, say hdisk0. Below is a partial output from lscfg for hdisk0:

lscfg -vpl hdisk0
hdisk0 U789C.001.DQD3F62-P2-D3 SAS Disk Drive (146800 MB)

Manufacturer................IBM 
Machine Type and Model......ST3146356SS 
FRU Number..................10N7204 
ROS Level and ID............45363045
Serial Number...............3QN2JFEP

Hardware Location Code......U789C.001.DQD3F62-P2-D3

PLATFORM SPECIFIC
Name:disk
Node: disk
Device Type:block

Looking at the above lscfg output, it first tells me this is a SAS disk , but let's look more closely at the location code, and break that down:

U789C.001.DQD3F62-P2-D3
Code Description
U789C Unit type
001 Enclosure model
DQDS3F62 Serial number
P2 Planar 2 (this is accessible from the front of the unit)
D3 Device slot 3 (disk drive number1, which is the second bay down first disk on left.)

How did I know all the above? By using my Redbooks and referencing the location with the schematic representation of the model, I know exactly where it is located!

Typically, you will find location codes referenced purely by the location code only and not by the system details. This is certainly true if the devices are all coming off the same planar, and in such cases, the following format would be used: Un<location>

These might be in the following format, which translates to: Unit1, drawer/frame 6, first planar,
I/O slot 2.

U1.6-P1-I2

When dealing with card slots, these could contain dual ports, for example Ethernet or fiber cards. If this is the case, then the location will have an alphabet "T" associated with it, and the number following the T is the port number. If a location has "T" but is not a card slot (and no C in the location code), then you can be pretty much assured that this is an integrated (on-board) interface. Here, I am thinking of serial ports or Ethernet ports.

Let's now turn our attention to a fiber card slot. Looking at the fiber card (fcs0) location:
lscfg -vl fcs0
Physical Location: U789C.001.DQD3F62-P1-C1-T1

Looking at the location code:

P1-C1-T1

We know that:

Code Description
P1 Planar 1. This is accessible from the backside of the unit.
C1 Card (PCI) slot 1. This is the first PCI slot looking down from the top of the unit.
T1 This is the first port (upper port).

Looking at an integral (on-board) port, say a Hardware Management Console (HMC) Ethernet port:

P1-T5

We know that this is not a card as there is no "C' in the location.

Code Description
P1 Planar 1. This is accessible from the backside of the unit.
T5 Slot 5. Located at the left side of the machine. Left port.

Another way to tell if a device could be on-board is when the device returns an AIX internal location code as well. For example, taken from a Power Systems 570 model, here are a couple of Ethernet devices:

ent0      Available 02-08 2-Port 10/100/1000 Base-TX PCI-X Adapter (14108902)
ent1      Available 02-09 2-Port 10/100/1000 Base-TX PCI-X Adapter (14108902)

ent0      U7879.001.DQD1AE7-P1-T6
ent1      U7879.001.DQD1AE7-P1-T7

The above AIX internal location code (02-08 and 02-09) informs us that the Ethernet devices are both using the same address location, 02. As there is no "C" in the physical location, that is no card slot, we can assume that this is a on-board dual port. As a rule of thumb, if you have two on-board devices that are T1 and T2, if one pair is horizontal, T1 will be on the right and T2 on the left. If the devices are vertical then T1 will be at the top and T2 beneath it.

Many systems have storage area network (SAN) storage. It is good to know how to locate the logical unit number (LUN), looking at hdisk0 which is an IBM System Storage® DS3400 disk system, on a 570 model:

lscfg -vl hdisk20
hdisk2 0U7879.001.DQD1AE7-P1-C2-T1-W202500A0B85B6194-LE000000000000 MPIO Other DS3K Array Disk

The above output is pretty long. So, let's see what is going with that location code:

Code Description
P1 Planar 1 (this is accessible from the backside of the unit)
C2 Card (PCI) slot 2 fiber card
T1 First fiber port (top)
W202500A0B85B6194 Worldwide port identifier on the remote SAN switch
LE000000000000 (Logical) LUN ID (in hexadecimal value) of the remote disk

Some codes will have an alphabet "L" followed by a number, and these are logical paths. Typical users of logical paths are SCSI disks including RAID disks. For example, a SCSI disk array location is shown below:

P1-C8-T1-L0-L0  SCSI RAID 5 Disk Array

Hot plugs to go

Knowing your PCI hot-plug cards is always good, because if a hot-plug device fails, it takes a few minutes to replace them. To view you PCI hots, use the following command:

lsslot -c pci
# Slot Description Device(s)
U789C.001.DQD3F62-P1-C1 PCI-E capable, Rev 1 slot with 8x lanes fcs0 
U789C.001.DQD3F62-P1-C2 PCI-E capable, Rev 1 slot with 8x lanes fcs1 
U789C.001.DQD3F62-P1-C3 PCI-E capable, Rev 1 slot with 16x lanes Empty
U789C.001.DQD3F62-P1-C4 PCI-X capable, 64 bit, 266MHz slot Empty
U789C.001.DQD3F62-P1-C5 PCI-X capable, 64 bit, 266MHz slot Empty

We have aleady covered the location of the fcs0 card. However, we can see that both active cards (fcs0, fcs1) are next to each other. we already know that fcs0 is the first card and is at the top of the slots. So, the second one down is the fscs1 card. The other three slots P1-C3, C4, and C5 are unallocated.

To view all your logical swaps use the following command:

lsslot -c slot

Get that location code quickly

If you are still confused about the locations, and you have a failed unit and the IBM engineer is knocking at the door, expecting you to know where the failing device is, you can always go into 'SMIT diag' and identify that failing device. This tells you the location code as well. Be sure to review your errpt before you do so to confirm that you are identifying the correct device.


Fix that attention light flashing

After you have a failure device, you will be able to identify it through an indicator light flashing in amber, or through a symbol when you are logged on to the HMC. After the device is replaced or fixed, turn the status back to normal using with:

/usr/lpp/diagnostics/bin/usysfault -s normal

Conclusion

So, now you know how the location codes can help you. As mentioned earlier, you need to know this if you are replacing devices. However, as described, it is very much dependent on you having access to your system hardware documentation, as these are dependent of your particular system.


Resources

Power Systems: Finding parts, locations, and addresses

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into AIX and Unix on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=AIX and UNIX
ArticleID=941465
ArticleTitle=Decoding location codes
publish-date=08262013